Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: June 8, 2012
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1951 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,175
Mixed:
439
Negative:
337
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
dougreesJun 10, 2012
PROMETHEUS: feh to meh. Kinda turgid. Doesn't know what it wants to be, as though plot strands ended up on the cutting room floor. Meandering, no real suspense save for one scene. With few exceptions, pretty lackluster performances, thoughPROMETHEUS: feh to meh. Kinda turgid. Doesn't know what it wants to be, as though plot strands ended up on the cutting room floor. Meandering, no real suspense save for one scene. With few exceptions, pretty lackluster performances, though the actors need to be extended some credit for being saddled with lame, underwritten characters. And why dress Guy Pearce up in freshman year old man makeup when you could get, like, a real old man?? Pretty awful, imho. (Upon reflection, obviously there must have been footage of a young Guy Pearce that didn't make the final print. Even more laziness; my g.f. and I sat there the entire time thinking "why is this guy MADE UP??") Good to know: $200+ million and you can still suck. Expand
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
3
phillyjeffOct 24, 2012
This movie wanted to be Alien so bad, but it fell flat on its face. I thought this movie was going to be good, judging by the first hour or so. Unfortunately the last hour went way off the deep end.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
3
cari_elan_holliJun 9, 2012
There are so many plot holes in this film it's ridiculous. I have no problem with the mysterious relationship between aliens and humans, but it is littered with leaps in story that defy logical progression. Characters disappear and reappearThere are so many plot holes in this film it's ridiculous. I have no problem with the mysterious relationship between aliens and humans, but it is littered with leaps in story that defy logical progression. Characters disappear and reappear whenever it is convenient for the writers. And for a seminal moment in the history of humanity, the voyageurs treat the trip with the nonchalance of a visit to the Grand Canyon. Please Mr. Scott, stay away from Blade Runner before you tarnish that film also. Expand
18 of 37 users found this helpful1819
All this user's reviews
3
IOMDutchOct 18, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dumbing down of science fiction films is prevalent throughout the entire genre. With Prometheus I was hoping to find salvation. What I did find however was shockingly poor.

A character list that I couldn't care less about launch themselves headfirst into a half baked search for the creators of humanity. Supposedly intelligent crew members of the Prometheus take every opportunity to stick fingers in alien goop and open doors to suspected infected shipmates without a second thought.

Questions that I am not really sure I had are now bugging me as the film does more to promote itself a sequel than pay dues to the Alien franchise that it basis itself on.

Praise is due for the geek squad who, like the 'photos of the fairies' believers at the turn of the century, go to great lengths to cover the tracks of Mr Scott and attempt to second guess the conveluted script and explain away some of the more gaping holes.

The only saving grace I can think of may well lie with the obvious sequel. If this second film delivers something truly original and sews together the Prometheus/Alien/Space Jockey stories so incredibly well as to produce something of an epiphany, then, and only then will these words be eaten. I think that I may well go hungry.
Expand
15 of 20 users found this helpful155
All this user's reviews
3
gromitJun 9, 2012
This movie had such great potential, good actors, good special effects and cinematography and plenty of budget to work with. However the script let it down miserably, with a horrible predictable and unengaging story. From a sci fi fanThis movie had such great potential, good actors, good special effects and cinematography and plenty of budget to work with. However the script let it down miserably, with a horrible predictable and unengaging story. From a sci fi fan perspective it was dull but with great cinematography and from a horror fan point of view the predictability combined with lack of suspense or anything at all to get you on the edge of your seat just made the whole thing fall flat. without a doubt the most disappointing movie of the year. Expand
18 of 40 users found this helpful1822
All this user's reviews
3
darkcerbSep 17, 2012
An average action flick that raises plenty of questions about the alien universe and answers as few of them as possible, filled to the brim with unlikable and obviously expendable characters with one note personalities. But the biggestAn average action flick that raises plenty of questions about the alien universe and answers as few of them as possible, filled to the brim with unlikable and obviously expendable characters with one note personalities. But the biggest disappointment and quite frankly insulting part of the movie, the big superior race? Turns out when confronted just hulk smash and grunt like a b-movie swamp monster. I guess I enjoyed it when Pretending it had nothing to do with the alien mythos at all but that's not really praise. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
chazwozzerJun 30, 2012
Hyped to re-write scifi..................really missed the mark, very very disappointed.
Super human beings couldnt think of a better way to kill off humanity other than a million big jars of Marmite with worms in, that if you ingest any
Hyped to re-write scifi..................really missed the mark, very very disappointed.
Super human beings couldnt think of a better way to kill off humanity other than a million big jars of Marmite with worms in, that if you ingest any then sleep with your partner you impregnat her with an octopus, an octopus that grows to the size of a house, then it latches onto you impregnating you with another alien. Awesome well done super duper human beings, maybe next time a big bomb would do the trick eh?!!?!?!?
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
midgard30Jul 27, 2012
A technically well done movie filled with very stupid characters. Explored themes and brilliant ideas could have made this movie one of the best of the last ten years in the sci-fi genre, unfortunately, it was handled frivolously. The unionA technically well done movie filled with very stupid characters. Explored themes and brilliant ideas could have made this movie one of the best of the last ten years in the sci-fi genre, unfortunately, it was handled frivolously. The union of the talented Ridley Scott with the overestimated Lindelof just give an awkward result. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
SablciousJun 14, 2012
Embarrassed: The word that flooded my mind while watching this dismaying display of brain dead cinema by the director of seminal sci-fi works like Blade Runner and Alien. Embarrassed for the Alien franchise the film is supposed to beEmbarrassed: The word that flooded my mind while watching this dismaying display of brain dead cinema by the director of seminal sci-fi works like Blade Runner and Alien. Embarrassed for the Alien franchise the film is supposed to be predicated upon and is now forever soiled because of Prometheus. Embarrassed for the script, seemingly scrawled on a few sheets of used toilet paper by a TV writer who should stay the hell away from the big screen. Embarrassed for the actors who will surely endure many-a dinner party jibe at their expense from peers bemused at their self-demeaning displays in this fatuous film. Embarrassed for myself for wasting 2 hours of my life that I will never get back and countless brain cells likely fried in the process of trying to fathom the stupidity on display before my eyes in this film. EMBARRASSED for the human race, that we've apparently stooped so low as to accept this kind of egregious schlock as legitimate entertainment. I'm even embarrassed for the **** Irruminator' monster that was obviously plagiarised from some 10-year-old's scribble book. (*It will become clear upon watching the film).

Prometheus is flawed on so many and varied levels that it's almost an admirable effort to manage such a confluence of poor film-making in one, single piece of work. How this film went so wrong when having so much going for it, is a question for the ages.

Unless it's eventually revealed Prometheus was an industry in-joke, aimed at poking fun at the dullard dolt demographic the industry now predominantly panders to, then I cannot see this film becoming anything more than a byword for abjectly bad cinema.

3/10 (*because no film is a 1 and there are some worse than Prometheus... SOME).
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
3
VDSJun 8, 2012
Not good. A hotch-potch of ideas that seemed chucked together with no real story or theme. Heavy-handed direction, paper thin characters and fan fiction style dialogue. Visually ok, but again it seemed caught up in its own sense of selfNot good. A hotch-potch of ideas that seemed chucked together with no real story or theme. Heavy-handed direction, paper thin characters and fan fiction style dialogue. Visually ok, but again it seemed caught up in its own sense of self importance. If you like Alien, don't watch this because like all prequels it ruins the mystery and of the original. Expand
30 of 66 users found this helpful3036
All this user's reviews
3
Evis03Jun 10, 2012
Some nice visuals and lots of symbolism, but the basic delivery of the plot is terrible. Characters act like complete idiots without any regard for even the most basic safety procedures (or even concepts) and the plot is driven more by theirSome nice visuals and lots of symbolism, but the basic delivery of the plot is terrible. Characters act like complete idiots without any regard for even the most basic safety procedures (or even concepts) and the plot is driven more by their idiocy than anything else. Fails to even address the concept of the movie or the questions raised by that concept, instead opting to focus on a bunch of stupid people doing stupid things. Honestly at times it feels like a grindhouse slasher flick. Unrewarding, unentertaining and intellectually shallow. You can derive some enjoyment from the interpretation of symbolism and the stunning visuals, but this does little to make up for the very poor delivery of the narrative. Expand
13 of 28 users found this helpful1315
All this user's reviews
3
Regal4point1Jul 31, 2012
I never could quite understood what it was going for. It was just a case of being a hybrid that didn't contain substance from either of its parent genres.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
SirEddieCookJun 8, 2012
There isn't a frame of Prometheus which is suspenseful, mysterious or fresh. The narrative and logic get jumbled unnecessarily after the first 20 minutes or so, and then everything gets clunky and uninspiring. Who is the protagonist? Who isThere isn't a frame of Prometheus which is suspenseful, mysterious or fresh. The narrative and logic get jumbled unnecessarily after the first 20 minutes or so, and then everything gets clunky and uninspiring. Who is the protagonist? Who is carrying this picture(Fassbender, Rapace or even Theron)? The film does answer this question only in the final 10 minutes, with an almost laughable ending. The movie has a great sequence and detail in the beginning where a character watches and emulates TE Lawrence(Peter O'Toole) from Lawrence of Arabia...it's a very cool piece to see David Lean's epic in 3-D. The rest is TV Material at best. Expand
26 of 50 users found this helpful2624
All this user's reviews
3
ilovegames32Nov 12, 2012
I had to review this movie again & after watching it 3 straight times I've come to this conclusion...why was this movie made? Can Mr lindenloft explain that....? Once again the opening scene is utterly pointless...it proves we were not madeI had to review this movie again & after watching it 3 straight times I've come to this conclusion...why was this movie made? Can Mr lindenloft explain that....? Once again the opening scene is utterly pointless...it proves we were not made from them but like an unwanted baby growing in the womb of some chic you just wanted to bang...you accidently got her pregnant which is what the opening scene STONGLY SUGGESTS! His DNA turns black & withers away but he falls in the water & wah la....were accidentally created so when you hear...why are we hear or why did they create us common sense should tell you to laugh! The acting is superb...the visuals are impressive throught out but that's not enough to cover the SHEER IDIOCY of what follows next with no logic what so ever! Why is David seen eating food in the beginning & drinks the same green juice as the captain when they all first awake if he's a machine? Why does David care about his looks..he's a machine? Why did weyland fake his death? It serves no purpose since it wasn't explained why he did it! why is David so sensitive to insults? How do you come to the conclusion that cave drawings are an invitation from aliens....when humans drew the pictures? Why is it that when everyone is told...WE FOUND A NEW PLANET THAT MAY HOLD THE KEY TO OUR EXISTANCE....no one gets excited? How can you conclude that these aliens are what made us with absolutely no proof? I thought scientist's relied on facts? How is it that they have high tech equipment & a spaceship but have helmet cam's that cant record? Why show holograms of aliens running but not what's chasing them? What happened to all the aliens that killed our creators?did they leave & if so...how? How do you get lost when you have video & radio contact with the ship & crew...AND A 3D MAP YOU JUST MADE? If the head of an alien is so important(& it was) why electrify it without testing it to make sure you don't destroy it? Why didn't halloway stop them from destroying an important find? Why did David kill halloway? I thought he probably wanted data on what would happen when he introduced alien dna to the human body but they ignored giving a logical resaon for why he poisoned him! Why play with an alien snake? I thought these people were smart? Why did David turn off the cam so vickers couldnt see what he saw? Why didn't vickers ask David why he turned off the camera when he got back? Why are there holograms of aliens practically showing anyone who comes there how to fly there ship but no lab where the bio-engineered aliens were made? How can you use a flame thrower in an environment that has no air?if David was really a shady character wouldnt he have helped get the Alien out of Shaw & take it for himself like he took the alien capsule in the cave? Why is vickers in possession of a medical machine that's only for men?HOW DID SHAW USE THAT SAME MACHINE to get the alien out of her when it scanned her? I'm sure it noticed she was female but it still performed the operation? Why didn't anyone question why Shaw walked in the room all bloodied with a Hugh scar across her stomach? Why didn't she tell anyone about the alien trapped in the machine? How did fifield just pop up if he was looking at the screens the whole time? Why was fifield a murdering zombie? After fifield was run over where did the guy drive off to...he left the ship & never returned! After just pulling an alien out of her body & learning that weyland was still alive...why continue back to the cave instead of seeking medical attention?why was our creator sleep if they were planning to kill all humans? Why did he go berserk & kill everyone if they so intelligent? Why kill all humans anyway? The captain told vickers to go to HER ship & he will eject it in 40seconds(which he did) SO WHY DID SHE GO TO AN ESCAPE POD? why run from a ship falling in the EXACT path that your running? Yet not go left or right? Why travel to an alien homeworld to get answers when you see first hand they'd rather kill us then talk to us? WHY DID I WASTE TWO HOURS WATCHING THIS ILLOGICAL MESS TO SEE AN ALIEN POP OUT THE ENGINEERS CHEST(ITS WHY I SAW IT IN THE FIRST PLACE) ONLY TO BE FOLLOWED BY THE ENDING CREDITS? people like this crape but cant explain why...they just say it was good but don't know why lol well...I have a Hugh list supporting why this movie is a waste of brain cells....AVOID THIS IF YOU WANT ANY LOGICAL ACTIONS BY SCIENTISTS. BUT IF YOU LOVE NICE VISUALS WITH A GOOD IDEA RUINED BY IGNORANT PEOPLE POSING AS SCIENTIST'S WHO DOES THE MOST ILLOGICAL THINGS FITTING OF RETARD INBRED HILLBILLY PROMETHEUS IS FOR YOU....A RELIGIOUS SCIENTIST'S GOOD GOD THIS SCRIPT WAS BAD!! Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
mrquizzicalJun 17, 2012
These characters are the worst scientists ever. That may sound like a nitpick, but much of what happens in the move is a result of that. I found practically every character to be unlikeable or a cliche, the plot is murky, and I didn't findThese characters are the worst scientists ever. That may sound like a nitpick, but much of what happens in the move is a result of that. I found practically every character to be unlikeable or a cliche, the plot is murky, and I didn't find the film suspenseful or surprising. I love Alien and Aliens, and this movie is not in their league. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
SupR_GFeb 11, 2013
If the purpose of a film is to make you question every other scene and constantly wonder why someone is doing or saying something, Prometheus has nailed it. This movie has a great cast and director, with some phenomenal effects andIf the purpose of a film is to make you question every other scene and constantly wonder why someone is doing or saying something, Prometheus has nailed it. This movie has a great cast and director, with some phenomenal effects and cinematography, but has absolutely failed in the one area that counts the most: the writing. Lindelhof (that hack writer from Lost) is at it again with yet another "everything is a mystery with no answers, and that's edgy and cool!" script that will have you pulling your hair out and googling questions after watching it. I've never been so frustrated watching a movie before. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
BengalsfanAZJun 24, 2012
I wanted to like this movie so much. I am a huge fan of the Alien films (the first 2 at least) but I tried not to let that influence my take on this movie. Visually, this movie is great. The CGI with the ship is amazing and the rest of theI wanted to like this movie so much. I am a huge fan of the Alien films (the first 2 at least) but I tried not to let that influence my take on this movie. Visually, this movie is great. The CGI with the ship is amazing and the rest of the effects make you feel like you are really on an alien planet. I will say that I was not particularly impressed with the creatures though; Aliens felt more real than this. The most glaring problem with this movie is its lack of development of the characters; Charlize Theron's the most. There was a lot of potential to explore so many interesting facets of the characters but most of them are ignored. You get nibbles of some great side-stories to some of the characters, but then it is never mentioned again. A lot of the scenes seem rushed and many times you are asking yourself what the motivation for some of the character's actions are only to be met with the end of the movie and no answer. Michael Fassbender does play the android character perfectly. For me, it all starts with the story. If the story is flawed then no amount of effects, great acting or other frills is going to make the movie great. I feel bad for Ridley Scott, as he has obviously fell into the same "modern film" hole as many of the other great directors (George Lucas, Steven Spielberg). If you want a decent sci-fi film with good visuals, rent this movie on DVD. If you are looking for a masterpiece, look elsewhere. Expand
29 of 41 users found this helpful2912
All this user's reviews
3
metzger84Jun 8, 2012
What a disappointment. This flick has a generic, nonsense and plot hole driven hollywood-esque script and some of the worst acting i've seen this year (even from fassbender, who does a laughable gaybot impression; not that he had much to workWhat a disappointment. This flick has a generic, nonsense and plot hole driven hollywood-esque script and some of the worst acting i've seen this year (even from fassbender, who does a laughable gaybot impression; not that he had much to work with, since the dialog is atrocious). there were some genuinely beautiful shots (the nature vistas spring to mind), but some really, really terrible ones as well. the alien design is cringeworthy, with avataresque, muscle bound and retarded looking space jockeys, penis shaped water snakes and octopi topping the cake. do yourself a favor and don't waste good money to see this flop. Expand
24 of 49 users found this helpful2425
All this user's reviews
3
MightyMolassesJun 26, 2012
Expectation: introduced as a prequel to Alien, and directed by Ridley Scott, so incredibly high

Delivery: For a film so thought provoking, heavy on symbolism, questioning human origin, and metaphysical beliefs, Prometheus was a huge let
Expectation: introduced as a prequel to Alien, and directed by Ridley Scott, so incredibly high

Delivery: For a film so thought provoking, heavy on symbolism, questioning human origin, and metaphysical beliefs, Prometheus was a huge let down. It borrows heavily from an established belief that the Original Man came to Earth from another planet and began civilization on this planet, but it never really does anything with it. These studies are interrupted by series of setups and let downs. It's littered bunch of teasers and references to the original Alien, but never delivers. It may have been a bit more enjoyable as a stand alone sci fi flick instead of playing up it's Alien relations. Being introduced as having relations to Alien, allowed my expectations to fly well above and beyond what this movie was actually willing and able to do. Prometheus feels like its stuck somewhere between an Alien prequel, and a prequel to a prequel of an Alien prequel.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
3
Fark_pantsJun 8, 2012
Cinematography does not make a great movie. While there are beautiful scenes and landscapes, as well as imaginative displays of future technology, the plot drags this movie into Hades - an apt reference, considering one of the main issuesCinematography does not make a great movie. While there are beautiful scenes and landscapes, as well as imaginative displays of future technology, the plot drags this movie into Hades - an apt reference, considering one of the main issues with this film is it's half-baked ideology and the decision of the writers to not even fully explore or develop this history.

Which is it? An action film? A sci-fi philosophy film in the Aliens universe? Whatever the writers were trying to accomplish, they stopped trying after 60 minutes.

The movie feels as if the writers got to about an hour's worth of the script, and then just spitballed it from there. The acting has some bright points, but that's guaranteed based on the caliber of some of the actors (Noomi Rapace does her best with this seriously flawed script. Idris Elba and Michael Fassbender, as always, are great).

This movie deserves 3 out of 10 stars. More enthusiastic reviews have to be basing their review on previous movies in the series, because this was a film with great, but squandered, potential.
Expand
11 of 30 users found this helpful1119
All this user's reviews
3
Rex_richardsJun 10, 2012
you know in horror movies where some teens are out in the woods and they see a house with severed heads outside, and they say 'hey let's go in there and ask for help' and the whole audience groans and also rubs its hands and waits for theyou know in horror movies where some teens are out in the woods and they see a house with severed heads outside, and they say 'hey let's go in there and ask for help' and the whole audience groans and also rubs its hands and waits for the monster to come and chop the idiots to pieces? well sadly transfer that level of idiocy to space, and substitute scientists for teenagers, and you've got Prometheus. There are SO MANY holes and 'WTF???' moments. From people pointing at a totally vague cave painting and deciding it's an accurate star map and an invite from aliens zillions of miles away, to approaching an obviously mad space snake, and petting it, (guess what happens next)... to opening the spaceship door to totally bonkers monster men just for the hell of it... oh you get the idea. Enjoy it, but for lords sake, don't take it seriously. Expand
34 of 70 users found this helpful3436
All this user's reviews
3
MillstoneJun 8, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Here is what I learnt from this prequel to Alien:
* The elephantine face of the space jockey was a helmet, hiding way more human like traits. The design of the Na'vi had more originality than that.
* The original facehugger was a giant squid that developed within a woman's uterus after she had sex with a man suffering from a worm infection that had turned another man into a zombie.
* Even if the music does its best to inspire sadness, distress or urgency, it will only highlight just how bland every scene feels.
Expand
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
3
HoldSteady76Jun 8, 2012
A small crew explorers deep space financed by a corporation that has secret ambitions. The crew lands on an uncharted planet, discovers an alien species that hatches from pods, and inhabits the bodies of it's hosts. Everyone is killed exceptA small crew explorers deep space financed by a corporation that has secret ambitions. The crew lands on an uncharted planet, discovers an alien species that hatches from pods, and inhabits the bodies of it's hosts. Everyone is killed except a sole surviving woman. Also there is an android on board who is emotionless and secret conspires with the agenda of the corporation. Name that movie? Alien - yes that's right. We would have also accepted 'Prometheus'. Seriously. I kept thinking that something original had to happen, but alas Hollywood has played me for the fool yet again by selling a movie that I have seen before but with better special effects. Prometheus is Alien with really impressive special effects, and thinly veiled sub plot, which is actually nothing more than posing questions which are never answered. Ironically they played a preview for 'Total Recall' before this movie. Apparently every original thought has been exhausted by Hollywood. Expand
12 of 31 users found this helpful1219
All this user's reviews
3
jroman213Jun 8, 2012
It was a waste of time and money, would advice wait for it on blue ray not worth going to the movies to watch this crap. It starts off great than all of a sudden you meet the crew and none seem to be likeable. the main character is annoyingIt was a waste of time and money, would advice wait for it on blue ray not worth going to the movies to watch this crap. It starts off great than all of a sudden you meet the crew and none seem to be likeable. the main character is annoying and so is here boyfriend who seems like a douchebag Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
3
BrandonDJun 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prometheus was staggeringly bad.

Part of this was that I was primed to be that Prometheus was going to be "about" something, and failing that, I thought it was going to be sci-fi horror on the scale of (or at least in the ballpark of) something like Alien. And it's Ridley Scott: The dude has made two sci-fi movies: Alien and Bladerunner: both classics of the genre. It's only going to get better, right?

So, let's start with the good: It's undeniable that the visuals are very striking. Some of the vistas made me want to race off to photograph them (even if they weren't real), and there was a real "internal logic" to the visual style and design of the human and alien environments that made the whole thing seem believable. As usual (and it's hard to fault Prometheus for this), 3d added little to the movie, save for the scenes with lasers and holographs both human and alien, where it helped with immersion. The other bright point is the robot (sorry, "Artificial person") David, played by Michael Fassbender, who steals most of the scenes he's in. He starts out in an earlier montage which influenced by TE Lawrence, _Moon_, and Desmond in the Hatch. After that, he manages to channel a role which is equal parts automaton, adolescent, menacing molester ("I saw your dreams"), and dutiful but ignored son, but closes in the role of toady.

Virtually everything else in this movie is average through awful. The writing is forced and wooden, and almost hurt to sit through. "Every king has his reign and then he dies" -- I guess channeling King Lear for dummies, but how forced. The plot was implausible and actually fairly uninteresting. The fact that this was pitched as a "big theme" movie had me excited. Instead, we have really hamfisted metaphors and a people working through parental issues in the dumbest and least interesting way possible.

The really damning failure of this movie is that it even fails as a suspense or a horror piece. I telegraphed most of what would happen very, very early in the movie. None of it was a surprise, the horror was all utterly predictable, and what little subtle there was in foreshadowing required you to already be a fan of Alien (no bad thing, but if that's what it takes to scare people...). There was just no new ground tread.

The theater I was in actually found itself laughing at some of the lines and situations. This was in no way intentional -- and in fact, when I ran into a friend at dinner (who'd just seen it), he said the way he'd enjoyed the film was to appreciate it as camp. Ouch.

Probably the best thing I could say is that there is enough sort of directionless "theme stuff" in the movie that you could hack together a good movie out of the pieces: but man, this isn't it.

It gets a 3/10 on the strength of the visuals. Normally they'd be nice enough to give it a 4/10, but I had to take off a point for the painfully bad old man makeup on Weyland. (another friend: "He looks like Biff from Back to the Future!"). I
'm really sad about Prometheus, because I really had high expectations.
Expand
8 of 19 users found this helpful811
All this user's reviews
3
sirromJun 11, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Be warned, this film is very stupid. Highly intelligent alien beings created all life on earth yet are stupid enough to revisit ages later and leave us clues and directions to their moon base so we can go there and destroy them. This is a trillion dollar endeavor to reach this moon and this rag tag group of characters is the best Peter Weyland could come up with to see this mission succeed? State of the art probes that can't detect worms or mutated snake aliens. An android with the ability to see into the future. How else would david know that by poisoning a crew member with alien goo he would copulate with his barren girlfriend an she would conceive an alien facehugger? This film has more plot holes than swiss cheese. Since when are archaeologists also biologists and skilled enough surgeons to operate advanced surgical equipment on themselves while a squid tears at their insides? Still not impressed? Evolution only takes minutes and hours in this film, not years or eons. One final spoiler: the alien life cycle has no incubation/developement stage and produces full grown xenomorphs that explode out of the host body, no chestbursters here. Very disappointing film indeed! Expand
10 of 20 users found this helpful1010
All this user's reviews
3
greggmanJun 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Warning, this is all spoilers

Wow, I was excited about Prometheus the moment I saw the first trailer. Aliens is arguably one of the best movies of all time IMO and Ridley Scott has made a bunch of really amazing movies. Blade Runner, Alien, Gladiator wasnâ
Expand
14 of 31 users found this helpful1417
All this user's reviews
3
eulersnumberJun 10, 2012
empty and pretentious all at once! there must be a better version out there than this one, i.e. the director's cut. otherwise, how could one make a movie out of such an empty and crappy script?

multiple discontinuities, no character
empty and pretentious all at once! there must be a better version out there than this one, i.e. the director's cut. otherwise, how could one make a movie out of such an empty and crappy script?

multiple discontinuities, no character development other than that of the android, so many contradictions, blah blah blah.

what a waste of $12.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
SwiftyJun 10, 2012
Poor attempt at cobbling together a new mythology. Good sci-fi is rare; this wasn't even close. While alien movies ranged from pure terror, ego-driven, vain militaristic blends and various other facets, they were at least focused. ThisPoor attempt at cobbling together a new mythology. Good sci-fi is rare; this wasn't even close. While alien movies ranged from pure terror, ego-driven, vain militaristic blends and various other facets, they were at least focused. This movie's lofty ideals execute themselves so badly that one wonders if the director had gotten too familiar with his intent that he assumed others seeing this would simply see his cohesive sweeping grandness that probably resides in head alone. Not so. Director's costly error. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
TeaspoonMDJun 10, 2012
"I'm not here to be your friend, I'm here to make money."
Save your money. Watch it on DVD some day when you've run out of things do, your future self will hate you for it. I know you're a fan, you loved the last movies, you like bad movies
"I'm not here to be your friend, I'm here to make money."
Save your money. Watch it on DVD some day when you've run out of things do, your future self will hate you for it. I know you're a fan, you loved the last movies, you like bad movies that others don't get, sci fi movies, AVP, ...trust me this movie is dumb, full of Swiss cheese-wiz and pathetic symbolism. It's like that last season of LOST...
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews