User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1740 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    Eye candy, but jeez,... give me a story that makes sense. I actually feel used by this genre. I endured the Star Wars saga hoping for the heart of the first (or fourth, as it were). It never came. I endured the Matrix Reloaded and Revisited without the magic of the Matrix. I was hooked by Battlestar Gallactica and followed it to its end hoping for satisfaction but was handed loose ends andEye candy, but jeez,... give me a story that makes sense. I actually feel used by this genre. I endured the Star Wars saga hoping for the heart of the first (or fourth, as it were). It never came. I endured the Matrix Reloaded and Revisited without the magic of the Matrix. I was hooked by Battlestar Gallactica and followed it to its end hoping for satisfaction but was handed loose ends and cheap shots (Starbuck as an angel? Pleez!). Alien and Aliens are iconic but I knew better that to follow the idiotic franchise. Trusting R. Scot for Prometheus, I bit the bullet and got burned. In essence, it's a fabulous setting for a seriously flawed, potential jewel. Expand
  2. Jun 16, 2012
    1
    Too bad for me who need to be convinced that it could be real, on this respect it was a complete failure, but I think most people will enjoy because they just don't care and the visual is nice. This movie is an aggression to my intelligence. It should be called Idiots on Space. The crew of the spaceship Prometheus is unbelievably dumb. Maybe the producers didn't have scientist advisers toToo bad for me who need to be convinced that it could be real, on this respect it was a complete failure, but I think most people will enjoy because they just don't care and the visual is nice. This movie is an aggression to my intelligence. It should be called Idiots on Space. The crew of the spaceship Prometheus is unbelievably dumb. Maybe the producers didn't have scientist advisers to tell them that most, not to say all, of the things this crew does is completely incoherent with the procedures of men going into the unknown. "The air is breathable... let Expand
  3. Jun 16, 2012
    5
    "Prometheus" takes off the veil of mystery and horror created by "Alien" and transforms it into a pretentious but hollow story, where the lack of realism in the characters and poor search of deepness in the themes are their major problems. This movie made me feel that Ridley tried to put 30 years of "alien ideas" into a single movie, and the result is a movie with no good structure that"Prometheus" takes off the veil of mystery and horror created by "Alien" and transforms it into a pretentious but hollow story, where the lack of realism in the characters and poor search of deepness in the themes are their major problems. This movie made me feel that Ridley tried to put 30 years of "alien ideas" into a single movie, and the result is a movie with no good structure that takes the magic away from the "Alien" universe. Expand
  4. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    This movie is a pretentious mess. It would seem to want to be 2001 but is so badly written it just jars any sensible viewer out of any immersion. It looks pretty but whatever questions it wants to pose are obscured by the screaming stupidity of character actions and glaring holes in the plot. it gets credit only for some striking visuals quite unrelated to the story, and admirableThis movie is a pretentious mess. It would seem to want to be 2001 but is so badly written it just jars any sensible viewer out of any immersion. It looks pretty but whatever questions it wants to pose are obscured by the screaming stupidity of character actions and glaring holes in the plot. it gets credit only for some striking visuals quite unrelated to the story, and admirable efforts of actors Rapace and Fassbender. Efforts by some to credit the movie with deep meaning by hanging all manner of ex post facto metaphor and symbolism are like actually trying to tell the future with a fortune cookie. NOT recommended viewing except as an example of lazy, incomprehensible writing (thanks for nothing Mr. Lindlhof), and failure of communicating either interesting or meaningful ideas to an audience. Expand
  5. Jun 16, 2012
    3
    It looks great, but it's a typical noisy 2012 filmunderneath that. The characters, script and plot are poorly set out. There is little tension, partly because the characters are continually stupid and unlikeable, and partly because the inappropriate soundtrack never shuts up. It needs more room to breathe, more silence, and some honest examination next time. And fire the writers, please.
  6. Jun 16, 2012
    2
    This is a mess of a movie that uses grand visuals to make up for poor characters and incoherent story telling. It has the theological ambition of 2001, but lacks its technical perfection and absolute believability; it sets us up for another Alien-style horror, but can't keep us interested, let alone scared. Its characters are cartoonish and stereotypical, paper thin. For science fictionThis is a mess of a movie that uses grand visuals to make up for poor characters and incoherent story telling. It has the theological ambition of 2001, but lacks its technical perfection and absolute believability; it sets us up for another Alien-style horror, but can't keep us interested, let alone scared. Its characters are cartoonish and stereotypical, paper thin. For science fiction fans, there isn't a lot of science. For horror fans, there isn't a lot of suspense. Characters who are purported to be scientists are just not believable in the least. In typical fashion, when they announce not to touch anything, they quickly proceed to touch everything, only to later predictably regret it. The corporate stiff who's there to watch over her billion+ investment is completely uninterested in the mission, and I'm not sure what her purpose on the ship is supposed to be other than being a good looking, nasty control-freak. The captain acts like some bored truck driver dude who just wants to get laid. The android is the only redeeming feature, but that's just not enough to save this mess. Many of the scenes in the 2nd half of the movie have been done before, and the whole thing smacks of just a setup for the next movie. There is no depth, no tension, no story, no pathos to this movie: it's a lot of eye candy, but we have seen a lot of this stuff before, and little seems truly original. This was an opportunity for the next iconic science fiction movie of the decade, and it misses badly. Goes to show that no matter the quality of the effects, the grandeur of the vision, or the money spent on actors and sets, without a great story it's just another forgettable McMovie, empty calories. Shame on you, Mr. Scott, you know better. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am also an Aliens saga fan, but Prometheus was a huge disapointment. Great graphics, but a long stretched out story with a sudden unexplained ending. Looks like the movie makes wanted to make a quick buck. And who bribed the critics to give it a high score!!! Expand
  8. Jun 19, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie did do it's job: keep me entertained. But entertained for the wrong reasons when watching a movie. I found myself entertained by the absolutely ridiculous and preposterous experiences that occur in nearly every scene. I could only compare the plot line of Prometheus to be congruous to the imagination of an avid six year old child. The movie starts out promising; a series of cave drawings and ancient symbols that leave you wondering about the possible link between ancient civilizations and the unknown universe. Sadly, no such link exists in this movie, simply leaving the viewer more puzzled. This is only the first of dozens of irrelevant plot lines that sprout off of the main, hideous plot. The crew of the ship is a squad of incompetent so-called scientists who, throughout the course of the movie, manage to stuff unknown alien heads into duffle bags, then proceed to blow it up after 3 minutes; get lost in the most simplistic of tunnels, even with the technology of 2094, then approach and be instantly killed by a 12 inch snake; open the door for a previous crew mate, who is so blatantly obviously infected (with an unexplained dark liquid) who wipes out nearly every member of the crew; the list goes on. On top of all of this, Prometheus contains the worst imagery that I have ever seen in my life, rivaling Two Girls One Cup. Shaw, apparently, burstingly pregnant with an octopus, knocks out some crew members with ease, then gives her self a cesarean section, staples herself up, and walks away, leaving her newborn octopus squirming in a glass chamber. This newborn octopus, with no nearby food, grows over 20 feet long, opens the glass chamber by itself, and then easily rapes the superhuman of the universe. If this is not the imagination of a six year old child, I don't know what is Expand
  9. Jun 23, 2012
    0
    Pure crap. Expected to see a film promoted as a crew searching for the meaning of life and the origin of the universe and paid $36 (!!!) for an ALIEN PREQUEL.
  10. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    I was extremely hyped for this movie, and I have to say I was slightly disappointed. I think a lot of people went into this expecting answers to questions raised in Alien. Unfortunately, there's very few in this movie, and the ones they give are predictable or could be figured out from the trailers. There's also an abundance of small plot wholes and unexplained things that raise moreI was extremely hyped for this movie, and I have to say I was slightly disappointed. I think a lot of people went into this expecting answers to questions raised in Alien. Unfortunately, there's very few in this movie, and the ones they give are predictable or could be figured out from the trailers. There's also an abundance of small plot wholes and unexplained things that raise more questions. But it's clear Scott wanted to make a spin-off instead of a direct prequel, and for that, Prometheus is pretty good. You enjoy seeing this world and people interacting with it. There's some good performances from Fassbender and Idris Elba, but some bad ones as well. Most of the characters are forgettable or just 1 dimensional. Even though I didn't get quite what I wanted/expected, I would recommend this film to any fan of the Alien franchise or any Sci-fi fan out there. Expand
  11. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film was such a disappointment. THEY REALLY DUMBED IT DOWN. Of course visually it was nice...but that only go so far. Cheesy dialogue and plodding! I guess this was to pay for a new piece of real estate for Ridley. Watched it at Waves! The screen and sound effect was good. Expand
  12. Jun 25, 2012
    0
    Prometheus kicks ass if you love real sci-fi you are going to love Prometheus , if you loved Avengers, Transfromers and Battle Ship your are going to Hate it! IT'S NOT An ALIEN MOVIE! 10/10
  13. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Solid movie. Lots of twists, a few really great moments. Does what i wanted which was show me a bunch of cool stuff from other worlds. I love the kind of exposure that you're given to Scott's nightmarish make-believe. If you are looking for a good sci-fi movie, this is the best I've seen in a while. Really enjoyed the slower pacing, let me take it all in. Worth your time definitely, but doSolid movie. Lots of twists, a few really great moments. Does what i wanted which was show me a bunch of cool stuff from other worlds. I love the kind of exposure that you're given to Scott's nightmarish make-believe. If you are looking for a good sci-fi movie, this is the best I've seen in a while. Really enjoyed the slower pacing, let me take it all in. Worth your time definitely, but do not expect action. Expect to be impressed and repulsed sometimes at the same time. I don't care about Aliens though i respect them as what they are. This was a great prologue, I hope there is a second movie. Expand
  14. Jun 28, 2012
    6
    in the critics vs. prometheus conflict, those who did not like, or actually the vapid script are being continuously scolded for expecting the film to have a developed theme, character development, and particularly for responding with extreme hostility to the illogic of the script and the absolute absence of explanations for what are supposed to be tantalizing artifacts and incidents.in the critics vs. prometheus conflict, those who did not like, or actually the vapid script are being continuously scolded for expecting the film to have a developed theme, character development, and particularly for responding with extreme hostility to the illogic of the script and the absolute absence of explanations for what are supposed to be tantalizing artifacts and incidents. difficulty is the fact that the film plays not as a prequel to alien but as a prequel to its own sequel. it suggests everything and pointedly explains nothing. which is why it plays as a two hour length trailer, instead of a coherently plotted story. visually extraordinary, but storyless. that's fine as a television episode, but completely presumptuous in a film. it is thematically indecisive at best and entirely overreaches itself. visually extraordinary as it is, the script is a scattered embarassment to imagination and logic. Expand
  15. Jun 29, 2012
    1
    What a pile of horse manure? It has a 7.6 rating on IMDB which was the main reason I went to see it (that and the fact that Ridley Scott directed). It is intended as a prequel to Ridley Scott's Alien but it's really just a very bad re-make of Alien with an invisible, non-nonsensical story line. The characters are paper-thin idiots, the dialog is asinine, and the actors have nothing to workWhat a pile of horse manure? It has a 7.6 rating on IMDB which was the main reason I went to see it (that and the fact that Ridley Scott directed). It is intended as a prequel to Ridley Scott's Alien but it's really just a very bad re-make of Alien with an invisible, non-nonsensical story line. The characters are paper-thin idiots, the dialog is asinine, and the actors have nothing to work with. The whole thing is utterly forgettable. The visuals are okay for a while but gradually overwhelm everything. There is a hint in the end that there may be sequels and with 7.6 on IMDB there probably will be. Scott needs to hire some writers who know the difference between suspense and shtick and can write dialog that is not aimed directly at the audience. 1/10 for production quality. Expand
  16. Jul 1, 2012
    5
    You know how in bad horror movies most of the characters make really stupid decisions and you're just like "Wow, why the **** would you do that?" That's this movie.
  17. Jul 1, 2012
    9
    Loved it so much. The scenes were beautiful specially in the beginning and I loved the aliens ship. The creatures were awesome. The acting was ok but Michael Fassbender was awesome. The 3D was just an extra.
  18. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this movie more the second time round, having been a big fan since number 2 in the series, Aliens. I was initially (on my first viewing) disappointed, but thought the attention to detail on sets and tech was typical of Ridley Scott. Parts of the of the plot were left unanswered or stumbled upon just before the end of the movie.
  19. Jul 2, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Charleze Theron was totally wasted here. The movie aspires to be great, but just ends up over the top. The focus on the cross was absurd and unnecessary, but typical of a lot of sci-fi these days. Too much religious fantasy, not enough sci-fi substance. Great f/x, sound, and music though. Expand
  20. Jul 5, 2012
    9
    A sublime sci-fi adventure ahead of its time. The only real fault with this film is not over-reaching, but reaching in too many directions all at once. A flawed gem, but a valiant step forward for the genre. Leaves many unanswered questions which will frustrate the impatient, but lays the foundation for a promising continuation of its own, which will captivate the imaginative.
  21. Feb 18, 2013
    2
    I expected so much more from this movie.
    A modern Sci-Fi related to Aliens, directed by Ridley Scott, how cool is that?
    Well, it's not. Overall concept is great, a quest to ask our creators lots of questions. But the script was a disaster. It's not even worth to go through. I haven't seen such an amount of "stupid white people" in any other movie, even in standard horror flicks. I'll
    I expected so much more from this movie.
    A modern Sci-Fi related to Aliens, directed by Ridley Scott, how cool is that?
    Well, it's not.
    Overall concept is great, a quest to ask our creators lots of questions.
    But the script was a disaster. It's not even worth to go through. I haven't seen such an amount of "stupid white people" in any other movie, even in standard horror flicks.
    I'll give it another try sometime, probably, try to rethink it, get a better understanding of the script, but it seems that there's nothing to look for.
    Expand
  22. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    FANTASTIC! I was 7 when alien came out! I stayed deep in the country and there was nothing out there but dark starry nights. I loved STAR WARS, who didnt! It was sooo exciting and made me really believe thatthat there was something fantastic going on out there in space. Im no trekky,although I did and do love star trek. But when ALIEN came to the movies in my lil town it was the mostFANTASTIC! I was 7 when alien came out! I stayed deep in the country and there was nothing out there but dark starry nights. I loved STAR WARS, who didnt! It was sooo exciting and made me really believe thatthat there was something fantastic going on out there in space. Im no trekky,although I did and do love star trek. But when ALIEN came to the movies in my lil town it was the most talked about thing amongst the older kids. I had to see it cause I thought that I would be taken to fun exciting adventure.BOY WAS I WRONG! It seemed so real because the actors were normal people doing normal things. But it was dark and more scarier than my imagination has ever gone! The Alien was TRAUMATIZING! I couldnt sleep for 3 years! But when my cousins finally explained to me that by the alien being blown into space and space had killed it and that it wasnt gonna fall to earth I was ok. NOT! Then I started to wonder where did they come from and what was that other alien doing driving a space ship? Im 39 now and for all those years RIDLEY MADE MY DREAM COME TRUE! I just dont wanna have to wait 30 more yrs to REALLY KNOW WHERE THEY CAME FROM!!!! Thank u for introducing them to me RID OLE BOY! U R TRULY A VISISIONARY! NO OTHER SPACE MOVIES HAVE EVER CAME CLOSE!!!!! Expand
  23. Oct 1, 2012
    10
    Simply a masterpiece for TRUE alien fans, the people I talked about this movie with usually complain about the fact that there is no "predator" or "xenomorph" in this movie, holy **** idiots this is a new brand, new story, new carachters, new epic journey, it is on the "alien universe" but fortunately is a different story (did we really need alien 5? I don't think so) and last but notSimply a masterpiece for TRUE alien fans, the people I talked about this movie with usually complain about the fact that there is no "predator" or "xenomorph" in this movie, holy **** idiots this is a new brand, new story, new carachters, new epic journey, it is on the "alien universe" but fortunately is a different story (did we really need alien 5? I don't think so) and last but not least predator do NOT BELONG the Alien universe just because few years ago came out 2 horrible ****ty movies only for commercial purpose. Expand
  24. Jul 22, 2012
    2
    Very disappointed. All of the good reviews here (so many 10's, even Mr. Ebert?) just talk about how interested they were in the plot. The characters, with the exception of Fassbinder, were so neglected over plot that the movie was uninvolving for me. Huge character motivation holes. Really important things happen that don't seem to faze the characters or change their behavior at all. AndVery disappointed. All of the good reviews here (so many 10's, even Mr. Ebert?) just talk about how interested they were in the plot. The characters, with the exception of Fassbinder, were so neglected over plot that the movie was uninvolving for me. Huge character motivation holes. Really important things happen that don't seem to faze the characters or change their behavior at all. And for such an important mission, they seem to have sent the cast of Jersey Shore to accomplish it... Expand
  25. Jul 23, 2012
    0
    It's so stupid I hardly managed to survive till the end. It's pretty though, nice 3D - if it's what's you're looking for, this one is for you. My problem was that every single dialogue, every single decision, almost every move of the characters is completely stupid, it makes no sense at all. Waste of time :(
  26. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    I liked this movie a lot. I was initially a bit shy mainly because of the lower rating on this site, but bought it on amazon instant video on sale, and watched it. It was very well made, acting was spot on, beautiful visuals and effects, and the plot was excellently written. I got a bit nervous part way through that the movie was going to leave me hanging, but it did a great job givingI liked this movie a lot. I was initially a bit shy mainly because of the lower rating on this site, but bought it on amazon instant video on sale, and watched it. It was very well made, acting was spot on, beautiful visuals and effects, and the plot was excellently written. I got a bit nervous part way through that the movie was going to leave me hanging, but it did a great job giving answers. They left it open for a sequel, which I hear is coming in 2014. It would likely be a bit more challenging to follow if you weren't familiar with the Alien movie and it's sibling movies, but being that I am, and find that universe interesting, this movie was an intriguing addition. The makers seem to have gone out of their way to separate themselves from Alien but there was definitely a strong connection. It wasn't a direct prequel, but certainly in the same universe. Nice job Ridley Scott. I look forward to the sequel. Expand
  27. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Don't understand to people who rate low this movie. This is simple amazing, you can't move from your sit while you are watching this movie, and when it ends you have the feeling or the needing of more...
  28. Aug 7, 2012
    1
    Una película hecha únicamente con la intención de recaudar dinero.
    Desde el poco respeto hacia la saga hasta los numerosos "bichos" hechos de un plástico blanco, que da toda la impresión que es de alguna sobra de una película de los 90, esta película solo hace que te desesperes. Que te retuerzas en tu asiento de agonía por un final
    Una película hecha únicamente con la intención de recaudar dinero.
    Desde el poco respeto hacia la saga hasta los numerosos "bichos" hechos de un plástico blanco, que da toda la impresión que es de alguna sobra de una película de los 90, esta película solo hace que te desesperes. Que te retuerzas en tu asiento de agonía por un final que nunca llega.
    Grandes cantidades de incoherencias y nulidad de respuestas, aunque se anunciara como lo contrario.
    En fin, no merece la pena gastar tiempo y dinero por "esto".
    Reflexión: ¿Donde queda el alienigena fosilizado con un agujero en el pecho, desde donde se supone que salio un alien, de la película Alien de 1979?
    Expand
  29. Aug 21, 2012
    2
    Ridley loses Mojo

    Never thought I would say it about Scott, but once you take the special effects away what you are left with is a really, really poor "B" movie. Poor in imagination, poor in dialog, poor in science and poor in execution. The gaping holes in the plot cannot be filled by even the best Blarney you may hear from the likes of Lindenhof. Fassbender, an actor who I have a
    Ridley loses Mojo

    Never thought I would say it about Scott, but once you take the special effects away what you are left with is a really, really poor "B" movie. Poor in imagination, poor in dialog, poor in science and poor in execution.

    The gaping holes in the plot cannot be filled by even the best Blarney you may hear from the likes of Lindenhof. Fassbender, an actor who I have a tremendous amount of respect for and is probably the best actor of his generation, did a lot of Scott arse kissing in the marketing lead up to this movie... well, it is was all for naught, his head ends up in a bag in a scene reminiscent of a really bad school play.

    Great talent is lost through complacency. Let's hope Scott can find his Mojo and stop believing his own hype... starting with a better script would be an idea.
    Expand
  30. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    Prometheus is a truly odd thriller/odyssey. The main character, flying camera shots, makes a number of strong appearances. Unfortunately the human co stars make much less of an impression. Most of Prometheus' predictably rag tag crew range from completely forgettable to utterly useless (Does he REALLY need co-pilots, are those dart guns, should you really touch that Alien). Theron'sPrometheus is a truly odd thriller/odyssey. The main character, flying camera shots, makes a number of strong appearances. Unfortunately the human co stars make much less of an impression. Most of Prometheus' predictably rag tag crew range from completely forgettable to utterly useless (Does he REALLY need co-pilots, are those dart guns, should you really touch that Alien). Theron's character has a lot of dialogue but does almost nothing. David (the robot) is played terrifically by Michael Fassbender but suffers from a convoluted and confusing last few scenes where he goes from curious scientist to aloof murderer to possible savior all in the space of about 15 minutes. Shaw is presumably the protagonist although you wouldn't guess it or even want it. I watched the whole thing yesterday, went to bed content and woke up irritated. Basically, don't over think this one. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.