Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: March 2, 2012
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 282 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
147
Mixed:
64
Negative:
71
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
snazzyjuiceJul 18, 2012
This isn't a movie, it's a youtube video. And it's not a good youtube video. Every character in this movie are the most annoying characters i've seen in a long time and the movie seemed like it was writing itself as it went along. "How do weThis isn't a movie, it's a youtube video. And it's not a good youtube video. Every character in this movie are the most annoying characters i've seen in a long time and the movie seemed like it was writing itself as it went along. "How do we get drugs to the party?" "I don't know! Hey, lets break that gnome!". There were drugs in the gnome. Pathetic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
cameronmorewoodNov 5, 2012
The shenanigans of the teens at times made me smile, and even that was rare, but let's face it, Project X is more of a failed reality show pilot than a film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
Cam977Jan 17, 2013
This film is simply abysmal. I don't see how anyone could find it funny; firstly, it is fille with losers who curse every 2 seconds - boring. Furthermore, the camerawork is appalling. I know it's done for effect but it really is terrible.This film is simply abysmal. I don't see how anyone could find it funny; firstly, it is fille with losers who curse every 2 seconds - boring. Furthermore, the camerawork is appalling. I know it's done for effect but it really is terrible. What a waste of time, do not see this tripe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
Jamison12Jun 28, 2014
Project X is a ridiculous, pointless movie. A lot happens in this movie, but no laughs come from it. The likeliness of any of the events to take place is very low, that's kind of important for a found footage film that doesn't include andProject X is a ridiculous, pointless movie. A lot happens in this movie, but no laughs come from it. The likeliness of any of the events to take place is very low, that's kind of important for a found footage film that doesn't include and paranormal beings. It also has a very questionable message of it being okay the main character lost his entire college fund because he got **** for one night. To sum up Project X: This is a poor man's Superbad. A very poor man's Superbad. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
KivaJun 11, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An original comedy which results to be bad. I liked the end because it is realistic despite all the comedies nowadays. I expected more and i was kind of dissapointed Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Luke_McLaughlinJul 27, 2013
I don't know what to say about Project X. Did it have a plot? No, but it didn't need one. Did it have any type of character development? No, but it didn't need it. This film feels like a documentary and an actual movie all at one time. ItI don't know what to say about Project X. Did it have a plot? No, but it didn't need one. Did it have any type of character development? No, but it didn't need it. This film feels like a documentary and an actual movie all at one time. It truly is an experience. The lighting is well done, the editing is snappy, the soundtrack is nothing short of epic, and the pure amount of extra participation is unprecedented. However, this movie is an absolute nightmare for anyone that is host to parties. I had anxiety from the start of the party to the moment the credits rolled. The only major problem with the film is the almost complete disregard for consequences. Putting text at the end will not discourage an over zealous viewer from throwing their own Project X. Even the father completely disregards his sons blatant disregard for authority. With all that being said I rate this right in the middle of the sliding scale. It is good, don't get me wrong, but it's not really a movie. It's an experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
kenje13Jul 31, 2014
Many argue that the movie isn't about it's story or characters but about a supposedly "Epic" Party. Now first let me say: I was young once too and surely did some stuff I am not exactly proud of. And that is the point ! They may be funnyMany argue that the movie isn't about it's story or characters but about a supposedly "Epic" Party. Now first let me say: I was young once too and surely did some stuff I am not exactly proud of. And that is the point ! They may be funny stories but you are sure as heck not proud of them aside from a few exceptions maybe! This movie glorifies partying to such ridicoulous proportions that all of the people in the movie seem like complete morons and frankly just loathsome people. The entire thing is based around tree highschoolers no less, of which one "Costa" might just be one of the most annoying douchebags you've ever seen on film. This film is not how any "Epic" Party would be but how 14 year old kiddies imagine it: No limits, no consequences, no realism.
Usually there is a point though where reality comes crashing in but not in this movie. I mean stuff happens but the film just ends and the three kiddos get "popular" without any repercussions.
Why is that such an important deal in the first place? High School is over in a blink and then what are they going to do with their popularity? Work at Burger King? It's quite embarassing to watch really. Like when you overhear some kiddies arguing who drank the most beer last night fighting about it like it's actually a title worth having. Or when some teenager calls his friend a **** because he won't drink or stops drinking.
Aside from that the movie objectifies women of course where the only purpose they have is to show their boobs and be sex-slaves to the men they all so much desire !
One unintentionally frightening scene is when the police arrives and people start throwing bottles and it's like they are becoming a mob, a collective mind of douchebags not thinking about their actions! The movie makes it look like it's actually a cool thing. Right to Party my ass. You have every right to Party as long as you are not a selfish prick who puts his juvenile desires above any one elses. I almost burned your house down? Oh well, right to party I guess. Pretty Epic... right...
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
NerdConsultantDec 30, 2014
the only thing i thought while watching this was why the hell am i watching this and how the hell is the guy that wrote legitimately funny films like scott pillgrim vs the world and 21 jump street allowed himself to be lowered to this. thisthe only thing i thought while watching this was why the hell am i watching this and how the hell is the guy that wrote legitimately funny films like scott pillgrim vs the world and 21 jump street allowed himself to be lowered to this. this film is genuinely uncomfortable and besides being a really bad superbad rip off i absolutely hated every single vain stupid character with a vengeance and wanted the police to break up this crap party for the love of god if you think you need to do what this film did to have a good party i can assure you from experience you don't Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
maximomeridiusNov 7, 2015
Without any kind of doubt, this is the worst movie ever made. Is remarkably sad to see that nowadays society believes that their happiness depends on their popularity. The three main characters of this movie end up ruining their lives despiteWithout any kind of doubt, this is the worst movie ever made. Is remarkably sad to see that nowadays society believes that their happiness depends on their popularity. The three main characters of this movie end up ruining their lives despite that the movie implies that popularity and status is more important. If they keep on making this kind of films we┬┤ll live on this pile of lies, disregarding what really is important on life Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
currer_bellAug 11, 2012
Can a movie get more dumb and stupid as this? I don't think... The hangover was a good comedy movie, but this one is plain s**t to say the least. And if the torture wasn't enough for an hour and a half, the most sickening part comes right atCan a movie get more dumb and stupid as this? I don't think... The hangover was a good comedy movie, but this one is plain s**t to say the least. And if the torture wasn't enough for an hour and a half, the most sickening part comes right at the end ; The party teen guy burned down houses, nearly killed several people, a dog and a dwarf, destroyed his dad's car... but in the end daddy says it's Ok, he's proud of his son, because he became popular. Great. Great great ending. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
dz9Mar 19, 2012
This movie does something that NO genre of movie should ever forget, it forgets to bring the audience along with it. What I mean by that is that while you are watching this, due to the badly fleshed out characters, lacking story development,This movie does something that NO genre of movie should ever forget, it forgets to bring the audience along with it. What I mean by that is that while you are watching this, due to the badly fleshed out characters, lacking story development, and the overall style of the movie... you feel like your a third wheel watching it, it feels as if you are watching a bunch of OTHER people have fun and your just sadly stuck in your theatre seat. What else does it do wrong? It's just not funny, aside from two parts, the jokes are just for shock value with no build up OR punch line, so it feels like a very bad episode of Tosh.0 without the clever commentary. Also, the characters are both unbelievable and unlikable, especially the main character's best friend in the movie. Some may say though that at least its entertaining.. but how? At first in the movie, it does sort of lift the mood by its loud pump music and outrageous party footage, but the movie followed this formula too much to the tee. The movie was 10 minutes of party montage with loud music and 4minutes of irrelevant dialogue; repeat. The Good: There is None. The Bad: The movie fails at connecting to the audience, lacks funny jokes, and unbelievable and unlikable characters. So why get the 1? Despite all the "hating" upon this movie, it does serve a good purpose. This would be a perfect movie to play in the background of a drinking party, just make sure your party goers are hammered, cause thats the only audience this movie should attract. Collapse
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
5
BuddahMar 11, 2012
If you go into this movie with the intent to be educated then you should not have paid to see this movie. Go rent something or watch the Artist. This movie was made to take the concept of Superbad and give it some steroids with a 2 hourIf you go into this movie with the intent to be educated then you should not have paid to see this movie. Go rent something or watch the Artist. This movie was made to take the concept of Superbad and give it some steroids with a 2 hour energy drink chaser. I do not think it is the greatest movie by any means nor is it anything special in the way other comedies have been of this ilk. I was entertained though. Of course I am a guy, and the breasts did add to the overall likeability of Project X. I will admit that much, but I found the ride fun and the knowledge of what was to come enticing to see. I wanted to see the craziness to keep going. I needed to see the total chaos that I saw in the sneak previews. The spoiler was in my head and that made me want to go through it and not think about how bad the acting was or how the director didn't care to really care fill the screen with thought provoking dialogue. The movie was meant to take our inner child that tells us to let go and have fun, and take it for a ride. My party days are long gone, and I do not think about it at all nor do I really miss it. Yet, it was nice to see what it would be like if I could turn back the clock and just totally immerse myself in that moment. This movie is not to be taken seriously, it is meant to be enjoyed for the party we all wish we could experience just once in our lives, and live to talk about. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
8
haydensimpkins9Mar 3, 2012
Great movie to just have a pure (sorta) honest laugh with out having to think to hard or feel like you have been sitting in a movie too long. AKA the prefect movie short sweet (sorta) and to the point all while being a hysterical comedy.
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
10
mau1133Jun 18, 2012
oh come on, you have to like this movie and see this movie, out of hand is putting it small, this party movie was epic , it reminds me of the kind of parties i used to have. real party movie and well as you can see i liked it. watch it andoh come on, you have to like this movie and see this movie, out of hand is putting it small, this party movie was epic , it reminds me of the kind of parties i used to have. real party movie and well as you can see i liked it. watch it and well see it for what it really is a couple of teens having fun and doing what all teens want to do. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
TastyJamProjectMar 12, 2012
This is a great movie to see with a group of friends, it's completely off the wall, in your face funny and so over the top it's in the stratosphere. That being said, I can't see anyone over 25 finding this funny, it's cruel and it's prettyThis is a great movie to see with a group of friends, it's completely off the wall, in your face funny and so over the top it's in the stratosphere. That being said, I can't see anyone over 25 finding this funny, it's cruel and it's pretty frightening how ethically and morally irresponsible the main characters, (and by proxy the filmmakers), are. It's a rollicking, hilarious and insane thrill ride. It's also disturbing, cruel, violent and pro-drug use. A lot of people have been saying it's like "Superbad on crack," it literally is. But where that film was profane and hilarious, it had a heart and a moral center, with characters you could identify with. While "Project X" is hilarious, it's also just profane. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
mgastrykerMar 7, 2012
You can't expect to go into this movie expecting a plot and a touching story. If you do that, you're just plain stupid. It's made for teenagers to enjoy watching an outrageous party that they wish they were at. Most adults won't find thisYou can't expect to go into this movie expecting a plot and a touching story. If you do that, you're just plain stupid. It's made for teenagers to enjoy watching an outrageous party that they wish they were at. Most adults won't find this entertaining at all. But if your a teenager, go watch this! Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
E6XMar 3, 2012
Although the movie does not have a great plot or storyline, it is still a very funny and entertaining movie to see with some friends. After seeing the movie you will get an overwhelming urge to go to a massive raging party of this sort, justAlthough the movie does not have a great plot or storyline, it is still a very funny and entertaining movie to see with some friends. After seeing the movie you will get an overwhelming urge to go to a massive raging party of this sort, just because it was so awesome. Project X really is not that bad, and I encourage you all see this movie. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
1
scrieciuFeb 8, 2015
What was all the hype about ? This movie was awful. It's stupid, idiotic, unfunny, no point, has no hearth and the characters were so unlikeable. Avoid it !
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
RevHeidiOlsenMar 7, 2012
Project X is a groundbreaking comedy that takes the cliche "Don't burn the house down" to a whole new level. This documentary style party film is completely in a genre of its own.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
FunkM4staMar 5, 2012
For those who wants a "Film" with a plot and everything that goes with... you don't want to see this.
One the other hand, if you want to have some fun, It finally happened. A movie where you don't care about anything and simply ENJOY. Now my
For those who wants a "Film" with a plot and everything that goes with... you don't want to see this.
One the other hand, if you want to have some fun, It finally happened. A movie where you don't care about anything and simply ENJOY. Now my turn. Handy cam + Party = Awesome Awesomeness. Like a mix of all the best party i ever had minus the flamethrower part. I am going to see it again and again then buy it to watch it again. If you don't like it, don't watch it and stop hatting, I recommande it to all Partyrocker!
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
RudolfiMar 15, 2012
I really regret wasting my money to pay for this movie. It was stupid and pointless! They just used some naked teen girls to attract audience and make money...
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
jstrickler872Mar 2, 2012
This was a fun movie experience. It's not a movie for adults. It's a movie for teens. I'm damn sure every teen who has wanted to experience an insane party...this will be the closest you can get to it.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
MagnificentMMay 24, 2012
If you're thinking about seeking this, just watch Superbad instead. They are pretty similar, except for the fact that Superbad is funny.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
BigTommyJun 2, 2012
This film is possibly the most boring piece of screenplay I've ever set eyes on. There is no plot at all and the camera choice (as seen in chronicle) resembling the documentary style does not work, it just means your point of view is veryThis film is possibly the most boring piece of screenplay I've ever set eyes on. There is no plot at all and the camera choice (as seen in chronicle) resembling the documentary style does not work, it just means your point of view is very limited. There is no fun in watching other people party when you aren't part of the action. Don't bother watching this film. Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
dijavantewowMar 3, 2013
How is this considered a comedy? Did anyone actually take the time to write any jokes? Nope, just got attractive women, told them to take their shirts off and pretend to be at the most unrealistic party ever. Anyone out there saying itHow is this considered a comedy? Did anyone actually take the time to write any jokes? Nope, just got attractive women, told them to take their shirts off and pretend to be at the most unrealistic party ever. Anyone out there saying it reminds them of their party days are just lying. This stuff doesn't happen. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
tykittaaAug 29, 2012
Dazed and Confused for stupid people.

One of the worst films ever made, this movie is not only unfunny, uncreative, and boring, it's a downright offensive film that offers up the following 'moral' at the end: It doesn't matter if you ruin
Dazed and Confused for stupid people.

One of the worst films ever made, this movie is not only unfunny, uncreative, and boring, it's a downright offensive film that offers up the following 'moral' at the end: It doesn't matter if you ruin your own life and the lives of your parents, as long as you're popular in high school, because that's what is REALLY important.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
AkkharJun 6, 2012
Crazy , Sick , ******* insane ....the whole movie ! Never imagine Project X (2012 )

would be like this . Normally speaking is just a lot "a lot" of american teenagers making fool of themselves. On the other hand that party was definitely
Crazy , Sick , ******* insane ....the whole movie ! Never imagine Project X (2012 )

would be like this . Normally speaking is just a lot "a lot" of american teenagers making fool of themselves. On the other hand that party was definitely Epic . the movie would be better if it wasn't footage type but still its damn crazy. No comment on directing , Script or Acting coz its all about the party . And that sure was hell of a party . What can I say , Yeah everything in the film was Negative and there's no good in the film . Its just different kinda movie(Party) gone BAD .
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
J_Thom123Jan 12, 2013
O.k. So three complete morons through a "party", which apparently in some suburban neighborhoods is roughly equivalent to a barbarian raiding. In the process of "partying" they destroy one their parent's houses, part of their neighborhood,O.k. So three complete morons through a "party", which apparently in some suburban neighborhoods is roughly equivalent to a barbarian raiding. In the process of "partying" they destroy one their parent's houses, part of their neighborhood, started several dozen fires, destroyed their car, and likely killed one or more people. In the end, one ends up riding the "short bus" to school after being declared "mentally deficient" to avoid prosecution, one had nothing happen to him but has several paternity suits filed against him, and one got a few months. The one with several paternity suits brags about "his next 'party'" on national television. So the moral of the story: destroy, rape, pillage, murder, no one else's lives matter, so long as you have fun and in the end everything will be okay. Ultimately, the only way this vaunt through sociopathy could have been construed as a comedy would have been if it ended in a Tarantino-style battle royal which left everyone of the psychotic main characters laying dead in a pool of their own blood. That didn't happen, this wasn't funny. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SirLouenJun 23, 2012
Great movie, I got what I expected how can a party end like a total chaos. This film is not made for people with child or people that have not lived around parties. Why there are people that watch systematically ALL the films? I would neverGreat movie, I got what I expected how can a party end like a total chaos. This film is not made for people with child or people that have not lived around parties. Why there are people that watch systematically ALL the films? I would never ever see films made with Sandra Bullock, because I know what it is inside for example. So I wont be rating that films a 0, just because I don't like that type of films. Even though this is not a 10 film, but at least those 10 ratings, compensate the illogic behind the 0 ratings. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
MattyiceDec 2, 2012
This is a little late to be reviewing right now, but this movie sucked. The type of movie like this was perfected by superbad, and the producer Todd Phillips perfected comedy movies with The Hangover saga and Old School, but not this one.This is a little late to be reviewing right now, but this movie sucked. The type of movie like this was perfected by superbad, and the producer Todd Phillips perfected comedy movies with The Hangover saga and Old School, but not this one. This movie is 88 minutes of junk and garbage. Not funny at all, unlike the movies i mentioned (Even Hangover: pt 2). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews