Project X

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
Watch On
  1. 50
    Judged by the usual aesthetic standards – Project X sucks. It's just another lame movie. Yet apply a different standard, the mores of our time, and you get a different verdict: Suddenly, it's a perfectly lame movie that speaks intriguingly to the way we live now.
  2. Reviewed by: Bilge Ebiri
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    As a tribute for the awesome destructive power of the teenage libido, the house-party-gone-apocalyptic flick Project X is pretty compelling...Think "Girls Gone Wild" meets "Black Hawk Down." Unfortunately, it also appears to want to tell a story, with characters and things, and on that level it pretty much completely falls apart.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    With most movies, the question for viewers is: Who should see it? With Project X, the most pressing issue is: Who shouldn't see it?
  4. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Mar 1, 2012
    50
    The party itself is something to see. A Pasadena blowout turns into a horny, druggy, apocalyptic scene culminating in riot police, news choppers, and a gentleman with a flamethrower.
  5. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 29, 2012
    42
    It's crude in every sense: The film looks like shit, the characters are boors, and it's as sloppily put-together as the home movie it pretends to be. Project X's commitment to its crudity almost redeems it, though.
  6. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Feb 29, 2012
    40
    The kind of fantasy that a 15-year-old boy would love, although parents probably should keep younger teens far, far away. This movie pushes the boundaries of its R rating about as far as they can go.
  7. 40
    The film's strength isn't its shock tactics - it's the rapid-fire, party montage editing that finds a million natural ways to put mundane actions and moments up against each other for comic effect.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 259 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 92
  2. Negative: 31 out of 92
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    An unfunny, stupid movie. Not much else I can say.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    My goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has noMy goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has no plot, and just shows kids as young as seventeen using foul language, drinking, and smoking pot. At one point, they use some kind of designer drug called "ecstasy." Several teenage girls bare their breasts, and premarital sexual relations are strongly implied. Actually no. My entire reaction to Project X was, "This is lame, man. Really lame." If only this film were an affront to decency. I wish it were offensive. If only it were the slightest bit funny. There's no real story. Once you've seen five minutes of it, you've seen all it has to offer. It isn't half as wild and crazy as it pretends to be. In a movie where racy content is the attraction, there's more implied than shown. The characters are one dimensional at best, and frankly, the actors are uniformly amateurish. Full review on my blog. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish andLet me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Full Review »