Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 2, 2012
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 287 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
151
Mixed:
65
Negative:
71
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
ArchalolApr 2, 2012
This movie actually had me entertained the entire time, and while my own parties as a teen were nowhere near in league with the party in the movie, they still had me going nostalgic at times. The film is awesome when you go visit it with aThis movie actually had me entertained the entire time, and while my own parties as a teen were nowhere near in league with the party in the movie, they still had me going nostalgic at times. The film is awesome when you go visit it with a few mates, but don't go expecting a comedy with the same class as The Hangover. It's definately worth the watch, though if you've never been to a teen party, don't have any friends and your theater doesn't serve alcohol, you should subtract about three points from my review score. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
The-SillyAkApr 14, 2012
Ok, I can see why people hate this movie. But if your aged between 15 and 21 this should be your fave movie.
It has, humour like harold and kumar, action, alchohal, teenagers, violence, t!ts, A$$ and awesome music.
The first person camera
Ok, I can see why people hate this movie. But if your aged between 15 and 21 this should be your fave movie.
It has, humour like harold and kumar, action, alchohal, teenagers, violence, t!ts, A$$ and awesome music.
The first person camera view gets a bit tedious, and the flamethrower was a bit over the top.
Other than that, my fave movie of all time.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
ihavenofriendzzJun 2, 2012
I can't say I really understand some of these negative reviews. It's a party movie. It's rated R. Can people just not lighten up and have fun at a movie? You're watching people have a crazy night that you can never have. There are a fewI can't say I really understand some of these negative reviews. It's a party movie. It's rated R. Can people just not lighten up and have fun at a movie? You're watching people have a crazy night that you can never have. There are a few laughs and a few wtf moments, but seriously. Did any of these people see any of the trailers? It's a party. Crazy things happen. People have fun. The fact that I'm sure a lot of people hate this movie yet loved Superbad, amazes me. This at least shows a party.. Superbad is just all about getting there, then being disappointed when you get there. Pretty much most of this movie is of people having an awesome time at a great party. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
TheDRauchOct 15, 2012
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ag10May 31, 2013
Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc.Probably one of my most favourite movies of all time. There are 2 types of movies: the "good" movies like The Godfather, The Shawshank Redemption and Pulp Fiction and there are also the "fun" movies like Project X, The Hangover, Jackass etc. Most of the "fun" movies however are bad, but Project X is one of those films that if you are a teen like me, you will find incredibly entertaining. You will also want to watch it again. And again. And again. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
flametail23Feb 15, 2015
I was expecting to hate this movie when my friend told me to watch it because the things I had read didn't make me wanna watch it. After watching this movie I can say that I'm glad I did, it's a fun, funny movie with characters that aren'tI was expecting to hate this movie when my friend told me to watch it because the things I had read didn't make me wanna watch it. After watching this movie I can say that I'm glad I did, it's a fun, funny movie with characters that aren't annoying as hell.
7/10
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
daviddelnorte23May 1, 2017
Tengo que decir que 'Project X' es la mejor película de fiestas, instituto y otras 'juergas' adolescentes. Esta película es una gamberrada desde el minuto 1 de metraje. La manera en la que está narrada y somos testigos de esta locura, aTengo que decir que 'Project X' es la mejor película de fiestas, instituto y otras 'juergas' adolescentes. Esta película es una gamberrada desde el minuto 1 de metraje. La manera en la que está narrada y somos testigos de esta locura, a través del video que está haciendo un integrante de este grupo de gañanes, hace que sea unas risas y diversión constantes. Es una película que no pretende ser más de lo que es, una pura comedia adolescente. No intenta en ningún momento dar lecciones ni conscienciar sobre el asunto en cuestión.

En definitiva, yo me lo pasé genial viéndola, porque sabía lo que iba a ver. Y no me defraudó, por lo tanto, como cumple perfectamente su cometido, para mí es una buena película. Un 7.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TheQuietGamerAug 21, 2012
Project X is about the party everybody has dreamed of throwing, the party that will turn the party thrower/throwers into legends and get them any girl they want. While I was watching this movie I couldn't help but think about how awesome itProject X is about the party everybody has dreamed of throwing, the party that will turn the party thrower/throwers into legends and get them any girl they want. While I was watching this movie I couldn't help but think about how awesome it would be to have been there. Your basically watching an awesome party go from crazy to out of freaking control. It's also hilarious, at least I thought it was, bu that's probably because I have an extremely immature sense of humor and I'm easily amused. If you want to watch a movie about the party you've only dreamed of, and get a good laugh this is for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
asthobaskoroSep 17, 2012
Project X is every teens wet dream. Enjoy viewing experience with your college dudes, and you'll be notice the unlimited high-school **** Till the break down, yo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
andres200jAug 22, 2012
This is one of the best comedy films I've seen in my life. Want to have a party like this, but with less mess. I can not believe this movie has so little score, should have at least a score of 70.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MikefromAngusMar 7, 2014
The movie had a really good idea, but it didn't go anywhere... It was just long and unfunny and even boring at times. Yup, an epic party being boring! that's how you feel when you watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Tranquilbez22Jul 21, 2012
Well I think some of the critics are dead wrong here. This fim is pretty good. Older critics are only giving terrible reviews because all they see in this movie are horny teens trying to get laid at a party which has been over-done so manyWell I think some of the critics are dead wrong here. This fim is pretty good. Older critics are only giving terrible reviews because all they see in this movie are horny teens trying to get laid at a party which has been over-done so many times. The way teenagers see the film is the party they always wanted to throw but don't have the balls to. What starts out as decent gathering for Thomas Cubb's birthday turns into the party of the milenium with hilarious results like an angry midget being placed into an oven, two twelve year old security guards beating the **** out of an angry neighbor or an ecstasy filled garden gnome with his middle finger up. The film starts out a bit slow but starts to get going 15 minutes in and DOES.NOT.STOP!
This film is iconic for every teenager such as myself mainly because this party makes the wildest party you have been look like an old ladies tea party in comparison.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said,This movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said, it could've been funnier and there could've been a little more plot and a little less "highlights" but it was still totally worth watching. Obviously this movie isn't for everyone. It's raunchy, immature, and graphic but it hits its targeted audience on point. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AlvaradoKTAJun 22, 2012
Looking back at this film, it would have made a better half-hour short. As you would think, most of the movie takes place during the party. Making you feel like a loser just sitting there watching average actors jumping around and doingLooking back at this film, it would have made a better half-hour short. As you would think, most of the movie takes place during the party. Making you feel like a loser just sitting there watching average actors jumping around and doing drugs. Nonetheless, the entertainment is there and rapped with a nice dose of laughter. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sorry15Aug 5, 2012
Dirty, hilarious and not recommended to easy influential teenagers, ,,Project X'' is an epic party, with an epic soundtrack and some cliches of the comedy genre, but still an full entertaining experience, and that is a comedy suppose to beDirty, hilarious and not recommended to easy influential teenagers, ,,Project X'' is an epic party, with an epic soundtrack and some cliches of the comedy genre, but still an full entertaining experience, and that is a comedy suppose to be and this one does its job extremely good. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RIck6289Jun 21, 2012
If you're looking for a movie with a great plot with great character development this is not what you should watch. Overall this is a great movie with entertaining footage about an "epic" party. It shows what every teenager and college kidIf you're looking for a movie with a great plot with great character development this is not what you should watch. Overall this is a great movie with entertaining footage about an "epic" party. It shows what every teenager and college kid looks for in a party. Crazy drunk memories. It had great camera placement and how they incorperated the home video look into the movie so it feels like you were or are there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
theahsanhaseebDec 18, 2012
Could have been much, much crazier. I'm only giving it 4 marks because few of the scenes were stupid and they shouldn't have been included and vice versa and also because Oliver Cooper a.k.a Costa really tried to imitate Jonah Hill and thatCould have been much, much crazier. I'm only giving it 4 marks because few of the scenes were stupid and they shouldn't have been included and vice versa and also because Oliver Cooper a.k.a Costa really tried to imitate Jonah Hill and that seems unoriginal and flop. When it comes to teenage parties and stuff, Jonah is the only person that comes on my mind because he really knows how to party. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
steelridderJul 8, 2012
I laughed my ass of with this movie! I really don't understand why all these horrid reviews are given! It was the best movie my friends and I saw since months!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
geedupSep 5, 2012
This plot is not an original, nor is the concept. However, if you're into not thinking while watching a movie-this is ideal. Slowly the characters and projected party highlighted in the trailer comes together. And, its quite over the top withThis plot is not an original, nor is the concept. However, if you're into not thinking while watching a movie-this is ideal. Slowly the characters and projected party highlighted in the trailer comes together. And, its quite over the top with some unexpected happenings during the party. The montage method tends to dominate the last 30 or so minutes to attempt to give you a "feel" of the party but really shows lack of imagination for the entire movie. Good for a single watch tho. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CBeckman25Jul 22, 2012
Just saw Project X. That might have been my favorite movie of the year so far. It was just INSANE! One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. The 12 year old security guards were easily the highlight. Such a crazy ass movie. If your gonna goJust saw Project X. That might have been my favorite movie of the year so far. It was just INSANE! One of the funniest movies I've ever seen. The 12 year old security guards were easily the highlight. Such a crazy ass movie. If your gonna go see it, go with a big crowd. It's so much fun! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
srikSep 10, 2012
Speaking technically,the cam work was awesome. Before giving a negative review...do u guys even know anything about film making?
Think Big. Think Different!!!
F the Future...Party the Present...
Datz Project X baibe...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RikiegeJan 23, 2013
A very original and funny movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
crabby14Feb 8, 2013
Everyone who gave this a bad review seems to be some stupid old fart, well get over it, you not a teenager any more and this film isnt made for you, so why would you watch it, let alone give it a bad review, move on
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MarkMusicMar 20, 2013
I can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable films of the year. No, theres no real plot. Heres the story: 3 High School friends try to throw the best party ever and it soon becomes out of control and too much to handle.I can honestly say that this was one of the most enjoyable films of the year. No, theres no real plot. Heres the story: 3 High School friends try to throw the best party ever and it soon becomes out of control and too much to handle. Surprisingly they made a good film. I put this movie personally on the TV while my brother and his 5 friends were in the room just to see what happens. When they first saw the nome scene they tuned in for the whole film. And let me tell you white kids know how to party. This is a must see if you like out of control films. And I hear some of you no real plot but hey I and anyone that I know who saw it enjoyed it very much. Must Watch. One more thing. They called for all the actors/background actors through the internet and I must say they actually acted pretty good and pretty funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Popcorn12345Jul 16, 2013
Not hilarious and not the best movie ever but still a good watch for anyone who enjoys films like 'the hangover' or 'Superbad'. It goes into the mind of a teenage boy and is quite accurate with what their life circulates around at that age.Not hilarious and not the best movie ever but still a good watch for anyone who enjoys films like 'the hangover' or 'Superbad'. It goes into the mind of a teenage boy and is quite accurate with what their life circulates around at that age. But it over exaggerates it and everything goes out of control at the party. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
s1nk0Aug 8, 2013
I finally got to watch this today, and I don't regret a second of any of it. It felt like I came from the greatest party in history. Sure, it's a bit more... "hardcore" than any other party movie I've seen. If they were going for that, thenI finally got to watch this today, and I don't regret a second of any of it. It felt like I came from the greatest party in history. Sure, it's a bit more... "hardcore" than any other party movie I've seen. If they were going for that, then they succeeded. I would say this is something to watch with friends, NOT your parents! Lol.

And to all the really negative critics, I noticed a pattern among all of them :they're trying to compare this movie to movies that take themselves seriously. It's like comparing an orange to an 8oz steak: OF COURSE it's going to be different from what you expected! It's for a very specific audience teenagers. And I bet that 99% of the 1's or 0's are middle aged farts who don't know what we kids like now-a-days.

I'm not saying this compares to the Titanic or anything, but for this generation, it is a good watch to just have fun. Fun, fun fun.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
DuckNationJun 22, 2014
Project X is the kind of movie you should only watch once as it has absolutely no re-watch value. For the most part while movies based around parties have a somewhat story being told this movie has none its just about one massive party. WhileProject X is the kind of movie you should only watch once as it has absolutely no re-watch value. For the most part while movies based around parties have a somewhat story being told this movie has none its just about one massive party. While the partying may be cool for the first like 10-20 minutes the movie really starts to drags on in the middle and the multiple scenes of girls breast and ass wasn't enough to do anything im mean yeah sure it was nice but rather pointless. For it being a Found Footage film it wasn't as bad as it could have been as most the time im annoyed by these types of movies but i was a problem this time.

The story follows three loser kids in high school who decide to throw a massive party in hopes that it will later make them popular and that's it ensue the partying. The movie had a couple good moments but nothing outrageous i chuckled maybe a few times honestly it was kinda a let down. I think its hilarious that the movie was promoted as "The Party You've Only Dreamed About" because i have been to a rave which is pretty much the same thing and there was at least 3-5 thousand people all partying but that was in the forest and not a house, most people I've had at my house for a party was like 50 people but of course my house isn't that huge. The end does pick up with with how crazy the party gets and saves it from its tedious shot after shot of either **** ass, people drinking, and people hooking up.

Overall i give it a 5.0 Honestly my favorite characters were the security kids as they were the best part of the whole of the movie well other than the hot women.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
McLaughlinViewsAug 19, 2013
Project X is the part film of the decade. It is as simple as that, a party which crashes out of control for Thomas’ birthday winds up being major trouble for the neighbours and Thomas himself. Project X is filmed as a found footage partyProject X is the part film of the decade. It is as simple as that, a party which crashes out of control for Thomas’ birthday winds up being major trouble for the neighbours and Thomas himself. Project X is filmed as a found footage party film, which I thought was interesting because it’s never really a comedy that has found footage, obviously it’s usually horrors like The Blair Witch Project and Paranormal Activity. So this idea of having a party which gets completely out of hand as found footage really interested me.

Project X delivers the usual genre conventions of a party film, nudity, strong language and underage drinking and even delivers that one bloke who seems to be out-of-place at the party (the character which always turns out to be the funniest). I enjoyed the realism of the film in the aspect that this could happen, perhaps not to the extent which it does in the film but huge parties which get completely out of hand do happen, which I enjoyed.

I thought acting wise the cast were good for this sort of film, as far as I know they are fairly newcomers to acting to which personally for me made it better as the film relies on its impact of realism (hence found footage), if you had a big Hollywood actor playing Thomas the film would lose the believe-ability which it has.

I thoroughly enjoyed the filming character, Dax. Although he didn’t have any real screen time because he was holding the camera I thought his character was hilarious. Project X which could have a sequel in the works could be alright but I can’t see how they can really do anything else because at least a quarter of the film is Thomas worrying about his parents finding out, so a sequel would probably just be a rehash and could wind up being dull, so no I don’t want the Project X sequel which was announced to being ‘pursued’ shortly after the films release last year.

Project X takes party movies to the next level with its use of talk shows and the found footage of all the party action mashed together works really well and delivers new life to what is becoming a clichéd genre. Project X is its own thing which makes it that much better.

If you haven’t seen Project X and you’re into teen party movies then go check it out, you won’t be disappointed. No this film isn't going to be a life changing movie but it is still thoroughly enjoyable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MovieGuysDec 31, 2013
Nima Nourizadeh, the director of Project X, has done with this film what Tarantino did with some of his movies: created a motion picture that he knew audiences would enjoy and didn't care about his critics. If you go into this movie withNima Nourizadeh, the director of Project X, has done with this film what Tarantino did with some of his movies: created a motion picture that he knew audiences would enjoy and didn't care about his critics. If you go into this movie with "Godfather-like standards", I'll call them, then of course you will hate it. But, if you see this movie just to have a good time on a Friday night with some of your buddies, I guarantee you will like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GiPicchiottiDec 16, 2013
All of my friends saw Project X when it was still on theaters and they praised it as "awesome", "best movie ever", "crazy" and many other good adjectives. There was even a party here on my hood that was based on that movie and managed toAll of my friends saw Project X when it was still on theaters and they praised it as "awesome", "best movie ever", "crazy" and many other good adjectives. There was even a party here on my hood that was based on that movie and managed to gather more than a thousand people on a public square. So, when I decided to watch it, I was expecting the movie to be something just "wow". But it really wasn't.
I love "bad" movies like American Pie and The Hangover, and I'm not a "moralist", I'm a teen, an open minded teen that loves to party (but can't because lives with near fascist parents), so the problem is not on the movie being "perverted" or "meaningless". I love deep plots but there are times I just want to laugh, just want to go crazy. So, the problem is that the movie failed to be a "good crazy movie", and it, for 3 major reasons:

1. I laughed watching it. But a lot less than I laughed to American Pie series, Hangover series, and even less than I laugh when watching some random vlog. It is funny, but it doesn't have any outstanding character like Hangover's Chow, and doesn't have that many jokes or eccentric situations either.

2. It is very non-realistic. Honestly, at least where I live, the teenagers aren't that way. Really, most of teens doesn't even smoke weed, do you really think that EVERYONE on the party would take ecstasy pills? There are just 3 or 4 more "open-minded" people on my classroom, and only one which already used MDMA. I know that the movie wasn't made to be "realistic", but I was expecting it to be a "real-a-like" party which went crazy, and not a "fantasy" party. If the was supposed to be crazy and disconnected with reality, so they should put some unicorns and gnoms on it. Also, the girls aren't so "liberal". There is only ONE GIRL on the hood which has shown her at a party and she is judged by most of other girls.

3. The events on the movie are very poorly timed. Seriously. The movie don't show "why" the party gets so huge (it tries, but fails to show it), and you don't see the party growing. It's like that in 5 five minutes, everything goes magically from an ordinary teenage party to the party of human history.

However, the movie has some good points. I talked a lot about the failures, because I was very hyped to see it, and it didn't satisfy all the hype. Anyway, it's very audacious, very. It says the morality". Definitely on a generic and cheap way, but it says. Even the party don't having much to do with real parties, it really shows the way most teens think. In a more dramatic way, obviously. But c'mon... It retracts the your religion" way of thinking.

The movie also have many hot actresses and boobs, a crazy part when the streets go on fire, and things like that, that make the movie "good for teens". It have some cliche (on the ending of love story), but it is a worth seeing movie. It's definitely better than staying for two hours without doing anything, or talking with friends on the PC or some boring ****.

So, it's not a 10/10 movie, but is not a 0/10. I gave it a 6 for what it represent and for its funny moments. That's it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews