Project X

Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 1, 2012
    100
    The Oscars are swell, but once in a while a film comes along that is so courageous it deserves consideration for the Nobel Prize. An entire generation has been born and gone to college since the Beastie Boys defined that most basic of civil liberties: You've got to fight for your right to party.
  2. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Feb 29, 2012
    100
    Project X is an astounding, superlative movie about adolescence - a brutal, unapologetic comedy about the fantasy every high school kid carries around in his head about being popular and cool and beloved.
  3. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Mar 2, 2012
    80
    Deeply irresponsible, this a film that will give parents seizures-and Roger Corman a big old smile.
  4. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    Project X, likewise, serves up the frat house/Spring Break/Snooki-and-Sitch-on-a-bender antics that many in the audience will have been staring at for years, and implies that it's breaking down bold new barriers of misbehavior. In the end, though, it ain't nothin' but a party.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Mar 1, 2012
    70
    This game-changing instant classic will doubtless inspire imitators, onscreen and in backyards everywhere, en route to redefining what a new generation expects of its mice-will-play movies.
  6. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Feb 29, 2012
    67
    Tonally one of the strangest films of the year thus far, Project X is at heart a John Hughes-esque celebration of that fleeting teenage moment prior to actual adulthood when throwing a badass backyard party could instantaneously elevate your social status, and cement bonds of friendship that would last a lifetime, and get you laid all in one go.
  7. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 3, 2012
    63
    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness.
  8. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 2, 2012
    63
    Most teen flicks just fake being fueled by anarchy. But the gut-bustingly funny Project X is the real deal. It's raunchy, reckless and ready to party. What's not to like?
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 94
  2. Negative: 32 out of 94
  1. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    An unfunny, stupid movie. Not much else I can say.
  2. Mar 2, 2012
    0
    My goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has noMy goodness! Never before have I seen such an affront to common decency and traditional values as in Project X. This so called "film" has no plot, and just shows kids as young as seventeen using foul language, drinking, and smoking pot. At one point, they use some kind of designer drug called "ecstasy." Several teenage girls bare their breasts, and premarital sexual relations are strongly implied. Actually no. My entire reaction to Project X was, "This is lame, man. Really lame." If only this film were an affront to decency. I wish it were offensive. If only it were the slightest bit funny. There's no real story. Once you've seen five minutes of it, you've seen all it has to offer. It isn't half as wild and crazy as it pretends to be. In a movie where racy content is the attraction, there's more implied than shown. The characters are one dimensional at best, and frankly, the actors are uniformly amateurish. Full review on my blog. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish andLet me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Full Review »