User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1854 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jun 11, 2012
    2
    I'm a huge fan of early Ridley Scott sci-fi. Bladerunner and Alien have been two of my top ten movies of all time, for over two decades. It's probably because of this that Prometheus failed so hugely for me. As soon as the first preview was released, I was amped for this film.I watched every preview, Ridley Scott interview, and pre-release item I could find. I knew I had "expectations"I'm a huge fan of early Ridley Scott sci-fi. Bladerunner and Alien have been two of my top ten movies of all time, for over two decades. It's probably because of this that Prometheus failed so hugely for me. As soon as the first preview was released, I was amped for this film.I watched every preview, Ridley Scott interview, and pre-release item I could find. I knew I had "expectations" that few directors could meet--including my all-time favorite. Now, it seems, I cannot find five redeeming things to say about the film without thinking of 85 complaints.What was the purpose of the Prometheus "God" in the beginning sequence, drinking the "alien Koolaid?" Why were the "gods" angry with the "earthlings? Why couldn't the creature designers pick and stick with ONE alien creature design--instead of the squid-vagina-penis-cobra-Alien 3 morphed creature combos? The original Alien design was so perfect, so basic, so original; it was as if Scott couldn't decide on how to represent that concept in the "pre-story" so he just went with ALL the ideas. What was the point of making the beautiful Bishop re-dux robot character, David, an evil-plotting-alien-spawning bad guy? How many "homages" does one director get in one movie? There was the 2001 Space Odyssey -bicycle-basketball scene, the John WIlliams' Star Wars theme music. .... The narrative is splintered, incongruent, and non-sensical. The special effects canNOT save the film from its many contradictions and easy horror ploys. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a reasonably good science fiction film. It was not the epic or classic film I hoped it would be. The visuals were excellent. The acting was quite good. The story/script was OK, but there were a number of problems (see below). The story tried to be serious and ask/answer serious questions about the origin of humans. It was partially successful. It was way more than a monster movie, but ultimately it failed because of too many unrealistic plot issues. I love Ridley Scott and most of his films. I liked this one and am glad I saw it. It just wasnâ Expand
  3. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. Can not believe all the negative reviews. It might be spaam on here honestly. This movie was amazing! the directing, the acting, the visuals, the sounds, the intense scenes, the premise of the film were all fantastic.
  4. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ridley Scott is a great director, but he appears to be perfectly capable of making awful movies. Prometheus's problems range from absurdly predictable plot to characters acting in such a stupid manner that horror movie cheerleaders would be appalled. There are many instances were the internal logic of the story breakdown or never develop at all. The horror scenes are not suspenseful, with jump scares that you can predict to the second and blinding stupidity. Combine that with large amounts of pointless religious symbolism, no character development, no emotional connection and an ending that borders on offensive to the viewers intelligence (the main character knowing leaves the planet on a ship that contains a bio-weapon that can cause extinction with the explicit purpose of landing on a populated planet) and you have yourself a bad, boring movie. I cannot give it a lower score, however, because the acting is generally good (its the writing that fails) and the movie contains one of my favorite death scenes ever. Expand
  5. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    Although visually wonderful to behold, the story is downright dreadful and dull. People who expect a prequel to "Alien" will be disappointed, even if you just want to see a decent scifi-horror-flick you might leave the theatre dissatisfied. All of the characters seem to suffer from the infamous "character in a horror movie disease": They got the depth of cardboard cutouts and their actionsAlthough visually wonderful to behold, the story is downright dreadful and dull. People who expect a prequel to "Alien" will be disappointed, even if you just want to see a decent scifi-horror-flick you might leave the theatre dissatisfied. All of the characters seem to suffer from the infamous "character in a horror movie disease": They got the depth of cardboard cutouts and their actions are ranging from inconsiderate to insanely stupid. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    If you enjoy a high budget visually appealing movie that leaves the audience to self interpretation, then see this movie. Many will complain about "loose ends" or "holes" in the story, but I for one enjoy the unknown when it comes to a sci-fi psychological thriller such as Prometheus. Ridley manages to take us on a entertaining trip giving us insight as to what happened to the ill-fatedIf you enjoy a high budget visually appealing movie that leaves the audience to self interpretation, then see this movie. Many will complain about "loose ends" or "holes" in the story, but I for one enjoy the unknown when it comes to a sci-fi psychological thriller such as Prometheus. Ridley manages to take us on a entertaining trip giving us insight as to what happened to the ill-fated ship Prometheus that started the Alien Franchise. I agree with many of the "trolls" who state the characters were very shallow, for the director never really develops them, rather keeps the movie moving and the audience thinking and wondering. In summary, this is not a Michael Bay movie where little thought is required, this is a sci-fi ballet, once complete, will be the buzz in your car all the way home and into the next day. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    Acting in this movie is bad, there is an uninteresting plot full of senseless and illogical stuff where some of it it's based on premise which is of course nothing new to sci-fi genre. We have an alien DNA, besides all those other crap seen and mentioned - oh come on...

    Nothing new there judging by today's Hollywood standards. However the thing that really saddened me the most was
    Acting in this movie is bad, there is an uninteresting plot full of senseless and illogical stuff where some of it it's based on premise which is of course nothing new to sci-fi genre. We have an alien DNA, besides all those other crap seen and mentioned - oh come on...

    Nothing new there judging by today's Hollywood standards.

    However the thing that really saddened me the most was the unstoppable raping of HR Giger's design which is obviously something that in the mind of Ridley Scott should make this film looking interesting, looking ''alien'' . But he pretty much failed there as well. Why? Because he already used it once when he used it with the purpose in the first alien.
    Trying to repeat that effect is just silly and it can easily be compared with what Lucas did with raping SW saga.
    Regarding that ''Bumblebee'' design of Prometheus I wont even talk about. That kind of design totally doesn't fits this movie.

    It seems that even the greatest directors don't know when to stop.

    I'm giving this movie 1/10 only because the first 3 minutes of this movie were very interesting and original which confirms the fact that a good movie can still be made.
    Expand
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    3
    The special effects & 3D are ok, but the storyline is slack and muddled, unlike Alien. The characters are poorly developed: Charlize Theron is totally wasted and Noomi Rapace is nowhere close to her performances in "The Girl Who" (Swedish version). Michael Fassbender lamely reprises Hal from 2001 and/or Ash from Alien. Really disappointing.
  9. Jun 12, 2012
    1
    I finally saw Prometheus last night and boy was I completely disappointed. For a movie directed by Ridley Scott and set in the universe of Aliens, the movie was a complete letdown. A movie without an effective narration, which this had, is just a waste of 2 hours sitting in the dark. My biggest qualm with Prometheus is the fact that nothing was reasonably explained, for example, who wereI finally saw Prometheus last night and boy was I completely disappointed. For a movie directed by Ridley Scott and set in the universe of Aliens, the movie was a complete letdown. A movie without an effective narration, which this had, is just a waste of 2 hours sitting in the dark. My biggest qualm with Prometheus is the fact that nothing was reasonably explained, for example, who were the 'Engineers', and why did Michael Fassbender's character, David, intentionally infect Logan Marshall-Green's character, Charlie Holloway. Idris Elba's character, Janek, with no explanation and completely out of nowhere, reveals all and concludes that the planet is a storehouse for weapons of mass destruction - it seems like he pulled that one out of his ass. The movie gets to a point where the questions that you want answered you no longer care about because it hasn't effectively pulled the audience into the story, and all you want is for the 2 hours to just pass. At the end Noomi Rapace's character, Elizabeth Shaw, wants David to take her to where the 'Engineers' came from - which is an obvious setup for a sequel - but after about 2 hours, I no longer care if she ever achieves that. All I'm hoping for now is for James Cameron to step in to the director chair and elevate the sequel to Prometheus like he did with Alien. Expand
  10. Jun 19, 2012
    6
    Yesterday I grabbed the popcorn, double sized drink, decided to leave the 3D glasses and sat down to watch Prometheus at my local cinema. I
  11. Jun 13, 2012
    3
    As a big fan of Alien and, to a lesser extent, Aliens, I can't help but find this movie a travesty. As a prequel, it tries to reinvent a classic and fails miserably. Even taken as a standalone effort, it looks beautiful, but it's completely overshadowed by a pretentious, ponderous and incoherent plot that, in the end, amounts to little more than utter nonsense. Extremely disappointing!As a big fan of Alien and, to a lesser extent, Aliens, I can't help but find this movie a travesty. As a prequel, it tries to reinvent a classic and fails miserably. Even taken as a standalone effort, it looks beautiful, but it's completely overshadowed by a pretentious, ponderous and incoherent plot that, in the end, amounts to little more than utter nonsense. Extremely disappointing! I've got some advice for you Ridley: keep it simple, stupid. You aren't as smart as you want everyone to think you are, not by a long shot! Expand
  12. Jun 14, 2012
    3
    Prior to watching the premiere of Alien in 1979, I had been to the dentist to have my wisdom teeth removed. Needless to say, I was in an immense amount of pain during the movie, which was compounded by the three camera shot of Harry Dean Stantons' stomach exploding on the dinner table. That moment in time is and always will be favorable branded in my youthful memory. Thirty-two yearsPrior to watching the premiere of Alien in 1979, I had been to the dentist to have my wisdom teeth removed. Needless to say, I was in an immense amount of pain during the movie, which was compounded by the three camera shot of Harry Dean Stantons' stomach exploding on the dinner table. That moment in time is and always will be favorable branded in my youthful memory. Thirty-two years later, the memory of Prometheus, will unfortunately fade after many happy hour rants and moments of solitary silence of my obvious disappointment about this movie. My disappointment runs so deep that I do not know where to begin about how I feel about the film. Nevertheless, I will do my best to convey my opinion. The movie starts out wonderfully with this colorful other world landscape, which leads to the introduction of one of the "engineers" of human life, and then fades into the future to modern life and its discovery of the past life by present day archeologist's. It is sad to admit, but had the movie ended after the first ten minutes then I would've accepted it as a short film or a long music video. However it didn't end after the first ten minutes; hence the need for this unfavorable review. As in Alien, Aliens and Alien Resurrection, there's a robot. The problem with the robot in Prometheus is that it is an opportunist, which gives it a more human like quality rather a machine like quality. At the beginning of the movie the robot is employed by its programmer, but at the end of the movie, after its employer is all of sudden deceased, the robot decides to switch its allegiance to the only person left alive at the end: the same person whom the robot had tried to kill earlier in the movie. Since when did a robot possess the ability to think on its own to the point of being concerned with self preservation. it's a robot. Or is it? Another problem with the movie is that there's an intentional implanting of an alien species for no apparent reason. The robot finds the beginning of a possible alien life form, who then slips this life form into someone's drink, and then this someone drinks the drink, and then this someone has sex with someone else, which causes that someone to become pregnant. The person that is initially infected by the disease becomes sick and dies. The person that becomes pregnant is informed that she is almost at the beginning of her second trimester, which prompts her to logically question how could that be? I'm still asking myself that same question. This revelation of course causes her to take matters into her own hands, as she so characteristically does throughout the movie. Free from the baby alien, or so we think, the victim or the protagonist, you choose, now discovers that her employer has secretly "stowed away, " and has plans to meet the sole surviving engineer of life. So with his posse, the money man ventures into the dragons lair; only to die quickly along with everyone else. Which brings me to my other point of contention with the movie - death happens often and quickly towards the end of the film There's the one, two, three, four, five punch by the sole surviving engineer. Then there's a suicide mission by a very important person on the ship, along with two of his shipmates, and I'm not talking about the Heaven's Gate Cult. Then there's a certain headless someone, whom proposes a merger of the two opposing camps. How convenient on his behalf, since he no longer has a head, but how he is able to make this proposal without a head is mind boggling to begin with. But it does, and well...

    When I first started writing this review, I had given the movie four out of ten, but I'm now lowering that to three out of ten, because I've digested more of the movie over the past thirty minutes, and the taste has become more rancid. An afternoon rental at best.
    Expand
  13. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    I have been racking my brain all day contemplating just how this terrible movie could have ever been written, made and released. And what I came up with is drug addiction. Everyone involved in the decision making processes of this movie must have been high, hung over or in withdrawals to allow for so many terrible decisions, ideas, errors and redundancies to be incorporated into oneI have been racking my brain all day contemplating just how this terrible movie could have ever been written, made and released. And what I came up with is drug addiction. Everyone involved in the decision making processes of this movie must have been high, hung over or in withdrawals to allow for so many terrible decisions, ideas, errors and redundancies to be incorporated into one two-hour movie. Talk about the inability to criticise one Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2012
    10
    I usually like to let the movie take me where it wants to. However after reading the bad reviews I had my doubts whether to spend my $ 13 at all. I am glad I took the advice to see it in the theater. Special effects audio, and visuals were outstanding. I was prepared to be disappointed by the movie as a whole and yes, character, storyline and ending left something to be desired if II usually like to let the movie take me where it wants to. However after reading the bad reviews I had my doubts whether to spend my $ 13 at all. I am glad I took the advice to see it in the theater. Special effects audio, and visuals were outstanding. I was prepared to be disappointed by the movie as a whole and yes, character, storyline and ending left something to be desired if I were to criticize them. That being said the WOW factor of Prometheus is undeniable. Too ambitious for its length of two hours it did seem disjointed and confusing for those unacquainted with the Alien films. Full of philosophy and homages to other films (the Alien series obviously, but also to 2001, the Thing remake etc) it had me absorbed during and ruminating after viewing. I kept the criticisms in the back of my mind while watching and let the director do his thing and thoroughly enjoyed where he took me. Obviously there were compromises in the production of the film probably foisted on him by the studio (most notably running time constraints) that prevented him from plot and character development (who knows what wound up on the cutting room floor), but for a sci-fi fan there really is no disappointment in this film. Leave the overthinking till after the movie's over. Prometheus IS a worthy prequel but probably will not be considered a classic sci-fi stand alone film. It should be viewed by all sci-fi fans in the theater. and judged on its merits, not its deficiencies. If you have an open mind it won't disappoint. Lets see what comes out on the extended/directors version blu-ray release. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2012
    0
    I eagerly waited for the movie. I watched the movie without reading any reviewed. I was thoroughly disappointed. I failed to understand why the movie is named Prometheus and what the objective of movie was.
  16. Jun 14, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ridley scott has definitely lost his mind/creativity a long time ago.
    everyone who liked this movie just a little bit, is either lying to themselves or has terrible taste in movies.
    everything in this movie is cliche & the only remotely interesting/relatable character is david. to see more on why this movie sucked watch:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-x1YuvUQFJ0
    Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    If you want to watch Alien, go watch it! If you want to watch something new then stay around for Prometheus. This sci-fi story of finding our creator is beautiful. It is deep and at times to philosophical for some, but if you listen to the last line of Weyland than you can understand the scope of the journey. I really enjoyed it and the action scenes are intense. GO watch it.
  18. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Beautiful movie that must be seen in 3D. Fantastic premise and entertaining all the way through. From reading some of the reviews prior to seeing the movie I anticipated being a little disappointed by plot holes or bad characters or a less than acceptable ending to the story. This wasn't the case at all for me. In fact, I appreciated how some of the unknowns were left unanswered. If I hadBeautiful movie that must be seen in 3D. Fantastic premise and entertaining all the way through. From reading some of the reviews prior to seeing the movie I anticipated being a little disappointed by plot holes or bad characters or a less than acceptable ending to the story. This wasn't the case at all for me. In fact, I appreciated how some of the unknowns were left unanswered. If I had to point to any negative aspect of the film I found myself a little disappointed some of the characters simply didn't respond to situations in realistic ways. Even though I wouldn't call this a horror film at all, it's suspenseful and creepy, it felt like some of the people were running up the stairs when they should have been running out the front door. The movie was so well done I just found it frustrating they couldn't write more realistic responses. If you are a fan of science fiction, space, suspense, or are piqued by the topic of our origins, this movie is a must see. Expand
  19. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amazing. This movie is so terrible I find enjoyment in pointing out it's flaws. Obviously the script was so poorly written that they made up for it by vague implications of philosophical questions about existence. In the hopes that their audience was too high from illicit drugs, and mesmerized from the graphics departments high budget visual effects to notice. The acting was either so over the top, or so emotionally dry they had to play a portion of a good movie to fool you into believing they made a good movie. Although the beginning I found rather whimsical in it's introduction of rolling landscapes, and a waterfall. I now find tacky, and disappointing. The characters or scientists prove themselves to be nothing more than a bunch of vagrants an eccentric old business man that looks like Johnny Knoxville dressed as an old person found in the closest bar, and put aboard a ship with a robot that apparently runs on chicken wire, paper mache, and tapioca pudding. Nothing scientific happens in this movie other than the occasional add-lib of "Hypothesis" and calling everyone a doctor before they speak to them. Their method of command is nothing less shallow then a group of drunk twenty somethings trying to drink, take drugs, and **** each other. Each person is only capable of making poor life decisions that will inevitably get themselves or someone else killed. Even the aliens weren't consistent as if the writer's could never fully agree on what was actually on the planet, but decided to put their own story in, and not tell anyone until it came to theaters. Every action scene was lame, and anticlimatic that made you wonder why would they do that? Pointlessly leaping over gaps when what you are standing on will slowly shuttle you to solid ground, running in straight lines from falling objects moving in one direction, acting like the dog whisperer to an alien worm nut sack, leaving safety to race a harmless razor sandstorm, opening the door to your dead exorcist geologist co-worker. Ridiculous. On top of it all, the way this movie portrayed itself was like it was groundbreaking on all of your scifi, action, horror movie senses that it was delusional from the fumes of it's own mystical self worth. It was non of these. Sadly, the blatantly obvious undertones of religion, the constant there is going to be another movie implications, and the superficial life questions confused as depth made this movie completely miserable to watch. In fact the only satisfaction I have is from knowing other people think it is as terrible as I do, and be able ridicule it online. Expand
  20. Jun 15, 2012
    0
    I never sign up for these sites. But I did for this one. Only to agree totally with the review written by Taantric! A wonderful review of a sad use of millions of dollars. Everyone should read his review. I too, scratched my head at the sheer stupidity of the worlds greatest scientists sent on the journey to meet our 'creators'. When you consider the creature of the Alien franchisee andI never sign up for these sites. But I did for this one. Only to agree totally with the review written by Taantric! A wonderful review of a sad use of millions of dollars. Everyone should read his review. I too, scratched my head at the sheer stupidity of the worlds greatest scientists sent on the journey to meet our 'creators'. When you consider the creature of the Alien franchisee and then look at the tentacles of what is ultimately suppose to be scary you have to ask why? Too bad and too cheezy. You want to see deeper character development but it is unavailable, so ultimately you don't care as they die off. No Ripley character here worth savings. Just sad. Expand
  21. Jun 15, 2012
    5
    This movie is just okay to me. The story doesn't make any sense to me neither. My fiancee and I was completely lost and don't even know what actual story about. Action is pretty good but story of itself is weak.
  22. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    Eye candy, but jeez,... give me a story that makes sense. I actually feel used by this genre. I endured the Star Wars saga hoping for the heart of the first (or fourth, as it were). It never came. I endured the Matrix Reloaded and Revisited without the magic of the Matrix. I was hooked by Battlestar Gallactica and followed it to its end hoping for satisfaction but was handed loose ends andEye candy, but jeez,... give me a story that makes sense. I actually feel used by this genre. I endured the Star Wars saga hoping for the heart of the first (or fourth, as it were). It never came. I endured the Matrix Reloaded and Revisited without the magic of the Matrix. I was hooked by Battlestar Gallactica and followed it to its end hoping for satisfaction but was handed loose ends and cheap shots (Starbuck as an angel? Pleez!). Alien and Aliens are iconic but I knew better that to follow the idiotic franchise. Trusting R. Scot for Prometheus, I bit the bullet and got burned. In essence, it's a fabulous setting for a seriously flawed, potential jewel. Expand
  23. Jun 16, 2012
    1
    Too bad for me who need to be convinced that it could be real, on this respect it was a complete failure, but I think most people will enjoy because they just don't care and the visual is nice. This movie is an aggression to my intelligence. It should be called Idiots on Space. The crew of the spaceship Prometheus is unbelievably dumb. Maybe the producers didn't have scientist advisers toToo bad for me who need to be convinced that it could be real, on this respect it was a complete failure, but I think most people will enjoy because they just don't care and the visual is nice. This movie is an aggression to my intelligence. It should be called Idiots on Space. The crew of the spaceship Prometheus is unbelievably dumb. Maybe the producers didn't have scientist advisers to tell them that most, not to say all, of the things this crew does is completely incoherent with the procedures of men going into the unknown. "The air is breathable... let Expand
  24. Jun 16, 2012
    5
    "Prometheus" takes off the veil of mystery and horror created by "Alien" and transforms it into a pretentious but hollow story, where the lack of realism in the characters and poor search of deepness in the themes are their major problems. This movie made me feel that Ridley tried to put 30 years of "alien ideas" into a single movie, and the result is a movie with no good structure that"Prometheus" takes off the veil of mystery and horror created by "Alien" and transforms it into a pretentious but hollow story, where the lack of realism in the characters and poor search of deepness in the themes are their major problems. This movie made me feel that Ridley tried to put 30 years of "alien ideas" into a single movie, and the result is a movie with no good structure that takes the magic away from the "Alien" universe. Expand
  25. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    This movie is a pretentious mess. It would seem to want to be 2001 but is so badly written it just jars any sensible viewer out of any immersion. It looks pretty but whatever questions it wants to pose are obscured by the screaming stupidity of character actions and glaring holes in the plot. it gets credit only for some striking visuals quite unrelated to the story, and admirableThis movie is a pretentious mess. It would seem to want to be 2001 but is so badly written it just jars any sensible viewer out of any immersion. It looks pretty but whatever questions it wants to pose are obscured by the screaming stupidity of character actions and glaring holes in the plot. it gets credit only for some striking visuals quite unrelated to the story, and admirable efforts of actors Rapace and Fassbender. Efforts by some to credit the movie with deep meaning by hanging all manner of ex post facto metaphor and symbolism are like actually trying to tell the future with a fortune cookie. NOT recommended viewing except as an example of lazy, incomprehensible writing (thanks for nothing Mr. Lindlhof), and failure of communicating either interesting or meaningful ideas to an audience. Expand
  26. Jun 16, 2012
    3
    It looks great, but it's a typical noisy 2012 filmunderneath that. The characters, script and plot are poorly set out. There is little tension, partly because the characters are continually stupid and unlikeable, and partly because the inappropriate soundtrack never shuts up. It needs more room to breathe, more silence, and some honest examination next time. And fire the writers, please.
  27. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    This is a mess of a movie that uses grand visuals to make up for poor characters and incoherent story telling. It has the theological ambition of 2001, but lacks its technical perfection and absolute believability; it sets us up for another Alien-style horror, but can't keep us interested, let alone scared. Its characters are cartoonish and stereotypical, paper thin. For science fictionThis is a mess of a movie that uses grand visuals to make up for poor characters and incoherent story telling. It has the theological ambition of 2001, but lacks its technical perfection and absolute believability; it sets us up for another Alien-style horror, but can't keep us interested, let alone scared. Its characters are cartoonish and stereotypical, paper thin. For science fiction fans, there isn't a lot of science. For horror fans, there isn't a lot of suspense. Characters who are purported to be scientists are just not believable in the least. In typical fashion, when they announce not to touch anything, they quickly proceed to touch everything, only to later predictably regret it. The corporate stiff who's there to watch over her billion+ investment is completely uninterested in the mission, and I'm not sure what her purpose on the ship is supposed to be other than being a good looking, nasty control-freak. The captain acts like some bored truck driver dude who just wants to get laid. The android is the only redeeming feature, but that's just not enough to save this mess. Many of the scenes in the 2nd half of the movie have been done before, and the whole thing smacks of just a setup for the next movie. There is no depth, no tension, no story, no pathos to this movie: it's a lot of eye candy, but we have seen a lot of this stuff before, and little seems truly original. This was an opportunity for the next iconic science fiction movie of the decade, and it misses badly. Goes to show that no matter the quality of the effects, the grandeur of the vision, or the money spent on actors and sets, without a great story it's just another forgettable McMovie, empty calories. Shame on you, Mr. Scott, you know better. Expand
  28. Jun 18, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am also an Aliens saga fan, but Prometheus was a huge disapointment. Great graphics, but a long stretched out story with a sudden unexplained ending. Looks like the movie makes wanted to make a quick buck. And who bribed the critics to give it a high score!!! Expand
  29. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie did do it's job: keep me entertained. But entertained for the wrong reasons when watching a movie. I found myself entertained by the absolutely ridiculous and preposterous experiences that occur in nearly every scene. I could only compare the plot line of Prometheus to be congruous to the imagination of an avid six year old child. The movie starts out promising; a series of cave drawings and ancient symbols that leave you wondering about the possible link between ancient civilizations and the unknown universe. Sadly, no such link exists in this movie, simply leaving the viewer more puzzled. This is only the first of dozens of irrelevant plot lines that sprout off of the main, hideous plot. The crew of the ship is a squad of incompetent so-called scientists who, throughout the course of the movie, manage to stuff unknown alien heads into duffle bags, then proceed to blow it up after 3 minutes; get lost in the most simplistic of tunnels, even with the technology of 2094, then approach and be instantly killed by a 12 inch snake; open the door for a previous crew mate, who is so blatantly obviously infected (with an unexplained dark liquid) who wipes out nearly every member of the crew; the list goes on. On top of all of this, Prometheus contains the worst imagery that I have ever seen in my life, rivaling Two Girls One Cup. Shaw, apparently, burstingly pregnant with an octopus, knocks out some crew members with ease, then gives her self a cesarean section, staples herself up, and walks away, leaving her newborn octopus squirming in a glass chamber. This newborn octopus, with no nearby food, grows over 20 feet long, opens the glass chamber by itself, and then easily rapes the superhuman of the universe. If this is not the imagination of a six year old child, I don't know what is Expand
  30. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    Pure crap. Expected to see a film promoted as a crew searching for the meaning of life and the origin of the universe and paid $36 (!!!) for an ALIEN PREQUEL.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.