Metascore
48

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 244 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , , , ,
  • Summary: Project X follows three seemingly anonymous high school seniors as they attempt to finally make a name for themselves. Their idea is innocent enough: let's throw a party that no one will forget... but nothing could prepare them for this party. Word spreads quickly as dreams are ruined, records are blemished and legends are born. Project X is a warning to parents and police everywhere. (Warner Bros.) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 25
  2. Negative: 10 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Mar 1, 2012
    100
    The Oscars are swell, but once in a while a film comes along that is so courageous it deserves consideration for the Nobel Prize. An entire generation has been born and gone to college since the Beastie Boys defined that most basic of civil liberties: You've got to fight for your right to party.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Mar 1, 2012
    75
    Project X, likewise, serves up the frat house/Spring Break/Snooki-and-Sitch-on-a-bender antics that many in the audience will have been staring at for years, and implies that it's breaking down bold new barriers of misbehavior. In the end, though, it ain't nothin' but a party.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 3, 2012
    63
    Project X's first-person verisimilitude is the movie's primary strength and most damning weakness.
  4. Reviewed by: Keith Phipps
    Feb 29, 2012
    42
    It's crude in every sense: The film looks like shit, the characters are boors, and it's as sloppily put-together as the home movie it pretends to be. Project X's commitment to its crudity almost redeems it, though.
  5. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Mar 3, 2012
    30
    "There's a midget in the oven!" is about as inspired as the dialogue and set pieces get in this queasy-making entertainment.
  6. Reviewed by: Michelle Orange
    Mar 1, 2012
    30
    A party disaster movie targeted at kids who find the "Hangover" franchise too sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Andrew Schenker
    Mar 1, 2012
    12
    Awesomeness seems to be the chief quality prized by both the film and its characters; all other considerations--like safety, property damage, and especially good taste--are secondary.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 88
  2. Negative: 30 out of 88
  1. Mar 5, 2012
    10
    Let me first say that the only reason I saw this movie was because of the New York Times review. I watched this movie from start to finish and realized it was barley a movie at all. It was literally the filming of the most epic party ever. You cannot watch this film expecting character development, deep plots or script. It is literally the filming of a night as it unravels. The cinematography and use of flip cams was awesome and really well done. The only reason why i wont dismiss this film as bad, is how true it is and accurately it portrays a big portion of high school teens. I myself am a senior in high school and can say, the script accurately shows how we talk and the party shows the way we act. the only part i was iffy on was the instant consumption of about 70 ecstasy pills, that i feel would have been met with more hesitation. But long story short, This is simply the filming of an epic night that Millions wish they could have. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    Everyone who gave this a bad review seems to be some stupid old fart, well get over it, you not a teenager any more and this film isnt made for you, so why would you watch it, let alone give it a bad review, move on Collapse
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This movie was absolutely epic. It's tough to describe it in any other way. It wasn't all that funny which is what I was hoping for but it was intense. The acting was pretty solid and the sequences were absolutely over the top. Like I said, it could've been funnier and there could've been a little more plot and a little less "highlights" but it was still totally worth watching. Obviously this movie isn't for everyone. It's raunchy, immature, and graphic but it hits its targeted audience on point. Expand
  4. Mar 17, 2012
    7
    This movie was ok. Lots of teen boobies which was nice and fun. Funny thing was I went to the first afternoon showing and I was the absolute only person in the theater watching that film so I can say it was very enjoyable (no coughing, talking, sneezing, crying etc. in the theater). This was a hell of alot better than that pos movie, chronicle. Story was sort of weak, characters not really likeable at all except for the dude that gets tazered lol. Great time overall I would say its preety good compared to the trailer. Camera work btw was alot better then in chronicle cloverfield or any other found footage movie. Expand
  5. Jun 22, 2014
    5
    Project X is the kind of movie you should only watch once as it has absolutely no re-watch value. For the most part while movies based around parties have a somewhat story being told this movie has none its just about one massive party. While the partying may be cool for the first like 10-20 minutes the movie really starts to drags on in the middle and the multiple scenes of girls breast and ass wasn't enough to do anything im mean yeah sure it was nice but rather pointless. For it being a Found Footage film it wasn't as bad as it could have been as most the time im annoyed by these types of movies but i was a problem this time.

    The story follows three loser kids in high school who decide to throw a massive party in hopes that it will later make them popular and that's it ensue the partying. The movie had a couple good moments but nothing outrageous i chuckled maybe a few times honestly it was kinda a let down. I think its hilarious that the movie was promoted as "The Party You've Only Dreamed About" because i have been to a rave which is pretty much the same thing and there was at least 3-5 thousand people all partying but that was in the forest and not a house, most people I've had at my house for a party was like 50 people but of course my house isn't that huge. The end does pick up with with how crazy the party gets and saves it from its tedious shot after shot of either **** ass, people drinking, and people hooking up.

    Overall i give it a 5.0 Honestly my favorite characters were the security kids as they were the best part of the whole of the movie well other than the hot women.
    Expand
  6. dz9
    Mar 19, 2012
    1
    This movie does something that NO genre of movie should ever forget, it forgets to bring the audience along with it. What I mean by that is that while you are watching this, due to the badly fleshed out characters, lacking story development, and the overall style of the movie... you feel like your a third wheel watching it, it feels as if you are watching a bunch of OTHER people have fun and your just sadly stuck in your theatre seat. What else does it do wrong? It's just not funny, aside from two parts, the jokes are just for shock value with no build up OR punch line, so it feels like a very bad episode of Tosh.0 without the clever commentary. Also, the characters are both unbelievable and unlikable, especially the main character's best friend in the movie. Some may say though that at least its entertaining.. but how? At first in the movie, it does sort of lift the mood by its loud pump music and outrageous party footage, but the movie followed this formula too much to the tee. The movie was 10 minutes of party montage with loud music and 4minutes of irrelevant dialogue; repeat. The Good: There is None. The Bad: The movie fails at connecting to the audience, lacks funny jokes, and unbelievable and unlikable characters. So why get the 1? Despite all the "hating" upon this movie, it does serve a good purpose. This would be a perfect movie to play in the background of a drinking party, just make sure your party goers are hammered, cause thats the only audience this movie should attract. Expand
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    Dazed and Confused for stupid people.

    One of the worst films ever made, this movie is not only unfunny, uncreative, and boring, it's a
    downright offensive film that offers up the following 'moral' at the end: It doesn't matter if you ruin your own life and the lives of your parents, as long as you're popular in high school, because that's what is REALLY important. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Trailers