User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1743 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    I'm not sure what people were expecting from Prometheus. I've read reviews that asked for more gore much like Aliens, Ridley's 2nd film in the Alien franchise, more character development with a tip of the hat to Blade Runner, and more answers. ***SPOILER ALERT*** You are left with more questions by the time the movie ends. Ok so I haven't actually "SPOILED" anything but the internet isI'm not sure what people were expecting from Prometheus. I've read reviews that asked for more gore much like Aliens, Ridley's 2nd film in the Alien franchise, more character development with a tip of the hat to Blade Runner, and more answers. ***SPOILER ALERT*** You are left with more questions by the time the movie ends. Ok so I haven't actually "SPOILED" anything but the internet is buzzing with expectations of clarity by the time the credits roll. There are a few things you need to understand before watching this film. It takes place on an entirely different planet. So, the "Space Jockey" from the original film is not in this movie. Prometheus takes place on a desolate yet stunningly beautiful LV-227 while the original is on drab and scary LV-426. It's a simple mistake to not realize this unless you've done your homework. The crew that everyone is so upset with have been in hypersleep (or whatever the term is) for 2 years. None of them are familiar with each other unless there was a relationship established before the mission. Also, the events that unfold during the movie take about one week; from Christmas to New Years Day. This is hardly any time to actually develop a character, but the ones that Ridley Scott have provided are brilliant, albeit stereotypical of their own roles.

    The mission of the Prometheus is unknown to the crew until they are awakened. Their mission is basically to explore an â
    Expand
  2. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    Alright let's just get this out of the way....NO this movie will not live up to the crazy hype to be on par with the original Alien films. However, what Prometheus manages to be is a beautifully shot, disturbing, scary, interesting new chapter of the world in which the Alien series takes place. Are there plot holes? YES....do they completely ruin the movie like many critics are claiming?Alright let's just get this out of the way....NO this movie will not live up to the crazy hype to be on par with the original Alien films. However, what Prometheus manages to be is a beautifully shot, disturbing, scary, interesting new chapter of the world in which the Alien series takes place. Are there plot holes? YES....do they completely ruin the movie like many critics are claiming? NO. While there is not as much silent tension we all have come to know and love from the original films, Scott still makes this planet and the unknown dangers of it come across as disturbingly terrifying. The cinematography and score are gorgeous and the CG is tastefully used. Everyone complaining about the continuity of the ending needs to read a little more into the facts of this movie.....not the same planet people!!! Overall Prometheus is not as amazing as I had hoped, but honestly nothing will reclaim the gold of the originals. But, the film is in no way a bad movie. Definitely still one of my favorites in a long time and I enjoyed every moment, plot holes aside it's an awesome time. SEE PROMETHEUS!!!!!! Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    I went into the movie hoping, but not expecting. Many of the nuances of the film will be lost on those who haven't seen Alien, but unlike Alien, this is not a "horror/ shocker" film. It is a proper science fiction film with a bit of the Alien-style shocking scenes. Unlike others, I believe a true Sci-Fi fan will love the questions posed in Alien being answered here, especially after soI went into the movie hoping, but not expecting. Many of the nuances of the film will be lost on those who haven't seen Alien, but unlike Alien, this is not a "horror/ shocker" film. It is a proper science fiction film with a bit of the Alien-style shocking scenes. Unlike others, I believe a true Sci-Fi fan will love the questions posed in Alien being answered here, especially after so many years of mystery (besides that's what makes Serenity so great). Whilst Noomi Rapace (lead female role) isn't as strong a character as Sigourney Weaver, this film still has beautiful touches of Ridley Scott that made Alien and Blade Runner so great. This won't go down as a classic in the same way those films did (primarily because of the cult status and high expectations), but it is a great prequel. I think those who are knocking it should go back and watch Alien and Blade Runner. Those similarly slow paced and atmospheric; something we really aren't used to in Sci-Fi films nowadays (but just another element of what made those films great). Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    8
    After reading many of the reviews here prior to seeing the movie, I expected it either to be great or terrible, but it turned out to be somewhere in between, but definitely above average and worth seeing. Sure the movie failed in some ways. Some of the dialog is cheesy, some of the plot doesn't make any sense for a movie geared towards 'realism'. I think some of the reviewers here, wereAfter reading many of the reviews here prior to seeing the movie, I expected it either to be great or terrible, but it turned out to be somewhere in between, but definitely above average and worth seeing. Sure the movie failed in some ways. Some of the dialog is cheesy, some of the plot doesn't make any sense for a movie geared towards 'realism'. I think some of the reviewers here, were turned off by apparent plot holes, but for me the plot holes in this movie make you think and wonder which is a good thing. True the movie wasn't as scary, mysterious, and suspenseful as Alien, but this film stands on its own. It is a different kind of move really. It stuck with me for different reasons such as the big questions of where we came from and, in the movie, why thing were the way they were (not to give away the story). There are a few action scenes and creature scenes that were pretty well done, not to mention an incredibly disturbing scene which perhaps was meant to rival the shock we all recall from Alien when the alien first bursts out of a chest. There is some truth to some of the reviews that the characters were a little superficial, the story a bit lacking in depth, and some surprising predictability, but it is far from being the worse sci fi movie ever made, and far from being Space Odyssey. Expand
  5. Jun 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was very happy to finally see a "grown-up" Sci Fi Horror film where not everything is fully explained and in this respect loved Prometheus...to be honest, the script seemed a little light in context and discovery, and .I have to admit to mild frustration in not knowing more about the backstory of the Engineers, and the reason for their malevolence...

    Noomi Rapace is outstanding as Dr. Shaw and Michael Fassbinder is fascinating to watch as the android David.. Idris Elba is excellent as the understated Captain of Prometheus... Let's face it though, the real stars of the film are the CGI experts, designers and cinemotographer Dariusz Wolski makes the film a gorgeous, state-of-the-art masterwork that is not to be missed on a big screen. The Engineers look alot like a Greek base-relief of gods and I'm sure that was deliberate...the film's aliens exceed the original Aliens and their flawless. seamless creation by the CGI designers is truly unbelieveable....not to mention their menace...There is great tension and some unexpected surprises...but it seemed the backstories of the characters were not as important as the task at hand and leaves a nagging feeling of wanting a little more...

    ( I for one would have loved to see the first half of the second act with the humans encountering the Engineers--our creators--and they thilled to see we have found them...they sharing knowledge and information with us (like curing cancer) that would be magical and wonderous...but some members of Prometheus are especially curious about something they keep from us...steal it, and the chase is on to get away from them...but that's just me.)

    Going to see it again...not quite a masterpiece, but pretty darn close.
    Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    If you enjoy a high budget visually appealing movie that leaves the audience to self interpretation, then see this movie. Many will complain about "loose ends" or "holes" in the story, but I for one enjoy the unknown when it comes to a sci-fi psychological thriller such as Prometheus. Ridley manages to take us on a entertaining trip giving us insight as to what happened to the ill-fatedIf you enjoy a high budget visually appealing movie that leaves the audience to self interpretation, then see this movie. Many will complain about "loose ends" or "holes" in the story, but I for one enjoy the unknown when it comes to a sci-fi psychological thriller such as Prometheus. Ridley manages to take us on a entertaining trip giving us insight as to what happened to the ill-fated ship Prometheus that started the Alien Franchise. I agree with many of the "trolls" who state the characters were very shallow, for the director never really develops them, rather keeps the movie moving and the audience thinking and wondering. In summary, this is not a Michael Bay movie where little thought is required, this is a sci-fi ballet, once complete, will be the buzz in your car all the way home and into the next day. Expand
  7. Jun 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The dying question that all of mankind has to know is, who created us? what are we created for? That is what the main question in the movie Prometheus. Is this an Alien prequel? I believe this is the second question that has been on everybody's mind. A team of explorers discover a clue that leads them to a far planet across the universe. there, they make a terrifying discover that might change the course of mankind. first, I would like to state that if you're expecting aliens to pop out and cause hell on people, that is not what we have here. I believe that if you look at this movie as a syfi horror film, and not expecting aliens to steal the show, you will happily enjoy this movie a lot more. Michael Fassbender was absolutely marvelous in his role as Android David. he plays the part so compelling that at times seems like he was a robot. Fassbender was evil without even knowing. the movie also had great performances from everyone. Noomi Rapace was a good lead, and had that Ripely feel. the visual effects were outstanding, especially if you see Prometheus in 3-D, which I highly recommend. the one thing that I admired the most about this alien Odyssey was the clever script. the film has a lot of stories going on (three to be specific) all come together. all in all I defiantly enjoyed Prometheus enough to see it twice in theatres. the one flaw to the movie, which was a big problem, was the character development. 17 crew members on the ship, and director Ridley Scott only opened 5 characters to the audience. Charlize Theron played a fine roll, but her character was as pointless as alien 3 and alien resurrection. overall Prometheus is a great find for the extinct genre of syfi horror, and has tremendously great visual effects. Prometheus being a great summer blockbuster. the question. is Prometheus an alien prequel ? GO SEE in 3-D to find out! Expand
  8. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Beautiful movie that must be seen in 3D. Fantastic premise and entertaining all the way through. From reading some of the reviews prior to seeing the movie I anticipated being a little disappointed by plot holes or bad characters or a less than acceptable ending to the story. This wasn't the case at all for me. In fact, I appreciated how some of the unknowns were left unanswered. If I hadBeautiful movie that must be seen in 3D. Fantastic premise and entertaining all the way through. From reading some of the reviews prior to seeing the movie I anticipated being a little disappointed by plot holes or bad characters or a less than acceptable ending to the story. This wasn't the case at all for me. In fact, I appreciated how some of the unknowns were left unanswered. If I had to point to any negative aspect of the film I found myself a little disappointed some of the characters simply didn't respond to situations in realistic ways. Even though I wouldn't call this a horror film at all, it's suspenseful and creepy, it felt like some of the people were running up the stairs when they should have been running out the front door. The movie was so well done I just found it frustrating they couldn't write more realistic responses. If you are a fan of science fiction, space, suspense, or are piqued by the topic of our origins, this movie is a must see. Expand
  9. Jun 15, 2012
    8
    Ideal para fanáticos de la franquicia, deja muchos puntos aclarados y pone en suspendo otros dejando abierta la posibilidad de una continuación. Visualmente increible!
  10. Jun 30, 2012
    8
    This is a great sci-fi film with spectacular special effects and a great story, what I was disappointed about was that I went to watch this film so it would answer questions about the origin of the aliens but instead by the time it finished several more questions were raised prompting at a sequel. Ignore the bad reviews this is a well made film which Is enjoyable from start to finish butThis is a great sci-fi film with spectacular special effects and a great story, what I was disappointed about was that I went to watch this film so it would answer questions about the origin of the aliens but instead by the time it finished several more questions were raised prompting at a sequel. Ignore the bad reviews this is a well made film which Is enjoyable from start to finish but those thinking this is a horror film will be disappointed as it wasn't scary in the slightest, I was disappointed at some of the writing as some of it didn't make sense but this can be overlooked as the film is otherwise fantastic. Overall a great film which links to the alien franchise perfectly, I would recommend this to any alien fan or sci-fi fan in general. 8/10 Expand
  11. Jun 29, 2012
    8
    I deliberately avoided the trailers and pre-hype in order to have zero expectation about this movie. Here my brief synopsis;

    Storyline - intriguing, leaves you hungry for more Visuals - stunning Pace - right balance of action, tension Fassbender - sublime, deserves a gong Rapace - unobvious choice, no Sigourney but pulled it off Theron - underutilised but still sexy as hell in a
    I deliberately avoided the trailers and pre-hype in order to have zero expectation about this movie. Here my brief synopsis;

    Storyline - intriguing, leaves you hungry for more
    Visuals - stunning
    Pace - right balance of action, tension
    Fassbender - sublime, deserves a gong
    Rapace - unobvious choice, no Sigourney but pulled it off
    Theron - underutilised but still sexy as hell in a catsuit
    Pearce - WTF?
    Character decisions - odd
    Gore - perfect

    On balance, let's see the Director's cut.
    Expand
  12. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this movie more the second time round, having been a big fan since number 2 in the series, Aliens. I was initially (on my first viewing) disappointed, but thought the attention to detail on sets and tech was typical of Ridley Scott. Parts of the of the plot were left unanswered or stumbled upon just before the end of the movie.
  13. RPD
    Oct 10, 2012
    8
    I just watched this one and liked it quite a bit. I'm guessing, from what I have read, that not being a fan of the Alien films might have something to do with it...
  14. Jul 8, 2012
    8
    Maybe not as good as the hype, with their seeming to not be a clear beginning and middle, many anti-climaxes and doesn
  15. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    Prometheus delivers what it promised : A side-story set in the alien universe that sets the pieces for 2 sequels.

    Some hate the movie because it leaves unanswered questions and because it's not the Alien prequel they expected. Let's be honest, a lot of fan boys wanted to see this movie for two reason : See aliens and understand where they came from. Yet... Scott clearly said that
    Prometheus delivers what it promised : A side-story set in the alien universe that sets the pieces for 2 sequels.

    Some hate the movie because it leaves unanswered questions and because it's not the Alien prequel they expected.

    Let's be honest, a lot of fan boys wanted to see this movie for two reason : See aliens and understand where they came from. Yet... Scott clearly said that this was not a prequel (it doesn't take place on LV 426 where the original alien events took place). So yes, this movie raises more question than answers. But hey, this IS the first the movie of a trilogy. And the the sequel called "paradise" is actually being filmed and estimated to be released for 2014.

    So don't listen to those haters that wanted all the mistery solved on the first movie or the alien fan boys.

    This movie is NOT alien. If you can take that of your head, you'll like it.

    They are however a few incoherences in this movies. While the main characters are solid, the rest of crew is just awfull. None of them makes logical decision, which leads them to their doom. (spoilers) Fortunatly they are now all dead, so at least we won't have to deal with them in the second chapter.

    Regardless of it's flaws, Prometheus is the FIRST chapter of an adventure that is so far very promissing. Don't judge the story untill you've actually scene the third and final film. If you take prometheus as a standalone movie, it sucks, but as a first movie of a trilogy it asctually does well.
    Expand
  16. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    This is a movie that makes you think! These are the type of movies that I absolutely love! It's rare these days when we get a movie in the box office that actually presents a true and moral dilemma. In the case of, "Prometheus," it's the question of human existence. We follow a group of explorers, scientists, soldiers, and business folk. They have their different agendas, but have to knowThis is a movie that makes you think! These are the type of movies that I absolutely love! It's rare these days when we get a movie in the box office that actually presents a true and moral dilemma. In the case of, "Prometheus," it's the question of human existence. We follow a group of explorers, scientists, soldiers, and business folk. They have their different agendas, but have to know to work together. Making a tremendous discovery, it's nothing that they could have ever imagined. Special effects, acting, cinematography, and plot. It's all there! You need to see this movie! Expand
  17. Jul 9, 2012
    8
    Director Ridley Scott is back to the sci-fi genre after a good 20 years or so. What makes Ridley Scott stand out to me is that when he uses visual effects they
  18. Jul 14, 2012
    8
    This was a pretty good film. Obviously not as good as Alien or Aliens, but still better than the franchise's other installments. It started off pretty slow, but then got exciting and tense when they started conflict with the aliens. I don't think that it necessarily lived up to all of its expectations, but it was a good film nonetheless.
  19. Jul 17, 2012
    8
    Even though I have never seen "Alien", I can honestly say that "Prometheus" is one of my favorite thrillers. The film was always interesting, mysterious, and suspenseful in such a way that I couldn't take my eyes off of the screen. Although the film may settle for some subliminal pseudo-philosophical messages, as far as the craft goes, it's genius.
  20. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Though so many question's are not answered, it's hard not to be absorbed into this science fiction mystery. Like 2001 Space Odyssey(1968) raised a lot questions and made the individual viewing the film ponder on answering them. Prometheus in many way's relates to the criticism of the film, but decades later it's praised as the greatest Sci Fi film of all time. Prometheus may not be anThough so many question's are not answered, it's hard not to be absorbed into this science fiction mystery. Like 2001 Space Odyssey(1968) raised a lot questions and made the individual viewing the film ponder on answering them. Prometheus in many way's relates to the criticism of the film, but decades later it's praised as the greatest Sci Fi film of all time. Prometheus may not be an instant classic like 2001 Space Odyssey, but it still ask's the right question's and give's the audience the power of deciding them. Expand
  21. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    Prometheus is a bit wobbly and rushed at times (mainly the end) but the acting, direction and effects make up for it. The script is also a bit dodgy at times, as it's very un-technical for a sc-fi epic film.
  22. Sep 23, 2012
    8
    Not because they say that this movie is bad, I thought it was good as far as it goes. The bad thing about this movie is that they do not explain much of alien species emerging. However, the effects of the movie are very good.
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    I've never been this mind-trolled ever. I started thinking of my origin, the origin of the human race and I just wanted it to be a true story. Fassbender delivers (in my opinion) an award winning performance as David, a cyborg/android being.
  24. Nov 9, 2012
    8
    absolutely amazing and a must see film. effects are amazing and the set design is gorgeous! just remember that AVP (alien vs predator) is NONE canon.
  25. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    Although it leaves more puzzles unanswered than it does solved, "Prometheus" remains in my opinion a visually mystifying film with an equally spellbinding story.
  26. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    A terrifying and surprising prequel to the hit movie Alien. Could gone faster but for the most part intense.
  27. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    I have not yet seen alien but if it was like Prometheus it would have been pretty good. But i myself enjoy sci if movies. If you don't like sci-fi than I suggest you don't watch this. But, however this movie is a great movie if you like sci fi movies. Prometheus follows the story of explorers and scientists who travel to a distant planet to find out where they come from. But the questionI have not yet seen alien but if it was like Prometheus it would have been pretty good. But i myself enjoy sci if movies. If you don't like sci-fi than I suggest you don't watch this. But, however this movie is a great movie if you like sci fi movies. Prometheus follows the story of explorers and scientists who travel to a distant planet to find out where they come from. But the question is asked. Can they trust Dr Shaw's and Dr Halloways Engineers(names two of the scientist's give who they believe are there creators). This movie contains a good cast containing Charlize Theron, Michael Fassbender, Naomi Rapice, Guy Pearce, Idris Elba and Logan Marshel-green. This movie however is a bit boring for in parts and relies heavily on aliens killing people, but i guess thats just the sci-fi genre. So over all a great movie for people who love the Sci-fi genre. Expand
  28. Jan 19, 2013
    8
    Firstly, I divided this movie in two parts and secondly, I didn't watch any other Alien-movie. As criticized al lot; there are a lot of questions left. The big question 'What's life purpose?' isn't answered, but that will may be answered in Prometheus 2. But there are also a lot of questions about the movie itself left. What are the octopus/snake-things? What happened to the infectedFirstly, I divided this movie in two parts and secondly, I didn't watch any other Alien-movie. As criticized al lot; there are a lot of questions left. The big question 'What's life purpose?' isn't answered, but that will may be answered in Prometheus 2. But there are also a lot of questions about the movie itself left. What are the octopus/snake-things? What happened to the infected people? (like what would be the exact diagnose, because everyone got other symptoms). What did the 'alien' do in the first 5 minutes? Furthermore Prometheus' crew made a lot of stupid decisions. (you could 'remove' this argument with: 'The owner of the ship was just a simple billionair who wanted some intelligent people'). Like some were first scared of the dead corpses, and later they even tried to have contact with an unknown snake. (There are more of those examples, but I will save you that). Beside this critic I believe this is a real art piece. The CGI is awesome and the atmosphere just sucks you into the movie. Right from the start you're just in Alien's world and you won't escape 'till the end. In short; it's just an awesome movie, which I'd recommend to every Sci-Fi- and maybe even every movie-fan. Expand
  29. Feb 18, 2013
    8
    I think a lot of people didn't get this. If you are a fan of the Alien franchise then you may feel a little indifferent. I am a fan but I was ready for the ambiguity of an origin story and for my part, was not expecting to see xenomorphs all over the place. This movie felt right for me and certainly is set up well for a sequel. No matter what Ridley says, it is certainly a prequel of anI think a lot of people didn't get this. If you are a fan of the Alien franchise then you may feel a little indifferent. I am a fan but I was ready for the ambiguity of an origin story and for my part, was not expecting to see xenomorphs all over the place. This movie felt right for me and certainly is set up well for a sequel. No matter what Ridley says, it is certainly a prequel of an Alien prequel in my view. So many questions, very few answers..........I'm looking forward to a follow-up though. That's where the real links should come together nicely.........hopefully. Very good movie though. Expand
  30. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    Due to the hype surrounding the film prior to release, and my love of Alien and Aliens, my expectations before viewing the film were very high. Looking back, I could only ever have been disappointed. And after my initial viewing I was exactly that. However, over the last two years I've found myself watching it again and again and again. And now, with all the hype and preconceived ideasDue to the hype surrounding the film prior to release, and my love of Alien and Aliens, my expectations before viewing the film were very high. Looking back, I could only ever have been disappointed. And after my initial viewing I was exactly that. However, over the last two years I've found myself watching it again and again and again. And now, with all the hype and preconceived ideas out of the way, I actually see Prometheus for what it is; a decent sci-fi action/thriller. Try to put aside your, in truth, unobtainable ideals about what an "Alien" film should be, and enjoy Prometheus in all its CGI high-def glory. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.