User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1730 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Prometheus stood on its own entirely. It was still a classical sci-fi film and had its action/thriller/horror aspects like the Alien movies, but in terms of its message and overall meaning, it was its own entity, and I thought was absolutely brilliant. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, never a dull moment. Plus I saw it in IMAX 3D (and the 3D was surprisingly good and notPrometheus stood on its own entirely. It was still a classical sci-fi film and had its action/thriller/horror aspects like the Alien movies, but in terms of its message and overall meaning, it was its own entity, and I thought was absolutely brilliant. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time, never a dull moment. Plus I saw it in IMAX 3D (and the 3D was surprisingly good and not distracting), which made it a billion times more epic. Personally, I hope that the sequel tries to stay away from the Alien movies. I like the idea of Prometheus by itself, and the fact that Ridley Scott threw in that last scene made the movie a little less climactic. Yes, I definitely agree that this film gives new hope to the sci-fi genre. There were definitely some parts that were a little cliche, but overall it was fresh and absolutely thrilling. No idea why Madagascar 3 beat this at the box office this weekend. I may have to kill myself. Expand
  2. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    If one can't keep up with the subtext of what's going on in the film, they are going to come away completely disappointed and confused by Prometheus. If you have the chops to hang in there, though, the film is a fantastic, and important, exploration into the nature of human existence. Make no mistake, the monsters and horror of this film exist SOLELY to support the existential quest thatIf one can't keep up with the subtext of what's going on in the film, they are going to come away completely disappointed and confused by Prometheus. If you have the chops to hang in there, though, the film is a fantastic, and important, exploration into the nature of human existence. Make no mistake, the monsters and horror of this film exist SOLELY to support the existential quest that is the root of the story. If you are expecting a film about aliens who kill people, you won't be satisfied. (Even if aliens to spectacularly kill people) Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    It has all the trademarks of an Alien movie while combining science and religion in the search for the origins of human kind and the discovery of the possible end to life on earth. Scott uses great cinematography with intense horror to bring the story to life.
  4. D6M
    Jun 10, 2012
    9
    While this movie isn't perfect, it's still a far better experience than Alien 3 and Resurrection, which recycled the ideas of its predecessors and spit them back out; whereas Prometheus attempts to take the franchise in a new direction while still staying true to the core elements of previous installments. Aside from one motive left unexplained and an unaddressed continuity issue in theWhile this movie isn't perfect, it's still a far better experience than Alien 3 and Resurrection, which recycled the ideas of its predecessors and spit them back out; whereas Prometheus attempts to take the franchise in a new direction while still staying true to the core elements of previous installments. Aside from one motive left unexplained and an unaddressed continuity issue in the time line between Prometheus and Alien(it would seriously take 2-3 sentences of narrative to bridge everything together...but sequel maybe?), the movie exceeded my expectations; between its amazing cinematography/visuals and convincing acting, this crazy story somehow becomes believable.
    This is far from a bad movie and the 3D version by far had the best 3D I've experienced yet(no obvious scenes with way too many people at too many varying distances or stuff flying towards my face). To wrap things up, this is a great movie that is well worth seeing on the big screen in 3D, even though it has some faults, they aren't that detrimental to the film itself, but rather it's continuity between it and it's current sequel Alien.
    Expand
  5. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This is for sure the best movie of 2012 I have seen so far, Sci fi movies are of my favorites, I also loved Alien I also liked this one but not that much as alien, but still awesome
  6. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Another great Ridley Scott movie, he is a great director, it has awesome special effects and it has to much suspense, and we have a great performance by a new movie star, Michael Fassbender, who is really popular at the moment
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Rather than explicitly deliver the plot to the viewer in tight punchlines, this movie flows from one rich template to the next...and the plot unfolds without pausing for the laugh track. When its over, you are left with the intriguing question: why do these Romanesque demi-gods who've engineered themselves into perfect physical specimens...and who've engineered the development of a mirror species (us), why on earth do they design this biological weapon to destroy mankind (their own creation) approximately 100 years after the crucifixion?

    What are the parallels between them, human civilization, our destruction, and they symbol of Rapace's crucifix? Could Ridley Scott be tying everything together? Could earth be an outpost for their empire...and when our civilization chose something other than the regimented slave-system of the Roman Empire, this did not fit into their plans for a new colony?

    There are a billion intriguing ideas, and only a few clues...

    One of the best movies in years, IMO, and even if it is not widely praised, I think it will have a spot on many "best sci-fi movie" lists for a long, long time.
    Expand
  8. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Wow! Oh, wow. I just returned from the theater and I think my head is still in outer space. No kidding, the special effects and sound in this movie are ramped up to such intensity, it will take you a while to adjust after the first time you see it, too. Hang on to your popcorn. You're in for a ride.

    This movie deals with the theme that life may have come from other planets. Was it
    Wow! Oh, wow. I just returned from the theater and I think my head is still in outer space. No kidding, the special effects and sound in this movie are ramped up to such intensity, it will take you a while to adjust after the first time you see it, too. Hang on to your popcorn. You're in for a ride.

    This movie deals with the theme that life may have come from other planets. Was it benevolent? Was it intelligent? Did it have the potential for peace or death? The answer may be, all of the above. A group of humans and an android take a massive craft to the site of a possible civilization. They are out to see whether it was the source of human culture. They are so optimistic, in fact, that notions of potential difficulties don't stop them. Soon they're on the planet, and searching through what seems to be an inhabited mountain. Is anything still down there? The viewer familiar with the rest of the Alien series will recognize the wry nods to the characters down the road. There is the smart-aleck humanoid robot, the eager explorers, and those who are skeptical of the whole thing. I won't tell you too much, since this is one of those stories that's so elaborate, and has such momentum, you really have to see it for yourself. Although I was frustrated by some of the plot twists, of which some are explained and others just aren't, it's clear that this film is a complex, supercharged thrill ride. Fans of science fiction will be agog with happiness over the dark storyline and the special effects. Those who like horror will understand the relentless fear that follows you all through the film. If the entire movie feels as if you are scurrying down a tunnel, it's because much of the time, you are. Good versus evil is always a worthwhile theme. In this movie, although it's not always clear what constitutes winning or losing, the battle is a heck of a thing to watch.
    Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    This metascore is an absolute travesty. A beautiful, thought-provoking science-fiction film discussing what it means to be human, and the origins of life. It's metascore should be much much higher, at least in the seventies.
  10. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Yes, this movie has flaws, but that doesn't escape the fact that I just can't get the darn thing out of my head. It's not the flaws, such as some plot holes and lack of character development, that are sticking with me. It's the beauty and the outright audacity of the film. It's the kind of sci-fi no one makes anymore, in that it actually has something to say. What that "something" is is,Yes, this movie has flaws, but that doesn't escape the fact that I just can't get the darn thing out of my head. It's not the flaws, such as some plot holes and lack of character development, that are sticking with me. It's the beauty and the outright audacity of the film. It's the kind of sci-fi no one makes anymore, in that it actually has something to say. What that "something" is is, like the best sci-fi, left up to interpretation. This film does not pander and has no easy answers, and that can sometimes be frustrating. But I applaud it nonetheless. Even if you wind up disappointed, there will definitely be something here that will stick out as memorable, even if it is just the visuals. Expand
  11. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    I really enjoyed this movie. I never saw the 'Alien' trilogy because I'm 25 and they were before my time. I went into this movie expecting an edge of your seat space-survival drama and got exactly that. As with all good stories it leaves a lot of questions unanswered and I very much prefer it that way. I found it was a nice change of pace from a lot of movies today that force the plot downI really enjoyed this movie. I never saw the 'Alien' trilogy because I'm 25 and they were before my time. I went into this movie expecting an edge of your seat space-survival drama and got exactly that. As with all good stories it leaves a lot of questions unanswered and I very much prefer it that way. I found it was a nice change of pace from a lot of movies today that force the plot down your throat. The movie doesn't pander to the dull witted or people who need every question answered. If you like this type of movie and you're willing to think a little bit then you should enjoy this film immensely. Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Entertaining, with a plot that leaves a lot unanswered for, seemingly, a reason. The film sets itself up great as we slowly are absorbed into its world. As the film goes on, the mood changes and the final scenes had me on the edge of my seat. Sure, the plot is as full of holes as swiss cheese, and Ridley Scott seems to throw a new idea into the mix about ever other scene then completelyEntertaining, with a plot that leaves a lot unanswered for, seemingly, a reason. The film sets itself up great as we slowly are absorbed into its world. As the film goes on, the mood changes and the final scenes had me on the edge of my seat. Sure, the plot is as full of holes as swiss cheese, and Ridley Scott seems to throw a new idea into the mix about ever other scene then completely abandon it, but I can't help but feel that I have been incredibly engaged and immersed by this film. If you can get past its "hush-hush" attitude about 50% of the core plot material, you will definitely enjoy yourself. Expand
  13. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    My friend and I saw this movie with low expectations after reading many negative reviews and we were blown away by how awesome this movie was. I would recommend watching the original alien up until where they explore inside the alien ship before seeing Prometheus. It helped us enjoy the movie that much more. Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace had the best characters in the movie IMO. HereMy friend and I saw this movie with low expectations after reading many negative reviews and we were blown away by how awesome this movie was. I would recommend watching the original alien up until where they explore inside the alien ship before seeing Prometheus. It helped us enjoy the movie that much more. Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace had the best characters in the movie IMO. Here is my checklist of why I loved this movie.. Very good cinematography, the best CGI and visual affects to date, alien references, tense scenes that keep you on the edge of your seat, and finally this is just an awesome sci-fi movie. Prometheus had its flaws however as other reviewers have pointed out. If you go into this movie with high expectations you will be let down. The movie raised more questions than answered. There is little character development and over all the script could have been better. I would definitely recommend seeing this movie. Just go to be entertained. Expand
  14. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Possible Spoiler.
    If your an Alien franchise fan this movie helps explain the genesis of the Xenomorphs, at least the early genesis. Still leave a lot of unanswered questions and raises a few more. Overall a solid sci fi film with A LOT going on.
    Expand
  15. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    Too many people haven't done their research before posting a review on here. A lot of people are saying that the movie sucks and had great potential. Did it actually suck?

    They are giving it such a low score on bases that it wasn't what they expected. People wanted xenomorphs but they didn't get that. Everything is explained, this film is most definitely original and the people that don't
    Too many people haven't done their research before posting a review on here. A lot of people are saying that the movie sucks and had great potential. Did it actually suck?

    They are giving it such a low score on bases that it wasn't what they expected. People wanted xenomorphs but they didn't get that. Everything is explained, this film is most definitely original and the people that don't understand it are giving it such a low score! This film does not deserve a zero, or a two. Those are ridiculous ratings based solely on what you didn't get within the film.

    Just because you don't understand it, doesn't mean that things didn't get answered. They did get answered, it's because you don't understand it to truly see what the answers were!
    Expand
  16. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Brilliant film, it is not as Scary as it should have been but it makes up for it in it's awe inspiring cinematography, locations, visuals and pretty much everything else. The story is great, a massive fan service.
  17. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    There are a few haters out there. and i can't understand why?! Besides the reason of "It didn't have many references to Alien or it wasn't as good as Alien." Prometheus was a excellent film and although it is a prequel to Alien (Somewhat) its a damn good stand alone movie. Did it have a few flaws umm maybe one or 2. but as a package the movie was fantastic. The acting was decent, noomiThere are a few haters out there. and i can't understand why?! Besides the reason of "It didn't have many references to Alien or it wasn't as good as Alien." Prometheus was a excellent film and although it is a prequel to Alien (Somewhat) its a damn good stand alone movie. Did it have a few flaws umm maybe one or 2. but as a package the movie was fantastic. The acting was decent, noomi rapace was pretty good, charlize therone was decent being a **** again (Snow White). Idris elba was the ships captain again decent acting nothing major. As For everybody else i felt they were fillers their acting was decent and for small roles you didn't need much acting. The standout actor in this movie is Michael Fassbender he steals the show! his acting was superb and his character was definitely the most interesting. while watching this movie i honestly didn't care much about the other characters than i did about David (fassbenders character). And while fassbender really wasn't a "Main" character he was a supporting character who actually turns out to be a main one he definitely has a huge role and is one of the main reasons for watching this movie. The story is simple 2 archeologists along with the prometheus crew go to another planet in search for their creators (human like aliens) and they do find them! and **** hits the fan (people start dying etc. etc.) definitely a good movie i don't wanna spoil anything but it is a good time, it is a great movie, it looks fantastic beautiful movie, i really have nothing bad to say about this movie GO WATCH IT! Expand
  18. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    I give this movie a 96% and I could write this review and explain why (the perfect acting, the amazing special effects, and the incredibly gripping story), but you can read all about those things in the other 9 or 10 reviews. I'll be taking time to explain why this movie got extremely mixed reviews. Simply put, a large quantity of people only enjoy movies that have the plot-line spoon-fedI give this movie a 96% and I could write this review and explain why (the perfect acting, the amazing special effects, and the incredibly gripping story), but you can read all about those things in the other 9 or 10 reviews. I'll be taking time to explain why this movie got extremely mixed reviews. Simply put, a large quantity of people only enjoy movies that have the plot-line spoon-fed to them. Alien was, although a quite possibly perfect film, one of those movies. In order for a movie to be great it doesn't need to have an amazing plot, really the plot of "Alien" is incredibly simple with pretty much one plot-twist, but it was still a quality film. Prometheus is the opposite end of the spectrum. Prometheus has an incredibly large plot-line, literally striving to explain the existence of humanity, a controversial and mind-crippling topic. However, it leaves much of the explaining up to the audience. It's a movie that you'll find yourself thinking about for weeks afterwards, still coming up with a plethora of theories. It's not just the plot that's incredible, though. This movie doesn't strictly rely on scares and thrills like Alien did, but it still has well placed moments that are chilling and appropriate to develop the plot and make you think even more. In fact, it contains possibly the most disturbing and tense movie scene I've ever witnessed. The movie is written by the same guy who wrote LOST, Damon Lindelof. Did you like LOST? Then you'll love Prometheus. If not, then you should be spending your money on movies like "The Expendables". Expand
  19. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    I am somewhat surprised that this film seems to have such a diverse range of opinions on whether it's worth seeing or not. In my view, the work is a near masterpiece in that it successfully presents a gripping an engaging sci-fi story, whilst simultaneously posing timeless questions that we, as the human race, have been asking for centuries. The film also does a lot to dispel the myth ofI am somewhat surprised that this film seems to have such a diverse range of opinions on whether it's worth seeing or not. In my view, the work is a near masterpiece in that it successfully presents a gripping an engaging sci-fi story, whilst simultaneously posing timeless questions that we, as the human race, have been asking for centuries. The film also does a lot to dispel the myth of academic assumption as fact - showing very clearly that the assumptions and interpretations offered by modern 'experts' are fallible and flawed at best, and at worst... downright wrong. The art direction is exquisite, the setting is epic and the characters are believable. I think the film challenges it's audience a little more than your average sci-fi flick, and it's satisfying fare if you enjoy cerebral undercurrents. I loved this movie and I'd see it again. Highly recommended! Expand
  20. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here's the thing about Prometheus: When this film was nearing release, Guillermo Del Toro said in interviews and online that it basically killed his hopes of adapting H.P. Lovecraft's horror novella "At The Mountains of Madness", because Prometheus and his film would be too similar. He was absolutely right. This film IS an adaptation of Mountains of Madness, even if Ridley Scott and the writers didn't strictly intend it to be. I will admit, some key points are different, but the more you look at Prometheus, the more it screams Mountains. For me, this is something of a conundrum, because as much as I loved this movie, it may mean never seeing Guillermo Del Toro's vision of Lovecraft come to fruition.

    So what is there to say about Prometheus? There's certainly the obvious. For one, this movie is gorgeous. Everything from the sweeping, desolate landscapes down to the tiniest, nearly microscopic details, are near-perfectly conceived. For the cinematography alone, this movie is worth seeing. Of course, there's more to it than that. Michael Fassbender stands out in his role portraying the android David, sitting comfortably somewhere between the bottom of the uncanny valley and the peak of convincing humanity. He's like HAL 9000, if HAL were a little handsomer. Noomi Rapace and Charlize Theron both do excellent jobs in their respective roles, each echoing different parts of what made up Ripley's personality in the previous movies. The rest of the cast turn in solid, albeit somewhat stereotyped performances, but that's forgivable seeing as they're basically the horny teens of this movie's Crystal Lake. They're certainly more likable than the cannon-fodder of most horror movies.

    A common criticism of this film is that it tries too hard to be profound and cerebral, and that the plot leaves too much unresolved; the people who feel that way have probably never read Lovecraft. Sure, the ideological tug-of-war that goes on throughout the film isn't anything too new, but here it's played out in a fairly novel and interesting way, and trust me, you often won't have time to poke holes in the characters' arguments before something a little more immediate and visceral moves the plot forward. As far as I'm concerned, that's just good pacing, not a movie that can't decide whether it wants to be scary or smart. As for the supposed "plot-holes", what people are actually complaining about is the lack of explanation for why a lot of things happen in this film (why is that guy a zombie now, where did that snake thing come from, what's the deal with airplane food?). What many people don't understand is that we aren't supposed to understand, that we are dealing with forces we never could understand. This is a big element in Lovecraft fiction, and it also plays strongly into absurdist and nihilistic views (which, conveniently, are played strongly against more orderly, religious views in the film). One of the key elements of creating fear in people is taking control away from them, and by extension, also taking away understanding. This is why many things in the film go unexplained. If they had wasted 10 minutes of the movie technobabbling about mutagens and DNA and what-have-you, if what happens in the film could be understood, it would severely undercut the horror. A world without rules, without certainty or consistency, is truly a terrifying thing. The film's creators know this, and it is for this reason that they choose not to explain the whys and hows of the so-called Engineers and their creations. It makes for something truly disquieting; a universe where God isn't one of us, and he isn't on our side.
    Expand
  21. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was dragged to cinema the other day and since I was dragged there I was told I can choose what we watch. I chose Prometheus, I saw the advert a few days before and thought it looked alright, so we went in (having to sit row) and I molded myself to my seat ready for a what I expected to be a mediocre sci-fi film. I was utterly mistaken, for me Prometheus is one of the best films I have seen all year. It was thought provoking and thoroughly enjoyable, the film did provide a few parts that made me jump and a few parts that where extremely gory and gritty (including a cesarean to remove an alien baby). The characters where great, especially Micheal Fassbender's character, David, an android with intense loyalty to his creator. It was fantastic to see how the different characters from different backgrounds react to meeting there creators, it ended with everyone dead but two characters, one of whom was missing his body. It was defiantly a great film and I would thoroughly recommend it to any cinema goers. My favorite film of the year. Expand
  22. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    Excellent move and well worth the time. At first I was confused, but once the movie got going, it completely explains a part of where the "Space Jockey" and alien creatures came from. It starts out slow, but if you hang with it you will thoroughly enjoy watching the entirety.

    Can't wait for the next one.
  23. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Fantastic visuals. Great acting. Doesnt answer the main questions it ask but whos to say it had to? One of the best Sci-fi movies in a LONG time. Best IMAX movie ive ever seen!
  24. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    After seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the original Alien, liked Predators and Alien 3, but all of the other films set in the fictional Alien/Predator universe are pretty terrible, especially AVP2 which was one of the worst films I have ever seen. After AVP2 I vowed I was done with both of the franchisesAfter seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the original Alien, liked Predators and Alien 3, but all of the other films set in the fictional Alien/Predator universe are pretty terrible, especially AVP2 which was one of the worst films I have ever seen. After AVP2 I vowed I was done with both of the franchises for good. But after some coaxing by a couple of friends, I reluctantly went to see the Prometheus opening in IMAX. Couldn't be happier. Amazing visuals. Intriguing plot lines. Excellent character portrayals by most of the cast. Intense edge-of-your-seat thrill ride, but not only was it thrilling, it was gripping. The cinematography was excellent. The character development of David was spectacular. The story line exceeds all of the other movies of the Alien/Predator franchises, except for the original Alien, combined. I'm glad I spent the money to see the IMAX version, and I am planning to see this at least two to three more times in IMAX before its run is over. Last movie I saw in a theater more than once? The first Matrix film. Saw it twice. This movie is right on par with it as far as an overall experience. Surpassed even Avatar, far surpassed in my opinion, in overall 3D movie experience/entertainment. This is a must see. Anyone saying it was boring, or hard to follow, doesn't know what a great movie is. There is no hand-holding through the movie. You must think for yourself and form theories as you as you go along, and this film kept me guessing through the end, but not to a point that I ever felt I was "lost." Wonderful Experience. 9.7/10 Expand
  25. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    One must remember why most people attend the movies: to escape. As a passive voyeur, the movie viewer anticipates being taken away from the mundane and dreariness of everyday life to an artificial world of endless possibilities. And IMO, Prometheus accomplishes this.

    Sure, there are holes and unanswered questions scattered about, but think about the last time you were told a story in
    One must remember why most people attend the movies: to escape. As a passive voyeur, the movie viewer anticipates being taken away from the mundane and dreariness of everyday life to an artificial world of endless possibilities. And IMO, Prometheus accomplishes this.

    Sure, there are holes and unanswered questions scattered about, but think about the last time you were told a story in person. Would you have remained engaged with the teller if each and every detail were painfully elaborated upon? Probably not, you possibly would've disengaged (physically, mentally or both). For me, Prometheus is a better movie for leaving some gaps and unanswered questions (within the plot).

    If you want to escape reality and just have a good time at the movies, then Prometheus is for you. However, if you tend to over-analyze and critique for faults, then go on and read the low score reviews and save your money for when Prometheus goes to Blu-Ray.

    Remember, it's just the movies :)
    Expand
  26. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Simple Phenomenal. I have been waiting for this movie for a loong time. I avoided all trailers and clips so I don't spoil anything from this movie made by one of my best directors Ridley Scott. People probably expected more mostly because they ruined most of it by doing what I didn't do. The problem is that people don't know that there's going to be a sequel called, "Paradise". The other is that people don't like to think and use there brain on what happened and why? It has to be the first movie in along time that actually made me talk about all the theories of it. I have my own theories but I'll explain it later. I have to say this has to be on of the best Sci-Fi movies I have seen since Sunshine. Sci-fi movies are not popular in the movie industry because no one wants to understand it. I love it. I will keep it short. The creators(space Jockeys) came to earth to create us. Then use as a weapon to probably fight a war or invasion that they are involved in. Something goes wrong with there experiment and they have to eliminate some of there own and try to escape. When the crew arrives at there world which is not LV 426 from the alien movie the human crew enters a closed quarters and some worms appear from the soil that evolve later on from the contents of the canisters. The space jockey ship in this movie is not the one that crash landed on LV 426 because Weyland industries knew the location of this world so they would have sent more people to this planet again. Plus the crew from the Nostromo would have bumped into the canisters if this was that ship which its not. If you watch Alien even the planet and system they enter is completely different.

    I think the sequel will shine on all these questions which I can't wait. Think about this.
    Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This film was not quite a 10 but I will give it that anyway because it was easily the best movie I have seen in a theater in some time. Many of the complaints against it are somewhat justified but for the most part it is just people who were over expectant and self entitled ("I want my money back.") I personally hope that Lindelhof does not return to pen another script as there wereThis film was not quite a 10 but I will give it that anyway because it was easily the best movie I have seen in a theater in some time. Many of the complaints against it are somewhat justified but for the most part it is just people who were over expectant and self entitled ("I want my money back.") I personally hope that Lindelhof does not return to pen another script as there were moments that clearly needed more definition. That said, Prometheus truly sets the stage for what could be a remarkable series of films, explaining the evolution of humans and aliens as a sort of binary weapons program. If you just want another Alien movie, don't waste your time. If you enjoy incredible CG, interesting philosophical quandaries and a couple freaky monsters it is well worth a few bucks. Expand
  28. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prometheus, the new movie of Ridley Scott, and what happen? have a some low score, sorry but the critics have some mistake because the movie is fantastic. Prometheus is an indirect prequel of Alien. The story is amazing and have an awesome development. The performances are amazing, Charlize Theon, Michael Fassbender and Noomi Rapace OMG!! Excellent. The effects are incredible (thenw oscar winner?). Prometheus is a fantastic movie, and yeah one of the best movies of this year. Expand
  29. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    If you enjoyed the Aliens series, you will certainly enjoy this. Satisfiable cast. Remarkable visuals and environments. Delicious information into the Aliens series if the viewer likes that. Minimal gore scenes resulted in each one being unique and obvious to the amount of work put into it. Profound plots not entirely obvious to the viewer that the viewer should investigate. OneIf you enjoyed the Aliens series, you will certainly enjoy this. Satisfiable cast. Remarkable visuals and environments. Delicious information into the Aliens series if the viewer likes that. Minimal gore scenes resulted in each one being unique and obvious to the amount of work put into it. Profound plots not entirely obvious to the viewer that the viewer should investigate. One character's makeup was very questionable. One scene was questionable, but could be reasoned. I want to watch it again. Expand
  30. Jun 9, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wow. My first impression of Prometheus was simply, wow. While it didn't quite reach Alien or Aliens in terms of brilliance, it was damn close.

    Lets talk plot: I like the idea of the mysterious Engineers that leave their marks all over prehistoric Earth, and an intriguing opening sequence captured the visuals which left my jaw hanging open. Find a huge screen to watch this film, that way you enjoy it exponentially more. Introducing the character of David first was wise, Michael Fassbender is sheerly brilliant as the sinister but polite android David. Noomi Rapace is watch-able but a bit flat as the lead role. Sean Harris and Rafe Spall make for an entertaining but big-mouthed double act. And the way they cop it was very gross-out as there was a lot of in-your-face (literally) creature action. Although suspense in these moments would have been welcome. The exploration of the alien pyramid was enjoyable on a whole because of stunning visuals that welcome 3D with open arms. The holograms of the Engineers were very well presented in leading the characters to the story. When the ickiness began, it was pleasingly grotesque, but not shocking, in the way it could and should have been for a 15 film. Although that factor is picked up very well in a later scene with Shaw on the medi-scanner in a "pregnancy" scene that was horrific and scarring in the sheer amount of blood that was involved. But I like that bit a lot, because it gave Prometheus a backbone where it lacked in true horror. I don't want to drone on, so I'll say the ending was satisfactory in that it showed us the "Space Jockey" ship and pilots chair from Alien, but it was a bit disappointing that the film ends with a fight between tentacled monster and Engineer, like something out of King Kong vs Godzilla. The ending with Shaw and David going off in to space to find answers is obviously setting up a sequel, without promising one. Sensible, and Scott ends with a scene which was so utterly brilliant in its sense of giving the audience satisfaction it almost gets a 10 for the entire film. The Xenomorph appears in all its glory! Which was a fan-pleasing appearance especially since Scott stated it probably wouldn't appear. It's a perfect ending scene, and made me long for a sequel more than I could say. Overall I loved Prometheus, it really lived up to its status as a prequel to one of the best Sci-Fi films ever made, but sadly doesn't quite level with it. For the sequel, if it is made, an upping in suspense and true gross-out horror would be the driving force to get a 10/10. BUT DON'T TONE DOWN THE VISUALS, SCOTT! THEY WERE BRILLIANT!
    Expand
  31. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This movie is great. I'll admit there are a few moments where the point is unclear, but it shines through these. The genius of this movies plot can be found, but it takes some thinking in and out of the theater, and still not everything will be revealed. All in all, the story connects together well, the acting is good, and the story perfectly ties in with the rest of the Alien series whileThis movie is great. I'll admit there are a few moments where the point is unclear, but it shines through these. The genius of this movies plot can be found, but it takes some thinking in and out of the theater, and still not everything will be revealed. All in all, the story connects together well, the acting is good, and the story perfectly ties in with the rest of the Alien series while still feeling new and having its own style. Expand
  32. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this movie was excellent! It is a great science fiction movie that blends Ancient Alien theories and current biotechnology concerns. Some parts of the plot are left open to interpretation, and viewers who wish to have closure in their films might not enjoy that particular feature. I had high expectations for many months before seeing this film. I followed some fan sites that leaked parts of the movie, and was disappointed with what I read there. However, the delivery and screen adaptation of those ideas were excellent. Expand
  33. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Good movie even if the die hard alien fanboy's are mad because it was not perfect in anyway.
    Story was good, Acting was good, Plot was good, Visual's are good, Audio was good, Horror was good.
  34. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Has anyone noticed that this film borrows, to put it very nicely, rather heavily from H.P. Lovecraft? That's not to say I didn't enjoy it. I most certainly did. I have great respect for Scott and have liked almost everything he's done. My problem is, here we go again with not acknowledging where your ideas come from. This after the whole A.E. Van Vogt debacle with the original Alien.Has anyone noticed that this film borrows, to put it very nicely, rather heavily from H.P. Lovecraft? That's not to say I didn't enjoy it. I most certainly did. I have great respect for Scott and have liked almost everything he's done. My problem is, here we go again with not acknowledging where your ideas come from. This after the whole A.E. Van Vogt debacle with the original Alien. Guillermo del Toro tries for years to get a deal together to film At the Mountains of Madness, and here comes Scott and Co., grafting the story onto an Alien prequel, and beats him to the punch. The only significant difference is that the Old Ones are humanoid. I don't really object to recycling old stories for new applications that way, I just wish filmmakers would quit pretending that none of us out here read. Expand
  35. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I truly loved this movie. It's a GREAT space epic. Here's why I like it. It called into question and brought great purpose to the great questions of all time. Why are we here, who made us, what's our purpose. I love those ideas mixed with the space epic setting. It was however, not as amazing as I'd hoped because I had set my standards so high. BUT in all reality, its one of the best filmsI truly loved this movie. It's a GREAT space epic. Here's why I like it. It called into question and brought great purpose to the great questions of all time. Why are we here, who made us, what's our purpose. I love those ideas mixed with the space epic setting. It was however, not as amazing as I'd hoped because I had set my standards so high. BUT in all reality, its one of the best films of the summer. GREAT subtext, amazing layers, all mixed with some awesome anthropology / ancient Egyptian religious undertones. Calls the hero to faith, and delivers. If you have not seen it, just please, go see it. Its better than ANYTHING else out right now (6-8-12) Expand
  36. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't believe the naysayers and the whiners who had such lofty expectations they would never be fulfilled. As a huge fan of Blade Runner and Alien, I have to say Scott delivered exactly as I expected him to. He raises just enough questions to get your mind running wild and let's your imagination take over. I was absolutely rabid to know more once it was over! The movie was technically beautiful, with 3D not done this good since Avatar. I mean you don't even notice it's 3D and that's the mark of a director who knows how to use it. The sets were incredible, the pace near perfect. Fassbender was acting out of his mind, he deserves a Best Supporting Actor nod, it was that good. And through it all, despite my confidence I could predict every move, at least two scenes caught me off guard, and at least one of them I know I said, Oh My God, out loud. Shock value as only Ridley Scott can deliver, and I will be thinking about this one long after I've seen it three times. So brush aside the haters, and go see some of the most intelligent, gorgeous sci fi we've seen in a long time. Welcome back Ridley! What took you so long? Expand
  37. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Spectacular......we finally have a return to the glory of Sci-Fi! It poses many questions....it answers some but leaves many unanswered. It opens the window to the unknown and challenges it's audience to think. That's what makes it great. The performances are all strong, the effects are top-rate, the creatures were unique and horrifying, and the duration was just right. Ridley Scott'sSpectacular......we finally have a return to the glory of Sci-Fi! It poses many questions....it answers some but leaves many unanswered. It opens the window to the unknown and challenges it's audience to think. That's what makes it great. The performances are all strong, the effects are top-rate, the creatures were unique and horrifying, and the duration was just right. Ridley Scott's Prometheus is another ground breaker and will be remembered for a long time. Expand
  38. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Let me start this up by saying I haven't enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. The machinery of the Hollywood distribution business has fallen into the repetitive practice of hipping up product that sinks itself within five minutes of opening, unable to support the almost god-like audience expectations. And Prometheus is no foreigner to the fabricated Hollywood momentum. To say thereLet me start this up by saying I haven't enjoyed a movie this much in a long time. The machinery of the Hollywood distribution business has fallen into the repetitive practice of hipping up product that sinks itself within five minutes of opening, unable to support the almost god-like audience expectations. And Prometheus is no foreigner to the fabricated Hollywood momentum. To say there has been a lot of anticipation built up around Ridley Scott's latest cinematic dream is an understatement.
    It seems Hollywood finally got it right. We no longer have to drone ourselves to the theater and laugh off what the ads were claiming would be fantastic and is actually born to mediocrity. We can expect a movie to be as good as it's expected, and in fact, even better. Much much better.
    I attended the midnight screening late Thursday night and the energy in that place was amazing. This is what story telling is about. The human need for the discovery of an incredible story is well alive. It bonds us all. Gives us a reason to dream and fight for what we want. The illusion is the flame.
    The screenplay felt flawless. It would have been so easy to make this another fare in Alien combat. Us running around helpless with useless weapons. Them chasing us effortlessly. The pretty girl screaming on the side. I think other filmmakers did that once or twice.
    Not John Spaihts and Damon Lindelof. These two delved deep into humanity's unanswerable questions. Who are our Gods? Why? Where? And what is to say of the father-sibling complex? Are our parents like Gods to us? Gods of flesh that have guided us to where we are? Or are they simple humans we must be rid of in order to proclaim ourselves as masters of our own insignificant universe? This and much more is all tucked away behind the perfectly stylized curtains of Ridley Scott's science fiction world.
    The movie feels right down fascinating. Reminiscent of that first Alien film. Those early shots way before the egg was revealed. Even the opening shots inside a dormant Nostromo. Remember those? How haunting? How intriguing? Ridley's hand is still very much present here. At its best shape. I simply couldn't get my eyes off that screen. Fascinating. Even the 3D element played well into it. I thought this might turn into another "let's poke the audience in the eye" kind of trip, but instead it felt like an immersive experience. I almost forgot I was in a movie theatre at times.
    Dramatically. The acting was phenomenal. Nothing that required exaggerated exuberance. Acting is mostly an art that goes unnoticed because of its sincerity. So real that we don't question it. A simple matter of fact. This film required that kind of delivery. The kind of dramatic honesty that allows the screenplay to unfold itself effortlessly.
    I will close this by pointing out that I wasn't particularly scared this time around. I recall being horrified the first time the Alien burst out of Kane's chest back in the day. Although, Prometheus doesn't seem to be a product of the horror genre. Suspenseful and though provoking are more along the line of the goals this motion picture attempts to deliver, and does masterfully.
    Expand
  39. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    It doesn't quite live up to the original Alien movie, but it holds its own and it's a far above average sci-fi movie. It starts out rather slow, but it all helps to build to a thrilling conclusion. Even though the ending leaves more questions open than it answers, it's still rather mind blowing and the whole thing is very inventive. The performances were good all around, particularlyIt doesn't quite live up to the original Alien movie, but it holds its own and it's a far above average sci-fi movie. It starts out rather slow, but it all helps to build to a thrilling conclusion. Even though the ending leaves more questions open than it answers, it's still rather mind blowing and the whole thing is very inventive. The performances were good all around, particularly Michael Fassbender. The cast along with Ridley Scott's direction were superb at creating tension and instilling a feeling of dread within the viewer. But the best part of the film had to be the amazing visual effects and cinematography which, if nothing else, makes the film well worth the price of a ticket. Expand
  40. VTx
    Jun 8, 2012
    10
    People always like to compare movies with another movies. Prometheus is a new movie, not a sequel or a prequel from the old movies, director said exactly the same thing. The production of the film is amazing, the story... a race more ancient, they create some life in a variety of planets including the alien. You see the first alien in the movie Prometheus or maybe he isn't the alien fromPeople always like to compare movies with another movies. Prometheus is a new movie, not a sequel or a prequel from the old movies, director said exactly the same thing. The production of the film is amazing, the story... a race more ancient, they create some life in a variety of planets including the alien. You see the first alien in the movie Prometheus or maybe he isn't the alien from "aliens movies" and is a new specie who knows.
    Maybe in the second movie the producers and writers will give us some answers when Shaw kill them, I bet s going to be more thriller.
    Expand
  41. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Stop reading reviews and go see it. You'll spoil it for yourself and the internet hipsters will screw with your perception of a film that's sure to go down in history as a masterpiece. GO.
  42. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A visual panoramic sci-fi feast that sets the "WTF?" stage of ALIENS. Yes, the crew is strangely similar to the Nostromo crew, and yes, it does raise a lot of questions that don't get answered... but this is a classic issue with sci-fi. Ask and answer? People aren't happy with the answers. Ask and don't answer? People hate not getting the answers. So, here are a couple of life lesson answers to take with you into the next century. 1. It's never a wise idea to tease an android. Even if they tell you they aren't programmed for rage? Be nice. Second, if you come across a room full of alien objects dribbling goo? Don't stick your fingers in it, slime it around and give it a sniff. I wouldn't do that today in a neighborhood garage. On an alien planet? Are you nuts? Seriously, have we not learned these lesson by 2089? Expand
  43. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    The scares of Alien with the effects of Avatar! This film had me jumping out of my seat, squirming, and heart-pounding for the entire 2 hours and 5 minutes. The effects and sound are the new standard for today's cinema, surpassing those of 2009's Avatar. There were many tie-ins to the original Alien movie from 1979 which was very good to reflect on after the movie. Some people reviewThe scares of Alien with the effects of Avatar! This film had me jumping out of my seat, squirming, and heart-pounding for the entire 2 hours and 5 minutes. The effects and sound are the new standard for today's cinema, surpassing those of 2009's Avatar. There were many tie-ins to the original Alien movie from 1979 which was very good to reflect on after the movie. Some people review movies as what the movie set out to be. If an action movie is a good action movie, they give it a good review because it's a good action movie, not because it's a good movie. Prometheus, however, is a stunning Sci-Fi flick, an excellent horror film, and one of the best thrillers I think I've ever seen. I saw it at the midnight IMAX 3D premiere, and. was. STUNNED. Even though I saw it at what is considered a "LieMax" theater (google it), the sound was absolutely incredible! If you are a fan of Horror, Sci-Fi, Thrillers, or Action Movies, I promise you'll love this. You'll also love it as an Alien fan, due to the countless tie-ins. This movie makes you question some of the events in it (in a good way) and think about life in general. AMAZING performances by Noomi Rapace, Michael Fassbender, Idris Elba, and Charlize Theron. 10/10 due to the fact that it was a great movie and gave a very satisfying release to my 1+ year anticipation for the film. Expand
  44. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I love this movie, one of the best movies in years. It lived up to its hype. I normally can't stand 3-D movies, but the visual effects of this made it worth it. The acting was amazing, I especially loved how robotic Micheal Fassbender's movements were. Stellar cast, beautiful visual effects, I cannot gush enough about this movie. I felt a little of every emotion while watching this, II love this movie, one of the best movies in years. It lived up to its hype. I normally can't stand 3-D movies, but the visual effects of this made it worth it. The acting was amazing, I especially loved how robotic Micheal Fassbender's movements were. Stellar cast, beautiful visual effects, I cannot gush enough about this movie. I felt a little of every emotion while watching this, I laughed, I cried, I was speechless, my heart-stopped a few times, it was overall amazing. Definitely go see it, the midnight release was so worth it and I will happily see this again. Expand
  45. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    One of the best movies I've seen in a long time. Truly EPIC. This is one of those films that I wished so badly that I was part of the Prometheus crew. Reminds me of when I was young when I wished I was a part of the lord of the rings and star wars universe. It's a strange feeling. But watch it NOW, in cinemas in 3D: 3D is really good like Avatar!!
  46. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    I loved it. I will try not to spoil anything for those who have not seen it. The production design is really where this film shines. Everything looks so perfect. There wasn't a single visual aspect to this film that had anything out of place. For that alone I would give this a 10. David is also played to perfection. There are some problems with the writing, but I wouldn't say theyI loved it. I will try not to spoil anything for those who have not seen it. The production design is really where this film shines. Everything looks so perfect. There wasn't a single visual aspect to this film that had anything out of place. For that alone I would give this a 10. David is also played to perfection. There are some problems with the writing, but I wouldn't say they mattered to much. That doesn't mean this a "check your brain in at the door film", it's just that not everything gets explained. This is also the first film I have seen the audience clap twice in (other than at the end, a scene involving Theron and Elba got an applause). It's not as good as Alien, but it is still the most exciting and beautiful looking films I have seen in ages. Expand
  47. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    Prometheus was what I expected.. Great nostalgic sci-fi movie! Directing and visual effects are fabulous, plot itself is interesting, personally I'm very curious about how life began on earth/universe. I'm doubtful that first scene of Prometheus is the real answer, but it pleases me. Very good film and wanted part for Alien franchise. I want sequel!
  48. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    A superb spectacle of action, an intriguing story of speculative science, and a supremely chilling horror film, Prometheus is one hell of a movie. Acting, dialogue, cinematography, and editing all come together seamlessly in what is perhaps 2012's most thrilling film. Devoted Alien fans and newcomers alike will be delighted by Ridley Scott's beautiful new melding of technology and good oldA superb spectacle of action, an intriguing story of speculative science, and a supremely chilling horror film, Prometheus is one hell of a movie. Acting, dialogue, cinematography, and editing all come together seamlessly in what is perhaps 2012's most thrilling film. Devoted Alien fans and newcomers alike will be delighted by Ridley Scott's beautiful new melding of technology and good old fashioned storytelling. Keep an eye out for Fassbender- he has a damn good chance of snatching up a trophy or two come award season; never has there been a more convincing human portrayal of an android. Highly recommended. Expand
  49. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    I loved it. You are left with no answers, but that is definitely the whole point. Visually the movie is a masterpiece from start to finish. Once the action and thrills start roughly 45 minutes into the movie, they never let up. Michael Fassbender as the devious, soulless 'David' was easily my favorite character in the movie. It's a thrill ride that does its job, to entertain. At the veryI loved it. You are left with no answers, but that is definitely the whole point. Visually the movie is a masterpiece from start to finish. Once the action and thrills start roughly 45 minutes into the movie, they never let up. Michael Fassbender as the devious, soulless 'David' was easily my favorite character in the movie. It's a thrill ride that does its job, to entertain. At the very end you see the connection between 'Prometheus' and 'Alien' and it is one of the most rewarding things I've seen on the silver screen in quite some time. I've read some rather mixed reviews but as years pass I fully believe this will be regarded as a classic. Expand
  50. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Prometheus is a breath of fresh air to the sci-fi/ horror genre. You are treated with breath taking CG and a plot that is both familiar and distinct to those who have enjoyed Ridley Scott's prior work in the Alien movies. However, Prometheus does stumble in explanation of its rich world and we leave with more questions then answers. My advice is to take it as a whole, enjoy the rich worldPrometheus is a breath of fresh air to the sci-fi/ horror genre. You are treated with breath taking CG and a plot that is both familiar and distinct to those who have enjoyed Ridley Scott's prior work in the Alien movies. However, Prometheus does stumble in explanation of its rich world and we leave with more questions then answers. My advice is to take it as a whole, enjoy the rich world Ridley Scott has presented us, lose yourself in its impressive score, and enjoy the ride. Expand
  51. Jun 8, 2012
    9
    Though it expects you to bring some knowledge of the sciences and ALIEN canon, Prometheus is a fantastic film. At the same time, it is able to stand on its own as well as connect seamlessly to the Alien franchise, so no matter what you're hoping to get out of it, you'll likely get it. The setting is gorgeous, the atmosphere tense, the acting believable and professional, Giger's designsThough it expects you to bring some knowledge of the sciences and ALIEN canon, Prometheus is a fantastic film. At the same time, it is able to stand on its own as well as connect seamlessly to the Alien franchise, so no matter what you're hoping to get out of it, you'll likely get it. The setting is gorgeous, the atmosphere tense, the acting believable and professional, Giger's designs are in top form, and Scott delivers three or four of the deeply disquieting scenes Alien is renowned for (though one more in the third quarter would have fit in nicely; the disturbing factor fades into regular tension/drama by that point and it honestly felt like just one more "WTF" was missing). The additional depth added to the story arc by keeping your Alien pop culture and biology/evolution knowledge on call is a great bonus. I went into this as a long-time sci-fi/horror fan with high hopes, and for the most part Scott delivered wonderfully. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.