User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 258 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 66 out of 258
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 31, 2013
    7
    Nima Nourizadeh, the director of Project X, has done with this film what Tarantino did with some of his movies: created a motion picture that he knew audiences would enjoy and didn't care about his critics. If you go into this movie with "Godfather-like standards", I'll call them, then of course you will hate it. But, if you see this movie just to have a good time on a Friday night withNima Nourizadeh, the director of Project X, has done with this film what Tarantino did with some of his movies: created a motion picture that he knew audiences would enjoy and didn't care about his critics. If you go into this movie with "Godfather-like standards", I'll call them, then of course you will hate it. But, if you see this movie just to have a good time on a Friday night with some of your buddies, I guarantee you will like this movie. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2012
    9
    Project X is about the party everybody has dreamed of throwing, the party that will turn the party thrower/throwers into legends and get them any girl they want. While I was watching this movie I couldn't help but think about how awesome it would be to have been there. Your basically watching an awesome party go from crazy to out of freaking control. It's also hilarious, at least I thoughtProject X is about the party everybody has dreamed of throwing, the party that will turn the party thrower/throwers into legends and get them any girl they want. While I was watching this movie I couldn't help but think about how awesome it would be to have been there. Your basically watching an awesome party go from crazy to out of freaking control. It's also hilarious, at least I thought it was, bu that's probably because I have an extremely immature sense of humor and I'm easily amused. If you want to watch a movie about the party you've only dreamed of, and get a good laugh this is for you. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2015
    10
    who wouldn't like a movie that has teenagers partying the night of their lives? especially when it has gone wrong. The reason i saw this movie is cause i want to see a movie that no one has ever done before! and Project X is perfect example. The second reason i thought this movie was gonna be great is because Todd Phillips the director of 'The Hangover' is producing this film. this moviewho wouldn't like a movie that has teenagers partying the night of their lives? especially when it has gone wrong. The reason i saw this movie is cause i want to see a movie that no one has ever done before! and Project X is perfect example. The second reason i thought this movie was gonna be great is because Todd Phillips the director of 'The Hangover' is producing this film. this movie is about a terrible friend/perv Costa (Oliver Cooper........who looks like Shia LeBouf's stunt double) tries to a good deed by throwing a massive party for his friend Thomas, by doing terrible things such as drugs, sex and crazy stuff. This isn't a good movie it's a **** insane and spectacular movie! But this movie is making a bad example for teenagers. My Grade A- Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said, it could've been funnier and there could've been a little more plot and a little less "highlights" but it was still totally worth watching. ObviouslyThis movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said, it could've been funnier and there could've been a little more plot and a little less "highlights" but it was still totally worth watching. Obviously this movie isn't for everyone. It's raunchy, immature, and graphic but it hits its targeted audience on point. Expand
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    9
    A very original and funny movie!
  6. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    This plot is not an original, nor is the concept. However, if you're into not thinking while watching a movie-this is ideal. Slowly the characters and projected party highlighted in the trailer comes together. And, its quite over the top with some unexpected happenings during the party. The montage method tends to dominate the last 30 or so minutes to attempt to give you a "feel" of theThis plot is not an original, nor is the concept. However, if you're into not thinking while watching a movie-this is ideal. Slowly the characters and projected party highlighted in the trailer comes together. And, its quite over the top with some unexpected happenings during the party. The montage method tends to dominate the last 30 or so minutes to attempt to give you a "feel" of the party but really shows lack of imagination for the entire movie. Good for a single watch tho. Expand
  7. Sep 17, 2012
    8
    Project X is every teens wet dream. Enjoy viewing experience with your college dudes, and you'll be notice the unlimited high-school **** Till the break down, yo!
  8. Mar 30, 2012
    10
    Maybe it was the movie with the best script, or the best movie of the story, but this was an unforgettable anthem, went out with excitement, I left never to forget what was that movie, I liked everything, never expecting that was going to p . grilling, entertaining, fun and neck is to forget
  9. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    I can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable films of the year. No, theres no real plot. Heres the story: 3 High School friends try to throw the best party ever and it soon becomes out of control and too much to handle. Surprisingly they made a good film. I put this movie personally on the TV while my brother and his 5 friends were in the room just to see what happens. WhenI can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable films of the year. No, theres no real plot. Heres the story: 3 High School friends try to throw the best party ever and it soon becomes out of control and too much to handle. Surprisingly they made a good film. I put this movie personally on the TV while my brother and his 5 friends were in the room just to see what happens. When they first saw the nome scene they tuned in for the whole film. And let me tell you white kids know how to party. This is a must see if you like out of control films. And I hear some of you no real plot but hey I and anyone that I know who saw it enjoyed it very much. Must Watch. One more thing. They called for all the actors/background actors through the internet and I must say they actually acted pretty good and pretty funny. Expand
  10. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    Laughing at the people getting mad how there's no character development and typical how they're expecting the movie to have this and that. I dont care about that. All I care about if its an enjoyable or entertaining film. Thats it. Anyway, I found the film quite lulzy and typical teens trying to get popular and wanting a successful party. Its great when it all becomes chaotic and theLaughing at the people getting mad how there's no character development and typical how they're expecting the movie to have this and that. I dont care about that. All I care about if its an enjoyable or entertaining film. Thats it. Anyway, I found the film quite lulzy and typical teens trying to get popular and wanting a successful party. Its great when it all becomes chaotic and the entire place is getting wrecked. If you're looking for people partying hard and lots of alcohol and some chaos. Spend a small amount on this film. Expand
  11. Jun 18, 2012
    10
    oh come on, you have to like this movie and see this movie, out of hand is putting it small, this party movie was epic , it reminds me of the kind of parties i used to have. real party movie and well as you can see i liked it. watch it and well see it for what it really is a couple of teens having fun and doing what all teens want to do.
  12. Mar 12, 2012
    7
    This is a great movie to see with a group of friends, it's completely off the wall, in your face funny and so over the top it's in the stratosphere. That being said, I can't see anyone over 25 finding this funny, it's cruel and it's pretty frightening how ethically and morally irresponsible the main characters, (and by proxy the filmmakers), are. It's a rollicking, hilarious and insaneThis is a great movie to see with a group of friends, it's completely off the wall, in your face funny and so over the top it's in the stratosphere. That being said, I can't see anyone over 25 finding this funny, it's cruel and it's pretty frightening how ethically and morally irresponsible the main characters, (and by proxy the filmmakers), are. It's a rollicking, hilarious and insane thrill ride. It's also disturbing, cruel, violent and pro-drug use. A lot of people have been saying it's like "Superbad on crack," it literally is. But where that film was profane and hilarious, it had a heart and a moral center, with characters you could identify with. While "Project X" is hilarious, it's also just profane. Expand
  13. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    Well I think some of the critics are dead wrong here. This fim is pretty good. Older critics are only giving terrible reviews because all they see in this movie are horny teens trying to get laid at a party which has been over-done so many times. The way teenagers see the film is the party they always wanted to throw but don't have the balls to. What starts out as decent gathering forWell I think some of the critics are dead wrong here. This fim is pretty good. Older critics are only giving terrible reviews because all they see in this movie are horny teens trying to get laid at a party which has been over-done so many times. The way teenagers see the film is the party they always wanted to throw but don't have the balls to. What starts out as decent gathering for Thomas Cubb's birthday turns into the party of the milenium with hilarious results like an angry midget being placed into an oven, two twelve year old security guards beating the **** out of an angry neighbor or an ecstasy filled garden gnome with his middle finger up. The film starts out a bit slow but starts to get going 15 minutes in and DOES.NOT.STOP!
    This film is iconic for every teenager such as myself mainly because this party makes the wildest party you have been look like an old ladies tea party in comparison.
    Expand
  14. Feb 15, 2015
    7
    I was expecting to hate this movie when my friend told me to watch it because the things I had read didn't make me wanna watch it. After watching this movie I can say that I'm glad I did, it's a fun, funny movie with characters that aren't annoying as hell.
    7/10
  15. Mar 2, 2012
    7
    This was a fun movie experience. It's not a movie for adults. It's a movie for teens. I'm damn sure every teen who has wanted to experience an insane party...this will be the closest you can get to it.
  16. Aug 19, 2013
    7
    Project X is the part film of the decade. It is as simple as that, a party which crashes out of control for Thomas’ birthday winds up being major trouble for the neighbours and Thomas himself. Project X is filmed as a found footage party film, which I thought was interesting because it’s never really a comedy that has found footage, obviously it’s usually horrors like The Blair WitchProject X is the part film of the decade. It is as simple as that, a party which crashes out of control for Thomas’ birthday winds up being major trouble for the neighbours and Thomas himself. Project X is filmed as a found footage party film, which I thought was interesting because it’s never really a comedy that has found footage, obviously it’s usually horrors like The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity. So this idea of having a party which gets completely out of hand as found footage really interested me.

    Project X delivers the usual genre conventions of a party film, nudity, strong language and underage drinking and even delivers that one bloke who seems to be out-of-place at the party (the character which always turns out to be the funniest). I enjoyed the realism of the film in the aspect that this could happen, perhaps not to the extent which it does in the film but huge parties which get completely out of hand do happen, which I enjoyed.

    I thought acting wise the cast were good for this sort of film, as far as I know they are fairly newcomers to acting to which personally for me made it better as the film relies on its impact of realism (hence found footage), if you had a big Hollywood actor playing Thomas the film would lose the believe-ability which it has.

    I thoroughly enjoyed the filming character, Dax. Although he didn’t have any real screen time because he was holding the camera I thought his character was hilarious. Project X which could have a sequel in the works could be alright but I can’t see how they can really do anything else because at least a quarter of the film is Thomas worrying about his parents finding out, so a sequel would probably just be a rehash and could wind up being dull, so no I don’t want the Project X sequel which was announced to being ‘pursued’ shortly after the films release last year.

    Project X takes party movies to the next level with its use of talk shows and the found footage of all the party action mashed together works really well and delivers new life to what is becoming a clichéd genre. Project X is its own thing which makes it that much better.

    If you haven’t seen Project X and you’re into teen party movies then go check it out, you won’t be disappointed. No this film isn't going to be a life changing movie but it is still thoroughly enjoyable.
    Expand
  17. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    COMPLETE GARBAGE. Hollywood has really gone to hell, they keep dishing out hardcore cash for movies like THIS. I feel robbed of my $10 dollars that i coulda spent on a tshirt, atleast that has more value. I got dragged into seeing this "movie" because i was with a group of friends and they wanted to see it so i was like what the hell ,even though i warned them that this was going to be aCOMPLETE GARBAGE. Hollywood has really gone to hell, they keep dishing out hardcore cash for movies like THIS. I feel robbed of my $10 dollars that i coulda spent on a tshirt, atleast that has more value. I got dragged into seeing this "movie" because i was with a group of friends and they wanted to see it so i was like what the hell ,even though i warned them that this was going to be a bad movie. First of all, the camera will literally make you dizzy. IDK why these producers feel the need to use documentary styled movies. Second of all, every single character is completely unlikable from start to finished, and the Dad's reaction to the party was completely re-damn-diculous. and Third, the movie has a "been there,done that" feel to it so its completely predictable. All of my friends left in nothing but disappoinment, and all i could say was "I TOLD YOU SO". All in all dont waste your money to support trash like this, the more we support crappy films, the more hollywood gives these crappy ideas the "green light" Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    You can't expect to go into this movie expecting a plot and a touching story. If you do that, you're just plain stupid. It's made for teenagers to enjoy watching an outrageous party that they wish they were at. Most adults won't find this entertaining at all. But if your a teenager, go watch this!
  19. Jul 22, 2012
    10
    Just saw Project X. That might have been my favorite movie of the year so far. It was just INSANE! One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. The 12 year old security guards were easily the highlight. Such a crazy ass movie. If your gonna go see it, go with a big crowd. It's so much fun!
  20. May 31, 2013
    10
    Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc. Most of the "fun" movies however are bad, but Project X is one of those films that if you are a teen like me, you will find incredibly entertaining.Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc. Most of the "fun" movies however are bad, but Project X is one of those films that if you are a teen like me, you will find incredibly entertaining. You will also want to watch it again. And again. And again. Expand
  21. Jun 23, 2012
    8
    Great movie, I got what I expected how can a party end like a total chaos. This film is not made for people with child or people that have not lived around parties. Why there are people that watch systematically ALL the films? I would never ever see films made with Sandra Bullock, because I know what it is inside for example. So I wont be rating that films a 0, just because I don't likeGreat movie, I got what I expected how can a party end like a total chaos. This film is not made for people with child or people that have not lived around parties. Why there are people that watch systematically ALL the films? I would never ever see films made with Sandra Bullock, because I know what it is inside for example. So I wont be rating that films a 0, just because I don't like that type of films. Even though this is not a 10 film, but at least those 10 ratings, compensate the illogic behind the 0 ratings. Expand
  22. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    Not hilarious and not the best movie ever but still a good watch for anyone who enjoys films like 'the hangover' or 'Superbad'. It goes into the mind of a teenage boy and is quite accurate with what their life circulates around at that age. But it over exaggerates it and everything goes out of control at the party.
  23. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    This movie is hella hilarious... in my opinion its right up there with the 1st American Pie and The Hangover movie. It's fun and very funny to watch. Yes there are three main characters in the movie (Thomas, JB and Costa) but the real superstar of the movie is the Epic Party. When you watch this movie you will finally know what it means to party like a Rock Star. The Soundtrack is alsoThis movie is hella hilarious... in my opinion its right up there with the 1st American Pie and The Hangover movie. It's fun and very funny to watch. Yes there are three main characters in the movie (Thomas, JB and Costa) but the real superstar of the movie is the Epic Party. When you watch this movie you will finally know what it means to party like a Rock Star. The Soundtrack is also awesome. WARNING!!! don't try what you see in the movie at home, you've been warn and you will be brought up on charges... LOL! Expand
  24. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    This is without a doubt one of the most ridiculously entertaining movies I have ever seen. People who complain about the story or morality of the movie are completely missing the point. For one night we get to witness the party that we all wish we had the balls to throw. We get to lose ourselves in the insanity. Anyone who can't appreciate the beautiful chaos of it all has clearly lostThis is without a doubt one of the most ridiculously entertaining movies I have ever seen. People who complain about the story or morality of the movie are completely missing the point. For one night we get to witness the party that we all wish we had the balls to throw. We get to lose ourselves in the insanity. Anyone who can't appreciate the beautiful chaos of it all has clearly lost touch with their inner youth. Expand
  25. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. TheLet me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Expand
  26. Dec 30, 2012
    9
    I like the movie, as every teenager. I think it's funny and it shows reality in some of its moments. I think that people, after watching this film, can notice the effects of alcohol, drugs, sex and parties. But on the other hand, many people can take this "party" as a thing they want to do. That's to say: alcohol, naked girls, sex, drugs. Exagerating, they can end at a police-station. InI like the movie, as every teenager. I think it's funny and it shows reality in some of its moments. I think that people, after watching this film, can notice the effects of alcohol, drugs, sex and parties. But on the other hand, many people can take this "party" as a thing they want to do. That's to say: alcohol, naked girls, sex, drugs. Exagerating, they can end at a police-station. In general lines, the movie is good, and I like watching it, because everytime I find something different. 9 out of 10 marks for Project X. Expand
  27. Apr 2, 2012
    8
    This movie actually had me entertained the entire time, and while my own parties as a teen were nowhere near in league with the party in the movie, they still had me going nostalgic at times. The film is awesome when you go visit it with a few mates, but don't go expecting a comedy with the same class as The Hangover. It's definately worth the watch, though if you've never been to a teenThis movie actually had me entertained the entire time, and while my own parties as a teen were nowhere near in league with the party in the movie, they still had me going nostalgic at times. The film is awesome when you go visit it with a few mates, but don't go expecting a comedy with the same class as The Hangover. It's definately worth the watch, though if you've never been to a teen party, don't have any friends and your theater doesn't serve alcohol, you should subtract about three points from my review score. Expand
  28. Aug 5, 2012
    7
    Dirty, hilarious and not recommended to easy influential teenagers, ,,Project X'' is an epic party, with an epic soundtrack and some cliches of the comedy genre, but still an full entertaining experience, and that is a comedy suppose to be and this one does its job extremely good.
  29. Mar 7, 2012
    9
    Project X is a groundbreaking comedy that takes the cliche "Don't burn the house down" to a whole new level. This documentary style party film is completely in a genre of its own.
  30. Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Great movie to just have a pure (sorta) honest laugh with out having to think to hard or feel like you have been sitting in a movie too long. AKA the prefect movie short sweet (sorta) and to the point all while being a hysterical comedy.
  31. Aug 22, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best comedy films I've seen in my life. Want to have a party like this, but with less mess. I can not believe this movie has so little score, should have at least a score of 70.
  32. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    this is a party licious book i pooped and peeded through my vows while watching this movie, it truly was the the one tht got away , and it was the poop master of all project movie michael bay strikes again!
  33. Apr 14, 2012
    9
    Ok, I can see why people hate this movie. But if your aged between 15 and 21 this should be your fave movie.
    It has, humour like harold and kumar, action, alchohal, teenagers, violence, t!ts, A$$ and awesome music.
    The first person camera view gets a bit tedious, and the flamethrower was a bit over the top.
    Other than that, my fave movie of all time.
  34. Mar 17, 2012
    10
    My guess that the majority of people reviewing are oldies or boring people? This movie's brilliant, to the point of ridiculous. I loved it! It's not like it'll leave you with a sense of enlightenment, and it's not a 'must see' but never the less, it's worth your time. Side note: It's based off of real events in Australia, by a teen in Melbourne called 'Corey Worthington' - Look him up on Youtube
  35. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    This movie was ok. Lots of teen boobies which was nice and fun. Funny thing was I went to the first afternoon showing and I was the absolute only person in the theater watching that film so I can say it was very enjoyable (no coughing, talking, sneezing, crying etc. in the theater). This was a hell of alot better than that pos movie, chronicle. Story was sort of weak, characters not reallyThis movie was ok. Lots of teen boobies which was nice and fun. Funny thing was I went to the first afternoon showing and I was the absolute only person in the theater watching that film so I can say it was very enjoyable (no coughing, talking, sneezing, crying etc. in the theater). This was a hell of alot better than that pos movie, chronicle. Story was sort of weak, characters not really likeable at all except for the dude that gets tazered lol. Great time overall I would say its preety good compared to the trailer. Camera work btw was alot better then in chronicle cloverfield or any other found footage movie. Expand
  36. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    I laughed my ass of with this movie! I really don't understand why all these horrid reviews are given! It was the best movie my friends and I saw since months!
  37. Apr 3, 2012
    7
    I went into this movie expecting a cheesy annoying comedy, but I got a decent coming of age story. It had some parts that were absolutely ridiculousness and far fetched, but all in all, I enjoyed this movie.
  38. E6X
    Mar 3, 2012
    8
    Although the movie does not have a great plot or storyline, it is still a very funny and entertaining movie to see with some friends. After seeing the movie you will get an overwhelming urge to go to a massive raging party of this sort, just because it was so awesome. Project X really is not that bad, and I encourage you all see this movie.
  39. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    I walked out of the movie in shock at how awesome the party was. This is definitely a better Superbad. The critics were wrong. The point of this movie is not a deep plot, its just video of the best night of the teens life. Go see it.
  40. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    For those who wants a "Film" with a plot and everything that goes with... you don't want to see this.
    One the other hand, if you want to have some fun, It finally happened. A movie where you don't care about anything and simply ENJOY. Now my turn. Handy cam + Party = Awesome Awesomeness. Like a mix of all the best party i ever had minus the flamethrower part. I am going to see it again and
    For those who wants a "Film" with a plot and everything that goes with... you don't want to see this.
    One the other hand, if you want to have some fun, It finally happened. A movie where you don't care about anything and simply ENJOY. Now my turn. Handy cam + Party = Awesome Awesomeness. Like a mix of all the best party i ever had minus the flamethrower part. I am going to see it again and again then buy it to watch it again. If you don't like it, don't watch it and stop hatting, I recommande it to all Partyrocker!
    Expand
  41. Jun 2, 2012
    7
    I can't say I really understand some of these negative reviews. It's a party movie. It's rated R. Can people just not lighten up and have fun at a movie? You're watching people have a crazy night that you can never have. There are a few laughs and a few wtf moments, but seriously. Did any of these people see any of the trailers? It's a party. Crazy things happen. People have fun. The factI can't say I really understand some of these negative reviews. It's a party movie. It's rated R. Can people just not lighten up and have fun at a movie? You're watching people have a crazy night that you can never have. There are a few laughs and a few wtf moments, but seriously. Did any of these people see any of the trailers? It's a party. Crazy things happen. People have fun. The fact that I'm sure a lot of people hate this movie yet loved Superbad, amazes me. This at least shows a party.. Superbad is just all about getting there, then being disappointed when you get there. Pretty much most of this movie is of people having an awesome time at a great party. Expand
  42. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    If you're looking for a movie with a great plot with great character development this is not what you should watch. Overall this is a great movie with entertaining footage about an "epic" party. It shows what every teenager and college kid looks for in a party. Crazy drunk memories. It had great camera placement and how they incorperated the home video look into the movie so it feels likeIf you're looking for a movie with a great plot with great character development this is not what you should watch. Overall this is a great movie with entertaining footage about an "epic" party. It shows what every teenager and college kid looks for in a party. Crazy drunk memories. It had great camera placement and how they incorperated the home video look into the movie so it feels like you were or are there. Collapse
  43. Sep 10, 2012
    8
    Speaking technically,the cam work was awesome. Before giving a negative review...do u guys even know anything about film making?
    Think Big. Think Different!!!
    F the Future...Party the Present...
    Datz Project X baibe...
  44. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Let me start by saying this is one of the funniest films i have seen in a long time, it brings in a real aspect of life because these kind of crazy parties happen all the time... The fact that these are nerdy kids make it ironic that they pull off such a crazy part. In a way i think of it as a feel good film and it makes you think that nothing is impossible and that don't waste your lifeLet me start by saying this is one of the funniest films i have seen in a long time, it brings in a real aspect of life because these kind of crazy parties happen all the time... The fact that these are nerdy kids make it ironic that they pull off such a crazy part. In a way i think of it as a feel good film and it makes you think that nothing is impossible and that don't waste your life being boring have fun.
    Good humor
    Good-ish acting Brilliant Characters Hot chicks (always a bonus) One of the top comedies of the year!!
    Expand
  45. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Everyone who gave this a bad review seems to be some stupid old fart, well get over it, you not a teenager any more and this film isnt made for you, so why would you watch it, let alone give it a bad review, move on
  46. Aug 8, 2013
    10
    I finally got to watch this today, and I don't regret a second of any of it. It felt like I came from the greatest party in history. Sure, it's a bit more... "hardcore" than any other party movie I've seen. If they were going for that, then they succeeded. I would say this is something to watch with friends, NOT your parents! Lol.

    And to all the really negative critics, I noticed a
    I finally got to watch this today, and I don't regret a second of any of it. It felt like I came from the greatest party in history. Sure, it's a bit more... "hardcore" than any other party movie I've seen. If they were going for that, then they succeeded. I would say this is something to watch with friends, NOT your parents! Lol.

    And to all the really negative critics, I noticed a pattern among all of them :they're trying to compare this movie to movies that take themselves seriously. It's like comparing an orange to an 8oz steak: OF COURSE it's going to be different from what you expected! It's for a very specific audience teenagers. And I bet that 99% of the 1's or 0's are middle aged farts who don't know what we kids like now-a-days.

    I'm not saying this compares to the Titanic or anything, but for this generation, it is a good watch to just have fun. Fun, fun fun.
    Expand
  47. Apr 25, 2014
    8
    An good movie, with good voice acting and good soundtrack. Very funy, non-so-originaly movie. Teenagers, high-school hot girls and aduts are on this movie.
Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Mar 3, 2012
    30
    "There's a midget in the oven!" is about as inspired as the dialogue and set pieces get in this queasy-making entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 3, 2012
    63
    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Mar 2, 2012
    63
    Most teen flicks just fake being fueled by anarchy. But the gut-bustingly funny Project X is the real deal. It's raunchy, reckless and ready to party. What's not to like?