User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1761 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    Ever since I saw the first teaser trailer for this film, I have been very excited. Sadly, I think that my expectations were too high going into this film. The movie ended up not being bad, but it wasn't as amazing as I had hoped it to be. The movie had strong acting, but weak characters. It is a tense movie, but it fails to recapture the quiet tension of Alien, although it doesn't reallyEver since I saw the first teaser trailer for this film, I have been very excited. Sadly, I think that my expectations were too high going into this film. The movie ended up not being bad, but it wasn't as amazing as I had hoped it to be. The movie had strong acting, but weak characters. It is a tense movie, but it fails to recapture the quiet tension of Alien, although it doesn't really try to. Overall, the movie was hampered by a poor script that needed more time to develop the characters and to strengthen the plot. I hope that if they do make a sequel, they are able to learn from mistakes because if they do, it could be a truly great film. I enjoyed the film, but was let down by it nonetheless. I had hoped that the movie would better expand upon the mythos of the Alien Universe but instead, it only muddled it more. Still, there were some fun treats for fans of the original and I would still recommend seeing it, just go into it with lower expectations than I did. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    7
    This movie surprised me in its depth of character, acting, and effects. Rapace, Theoren, and Fassbender performed their roles to perfection. However, despite several choice scenes, there are long stretches of little action or suspense. The long running time also makes this movie less enjoyable than it would be if some of the repetitive scenes were trimmed into a shorter cut. ThatThis movie surprised me in its depth of character, acting, and effects. Rapace, Theoren, and Fassbender performed their roles to perfection. However, despite several choice scenes, there are long stretches of little action or suspense. The long running time also makes this movie less enjoyable than it would be if some of the repetitive scenes were trimmed into a shorter cut. That being said, it is still a fairly good film with many positives and serves as a good prequel to the Alien film series. Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2014
    7
    Essentially out of the Alien-storybook, Prometheus is a moving discovery of life beyond Earth. There is no shortage of suspense and story--Prometheus is enthralling.
  4. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    It could have amounted to much more, but it delivered. It leaves you with the same questions you had going into the movie, so nothing really gets resolved. As a movie itself, it was interesting, scary at times, and quite exquisitely shot. The director seemed to accomplish the atmosphere he intended to have.
  5. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    It was a good movie. Definitely recommend. Really engaging story with decent suspense and effects. The movie is set in the Alien universe and explores some of its backstory. It is gritty, dark, and mildly violent with good si-fi horror/thriller moments. I give it a 7 because it is somewhat hard to follow since the background story and everything revolving around it is very intricate andIt was a good movie. Definitely recommend. Really engaging story with decent suspense and effects. The movie is set in the Alien universe and explores some of its backstory. It is gritty, dark, and mildly violent with good si-fi horror/thriller moments. I give it a 7 because it is somewhat hard to follow since the background story and everything revolving around it is very intricate and events and aspects of the movie are not totally explained. I ended up reading more about the Alien universe and fans' take on the movie and its connects afterwards which really helped me understand it more. I think a great movie wouldn't require that effort. Regardless I liked the story and mythos around the whole thing and still recommend highly. Expand
  6. Oct 26, 2012
    7
    Michael Fassbender gives a great performance as the ship android amidst all of the confusion this film evokes, avid Alien fans will be disenchanted by franchise incontinuity and the lack of H.R. Giger design work.
  7. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    Never mind a few plot holes in this beautifully-crafted film, Prometheus is essentially Ridley Scott's grand comeback to the movie world after a string of unsuccessful flicks. From its stunningly breath-taking scenes from an alien planet to the steely hollowness of the android, David 8, played fantastically by Michael Fassbender, this movie definitely holds a place in the sci-fi universe.
  8. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    I found the movie enjoyable and impressive on three dimensions: theme, visuals and excitement. However, the plot was a neutral point for me as I have seen worse, but it felt rushed. The characters were not very deep at all, and were very frustrating! I felt so frustrated by the team dynamics/actions/interactions i was nearly pulling out my hair yelling out "why are you doing that!?" orI found the movie enjoyable and impressive on three dimensions: theme, visuals and excitement. However, the plot was a neutral point for me as I have seen worse, but it felt rushed. The characters were not very deep at all, and were very frustrating! I felt so frustrated by the team dynamics/actions/interactions i was nearly pulling out my hair yelling out "why are you doing that!?" or "why aren't you doing this!?". Also the crew seemed incapable of utilising the technology they had to aid their situations, and often didn't act like scientists! Expand
  9. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    Special effects and Guy Pearce's makeup were good but it seems that there's something missing in the movie and I can't tell what it is. Prometheus pales in comparison with Aliens series. And even for the lead character, Sigourney Weaver's character, Ripley, is more likable, trustworthy, and determined than Noomi Rapace's Dr. Elisabeth Shaw.
  10. Jun 9, 2012
    7
    Ridley Scott makes a return to the Sci-Fi genre, but is it as triumphal as many would expect? Not quite. On one hand, there are outstanding visuals and quite tense atmosphere. The sight of Prometheus, the planet and the alien ship are breathtaking, and you'll probably get goosebumps in certain moments. Those are the moments where you can actually see the director of Alien. On the otherRidley Scott makes a return to the Sci-Fi genre, but is it as triumphal as many would expect? Not quite. On one hand, there are outstanding visuals and quite tense atmosphere. The sight of Prometheus, the planet and the alien ship are breathtaking, and you'll probably get goosebumps in certain moments. Those are the moments where you can actually see the director of Alien. On the other hand though, there is a whole lot of plotholes, unanswered questions and frustratingly stupid characters. Some of those questions might be just a set-off point for the sequel, but a movie's got to have a finished story to be fully enjoyable. However, I must say that most of the plotholes didn't spoil my impression of the movie, I started thinking of them a bit after I got out of the cinema. All in all, it is a cool sci-fi thriller with immersive 3D, but don't expect it to become a cult classic like Alien. Expand
  11. Jun 8, 2012
    7
    There's something of 'Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull' about Prometheus. It introduces supernatural elements where none were, perhaps, asked for. If the other Alien films (the quadrilogy anyway) never aspired to just be a B-Movie, Prometheus appears to be content, for much of the film, to have the feel of a Lucas/Speilberg Saturday morning kid's TV show. There is too much knowingThere's something of 'Indiana Jones and the Crystal Skull' about Prometheus. It introduces supernatural elements where none were, perhaps, asked for. If the other Alien films (the quadrilogy anyway) never aspired to just be a B-Movie, Prometheus appears to be content, for much of the film, to have the feel of a Lucas/Speilberg Saturday morning kid's TV show. There is too much knowing comedy of the 'If I do this, I hope that something bad doesn't happen- ok, I'll do it anyway' kind. Alien was set on a spaceship but it could have been any type of haunted house (albeit a quasi-industrial one) filled with foreboding and dread. Prometheus doesn't have this sense- it seems to set out to ask more profound questions than it does to profoundly scare. I doubt that it could have scared quite as much as the bizarre hybrids of the flawed (in terms of Ripley's character) but underrated Alien Resurrection anyway.
    In a way it satisfyingly, and orderly, displays the creation of the (presumably) first Alien (even though Ridley Scott has apparently said that this is not an Alien prequel despite appearances to the contrary). But it does so around some very foolhardy people. Some of the final parts of the film trying to evade being crushed (twice) by a spaceship owe more to the likes of Independence Day than the quiet realism of the original Alien film and there is a patronising comment about humans being superior to robots, which in the events of this film( but not Alien) is not the case.
    Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I haven't watched any previous alien films apart from Alien Vs Predator but this was pretty scary for me. Although it felt like it was lacking at least 45 minutes worth of extra footage, there were so many times where I was so confused. For example, you expected to stay with the two men in the tomb for a lot longer instead of skipping back to the ship and watching a head explode. And then magically one of the men somehow becomes like a zombie later in the film which to be honest has no explanation in the slightest. All in all I thought it was quite enjoyable but certainly lacking. Expand
  13. Jun 11, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a reasonably good science fiction film. It was not the epic or classic film I hoped it would be. The visuals were excellent. The acting was quite good. The story/script was OK, but there were a number of problems (see below). The story tried to be serious and ask/answer serious questions about the origin of humans. It was partially successful. It was way more than a monster movie, but ultimately it failed because of too many unrealistic plot issues. I love Ridley Scott and most of his films. I liked this one and am glad I saw it. It just wasnâ Expand
  14. Jun 18, 2012
    7
    You know that feeling when you have a dozen things you could be doing, other movies you could be watching, other games you could be playing, other reviews you could be writing, but you pick something that costs more and you have to go out of your way for it, and it doesn't leave you feeling bitter and regretfull? That's Prometheus. I watched it, and I was entertained, but never blownYou know that feeling when you have a dozen things you could be doing, other movies you could be watching, other games you could be playing, other reviews you could be writing, but you pick something that costs more and you have to go out of your way for it, and it doesn't leave you feeling bitter and regretfull? That's Prometheus. I watched it, and I was entertained, but never blown away. So watch it, have some fun, but don't be expecting anything near they hype. That way, who knows, it might just pass your expectations.
    On a side note, i should have given this movie a 0 for continuing to teach this generation to, when massive objects, significantly longer than wide, are falling toward you, to run forwards, not sideways.
    Expand
  15. Jun 21, 2012
    7
    I'm confused as to what people were "confused" about. It's just a beginning to a new Aliens story...It's almost like the first chapter of a really good book (that takes 2.5 hours to read)
  16. Jun 24, 2012
    7
    I was extremely hyped for this movie, and I have to say I was slightly disappointed. I think a lot of people went into this expecting answers to questions raised in Alien. Unfortunately, there's very few in this movie, and the ones they give are predictable or could be figured out from the trailers. There's also an abundance of small plot wholes and unexplained things that raise moreI was extremely hyped for this movie, and I have to say I was slightly disappointed. I think a lot of people went into this expecting answers to questions raised in Alien. Unfortunately, there's very few in this movie, and the ones they give are predictable or could be figured out from the trailers. There's also an abundance of small plot wholes and unexplained things that raise more questions. But it's clear Scott wanted to make a spin-off instead of a direct prequel, and for that, Prometheus is pretty good. You enjoy seeing this world and people interacting with it. There's some good performances from Fassbender and Idris Elba, but some bad ones as well. Most of the characters are forgettable or just 1 dimensional. Even though I didn't get quite what I wanted/expected, I would recommend this film to any fan of the Alien franchise or any Sci-fi fan out there. Expand
  17. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    Solid movie. Lots of twists, a few really great moments. Does what i wanted which was show me a bunch of cool stuff from other worlds. I love the kind of exposure that you're given to Scott's nightmarish make-believe. If you are looking for a good sci-fi movie, this is the best I've seen in a while. Really enjoyed the slower pacing, let me take it all in. Worth your time definitely, but doSolid movie. Lots of twists, a few really great moments. Does what i wanted which was show me a bunch of cool stuff from other worlds. I love the kind of exposure that you're given to Scott's nightmarish make-believe. If you are looking for a good sci-fi movie, this is the best I've seen in a while. Really enjoyed the slower pacing, let me take it all in. Worth your time definitely, but do not expect action. Expect to be impressed and repulsed sometimes at the same time. I don't care about Aliens though i respect them as what they are. This was a great prologue, I hope there is a second movie. Expand
  18. Jul 17, 2012
    7
    Ultimately, Prometheus fails to reach the dizzying heights that I had expected (and I think that can go without saying) but it contains striking, seamless visuals and a trump card in the form of Michael Fassbender, which still deems it a good movie-going experience. The plot comes off very standard and predictable, which is the only thing I really was hoping to be stunned by. TheUltimately, Prometheus fails to reach the dizzying heights that I had expected (and I think that can go without saying) but it contains striking, seamless visuals and a trump card in the form of Michael Fassbender, which still deems it a good movie-going experience. The plot comes off very standard and predictable, which is the only thing I really was hoping to be stunned by. The characters, well, we don't really care, 'cept for David. But the film does stand as a part of the incredible Alien franchise and after having accepted the films' effect on the Alien universe, it is still a pretty good movie. There is a scene involving Noomi Rapace in a growth-removal surgery that is gut-wrenching, but there aren't all to many genuine horrifying moments throughout. Still recommendable, though. Expand
  19. Jul 6, 2012
    7
    "Prometheus" is picturesque and inspired, albeit a bit too awkward to be more than a good-to-great picture. What fails the product is a script that allows for an equal measure of wonderful things to every fault, as well as the later-life dissidence Ridley Scott has apparently developed with the slow-burn drama, often causing him to opt for a quick barrage of information instead of the"Prometheus" is picturesque and inspired, albeit a bit too awkward to be more than a good-to-great picture. What fails the product is a script that allows for an equal measure of wonderful things to every fault, as well as the later-life dissidence Ridley Scott has apparently developed with the slow-burn drama, often causing him to opt for a quick barrage of information instead of the languid technique of his prime. Otherwise, all negative slants aside, the performances were good for the most part and the special effects were especially strong for Twentieth Century Fox, perhaps due to the continued residence of the specialised team brought in for work on "Avatar." Nevertheless, I don Expand
  20. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Prometheus was good and entertaining. Although it does not live up to Ridley Scott's earlier films it is a engaging and decent sci-fi film. It wasn't anything spectacular but this film certainly does not deserve all the negative reviews it has gotten. Plain and simple it doesn't live up to the expectations of the audience but that does not outright make it a bad film.
  21. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    Heading into this one, I heard a ton of differing opinions, but at the end of the day, I came away from this one with a positive take. The cinematography and special effects are undoubtedly the star of this film and are breathtaking to look at, each shot is achingly beautiful, and the tech gadgets are very cool and the other effects very well done. In addition, Ridley Scott's direction isHeading into this one, I heard a ton of differing opinions, but at the end of the day, I came away from this one with a positive take. The cinematography and special effects are undoubtedly the star of this film and are breathtaking to look at, each shot is achingly beautiful, and the tech gadgets are very cool and the other effects very well done. In addition, Ridley Scott's direction is good, as expected. The acting from Michael Fassbender, Charlize Theron, and Idris Elba, is very good, especially Fassbender. I did not love Noomi Rapace here and was left wondering how they could not have found somebody better for the role. The main complaint I had heard about this one beforehand was the script, but I personally have no complaints and thought it was just fine. Unoriginal, sure, and heavily inspired by the sci-fi films before it without question, but I did not come here expecting an original sci-fi project, now did I. At the end of the day, I came for thrills and great special effects and that is exactly what I got with a little bonus of great cinematography and acting. Only complaint would be the added religious (or non-religious?) element. I think the story could have been approached differently without inserting religion at every turn. Prometheus is far from a great film, but I will be damned if it is not an entertaining and satisfying prequel to Alien. Expand
  22. Sep 7, 2012
    7
    I' am a huge sci-fi and Alien movie geek. So when I heard Ridley Scott was making a new sci-fi movie, you can guess my excitement. I never go into movies expecting it to be flawed or the next Godfather. It is a great futuristic thriller. A story of a group of scientist on a quest to meeting humanity's makers that goes terribly wrong. Noomi Rapace does a great job as the leading role whichI' am a huge sci-fi and Alien movie geek. So when I heard Ridley Scott was making a new sci-fi movie, you can guess my excitement. I never go into movies expecting it to be flawed or the next Godfather. It is a great futuristic thriller. A story of a group of scientist on a quest to meeting humanity's makers that goes terribly wrong. Noomi Rapace does a great job as the leading role which has a great resemblance to Sigourney Weaver's role. Micheal Fassbender is just perfect as the android we all know. Charlize Theron gives a great performance as the heartless illusive antagonist of the movie. These three lead characters give the only worth while performances. The rest, I could care less about because obviously they where put as "extras" to be killed with no character development at all. The story seemed very interesting which is the key objective for me. The story has plot holes but so did 1979's Alien and those were eventually explain. Overall I enjoyed watching this film, Definitely worth seeing. Expand
  23. Aug 12, 2012
    7
    As an Alien quasi-prequel, the elements that make this a prequel does feel like it's hurting the movie. The visuals are amazing. Fassbender great as always. But like Damon Lindelof's other infamous show (Lost), this film has a lot of big mysterious that not a lot have been pulled out unsatisfyingly.
  24. Sep 23, 2012
    7
    Don't you even try to go watching it thinking you'll understand everything immediately: go watch Prometheus like if it was an old fashioned sci-fi film, where some questions are intentionally left unanswered in order to make the audience wonder and think about it.
    The day after I left the theatre embittered I looked for the explanation of some scenes on the Internet, which seemed to have
    Don't you even try to go watching it thinking you'll understand everything immediately: go watch Prometheus like if it was an old fashioned sci-fi film, where some questions are intentionally left unanswered in order to make the audience wonder and think about it.
    The day after I left the theatre embittered I looked for the explanation of some scenes on the Internet, which seemed to have a symbolical meaning: I found plenty of videos explaining the film metaphorically and symbolically.Thus, I thought Prometheus is a good film.
    The acting is not that awesome but David, the android played by Michael Fassbender, is astonishingly great.Visually speaking, Prometheus is magnificent: the visual FX (charmingly) surround the excellent framing work Ridley Scott did.
    For God' Sake: if you are watching it in a theatre, make sure you are watching the film in 3D.
    The Official SoundTrack gave me goosebumps: please note that the HD version of the original Alien's main theme made me giggle in Happiness.
    It is not a perfect film, though
    Expand
  25. Sep 22, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I did not know, until I was in the theater and saw it unfold before me, that Prometheus is a prequel to Alien. Somehow that part of the marketing scheme didn't reach me. I thought, oh, that's strange. Ridley Scott is making another space movie that looks remarkably similar to Alien, and he's even using the same lettering. He must be desperate. Oops. My bad. It's a prequel. But it's also not. You see, Prometheus takes place in the same universe as Alien, before the events in Alien. It heavily references Alien, and its main plot is related to an alien race that is encountered in Alien, but not the chest-popping dude with the cool second jaw. That's where it strays from prequel status: Ridley Scott is attempting to develop an original story here, only very loosely related to Alien.

    It is the story of human beginnings, one of the most enticing questions in the history of the world. It is not a true story, of course; don't be fooled by the really cool special effects. It is a story that, at the end of Prometheus, is not over. Scott has announced that he intended from the beginning for this to be a series, and not a standalone film. We do not yet know how many sequels there will be, but I am expecting at least one.

    I liked it, more than I thought I would. I am usually a fan of Ridley Scott, as Gladiator and Alien are two of my favorite films, so I suppose I should not be surprised. If there is a sequel, will I see it? Yes, of course. There are some things about this movie that are really far-fetched, and other things that are definitely not possible with any sort of technology. So that's weird. But for the most part, the story drew me in and kept me interested. The acting held up, and the visuals were really cool. There isn't much to say for character development or hidden themes, though. It's just a story. Enjoy it for what it is, and don't expect it to stack up to Alien.

    A lot of the reviewers on IMDb really hate this movie. I think they must have been expecting something as good as Alien, so they were pissed off at what they got. But it's not a bad movie, folks. I don't need to tell you that the haters are full of **** judging by the fact that most of them gave the movie a 1/10, which is unreal - I mean come on.

    I'm a little disappointed by Charlize Theron in her role, which surprises me, but I'll blame it on her character. I don't feel that Meredith Vickers has a lot of depth, and her little twist is really obvious. I just think she's weird. Michael Fassbender, though... let's talk about him. This guy greatly impressed me in Inglourious Basterds, but his role was so minor that he didn't have a chance to really shine. Now he plays David, the android, in Prometheus, and it's nothing short of splendid. His sparkle is somehow very artificial, his body language just slightly inhuman. He provides the appearance of possessing superhuman intelligence, and the look in his eyes is one of incredible cunning, but also great curiosity, especially toward living things. This is certainly the most compelling depiction of an android yet, and much more impressive than [I won't spoil the surprise] in Alien or Lance Henriksen in Aliens (or, of course, Arnold in Terminator). In the defense of those Alien(s) guys, though, Fassbender's character is much more prominent in the story of Prometheus.

    I also feel that Noomi Rapace does a great job in her lead role; she manages not to allow Fassbender to eclipse her, which is impressive. Her performance is very believable, even if some of her character's actions are far-fetched (more on that in the viewers-only section). The rest of the cast is primarily unknown, but they make a relatively good ensemble. I could do without the goofy guys that get lost, but I can't fault the actors for that; they do their job well. I will note that Idris Elba, who plays the ship's captain in this film, is better known to some of us as Stringer Bell from HBO's The Wire. For those of you who don't know, Stringer is one of the most enthralling characters I have ever seen in film or television, and Elba is absolutely amazing in that role. Since that time, I have seen him in a couple of minor roles, including this one, and I personally wish he had quit acting after The Wire. While his performances are nowhere near poor, I cannot help but think of him as Stringer Bell.

    For a much more lengthy and in-depth review, see my blog at kofdrops.blogspot.com.
    Expand
  26. Sep 30, 2012
    7
    Prometheus does what you've seen many, many sci-fi movies do before... However, it does it all well. From the get go it is fairly easy to predict which characters are going to die and in which order, but whilst the initial set up feels a bit lacking in orginality, Prometheus delivers its gruesome deaths with a powerful punch. The vistas are stunning and Prometheus represents another hugePrometheus does what you've seen many, many sci-fi movies do before... However, it does it all well. From the get go it is fairly easy to predict which characters are going to die and in which order, but whilst the initial set up feels a bit lacking in orginality, Prometheus delivers its gruesome deaths with a powerful punch. The vistas are stunning and Prometheus represents another huge leap in CGI landscapes. It's easiest to describe the quality of the effects as a grittier version of Avatar. The film leaves many questions unanswered in true Alien style which many audience members may be frustrated with, and a sequel happy ending feels a little bit forced. However, fans of Alien are sure to get a kick out of seeing technologies and locations they know and fear. Overall, Prometheus is an impressive film, yet falls short of the heights it was built up to reach. Expand
  27. Oct 4, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Prometheus is a science fiction thrill ride that leaves you itching for more. Director Ridley Scott stylishly utilizes the latest in CGI and 3D technology to launch the viewer into an alien infested nightmare. The film is a prequel to the hugely popular science fiction series Expand
  28. Oct 13, 2012
    7
    The plot is not tight enough. Questions are left unanswered and some of them are the big ones. But all of this can be shadowed by the film's artistic visuals and the constant thrills that it gives. Prometheus is not perfect nor excellent. It is just good.
  29. Jan 19, 2013
    7
    I want to start off by saying that if you've set your expectations (like I did) on seeing Aliens or at least some Alien "goodness", you will be very disappointed. However, watching it a second time, I tried to be more objective; to see it as a separate title, not as a "Alien' prequel. Without going very deep (because I would ruin the whole experience) I find this movie -- interesting.I want to start off by saying that if you've set your expectations (like I did) on seeing Aliens or at least some Alien "goodness", you will be very disappointed. However, watching it a second time, I tried to be more objective; to see it as a separate title, not as a "Alien' prequel. Without going very deep (because I would ruin the whole experience) I find this movie -- interesting. It's far from great, it's far from what older Sci-Fi movies have done, not to mention it's way below the bar which the Alien series has set long ago. The plot has some problems and, the characters are rather undeveloped and some of them feel out of place (they're not relevant, given the nature of their task) and the story has a very slow pace. On the other hand, the visuals are amazing and the cinematography - spectacular, all the while the 3D implementation is somewhat pointless. I gave it a 7 because I respect Ridley's effort and although I've been disappointed with it overall, I admit it has strong aspects. Let's face it, the movie industry is on a downward slope for some years now, and it doesn't seem to get any better when even the most respected directors disappoint. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: David Denby
    Jun 11, 2012
    80
    Scott may always have had an eye on the box office, but from "Alien" and "Thelma & Louise" on, he has made women into heroines. In that regard, he's still ahead of the curve. Rapace's scene is a classic of its kind; it tops John Hurt's notorious misfortunes in "Alien."
  2. 70
    It's a different sort of experience: a stately, somewhat plodding but endurable science-fiction saga.
  3. 75
    There's definite mastery here, but it's hardly a masterpiece.