Prometheus Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1818 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Filmmaker Ridley Scott returns to the genre he helped define, creating an original science fiction epic set in the most dangerous corners of the universe. The film takes a team of scientists and explorers on a thrilling journey that will test their physical and mental limits and strand themFilmmaker Ridley Scott returns to the genre he helped define, creating an original science fiction epic set in the most dangerous corners of the universe. The film takes a team of scientists and explorers on a thrilling journey that will test their physical and mental limits and strand them on a distant world, where they will discover the answers to our most profound questions and to life's ultimate mystery. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A magnificent science-fiction film, all the more intriguing because it raises questions about the origin of human life and doesn't have the answers.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 6, 2012
    83
    Prometheus is an unquestionable good time, one of the best big-screen science fiction accomplishments since 'Avatar.'
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2012
    80
    Although Ridley Scott's 3D visual feast is no classic, the oozing alien tentacles hit all the right sci-fi horror notes.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    The virtuosity on display makes the weakness of the story all the more frustrating. I'll avoid spoilers here, but Prometheus kind of spoils itself with twists and reversals that pull the movie away from its lofty, mind-blowing potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 5, 2012
    60
    It's imaginative only in a stiff, expensive way. Scott vests the movie with an admirable degree of integrity – it doesn't feel like a cheap grab for our moviegoing dollars – but it doesn't inspire anything so vital as wonder or fear, either.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Try as it might, the movie is hardly profound, and the murky atmosphere and the leaden pace drag things down.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Jun 5, 2012
    38
    It aspires to Stanley Kubrick's "2001", but in its maddeningly unresolved plot threads and cornball cosmic mysticism, it lands closer to "Mission to Mars" -though Prometheus lacks any action set piece as gripping as the Brian De Palma film's sentient sandstorm.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    After seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the originalAfter seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the original Alien, liked Predators and Alien 3, but all of the other films set in the fictional Alien/Predator universe are pretty terrible, especially AVP2 which was one of the worst films I have ever seen. After AVP2 I vowed I was done with both of the franchises for good. But after some coaxing by a couple of friends, I reluctantly went to see the Prometheus opening in IMAX. Couldn't be happier. Amazing visuals. Intriguing plot lines. Excellent character portrayals by most of the cast. Intense edge-of-your-seat thrill ride, but not only was it thrilling, it was gripping. The cinematography was excellent. The character development of David was spectacular. The story line exceeds all of the other movies of the Alien/Predator franchises, except for the original Alien, combined. I'm glad I spent the money to see the IMAX version, and I am planning to see this at least two to three more times in IMAX before its run is over. Last movie I saw in a theater more than once? The first Matrix film. Saw it twice. This movie is right on par with it as far as an overall experience. Surpassed even Avatar, far surpassed in my opinion, in overall 3D movie experience/entertainment. This is a must see. Anyone saying it was boring, or hard to follow, doesn't know what a great movie is. There is no hand-holding through the movie. You must think for yourself and form theories as you as you go along, and this film kept me guessing through the end, but not to a point that I ever felt I was "lost." Wonderful Experience. 9.7/10 Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    The most original Alien film since the first movie. All sequels were just copies of the first one. If you're looking for another horror actionThe most original Alien film since the first movie. All sequels were just copies of the first one. If you're looking for another horror action movie, then Prometheus is not for you.

    Prometheus brings to the table some serious ideas. The portrayal of Engineers, the ones that created the Aliens and Humans was masterfully executed. The film subtly shows how human kind can be small compared to what may be actually going on outside of our solar system. Film raises more questions than it answers, but it does it in a smart way because all the questions seem to lead to one point which probably will be the core of the upcoming sequel, called Paradise (the home of Engineers). Of course, to those who are not interested in big questions about our existence, they'll get bored fast. Prometheus presents an idea, that Human kind was in some way created by an Alien civilization for some particular reason that's still unknown. Though scientifically speaking there's no evidence nor reason to assume something like that, it's still an intriguing idea.

    I give this movie 10, because it dares to be more serious than fun.
    Expand
  3. Jun 14, 2012
    9
    I saw Prometheus last week and it was pretty good. When Mr. Ridley Scott came back after hiding away for a little while, he wanted a film thatI saw Prometheus last week and it was pretty good. When Mr. Ridley Scott came back after hiding away for a little while, he wanted a film that is not an "Alien" prequel and discover the secrets beyond a mysterious vessel unlike any other. The film was incredible and Noomi Rapace (her hair looked the same as Ripley in the original Alien) was incredible. I also praised Michael Fassbender's role as David because he's more like a arrogant and sometimes humble gentleman, but he's more of a robot-like clone from "I. Robot." But the height and sounds of the movie gives you enough adrenaline, your heart pumps, and your feet is shaking as you go into a terrifying and explorational feeling you might can expect from both James Cameron and Ridley Scott. I've heard Prometheus is gonna be out on Blu-Ray sometime in the fall of 2012, but I'll save my money. From now on, I have to see this again. Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    Prometheus is a movie I'm deeply split on. On one hand, you have some truly awful writing, cringe-worthy dialogue, and idiotic charactersPrometheus is a movie I'm deeply split on. On one hand, you have some truly awful writing, cringe-worthy dialogue, and idiotic characters (with the exception Michael Fassbender's performance as the android "David"). However, it's wonderfully creative imagery as well as the exploration of space jockeys give the movie something many films lack: The ability to discuss what was left unanswered. The fact that it's been nearly a full-day since I've seen the movie and I'm still discussing it is a good sign.

    In short, Prometheus, despite being marred by bad writing, dumb characters, and poor pacing, is worth a watch.
    Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2012
    5
    Prometheus is visually striking; however, after it spends it's first hour building us up and provoking thoughts, it simply states what it'sPrometheus is visually striking; however, after it spends it's first hour building us up and provoking thoughts, it simply states what it's getting up to, then goes ahead and gets up to it. There is essentially, no payoff, and a film of this genre demands a grande finale. Expand
  6. Jun 10, 2012
    3
    PROMETHEUS: feh to meh. Kinda turgid. Doesn't know what it wants to be, as though plot strands ended up on the cutting room floor. Meandering,PROMETHEUS: feh to meh. Kinda turgid. Doesn't know what it wants to be, as though plot strands ended up on the cutting room floor. Meandering, no real suspense save for one scene. With few exceptions, pretty lackluster performances, though the actors need to be extended some credit for being saddled with lame, underwritten characters. And why dress Guy Pearce up in freshman year old man makeup when you could get, like, a real old man?? Pretty awful, imho. (Upon reflection, obviously there must have been footage of a young Guy Pearce that didn't make the final print. Even more laziness; my g.f. and I sat there the entire time thinking "why is this guy MADE UP??") Good to know: $200+ million and you can still suck. Expand
  7. Jan 28, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A terrible movie/script in almost all ways;

    * Stupid chars that make stupid decisions.
    * Quasi-religious and pretentious. ("It's what i choose to belive"...c'mon?!)
    * Science gets raped.(i.e the FACT of Evolution)
    * Logic and reason is nowhere.
    * An insult to the Alien-universe. Even AVP is more enjoyable.
    * Boring and in no way suspenseful
    * Not one bit as "profound" that some ppl seems to think.
    * Auto C-section scene; probably one of the most non-intentionally funniest scenes ever.
    * Giant squid facehuggers, "Space jockey smash!", terrible Xenomorph, The ol' run in a straight line death-scene..........
    I could go on and on...

    I mean WTH R.Scott?
    This tripe is such an insult to my senses and intelligence. 120 million dollars down the drain. GG
    Expand

See all 591 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.