Psycho Beach Party

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. T-Miller
    May 30, 2001
    8
    Amazing that ALL these critics didn't GET THE JOKE. If you are looking for yet another "Scary Movie" or "Dumb and Dumber" is your idea of satire - STAY AWAY. But if you love movies and know your genre-comedy's well -- this inspired romp of a film is a refreshing break from the color-by-number schlock of today's big screen features. Critics beware..
  2. ZachamariahF.
    Jan 10, 2004
    10
    Oh my holy jesus. This movie had be laughing so friggin hard!
  3. NicholasA.
    Sep 17, 2005
    8
    It's not a "parody" type of comedy. The emphasis is what would have been happening on the periphary of those old movies, had they been real. It strikes a good balance of respecting the original style and adding a modern viewpoint.
  4. SarahF.
    Oct 25, 2002
    9
    Holy sh.t was this movie funny.
  5. LaurenS.
    Mar 20, 2002
    10
    I absolutely love it. It is a great film that takes you back to the 50's for fun and laughter.
  6. Amber
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    I give this movie a 10 cause man i love this movie sure i am a bit juvanile and i am a bit rambuncious but this movie rocks.
  7. JacquesR.
    Dec 18, 2001
    8
    Some of the craziest, yet entertaining, late night cable sh*t I've seen in a long, long time.
  8. WilliamM.
    May 22, 2001
    6
    Lots of incredibly campy fun, but basically a one joke movie that goes on too long.
  9. MonekkaMcB
    Aug 18, 2005
    9
    Most of the critics just didn't get this movie... It is very hilarious!
Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. 13
    Struggles like a fat kid on the gym rope to conjure up even a single decent laugh.
  2. 25
    Charles Busch's spoof of beach-party movies and psychological thrillers, an off-Broadway hit 13 years ago, stubbornly refuses to entertain in this unrelentingly dull film version.
  3. 30
    The viewer is left to ponder the number of levels on which this counts as a pointless exercise -- a parody of parodic movies, a deconstruction of transparent genres, a self-negatingly knowing example of camp.