Prometheus Image
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1861 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Filmmaker Ridley Scott returns to the genre he helped define, creating an original science fiction epic set in the most dangerous corners of the universe. The film takes a team of scientists and explorers on a thrilling journey that will test their physical and mental limits and strand themFilmmaker Ridley Scott returns to the genre he helped define, creating an original science fiction epic set in the most dangerous corners of the universe. The film takes a team of scientists and explorers on a thrilling journey that will test their physical and mental limits and strand them on a distant world, where they will discover the answers to our most profound questions and to life's ultimate mystery. (20th Century Fox) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 42
  2. Negative: 1 out of 42
  1. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Jun 6, 2012
    100
    A magnificent science-fiction film, all the more intriguing because it raises questions about the origin of human life and doesn't have the answers.
  2. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 6, 2012
    83
    Prometheus is an unquestionable good time, one of the best big-screen science fiction accomplishments since 'Avatar.'
  3. Reviewed by: Todd McCarthy
    May 30, 2012
    80
    Although Ridley Scott's 3D visual feast is no classic, the oozing alien tentacles hit all the right sci-fi horror notes.
  4. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jun 7, 2012
    70
    The virtuosity on display makes the weakness of the story all the more frustrating. I'll avoid spoilers here, but Prometheus kind of spoils itself with twists and reversals that pull the movie away from its lofty, mind-blowing potential.
  5. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 5, 2012
    60
    It's imaginative only in a stiff, expensive way. Scott vests the movie with an admirable degree of integrity – it doesn't feel like a cheap grab for our moviegoing dollars – but it doesn't inspire anything so vital as wonder or fear, either.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Jun 7, 2012
    50
    Try as it might, the movie is hardly profound, and the murky atmosphere and the leaden pace drag things down.
  7. Reviewed by: John Semley
    Jun 5, 2012
    38
    It aspires to Stanley Kubrick's "2001", but in its maddeningly unresolved plot threads and cornball cosmic mysticism, it lands closer to "Mission to Mars" -though Prometheus lacks any action set piece as gripping as the Brian De Palma film's sentient sandstorm.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    After seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the originalAfter seeing the Previews I had mixed feelings about Prometheus. Yes it looked like it would be visually pleasing, and I love the original Alien, liked Predators and Alien 3, but all of the other films set in the fictional Alien/Predator universe are pretty terrible, especially AVP2 which was one of the worst films I have ever seen. After AVP2 I vowed I was done with both of the franchises for good. But after some coaxing by a couple of friends, I reluctantly went to see the Prometheus opening in IMAX. Couldn't be happier. Amazing visuals. Intriguing plot lines. Excellent character portrayals by most of the cast. Intense edge-of-your-seat thrill ride, but not only was it thrilling, it was gripping. The cinematography was excellent. The character development of David was spectacular. The story line exceeds all of the other movies of the Alien/Predator franchises, except for the original Alien, combined. I'm glad I spent the money to see the IMAX version, and I am planning to see this at least two to three more times in IMAX before its run is over. Last movie I saw in a theater more than once? The first Matrix film. Saw it twice. This movie is right on par with it as far as an overall experience. Surpassed even Avatar, far surpassed in my opinion, in overall 3D movie experience/entertainment. This is a must see. Anyone saying it was boring, or hard to follow, doesn't know what a great movie is. There is no hand-holding through the movie. You must think for yourself and form theories as you as you go along, and this film kept me guessing through the end, but not to a point that I ever felt I was "lost." Wonderful Experience. 9.7/10 Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2014
    10
    The most original Alien film since the first movie. All sequels were just copies of the first one. If you're looking for another horror actionThe most original Alien film since the first movie. All sequels were just copies of the first one. If you're looking for another horror action movie, then Prometheus is not for you.

    Prometheus brings to the table some serious ideas. The portrayal of Engineers, the ones that created the Aliens and Humans was masterfully executed. The film subtly shows how human kind can be small compared to what may be actually going on outside of our solar system. Film raises more questions than it answers, but it does it in a smart way because all the questions seem to lead to one point which probably will be the core of the upcoming sequel, called Paradise (the home of Engineers). Of course, to those who are not interested in big questions about our existence, they'll get bored fast. Prometheus presents an idea, that Human kind was in some way created by an Alien civilization for some particular reason that's still unknown. Though scientifically speaking there's no evidence nor reason to assume something like that, it's still an intriguing idea.

    I give this movie 10, because it dares to be more serious than fun.
    Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    I thought this was a brilliant movie. Great acting, intriguing and original story line and stunning visuals. I'm quite surprised it's copped aI thought this was a brilliant movie. Great acting, intriguing and original story line and stunning visuals. I'm quite surprised it's copped a lot of flack Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2012
    6
    I've never felt this underwhelmed for a film in a while. I'll put it simply: the editing and writing was truly horrible. The only thingI've never felt this underwhelmed for a film in a while. I'll put it simply: the editing and writing was truly horrible. The only thing that kept me watching was hoping that it would turn around. I did love the visuals and cinematography, but it's kind of hard for the cinematography to become even greater when a shot doesn't last. Acting was also great, but could of been greater if the story was written better. The end. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    It is a real pity that a film as visually astonishing as Prometheus, with good cast and a visionary director on a story based on the veryIt is a real pity that a film as visually astonishing as Prometheus, with good cast and a visionary director on a story based on the very question mankind has always tried to answer (where do we come from?) to fall short due to lack of suspense, very poor script and the ridiculous looking 'humanity makers'. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Be warned, this film is very stupid. Highly intelligent alien beings created all life on earth yet are stupid enough to revisit ages later and leave us clues and directions to their moon base so we can go there and destroy them. This is a trillion dollar endeavor to reach this moon and this rag tag group of characters is the best Peter Weyland could come up with to see this mission succeed? State of the art probes that can't detect worms or mutated snake aliens. An android with the ability to see into the future. How else would david know that by poisoning a crew member with alien goo he would copulate with his barren girlfriend an she would conceive an alien facehugger? This film has more plot holes than swiss cheese. Since when are archaeologists also biologists and skilled enough surgeons to operate advanced surgical equipment on themselves while a squid tears at their insides? Still not impressed? Evolution only takes minutes and hours in this film, not years or eons. One final spoiler: the alien life cycle has no incubation/developement stage and produces full grown xenomorphs that explode out of the host body, no chestbursters here. Very disappointing film indeed! Expand
  7. Jul 28, 2016
    0
    One of the most ridiculous "movies" I´ve ever seen. What a lousy job... The Plot goes like this: Humanity discovers some hints to its ownOne of the most ridiculous "movies" I´ve ever seen. What a lousy job... The Plot goes like this: Humanity discovers some hints to its own extraterrestrial origin, far away on another planet. So you invest overwhelmingly huge amounts of money, time and ressources to set up a mission to approach that planet. Of course you need a crew: ELITE representatives of our species. The best of the best. The creme de la creme, you need the best trained, most disciplined and dedicated professionals & scientists on earth to get this done right. But instead of hiring professionals, you dispatch the most embarrassing bunch of IDIOTS to that planet. Some navigation "expert" who gets lost, some nerd with glasses fidging around in front of a snake-like alien, some brainless idiots who immediately let the secured alien head explode instead of doing serious research, some stupid potter with space suit-integrated waterpipe, a sex hungry blondie captain who rather gets black kock instead of doing a proper job on the ship, further there are many other brainless cowards. The ship itself seems to abound of every modern kind of technology but when it comes to a distress call, nobody is on the bridge and the ship doesn´t even support callforwarding or answerphone features and nobody can hear the distress call. The alien childbirth itself is somehow possible but NOBODY who just recieved a caesarian operation and simply being stapled together would be able to run miles and miles directly afterwards. There are way too many logical faults in prometheus, it´s a bloody mess. There are so many, they wouldn´t even fit in this text box. Nice CGI and stuff is a bad and insufficient excuse and I won´t watch this crap ever again. Clearly no recommendation, there are way way better Sci Fi movies out there. Expand

See all 601 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.
  3. DVD Release Calendar: October 2012

    DVD Release Calendar: October 2012 Image
    Published: September 26, 2012
    Prometheus, the latest season of Mad Men, summer hits from Wes Anderson and Steven Soderbergh, and LCD Soundsystem's final concert are among the DVD/Blu-ray highlights this October. Get the full release calendar inside.
  4. Six Picks for the Week of June 4-10

    Six Picks for the Week of June 4-10 Image
    Published: June 3, 2012
    This week, Ridley Scott's "Prometheus" finally lands in theaters, while gamers head to Los Angeles for the annual E3 conference, "Tron" gets animated, and a Beatles classic hits Blu-ray for the first time. Get all of the week's picks inside.
  5. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: June 1, 2012
    Get a complete recap of the week's major movie news, and watch new trailers and clips for "The Bourne Legacy," "Les Miserables," "The Amazing Spider-Man," "Prometheus," "Premium Rush," and more.