User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1761 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    I don't understand why people are so negative towards this movie. I felt like it was a great prequel to the Alien franchise and was well done. I enjoyed the themes in the movie and I am very excited to see Prometheus 2
  2. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    It's unfair to compare the film to the original Alien. Taken on its own, I enjoyed it both times I saw it. Sure, it left many questions unanswered, but I'm hoping a sequel will delve into those issues. Fassbender and Rapace are both terrific. And Idris Elba is a perfect casting choice - there is a certain Tom Fontana symmetry there - Yaphet Kotto, from the original, is another Tom FontanaIt's unfair to compare the film to the original Alien. Taken on its own, I enjoyed it both times I saw it. Sure, it left many questions unanswered, but I'm hoping a sequel will delve into those issues. Fassbender and Rapace are both terrific. And Idris Elba is a perfect casting choice - there is a certain Tom Fontana symmetry there - Yaphet Kotto, from the original, is another Tom Fontana (Homicide / The Wire) favorite. Both excellent actors. Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    I waited a bit for the hype to die down but also had some preconceptions going into it that it would "not be very good after all" thanks to people thinking it acceptable to flood social media with spoilers, I also know this was part 1 of probably 3 films which all helped to raise my satisfaction with film.

    Had I seen it on opening night with the idea it was the greatest film in 30 years
    I waited a bit for the hype to die down but also had some preconceptions going into it that it would "not be very good after all" thanks to people thinking it acceptable to flood social media with spoilers, I also know this was part 1 of probably 3 films which all helped to raise my satisfaction with film.

    Had I seen it on opening night with the idea it was the greatest film in 30 years (as I was starting to believe based on the trailers) then I too would have been gutted by so many questions being raised rather than answered.
    Expand
  4. Jun 10, 2012
    8
    Let's get this out of the way: Prometheus is not Alien. It's a very different beast. It's a movie with big ideas, big questions and big mysteries. The weakest aspects of the film are its poorly developed characters and some perplexing story beats. However, it features some gorgeous cinematography, good performances (including a brilliant turn by Fassbender as the android, David) and theLet's get this out of the way: Prometheus is not Alien. It's a very different beast. It's a movie with big ideas, big questions and big mysteries. The weakest aspects of the film are its poorly developed characters and some perplexing story beats. However, it features some gorgeous cinematography, good performances (including a brilliant turn by Fassbender as the android, David) and the courage to pose questions without spoon-feeding the audience all the answers. Prometheus is not Alien... and that's not a bad thing. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Name a better 'people travel out to space and discover aliens' movie than this one since the alien trilogy. Okay, it's not too related to aliens, but so what? that wasn't the point. This is a great sci fi movie alltogether. Performances were spot-on, spec eff great, and there was just enough meaning to give me the goose bumps. Contemplating the origin of man is always great, except that weName a better 'people travel out to space and discover aliens' movie than this one since the alien trilogy. Okay, it's not too related to aliens, but so what? that wasn't the point. This is a great sci fi movie alltogether. Performances were spot-on, spec eff great, and there was just enough meaning to give me the goose bumps. Contemplating the origin of man is always great, except that we all kinda suck. Well, maybe we'll see the light in "Prometheus 2: People Suck". Expand
  6. Sep 3, 2012
    8
    Prometheus is not perfect. There are too many characters with too little dialogue and it's far too short. Ridley Scott should know that a film of this scale needs a bit more down time in which to breathe properly (directors cut, please!). That said, Prometheus presents a visually stunning sci-fi feast which offers more questions than answers. That's exactly the way sci-fi should be;Prometheus is not perfect. There are too many characters with too little dialogue and it's far too short. Ridley Scott should know that a film of this scale needs a bit more down time in which to breathe properly (directors cut, please!). That said, Prometheus presents a visually stunning sci-fi feast which offers more questions than answers. That's exactly the way sci-fi should be; mysterious and intriguing. It's a film that begs to be re-watched and debated about. As a movie in the Alien franchise, it doesn't make it into the same league as Alien or Aliens but it is far, far superior to any of the others. Expand
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Watched Prometheus tonight and I enjoyed it. However be warned I liked it as I'm a Sci-Fi fan and if you are not then you probably won't like it. Slow moving with lots of talking, but for me as the talking was about the origin of life and nature of mankind, I can live with that. Even though this is a prequel to Alien its not as tense or doesn't have the action of Aliens. Even with that itsWatched Prometheus tonight and I enjoyed it. However be warned I liked it as I'm a Sci-Fi fan and if you are not then you probably won't like it. Slow moving with lots of talking, but for me as the talking was about the origin of life and nature of mankind, I can live with that. Even though this is a prequel to Alien its not as tense or doesn't have the action of Aliens. Even with that its well worth seeing in the Cinema in 3D as its gorgeous and the sense of scale is mesmerizing. Michael Fassbender is brilliant and steals the show even with Noomi Rapace doing an "OK" Ripley impression. Ridley Scott you did well by me. Expand
  8. Sep 20, 2012
    8
    I thought this movie was fantastic. There is alot of thought provoking material within the film unfortunately it is often just glossed over and it could have been explained a little stronger. The character development is handicapped too but having seen alot of the deleted material that will be put
    in the soon to be released DVD/Blu Ray, its nice to see some of the characters explained a
    I thought this movie was fantastic. There is alot of thought provoking material within the film unfortunately it is often just glossed over and it could have been explained a little stronger. The character development is handicapped too but having seen alot of the deleted material that will be put
    in the soon to be released DVD/Blu Ray, its nice to see some of the characters explained a little better. It's a confusing film at times and offers more questions that answers and I think that frustrates some people. I found it absolutely intriguing. Visually the movie is stunning. A top notch film from a top notch film maker.
    Expand
  9. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I am noticing a lot of people giving this movie bad reviews simply because they lack the cognitive capacity to put two and two together. Most of the people giving prometheus a bad rating are complaining that the movie is full of plot holes. Most of these "plot holes" are actually explained if you pay attention to the movie. Yes there are parts of the story line that were unanswered, or to be continued, but that was the way it was panned. Prometheus was shot beautifully and Noomi Rapace, Michael Fassbender, and Charlize Theron did a wonderful job portraying their characters. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and everything the film had to offer. I highly recommend it. Expand
  10. Aug 6, 2012
    8
    First of all, the movie is not scary but mandatory to see in cinema. It is hard to say what it wants to be. I appreciate that it takes itself seriosly for a picture. Right after I finished watching, I was satisfied that it began and ended in a simple way, not like any of the silly action flicks nowadays where you don`t even know what is going on. There is a start and an end to this story.First of all, the movie is not scary but mandatory to see in cinema. It is hard to say what it wants to be. I appreciate that it takes itself seriosly for a picture. Right after I finished watching, I was satisfied that it began and ended in a simple way, not like any of the silly action flicks nowadays where you don`t even know what is going on. There is a start and an end to this story. I also liked the fact that the story is 1st here, characters are close 2nd. It is mandatory to mention than without Michael Fassbender`s and Charlize Theron`s exceptional performance, this movie would have ended a six out of ten. Also, for a fan of the Alien movies, this one is not in any way a pastiche nore does it interfere which the series. On the contrary - Prometheus answers some of the questions from the original Alien and mentions it in a subtle way. The story gives a pleasant feeling although one feels that answering few of the questions set over 30 years ago is the single and only purpose for this movie`s creation. I find the monsters well, silly. The action scenes are mediocre with the exception of the last one where the Prometheus takes off for the last time. Even though the suspense is probably the only thing of a thriller here, in my opinion it placed 3rd right after Aliens and Alien, because it is much better than Alien 3 and 4. It is memorable but not as nearly as the first two parts it prequels. Expand
  11. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Prometheus returns to the series' roots in so many welcome ways, particularly that it is adventure story first and foremost. An exploration of the unknown with many surprises in store, and many of those shocking. Good cast and a decent script almost completely void of space movie cliche quips, thank goodness. The film also possesses something so many science fiction movies, for all ofPrometheus returns to the series' roots in so many welcome ways, particularly that it is adventure story first and foremost. An exploration of the unknown with many surprises in store, and many of those shocking. Good cast and a decent script almost completely void of space movie cliche quips, thank goodness. The film also possesses something so many science fiction movies, for all of the work that went into them, critically do not --suspense and tension. That alone is worth an extra 10 percentage points. Negatives: one too many loose ends and a completely forgettable musical score that only supports the action instead of buoying up the film and really being a third of the experience. Whoops, there went that 10 point lead. Expand
  12. Jun 19, 2012
    8
    I went to this movie without too much knowledge retained of the Alien series. I had seen the Alien movies years ago; however, I am not a die-hard fan, so this review is based solely on the merits of this film in and of itself. I found the story to be compelling and exciting. I was very glad to see Sean Harris, whose understated work I greatly admire on "The Borgias". I found myself drawnI went to this movie without too much knowledge retained of the Alien series. I had seen the Alien movies years ago; however, I am not a die-hard fan, so this review is based solely on the merits of this film in and of itself. I found the story to be compelling and exciting. I was very glad to see Sean Harris, whose understated work I greatly admire on "The Borgias". I found myself drawn into this story even though I went expecting not to like it. Worth seeing in theatres. Expand
  13. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Prometheus dared to go where many sci-fi movies dare not tread, a good plot. While this isn't the most astounding or amazing concoction that sci-fi has to offer, it is visually arresting and (moderately) satisfying. Prometheus had a lot to live up to as it is a spiritual prequel of sorts to Ridley Scott's first jab at the horror, Alien. To be fair Prometheus does a good job at keeping thePrometheus dared to go where many sci-fi movies dare not tread, a good plot. While this isn't the most astounding or amazing concoction that sci-fi has to offer, it is visually arresting and (moderately) satisfying. Prometheus had a lot to live up to as it is a spiritual prequel of sorts to Ridley Scott's first jab at the horror, Alien. To be fair Prometheus does a good job at keeping the horror vibe strong, that is until the action packed end. Prometheus does well enough as a stand alone film in the alien series, but there is a certain charm missing this time around. Prometheus does a lot of things right though, It answers some long time questions about certain elements in the Alien series and even throws it's own mysteries out there as well. Prometheus is also a looker, there are beautiful moments of the environment and even the technology, as well as some of the slimy creatures that would give Avatar a run for its money. This all tied together by solid performances by the lead cast members. But the film is not perfect unfortunately. Prometheus is not a horror movie, it's more of a sci-fi thriller than solid horror, this is especially apparent during the last thirty minutes. This isn't to say the film isn't without its surprise horror/ gross out scenes like that of the chestburster The movie also bites off more plot than it can chew, resulting in a half-way decent story that may leave some scratching their heads. regardless of the movies shortcomings, it is still worth it to give it a watch, the film does not answer every question it puts on the table, it answers most of them. Expand
  14. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    A great film with lovely visuals, made all the better by cinematic 3D. The film does a wonderful job of explaining where the titular Aliens from the "Aliens" franchise came from without being too explicit. The computer generated imagery makes every scene awesome, terrifying, or disgusting in ways the old props never could. The one flaw (though after this many films I suppose you could callA great film with lovely visuals, made all the better by cinematic 3D. The film does a wonderful job of explaining where the titular Aliens from the "Aliens" franchise came from without being too explicit. The computer generated imagery makes every scene awesome, terrifying, or disgusting in ways the old props never could. The one flaw (though after this many films I suppose you could call it a theme) is that the Weyland-Yutani research team is (and must be) incredibly inept in order for the events of the plot to unfold. Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    You'll like the film if you go in not caring or thinking about it's ties to the Alien franchise. The negative reviews are people comparing it to Alien or picking apart things that make sense if they think about it for one minute. I would go through all the reviews and minimal reasons for hating it and why the reasons are invalid but I'm not going to waste my time.
  16. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    Just saw Prometheus in 3D and without doing a full-blown review which is my wont, I would say overall I give it a guarded B+. Loved the first half hour with all the nods to Stanley Kubrick's 'Space Odyssey', and the final half hour was really good bordering on great. Alas, the middle hour was kind of a mess. Also, I loved lead Nooma Rapace, but felt Oscar winner Charlize Theron was givenJust saw Prometheus in 3D and without doing a full-blown review which is my wont, I would say overall I give it a guarded B+. Loved the first half hour with all the nods to Stanley Kubrick's 'Space Odyssey', and the final half hour was really good bordering on great. Alas, the middle hour was kind of a mess. Also, I loved lead Nooma Rapace, but felt Oscar winner Charlize Theron was given short shrift. Anyway, it's my hope that the director's cut will restore a lot of footage and give the middle section a bit more coherence. Still in all I stayed glued to my seat the entire time, at the end I left the theater with mostly good feelings, and I definitely want to see the director's cut DVD when it comes out. Come to think of it, the 'Alien' does owe more than a passing nod to HP Lovecraft's Cthulu beast. ;o) Expand
  17. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    This a great film and a must see, the acting is top notch and the special effects are out of this world.
    Though it has confused me and left many unanswered questions in its rear view mirror.
    I think it would be better to have not seen Alien because this film will make less sense if you had. Don't to show spoilers so just don't go seeing this film and expecting for all the unanswered
    This a great film and a must see, the acting is top notch and the special effects are out of this world.
    Though it has confused me and left many unanswered questions in its rear view mirror.
    I think it would be better to have not seen Alien because this film will make less sense if you had. Don't to show spoilers so just don't go seeing this film and expecting for all the unanswered questions about the space jockey to be answered.
    It provides all the needed tension and all of the alien life (I do not mean the the alien from previous films) that a sci-fi film needs but it does not provide all the answers it should have.
    Though this does not mean you should not see it because this film is amazing just don't expect perfection. Anyway Michael Fassbender is reason enough to see this.
    Expand
  18. Nov 4, 2012
    8
    Its exactly what you expected. Nuff said.
  19. Jun 2, 2013
    8
    Prometheus is a film that invites a lot of discussion; a hard sci fi flick that is melded with your typical Hollywood blockbuster. Fanatical ALIEN fans will say that it fails to become a hard sci fi, like 'the never made' Rendevouz with Rama'. They say it takes a lot of narrative 'short cuts' in the form of 'stock', predictable characters. The list of criticisms goes on and on....But toPrometheus is a film that invites a lot of discussion; a hard sci fi flick that is melded with your typical Hollywood blockbuster. Fanatical ALIEN fans will say that it fails to become a hard sci fi, like 'the never made' Rendevouz with Rama'. They say it takes a lot of narrative 'short cuts' in the form of 'stock', predictable characters. The list of criticisms goes on and on....But to me, Prometheus has Scott's biggest strengths and weaknesses as a film maker: visually stupendous at the expense of narrative. It's a Ridley Scott film for crying out loud, in a genre he practically reinvented 30 years ago. When the dust is clear, I think people will realise what a great film this is. Not in the same caliber as ALIEN, but one of his most energetic and mind boggling film he made since GLADIATOR. But a thrill ride that will make you think; it doesn't spoon fed you with answers. Things are left vague for audiences to make their own mind. Scott has also created another 'harrowing and gut wrenching' horror set piece that is up there as the best in the last 10 years (beside the chest bursting scene in ALIEN). So folks....buckle up and just enjoy the ride. Oh yeah, it also uses 3-D in a great way... Expand
  20. Aug 7, 2012
    8
    Amazing, simply put. Director Ridley Scott does it again with Prometheus. just to say one thing, if you think this is a movie about aliens, It's NOT. This is a new chapter in the world of Alien, granted Ridley Scott does give us some suprises from Alien, this is not a derivitive of Alien. People have been complaining that this movie has alot of unanswered questions. The reason is thatAmazing, simply put. Director Ridley Scott does it again with Prometheus. just to say one thing, if you think this is a movie about aliens, It's NOT. This is a new chapter in the world of Alien, granted Ridley Scott does give us some suprises from Alien, this is not a derivitive of Alien. People have been complaining that this movie has alot of unanswered questions. The reason is that Ridley Scott wants you to use your imagination! This movie was beautiful, the acting was off the charts, David played by Michael Fassbender was incredible, the visuals were amazing, and the story was beautiful. It was a great movie. It was everything I had hoped for and more. Expand
  21. JYT
    Jun 9, 2012
    8
    Ridley Scott tried to push the limits from previous Sci-Fi/Horror done before and in all directions at the same time: more picturesques, going further with the creation of manking, the horror of the self-surgery, smotther special effects, etc... Charlize Theron plays very well also. Good to watch.
  22. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    I'll start off by saying that this is unquestionably an Alien prequel, so those rumors are true. That's all I'll give away though. I will admit that I had unrealistic expectations going into this movie. Aliens 1 and 2 are two of my favorite movies of all time, so to say I was excited for this movie would be an understatement. Did it live up to my expectations? Not quite. However, II'll start off by saying that this is unquestionably an Alien prequel, so those rumors are true. That's all I'll give away though. I will admit that I had unrealistic expectations going into this movie. Aliens 1 and 2 are two of my favorite movies of all time, so to say I was excited for this movie would be an understatement. Did it live up to my expectations? Not quite. However, I really enjoyed this movie. The atmosphere is what makes this movie, and the cinematography and effects are truly incredible. The movie immediately thrusts you into this mysterious environment, on a planet far away from Earth. It sounds fairly cliche or standard for a sci-fi space movie, and that's because it kind of is. The story leaves a little to be desired, mainly because of some plot holes that the movie never wraps up. This does help the mystery of the movie, and even when it's over there are still plenty of unanswered questions. I wouldn't be surprised at all if there are sequels to this movie considering the cliffhanger ending. There WILL be a sequel. The bottom line is that Prometheus is an experience that is rare in cinema. It creates another world that is intoxicating and very interesting. While I was mildly dissapointed in this movie, I am still ecstatic for the sequel that is sure to come. Expand
  23. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Why did I watch it?
    Being a big fan of the Alien franchise I was excited about seeing this film as soon as I heard it was being developed.
    What's it all about? Prometheus sees director Ridley Scott return to the universe of his sci-if phenomenon Alien in the form of a loose prequel. A team of scientists searching for the beginning of human life follow directions they believe are from
    Why did I watch it?
    Being a big fan of the Alien franchise I was excited about seeing this film as soon as I heard it was being developed.

    What's it all about?
    Prometheus sees director Ridley Scott return to the universe of his sci-if phenomenon Alien in the form of a loose prequel. A team of scientists searching for the beginning of human life follow directions they believe are from their creators and funded by the Weyland Corp. head to a far away unknown planet. Here they find clues not only to the origins of human life but the origins of a familiar foe.

    Should you watch it?
    Prometheus is full of familiar characteristics from the Alien franchise, androids, stasis, mysterious eggs and corrosive blood. Although unoriginal, these facets are not unwelcome and made me feel right back at home within the Alien world.
    The script deals with questions of creationism and occasions is a little pretentious and self-serving but this sets it apart from being a straight-up sci-fi horror. Speaking of questions, the script also leaves plenty unanswered at the end, either intentionally (and hopefully) for a sequel or through failings in the writing. I expected no less with one of the brains behind Lost involved in the writing. The acting is great, Michael Fassbender gives a dead pan cold performance as he android David and others including Idris Elba, Noomi Rapace and Charlize Theron deliver as well.

    Didn't they learn anything from Alien?
    I have seen plenty of negative reviews for Prometheus and I disagree with the majority, although admittedly the unanswered questions are a bug I seem to bare more than others. I really enjoyed the film, lets just be happy we are seeing more of Ridley Scott's Alien mythology.
    Expand
  24. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    I went to the premiere of Prometheus a week ago and I really liked it. It's a solid sci-fi movie, it's much better if you think of it as just a sci-fi movie and not an Alien movie. I did think they left a bit too many questions unanswered and the ending scene was almost cringe-worthy but overall it's good. The effects are GREAT, the story for the most part is good and the space jockies (orI went to the premiere of Prometheus a week ago and I really liked it. It's a solid sci-fi movie, it's much better if you think of it as just a sci-fi movie and not an Alien movie. I did think they left a bit too many questions unanswered and the ending scene was almost cringe-worthy but overall it's good. The effects are GREAT, the story for the most part is good and the space jockies (or 'engineers') look cool. I wish I could give it a 9 but I think an 8 is a bit more appropriate for it. Still a good movie and I recommend it. Expand
  25. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Maybenot as good as the hype, with there seeming to not be a clear beginning and middle, many anti climaxes and doesnt follow the tense, scary route of Alien. But, there is much more good about the film, exceptional visuals, which make you feel very immersed into the setting of this planet. Miachel Fassbenders performance is excellent being a stand out in the movie and the scenes in whichMaybenot as good as the hype, with there seeming to not be a clear beginning and middle, many anti climaxes and doesnt follow the tense, scary route of Alien. But, there is much more good about the film, exceptional visuals, which make you feel very immersed into the setting of this planet. Miachel Fassbenders performance is excellent being a stand out in the movie and the scenes in which we see what happnes while the rest of the crew put into perspective how mistreated these androids can be. The script may not be perfect but the way in which it asks questions that are nit answered may annoy some, but can make others sit and think about what happened and what will happen next, fair enough, some of the questions asked are really baiting at a sequel, but this can be ignored. The alien in the film, which i wont reveal much about, will be very different to your expectations but is a very good, for much of the sptries questions revolve around their discovery. People who watched alien will be happy to see some of the unanswered questions answered, but believe me when i say this is defintely not in the same style of Alien, a very different film from Scott. There is few tense moments, and there is no silences in the film, but a lot of talking, and maybe the amount of conversations and speeches is not as good as Aliens eerieness, but Scott did always say his approach would be different.
    To conclude, the film is visually stunning, and the main theme of the film is bringing up questions about our beginnings which is very good. There is some faults especially the anti climaxes where you expect a scene of violence to lead to the conclusion of the film, and when it doesnt you ask what was the point? There are many things you may not notice in the film, but later you will realize why a little scenes was in there. A very good film, just a shame it wasnt the brilliance people thought it would be.
    Expand
  26. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Very intellectual movie and one of it's kind that hasn't been around in at least a decade. Much praise goes to this movie and I have to give it to Scott for making a movie that both feeds to the hungry Alien fans and the minds of its viewers. My only drawback was that every time there was a moment to pause and reflect on what was going on some type Alien fan-service swept me away from myVery intellectual movie and one of it's kind that hasn't been around in at least a decade. Much praise goes to this movie and I have to give it to Scott for making a movie that both feeds to the hungry Alien fans and the minds of its viewers. My only drawback was that every time there was a moment to pause and reflect on what was going on some type Alien fan-service swept me away from my train of thought. At times it felt like a movie that was stocked full of goodies and other times it appeared to flow very gently. Though not a direct prequel to the classic Alien movie it stands proudly beside it with plenty of events taking place that can be pen-pointed to the Alien lore. From David and the "space jockey," to the Waylen Corp. and their deviance way of doing things, and even the aliens themselves. Expand
  27. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    I went into the cinema without any expectations or the immature Alien fanaticism of my teens, I went in there to watch a very good science fiction film, and that is exactly what I got. Tense scenes, style, effects, a storyline that doesn't spoon feed you (like most Americans need unfortunately) but actually has you thinking long after the film ends. The film essentially sticks two fingersI went into the cinema without any expectations or the immature Alien fanaticism of my teens, I went in there to watch a very good science fiction film, and that is exactly what I got. Tense scenes, style, effects, a storyline that doesn't spoon feed you (like most Americans need unfortunately) but actually has you thinking long after the film ends. The film essentially sticks two fingers up and the Alien franchise, and I loved that. Rather than pander to childish fans and try to tie in with the ever weakening series of films, it started fresh; a bit of the old but mostly new. And this has given the whole concept of the Alien a new and fresh direction to grow in. My only gripe with the film is that we don't have an opportunity to connect with the characters. Which is a shame. I was very happy with this film and I recommend that people with intelligence and appreciation of a beautiful film and a fresh start go and see it. For the hardcore Alien fans and the monkeys in society, go and watch paint dry. Expand
  28. Aug 8, 2012
    8
    I liked this movie. There are some loop holes in the story but this is also Sci-fi and therefore they dont have to play by the rules. Thats the whole point. The characters are rough and kinda cheesily written in some parts. Lets face it though have you ever herd of an alien movie winning an oscar for best writing or acting. Its an entertaining Sci-fi ride with great visuals and someI liked this movie. There are some loop holes in the story but this is also Sci-fi and therefore they dont have to play by the rules. Thats the whole point. The characters are rough and kinda cheesily written in some parts. Lets face it though have you ever herd of an alien movie winning an oscar for best writing or acting. Its an entertaining Sci-fi ride with great visuals and some stuff to send chills down your spine. See it for what it is and you will enjoy this movie. Expand
  29. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    the visal experience of promethus is stunning, it really keeps your mind and eyes at the screens,. script has some flaws, but u know u do not discuss a movie s flaws if it is a bad movie. i personally enjoy it very much. if u are looking for 2 hrs of entertainment, i highly recommend this movie
  30. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    Prometheus is the prequel/reboot/spin-off to original Alien film by Ridley Scott. The film revolves around Elizabeth Shaw's quest to find humanity's creators after finding cave paintings leading her to believe they were created by alien visitors. Shaw is able to gain financial endorsement for an expedition to the unknown planet in the cave paintings by the notorious Weyland Industries.Prometheus is the prequel/reboot/spin-off to original Alien film by Ridley Scott. The film revolves around Elizabeth Shaw's quest to find humanity's creators after finding cave paintings leading her to believe they were created by alien visitors. Shaw is able to gain financial endorsement for an expedition to the unknown planet in the cave paintings by the notorious Weyland Industries. Will Elizabeth find the answers she is looking for or will her discovery lead to the destruction of the human race.

    Story: 7/10 The story is built upon the origins of the mysterious space jockey corpse found in the abandoned ship in Alien. However this movie does not bend over backwards to give fans answers, instead it creates more questions leading to the impression of further sequels. This is both a positive and a negative, as it creates a whole other side of the Alien universe to be explored but leaves you wanting more. Prometheus continues with that classic Alien storyline, with a discovery, the cast being picked off one by one and an explosive finale. My only concern was that scenes were weaved together towards with end of the film.

    Acting & Characters: 10/10 The performances throughout the cast was magnificent with character having their own priorities about dealing with their discovery. The main cast in made of a diverse range of characters such as David the unpredictable android, the, Vickers, the stone cold Weyland representative and Fifield, money hungry contractor who is off at the first site of trouble. My only concern with the cast is that the majority of the 17 member crew are lost beneath the larger character and die without saying a single line. Noomi Rapace's performance as Elizabeth is superb and you can easily get swept up in her enthusiastic attitude to find her origins, similar to Drake in the Uncharted game series. Michael Fassbender's portrayal as the fascinating android David with his own motives without any regard for the well-being of the crew.

    Set, Costumes & Graphics: 9/10

    The atmosphere of the is a dream come true for any Alien fan with stunning graphics, an authentic Alien rather than prison or a small American town like some of the past films and tons of Weyland logos. The graphics is space scenes and the engineer's control room are truly beautiful especially if compared to the original Alien film made 30 years before. As with the Star Wars prequels this does pose some problems as Prometheus is set 30 years before the events of Alien and the technology looks like its set 50 years after. Prometheus features new and redesigned alien creatures with some with a great refreshing look and others looking plain silly.

    Enjoyment: 6/10 I found the first third of this film amazing and was easily swept up adventure feel. The film then quickly became much darker and gruesome as you can aspect from an Alien film. This is where the Prometheus started to lose me with scenes moving very quickly and too many types of aliens and characters to keep up with. However I found the rising tensions between the main characters throughout the film intriguing to watch. In conclusion I left the film with feeling dreadful after my questions were unanswered, more direction in the middle of the and some quite horrific scenes. However I hope if it gets a sequel that it gives more answers, improves the pacing throughout the film but continues the fantastic character development and stunning environments.

    Overall Rating: 7.8/10
    Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.