Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2007
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 149 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
95
Mixed:
21
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
NoraR.Jan 3, 2008
If you are looking for a sensitive movie which is human but humorous on the topic of loss and moving on, dont go to this! Its really crass and awful. It probably doesnt help, that Im Irish, and I found the fake badly-acted Irish accents just If you are looking for a sensitive movie which is human but humorous on the topic of loss and moving on, dont go to this! Its really crass and awful. It probably doesnt help, that Im Irish, and I found the fake badly-acted Irish accents just added insult to injury. There was no sense of the devastating bereavement and loneliness that comes with the unexpected loss of a young man. In fact the only person who appeared to miss this dead man (on occasions) was his widow. And even as a chick-flick, the characters were stereotyped beyond human recognition. The needy girlfriend the cold man-hunting best friend.... Often chick-lit stereotypes the men, but this one went one further and did the same to the girls.... I could only recommend this to females who are really hung over and in want of a little eye candy..... (if you can endure the mind-numbing embarrassing scenes in between.) You have some hope of enjoying this if you fancy one of the three v fine looking (including the extraordinarily healthy looking dead guy) but it may help further if you turn the sound down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LoriSMay 18, 2008
The 9s and 10s here smell like spam!! let's keep metacritic honest, people. if your movie's bad, suck it up and make a better movie next time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
[Anonymous]Jul 19, 2009
I'm a guy who usually doesn't mind romantic comedies. I've found that how much I like a particular rom-com depends upon the comedy and chemistry of the lead characters. In the case of "P.S.", I did not buy into the story one I'm a guy who usually doesn't mind romantic comedies. I've found that how much I like a particular rom-com depends upon the comedy and chemistry of the lead characters. In the case of "P.S.", I did not buy into the story one ounce, and I didn't think there was any chemistry between the main characters. It's much too sappy and thick to do without chemistry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
BillH.Apr 5, 2008
I just watched this film while strapped into an airline seat from Philly to Denver. This movie was so bad, so tedius, and so obviously written solely as a big-screen version of Days of our Lives that I honestly considered unbolting the door I just watched this film while strapped into an airline seat from Philly to Denver. This movie was so bad, so tedius, and so obviously written solely as a big-screen version of Days of our Lives that I honestly considered unbolting the door and jumping out at 38,000 feet lest I sit through yet another sappy scene. On the other hand, I did think Lisa Kudrow turned in a decent job of acting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
BuzzBFeb 8, 2008
People cried?? I nearly cried at the excruciating tedium of having to sit through this. Butler was smarmy and unconvincing. Hilary Swank only had two expressions - a huge grin or bawling her eyes out - both of which looked almost identical. People cried?? I nearly cried at the excruciating tedium of having to sit through this. Butler was smarmy and unconvincing. Hilary Swank only had two expressions - a huge grin or bawling her eyes out - both of which looked almost identical. Hopeless, contrived script. Lisa Kudrow should not be on the big screen - ever. Only Harry Connick jr. had an interesting part. I'm not against Rom Coms - I actually like them if they're any good. This one isn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HeidiC.Jan 26, 2008
bad, its just so boring!!! i fell asleep halfway through! I read the book and they changed half of the story( by the way the book was ssooooo good!!!).
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ericbMay 9, 2008
This movie made you feel no emotion for the characters; especially Gerard Butler because he dies within the first 15 minutes of the movie. Pretty terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ypomoniJul 5, 2013
A tear-jerker..there are some really funny bits, but this film relies too much on making you "feel" (aka crying) You eventually walk out of the film having forgotten what you saw unless you are female, in which case, you will DEFINITELYA tear-jerker..there are some really funny bits, but this film relies too much on making you "feel" (aka crying) You eventually walk out of the film having forgotten what you saw unless you are female, in which case, you will DEFINITELY remember G Butler (ah...). and not for his acting skills, at least not in this film. Both he and H Swank are below average in the acting department of this film. H Swank doesn't know whether she is suppose to be sweet, or or fragile, etc. G Butler, on the other hand, is TOO sweet to be convincing. Kathy Bates is, as always, excellent. Should have gone straight to DVD... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JennyS.Jun 1, 2008
I thought this movie was terrible. I've never been so bored watching a movie in my entire life. I kept watching, hoping the ending would make it all worth it, but instead I just wasted over 2 hours of my life.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
CharlieABNov 1, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was forced to watch this last weekend and it was brutal. Borderline mental illness from both the husband (who came up with the plan to torture his wife from beyond the grave) and the mother for going along with the selfish, delusional plan to "celebrate" the death by reliving old memories & traveling Ireland. Was the band mate in on the deal? 1/10 for the suspender dance (best part of the whole movie. THIS. IS. MADNESS! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
SteveJJan 5, 2008
It can't be a cooincidence that most of the high user reviews for this sappy mess of a chick flick come from chicks. The rest of the women used male name pseudonyms so they would not be found out. No self respecting man could watch this It can't be a cooincidence that most of the high user reviews for this sappy mess of a chick flick come from chicks. The rest of the women used male name pseudonyms so they would not be found out. No self respecting man could watch this movie and give it a ten. If he did he would have to turn in his man card immediately and go purchase a sleeveless spandex shirt and hot pants. I gave it a chance for the sake of my wife. An olive branch for my future piece (if you know what I mean) and harmony. I like Harry C and Swank is typically good but this whole movie seemed very forced. Perhaps it needed Meg Ryan or Reece Witherspoon, Swank just didn't quite pull it off. The gist seemed to be, cram every sappy sentimental and uber gooey goodness into two hours and you will have it. By the end it was a bit much. I can get that time back, save yourself, save yourself!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NanA.May 30, 2008
Did anyone read the New York Times review of this film? It was actually worse than the film, comparing Hillary Swak (mostly unfavorably) to Barbara Stanwyck and Joan Crawford, stating that Crawford would have eaten Swank for Did anyone read the New York Times review of this film? It was actually worse than the film, comparing Hillary Swak (mostly unfavorably) to Barbara Stanwyck and Joan Crawford, stating that Crawford would have eaten Swank for breakfast...Ditto for Pauline Kael and this P.K. wanna be reviewer! This film is a thinly-disguised, twisted attempt to creat a gender bender re-make of 1982's Kiss Me Goodbye, itself a diluted version of Bruno Barreto's Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands. The "dialogue" is insipid and screams that contemporary Holywood writers read only the prose on cereal boxes, and probably only make it through eighth grade. The women were cardboard drag queen creations of misogynist writers and director, while the men were lame hyper-"charming" and "masculine" leprechauns auditioning to be Chippendales. Nobody, no matter how talented, could have shone in this freakish film. The only tears we shed were for the time we spent watching it. Hillary Swank's Robocop one facial expression (complete with lockjaw, angry eyes and simian grimace ) seemed to convey grief and pleasure equally. The Joker in Batman was more nuanced and evoked more emotions from the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
RyanC.Dec 31, 2007
If there's a strength to this movie, I sure as he'll didn't see it.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
AramisG.Jan 7, 2008
Hallmarks version of mourning. So bad you will be exhausted and fatigued every time another sentimental love song kicks in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
FabianM.Jan 13, 2008
I hope everyone knows that the only reason that the person who wrote the book got a contract is because she is none other than the daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Bertie Aherne and thus holds considerable sway in the world, I hope everyone knows that the only reason that the person who wrote the book got a contract is because she is none other than the daughter of the Irish Taoiseach (Prime Minister) Bertie Aherne and thus holds considerable sway in the world, same goes for this film. Avoid! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BennyB.May 24, 2008
GIMME MY $10 BUCKS BACK!!! Enough sap to make a batch of maple syrup. Absolutely nothing good about this movie. Felt a little nausea coming on after the first 30 minutes. If I can prevent one more person from rewarding anyone involved with GIMME MY $10 BUCKS BACK!!! Enough sap to make a batch of maple syrup. Absolutely nothing good about this movie. Felt a little nausea coming on after the first 30 minutes. If I can prevent one more person from rewarding anyone involved with this horrible movie project then I have helped make the world a better place. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
rustyrDec 26, 2008
This is the biggest piece of $hit that I have ever suffered through.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
LuisG.Feb 27, 2008
Think about every possible heatache cliche and wrap it around Gerard Butler without a shirt and you have made a sale... unfortunely thats all .. lisa kudrow and kathy bates cant do much with a script so tangled in its own absurity and neglectThink about every possible heatache cliche and wrap it around Gerard Butler without a shirt and you have made a sale... unfortunely thats all .. lisa kudrow and kathy bates cant do much with a script so tangled in its own absurity and neglect of brain cells in an audience to save it... one of the worst film ever Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful