Prom Night

User Score
4.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 216

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Sherman
    Dec 5, 2008
    8
    this movie was a suspense full horror gore movie. it had some suspense but was very predictable. it gave me some chills but at parts i had to laugh. all and all it was ok kinda disturbing with all the stabing. a very weak and disturbing ending the acting could of been way better but its a rental not blockbuster.
  2. LaryG.
    May 3, 2008
    10
    It was the best jumpy movie ever.
  3. VikkiL.
    Jun 8, 2008
    9
    Although this re-make lacks the gore from the 1980's version, it can still send a shiver down the spine of any teenager. Very good.
  4. Mandy
    Apr 18, 2008
    7
    The movie was okay better than I expected.
  5. RachelR.
    Jun 11, 2008
    10
    Saw the movie yesterday. Full of suspense, interesting twists and turns. Slightly predictable but this adds to the suspense whilst 'waiting for the jumps and scares'. Acting was brilliant, loved the film. Its a MUST SEE.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Apr 12, 2008
    8
    HONESTLY, this is a PG-13 horror flick, and quite better then the recent horror trash! It was entertaining, not a masterpiece but definitely worth all of this negativity. Come on people you have to admit this was miles better then all these recent asian remakes! I've seen any horror movie from the asain remakes to the torture porn and this was one of the better horror flicks HONESTLY, this is a PG-13 horror flick, and quite better then the recent horror trash! It was entertaining, not a masterpiece but definitely worth all of this negativity. Come on people you have to admit this was miles better then all these recent asian remakes! I've seen any horror movie from the asain remakes to the torture porn and this was one of the better horror flicks I've seen recently! Expand
  7. Mia
    Apr 25, 2008
    10
    I just saw this movie and I loved it, it's one of my favorites.
  8. FrankS
    Jun 17, 2008
    10
    This film is well worth seeing. It is a very good reimagining of the 1980 classic with an all new story. It's stylish, technically well made, well acted, well paced and an auspicious feature film directorial debut by Nelson McCormick. I enjoyed it and I am waiting for the unrated DVD to be released.
  9. LawrenceW.
    Apr 18, 2008
    10
    I thought it was better then the first one with Jamie Lee Curtis. I love Britney snow action i think that all the actors and actress did good. but talk about jumping. mass ppl say its bad but i really think when you see the first one then this one you see that this one is way better any way i woulds give it a ten. some ppl a crazy to give it a 1,2,3,4,5,6,7, it way better than that. i I thought it was better then the first one with Jamie Lee Curtis. I love Britney snow action i think that all the actors and actress did good. but talk about jumping. mass ppl say its bad but i really think when you see the first one then this one you see that this one is way better any way i woulds give it a ten. some ppl a crazy to give it a 1,2,3,4,5,6,7, it way better than that. i love that movie im going to see it again yay! Expand
  10. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    This Is A Really Scary Movie!
    Good Writing, And Good Acting I'm Not Sure What's So Bad About This Movie??
  11. CarolineS.
    May 4, 2008
    10
    Great movie! A little predictable, but has surprising twists.
  12. AnnieH.
    Jun 20, 2008
    9
    I loved it it was really jumpy and exciting. Quite a bit of blood but one of the best films out there! I must see film!
  13. JessicaT.
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    Pretty good movie, better then I expected. It was some what corny but everyone in the theater seemed to enjoy and jump at all the right places. I'd recommend it to my friends.
Metascore
17

Overwhelming dislike - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 9 out of 12
  1. 25
    Despite having the same title and a similar premise to a 1980 Jamie Lee Curtis flick (kids getting slaughtered on prom night), this is NOT a remake. In fact, it really doesn't have much of a plot. It's basically "The O.C." with a body count.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    70
    A surprisingly effective teen-skewing thriller that soft-pedals graphic violence (in marked contrast to the R-rated 1980 original) while generating a fair degree of suspense.
  3. Formulaic to the core, this reworking of the fondly remembered high-school slasher picture works surprisingly well on its own terms.