Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2007
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 150 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
96
Mixed:
21
Negative:
33
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
simonerodriguezMar 13, 2016
i love this film so much,no matter how many times i see it it makes me cry!!!! the acting is so believable i felt like the two main characters were in love in real life!!! a must see!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
RyanC.Dec 31, 2007
If there's a strength to this movie, I sure as he'll didn't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Jul 19, 2009
I'm a guy who usually doesn't mind romantic comedies. I've found that how much I like a particular rom-com depends upon the comedy and chemistry of the lead characters. In the case of "P.S.", I did not buy into the story one I'm a guy who usually doesn't mind romantic comedies. I've found that how much I like a particular rom-com depends upon the comedy and chemistry of the lead characters. In the case of "P.S.", I did not buy into the story one ounce, and I didn't think there was any chemistry between the main characters. It's much too sappy and thick to do without chemistry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BillH.Apr 5, 2008
I just watched this film while strapped into an airline seat from Philly to Denver. This movie was so bad, so tedius, and so obviously written solely as a big-screen version of Days of our Lives that I honestly considered unbolting the door I just watched this film while strapped into an airline seat from Philly to Denver. This movie was so bad, so tedius, and so obviously written solely as a big-screen version of Days of our Lives that I honestly considered unbolting the door and jumping out at 38,000 feet lest I sit through yet another sappy scene. On the other hand, I did think Lisa Kudrow turned in a decent job of acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
NoraR.Jan 3, 2008
If you are looking for a sensitive movie which is human but humorous on the topic of loss and moving on, dont go to this! Its really crass and awful. It probably doesnt help, that Im Irish, and I found the fake badly-acted Irish accents just If you are looking for a sensitive movie which is human but humorous on the topic of loss and moving on, dont go to this! Its really crass and awful. It probably doesnt help, that Im Irish, and I found the fake badly-acted Irish accents just added insult to injury. There was no sense of the devastating bereavement and loneliness that comes with the unexpected loss of a young man. In fact the only person who appeared to miss this dead man (on occasions) was his widow. And even as a chick-flick, the characters were stereotyped beyond human recognition. The needy girlfriend the cold man-hunting best friend.... Often chick-lit stereotypes the men, but this one went one further and did the same to the girls.... I could only recommend this to females who are really hung over and in want of a little eye candy..... (if you can endure the mind-numbing embarrassing scenes in between.) You have some hope of enjoying this if you fancy one of the three v fine looking (including the extraordinarily healthy looking dead guy) but it may help further if you turn the sound down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BuzzBFeb 8, 2008
People cried?? I nearly cried at the excruciating tedium of having to sit through this. Butler was smarmy and unconvincing. Hilary Swank only had two expressions - a huge grin or bawling her eyes out - both of which looked almost identical. People cried?? I nearly cried at the excruciating tedium of having to sit through this. Butler was smarmy and unconvincing. Hilary Swank only had two expressions - a huge grin or bawling her eyes out - both of which looked almost identical. Hopeless, contrived script. Lisa Kudrow should not be on the big screen - ever. Only Harry Connick jr. had an interesting part. I'm not against Rom Coms - I actually like them if they're any good. This one isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SteveJJan 5, 2008
It can't be a cooincidence that most of the high user reviews for this sappy mess of a chick flick come from chicks. The rest of the women used male name pseudonyms so they would not be found out. No self respecting man could watch this It can't be a cooincidence that most of the high user reviews for this sappy mess of a chick flick come from chicks. The rest of the women used male name pseudonyms so they would not be found out. No self respecting man could watch this movie and give it a ten. If he did he would have to turn in his man card immediately and go purchase a sleeveless spandex shirt and hot pants. I gave it a chance for the sake of my wife. An olive branch for my future piece (if you know what I mean) and harmony. I like Harry C and Swank is typically good but this whole movie seemed very forced. Perhaps it needed Meg Ryan or Reece Witherspoon, Swank just didn't quite pull it off. The gist seemed to be, cram every sappy sentimental and uber gooey goodness into two hours and you will have it. By the end it was a bit much. I can get that time back, save yourself, save yourself!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorginaFeb 1, 2008
I read the book and loved it and watched the film and loved it! I think it's heart warming, endearing, and although it's hard to believe there are really guys like Gerry in the real world...A girl can dream can't she...Really I read the book and loved it and watched the film and loved it! I think it's heart warming, endearing, and although it's hard to believe there are really guys like Gerry in the real world...A girl can dream can't she...Really liked it and think Hillary was awesome! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeP.Feb 19, 2008
This movie touched me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EJMay 10, 2008
With all the crap that has come out lately I thought this was a refreshing movie with a great cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NanA.May 30, 2008
Did anyone read the New York Times review of this film? It was actually worse than the film, comparing Hillary Swak (mostly unfavorably) to Barbara Stanwyck and Joan Crawford, stating that Crawford would have eaten Swank for Did anyone read the New York Times review of this film? It was actually worse than the film, comparing Hillary Swak (mostly unfavorably) to Barbara Stanwyck and Joan Crawford, stating that Crawford would have eaten Swank for breakfast...Ditto for Pauline Kael and this P.K. wanna be reviewer! This film is a thinly-disguised, twisted attempt to creat a gender bender re-make of 1982's Kiss Me Goodbye, itself a diluted version of Bruno Barreto's Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands. The "dialogue" is insipid and screams that contemporary Holywood writers read only the prose on cereal boxes, and probably only make it through eighth grade. The women were cardboard drag queen creations of misogynist writers and director, while the men were lame hyper-"charming" and "masculine" leprechauns auditioning to be Chippendales. Nobody, no matter how talented, could have shone in this freakish film. The only tears we shed were for the time we spent watching it. Hillary Swank's Robocop one facial expression (complete with lockjaw, angry eyes and simian grimace ) seemed to convey grief and pleasure equally. The Joker in Batman was more nuanced and evoked more emotions from the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BryanCJun 20, 2008
The premise was cliche indeed, but the characters honesty about the situation was endearing to a fault. Every time I thought something was silly, so did the characters. I'm a hetero man, I watched it with my wife and we both loved it. The premise was cliche indeed, but the characters honesty about the situation was endearing to a fault. Every time I thought something was silly, so did the characters. I'm a hetero man, I watched it with my wife and we both loved it. Harry Connick junior was fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaireJun 9, 2008
an UNREAL film. the critics obviously are blind to see that it was a gripping film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AinsleyM.Jan 14, 2008
It was amazing. I have never enjoyed a film so much. It takes a lot to make me cry and this film did it. I could watch it over and over.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HeidiC.Jan 26, 2008
bad, its just so boring!!! i fell asleep halfway through! I read the book and they changed half of the story( by the way the book was ssooooo good!!!).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MelissaJ.Jan 28, 2008
Great film. Curious how these critics define good filmmaking (and if they consider Rambo a good example). The script and acting were brilliant, but it is pretty emotionally heavy. Contrary to what some have said, I believe Swank was perfect Great film. Curious how these critics define good filmmaking (and if they consider Rambo a good example). The script and acting were brilliant, but it is pretty emotionally heavy. Contrary to what some have said, I believe Swank was perfect for this role. Character development was excellent. A definite must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AmandaMJan 3, 2008
10+++ Critics don't know what they are talking about. I've already seen it twice. It really captures human emotion in it's purest, real form. I found myself crying and I rarely cry at movies. I will buy this the day it comes 10+++ Critics don't know what they are talking about. I've already seen it twice. It really captures human emotion in it's purest, real form. I found myself crying and I rarely cry at movies. I will buy this the day it comes out on DVD!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SarrahS.Jan 4, 2008
This was a great movie. I cried and laughed throughout, and haven't seen a movie that spurred such emotion in me in a while. Maybe I'm a sucker, but I absolutely loved it. I felt close to the characters, and the director and actors This was a great movie. I cried and laughed throughout, and haven't seen a movie that spurred such emotion in me in a while. Maybe I'm a sucker, but I absolutely loved it. I felt close to the characters, and the director and actors did a great job in the first 20 minutes of the film helping the audience fall in love with the characters so that we could be involved throughout the movie. The soundtrack was great as well. Not surprised that the critics didn't like it, since I generally don't agree with the critics. See this movie. It's wonderful. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AramisG.Jan 7, 2008
Hallmarks version of mourning. So bad you will be exhausted and fatigued every time another sentimental love song kicks in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LauraW.Feb 4, 2008
Awesome film! I lost count of how many times I cried!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadFeb 4, 2008
my girlfriend and i were extremely excited to go watch this and weren't disappointed in the least bit. p.s is sad and often depressing but at the same time its cute and funny. easily the best of this genre since the notebook and will my girlfriend and i were extremely excited to go watch this and weren't disappointed in the least bit. p.s is sad and often depressing but at the same time its cute and funny. easily the best of this genre since the notebook and will hopefully become as popular as the notebook in the long run. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RubiMar 1, 2008
this movie was ever so creative i enjoyed it to the fullest!! i cried through the whole movie and was amazed at the little details that were included in. one of my fave.s!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JayH.May 1, 2008
5.5/10. The terrific cast can't save this sappy romance. If the movie wasn't so over sentimental, I would have enjoyed it more. It's too corny at times. I enjoyed the cast though, everyone did well.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlastairP.Jul 9, 2008
I was surprised at the big laughs that I got. Sure, it was contrived, but it still provided a romantic good time. It's a movie that won't offend anyone .
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CHRISR.Dec 21, 2007
Great cinematography; very charming film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeC.Dec 22, 2007
Diregard all colorful commentary , It actually has good message for grief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FabianM.Jan 13, 2008
I hope everyone knows that the only reason that the person who wrote the book got a contract is because she is none other than the daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Bertie Aherne and thus holds considerable sway in the world, I hope everyone knows that the only reason that the person who wrote the book got a contract is because she is none other than the daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Bertie Aherne and thus holds considerable sway in the world, same goes for this film. Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidN.Jan 13, 2008
Guys!!!! Take your girlfriends and make sure you have condoms ready afterwards. She'll be all over you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LynneVJan 2, 2008
I loved the story line. Very creative and touching. However, I wish the director would have provided us with more details along the way to help us grasp more easily. I got the warm and fuzzy but it could have been that much better! Very well I loved the story line. Very creative and touching. However, I wish the director would have provided us with more details along the way to help us grasp more easily. I got the warm and fuzzy but it could have been that much better! Very well casted! Great talent in this movie; Hillary blew me away ! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackieJan 23, 2008
This film is beautifully done I don't know how anyone can't believe in love after seeing this movie. Gerard Butler gives an Oscar worthy performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful