Miramax Films | Release Date: September 16, 2005
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 45 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
26
Mixed:
16
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
DanaM.Oct 8, 2005
Entertaining film. Worth seeng but does not deserve a 10 rating. No film deserves a ten rating or a zero at that. A tad depressing and frustrating but madness will do that to folks. Timeline at times a little confusing but overall well acted Entertaining film. Worth seeng but does not deserve a 10 rating. No film deserves a ten rating or a zero at that. A tad depressing and frustrating but madness will do that to folks. Timeline at times a little confusing but overall well acted and directed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PennyE.Sep 18, 2005
I thought it was a most intelligent film and Paltrow was brilliantly directed by Madden.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardSOct 2, 2005
Absolutely one of the best movies of the year, and a tremendous performance by Paltrow. I was astounded at how well the play translated onto the screen with minimal changes, but without feeing stagy. Hopkins was also very good at what Absolutely one of the best movies of the year, and a tremendous performance by Paltrow. I was astounded at how well the play translated onto the screen with minimal changes, but without feeing stagy. Hopkins was also very good at what portraying someone with an undetermined madness (probably *not* schizophrenia); his physical presence gave the performance just the right touch. The only "complaint" my wife gave was that you came away not hating Hope Davis's character quite enough. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
FrankS.Oct 23, 2005
I thought Gwyneth did a sensational job of showng the fringe between genius and sanity.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanM.Oct 28, 2005
This is one of the nest movies I have seen in such a long time. Gwyneth is once again AMAZING! And Anthony Hopkins is brilliant as well. A really impressive conversion of stage show to movie. I was so engrossed in the story that I This is one of the nest movies I have seen in such a long time. Gwyneth is once again AMAZING! And Anthony Hopkins is brilliant as well. A really impressive conversion of stage show to movie. I was so engrossed in the story that I didn't want it to end. John Madden is a very talented director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobB.Sep 17, 2005
Simply fantastic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeB.Sep 8, 2005
Best film of the year! Gwyneth's performance deserves an oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JenMar 31, 2006
Generally well acted and directed, but kind of dull. Paltrow's a little over the top in parts and not terribly believable as a math genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyB.Apr 5, 2006
This is a very intelligently written film that will unfortunately appeal mainly to a specific and rather small audience. It is well acted by Anthony Hopkins and by Jake Gylenhall, who is not miscast as some of the critics insist. The real This is a very intelligently written film that will unfortunately appeal mainly to a specific and rather small audience. It is well acted by Anthony Hopkins and by Jake Gylenhall, who is not miscast as some of the critics insist. The real acting honors, however, go to Gynneth Paltrow and Hope Davis, who, especially when they are in the same scenes, are just about perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
2RoadsJun 3, 2007
A must see story for those living in the metaphorical house of quandary while caretaking a loved one. "How many days have I lost?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
EllenS.Sep 23, 2005
I really enjoyed this film. Gwyneth Paltrow -- for once not made up to be the perfect American blonde beauty -- gives a great performance as the sad but ultimately determined heroine. Jake Gyllenhaal is very entertaining as an incredibly I really enjoyed this film. Gwyneth Paltrow -- for once not made up to be the perfect American blonde beauty -- gives a great performance as the sad but ultimately determined heroine. Jake Gyllenhaal is very entertaining as an incredibly good looking math geek (that could happen, right?) and Hope Davis was so convincing as the ambitious, ultra organized and controlling big sister that I nearly reached through the screen to punch her out. It was an interesting and often surprisng story, well worth a trip to the theater but it will play well in the home theater down the line. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Sep 25, 2005
Gorgeous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JennyE.Feb 16, 2006
I enjoyed this film more than most films I watch. Paltrow and Davis shine in a very real sister relationship. There is enough mystery to keep you interested, and emotionally involved right to the end. The ending, while not totally I enjoyed this film more than most films I watch. Paltrow and Davis shine in a very real sister relationship. There is enough mystery to keep you interested, and emotionally involved right to the end. The ending, while not totally satisfying, was realistic. I didn't want the story to end. Very well done by all invoved ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SharonB.Jun 18, 2006
Great job by Gwyneth Paltrow. Would like to know more about this complicated family.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SebastianRRDec 30, 2013
Una pelicula brillante, enigmatica y muy bien planeada para mantener al espectador pendiente de lo que iva a suceder. Muy buenas actuacion esteleres en especial de Gwyneth Paltrow y Anthony Hopkins
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews