Miramax Films | Release Date: October 14, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2144 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,000
Mixed:
45
Negative:
99
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart,Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart, controversial directions, "Pulp Fiction" spills in racism, mistakes, faults, God, and redemption into the game of crime. It's simply astonishing to do such thing, which makes the film a long living masterpiece in film history. Collapse
24 of 25 users found this helpful241
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of the zaniest, funniest, smartest and most entertaining movies I have ever seen. One of my all time favorites as well. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson give terrific performances.
29 of 31 users found this helpful292
All this user's reviews
10
Michelep.Dec 20, 2006
Best movie ever..hands down!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
dj1982Dec 3, 2011
Even years after the release the movie feels fresher than many of the movies made today. Quentin Tarantino takes a story, twists it and turns, plays with our expectations and leaves us with a masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
Pulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.ThePulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.The starring actors do an excellent job, Which is't a surprise. The script is typical in Tarantino's style.Something to note is that the acts aren't in chronological order, but will still make sense Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
julesw.Aug 19, 2007
Best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
Incredible acting (especially Travolta and Jackson), incredible stories and incredible piece of art for Pop culture! Though the end is a bit frustrating, the plot is great, really I mean it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 31, 2002
When one reviews a film, they must look past what is morally incorrect or socially unacceptable and focus on the originality of the film, and the only reason this very original, extreely absorbing movie did not win the Best Picture Oscar is When one reviews a film, they must look past what is morally incorrect or socially unacceptable and focus on the originality of the film, and the only reason this very original, extreely absorbing movie did not win the Best Picture Oscar is that Forrest Gump was just less controversial. (Albeit just as good) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonW.Nov 4, 2004
This is the most entertaining movie i've ever seen. It isn't flawless, but it's as close as i've ever seen. Tarentino goes overboard in every movie he does, but his method fits this film. Bravo! Bravo!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarstenN.Sep 10, 2005
This is one of the greatest movies ever made, absolutely brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AliSep 20, 2005
One of the best movie i've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Apr 1, 2007
Great movie. One of the best movies of all time. The thing that makes this movie so great is that it doesnt take itself too seriously. Yes the jokes help this movie out a lot, but who cares the jokes are classic "Royal with cheese", "Big Great movie. One of the best movies of all time. The thing that makes this movie so great is that it doesnt take itself too seriously. Yes the jokes help this movie out a lot, but who cares the jokes are classic "Royal with cheese", "Big Kahuna Burger" "La Big Mac" that opening scene of the movie is classic and probably one of the best parts of movies of all time. So many classic lines from this movie and its also well acted and directed. Its a crazy movie, that doesnt make sense, but it doesnt try too, and for those of you who say its too long, go watch a Disney movie or one the horror movies out there today, maybe their more your type of movie, you dont have to think as long. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
Funny and entertaining from beginning to end. Amazing script and great acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveFSep 19, 2008
The finest thing to come out of America period. the only let down is that i will never be able to watch it again for the first time and have that feeling i had when the credits rolled and i was sat there mouth agape unable to take in the The finest thing to come out of America period. the only let down is that i will never be able to watch it again for the first time and have that feeling i had when the credits rolled and i was sat there mouth agape unable to take in the awesomeness of what i had just seen. i think its safe to say its without any doubt the best film ever made by some considerable margin. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NinjaMafiaFeb 11, 2004
I finally saw this movie after seemingly thousands of years. I actually saw Kill Bill before this movie so I was having high hopes that Quinten would pull of another masterpeice, and my hopes were met. The movie characters were witty and I finally saw this movie after seemingly thousands of years. I actually saw Kill Bill before this movie so I was having high hopes that Quinten would pull of another masterpeice, and my hopes were met. The movie characters were witty and realistic. Some scenes(the gun accidently going off) were the most hilarious things I have ever seen. Sharp dialogue, clever editing. There just isn't alot this movie has going against it, besides the fact that there is no real strong storyline going for it. But that is where the beauty of the film lies, it just feels like we are actually following these guys around on one of their, most likely, not so better days. Does life itselfs have a grand storyline that we all need to follow out? No, and neither does this movie, making it all the more better. The dialogue is also perfect. The hamburger conversation feels like a conversation you would find me and my friends having on a normal day. The only complaint I have about this film is that the second chapter, with the boxer, seemed a bit out of place with the other two chapters. Maybe if they threw in a bit more of Vincent or Jools into the chapter it would have fit in a bit better. With that minor Quipe aside, Pulp Fiction is a movie that is more than just a movie you need to see, you have to see this film or forever be haunted by the awesome that got away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
About as perfect as a film will ever get. See it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickyE.Sep 14, 2005
[sarcasm] Max W, you seem smart. I like smart people. You should tell the world about Tarantino's crappy ideas and the then REDO Pulp Fiction with your amazing filmmaking skills. I'm sure we would all be pleased with the results. [sarcasm] Max W, you seem smart. I like smart people. You should tell the world about Tarantino's crappy ideas and the then REDO Pulp Fiction with your amazing filmmaking skills. I'm sure we would all be pleased with the results. [/sarcasm] But, seriously, this movie is great - if you don't get it... move to Canada (or something like that). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Sep 21, 2007
Brilliantly entertaining. This was the movie that revitalized American cinema in the mid 1990s... though it would have been nice if other directors took his example for inspiration rather than just becoming copycats. This is the 10 in Brilliantly entertaining. This was the movie that revitalized American cinema in the mid 1990s... though it would have been nice if other directors took his example for inspiration rather than just becoming copycats. This is the 10 in Tarantino's repertoire... nothing before or since has been better than an 8. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WesE.Nov 15, 2005
Easily one of the best, most finely-crafted films ever. The only movie that could ever reach the cinematic brilliance of Pulp Fiction was Wizard of Oz, more than 70 years ago.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MetallicCriticDec 20, 2011
I seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. WithI seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. With Quentin Tarantino there's no way that it's sucks. The stories of different people connecting simultaneously has been bone before but not as good as this masterpiece. John Travolta dying at the middle of the film and walking out of the dinner at the end was very well planed out. This film doesn't even fallow the same time period. Don't forget about the violence. It was very violent and bloody. This film deserved to win best picture at Oscars over Forrest Gump. I don't have much else to say so what are you still doing here. If you haven't seen the movie go see it and if you have seen it go see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tedleanseMay 6, 2012
The greatest film ever made. Dialogue in the film is perfect, brilliantly written by Tarantino.

A superb performance from John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MikeTheGaiJun 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pulp Fiction, probably one of the most memorable movies I have seen. From beginning to end this movie has you glued to you're seat wondering what crazy adventure the characters are going to have next. Not recommended for the whole family but it is a good movie overall to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochOct 15, 2012
That's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. TarantinoThat's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. Tarantino at his best, I would've given it 10 points, if there weren't the lame Bruce Willis part. It's not bad, but it's improper in my opinion. Still a must-see and one of the best movies ever made! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MouthofSauronApr 18, 2013
Having proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product isHaving proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product is one hell of a scintillating experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiNov 25, 2013
An instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some storyAn instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some story lines and dead in the other, and this made you think what it would have been like if these characters had gotten out in time.

There were long portions of dialogue dedicated solely to humour, and others to theological and philosophical discussions. There are three stories running in parallel, which often come into contact with the others without affecting them, and are told in a non-linear way.

Among Tarantino's films, I believe it's second only to Django Unchained, which was much more coherent and awe-inspiring, albeit with seemingly unnecessary bloody violence and an inflated running time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
An oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in otherAn oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in other films. Pulp Fiction is possibly the strongest and most powerful Tarantino movie besides Inglourious Basterds{read my review for Inglourious Basterds to find out what I said}. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
I'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly itI'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly it delivered. There's so much you can talk about with this film but a lot of it you've probably already heard. It's probably best not to overhype it because overhyping films can turn masterpieces into mediocre films. My advice is it's a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrPenmanOct 8, 2013
My favorite movie of all time! This movie is fun and engaging to the core. The dialogue in this movie is the best example of Tarantino's writing ability. Every character feels genuine and has interesting things to say in interesting ways.My favorite movie of all time! This movie is fun and engaging to the core. The dialogue in this movie is the best example of Tarantino's writing ability. Every character feels genuine and has interesting things to say in interesting ways. Plus the dark comedy that is entwined into the whole movie is simply wonderful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroNov 23, 2013
Quentin Tarantino is absolutely a genius and this movie proves how is this geniality,an outstanding movie with an non-linear story is great,some movies would serve this movie as an example.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JamisInsomiaJul 10, 2014
Quentin Tarantino in my opinion is one of the best Director right in the movie scene. Now this Movie is my favorite movie of all time nothing wrong with this film expect is does drag in some parts in this movie like The Watch with BruceQuentin Tarantino in my opinion is one of the best Director right in the movie scene. Now this Movie is my favorite movie of all time nothing wrong with this film expect is does drag in some parts in this movie like The Watch with Bruce Willis kinda drag in till the end but everything to this film is amazing story, Characters, and the and the only the best speech i have heard in cinema that why this film deserve what I give it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 12, 2015
An explosive paradiso collage of a non-linear storytelling Quentin Tarantino really musters out the best of himself in this violent tale of black comedy, bizarre situations, profanity, crime, and religious redemption, a superb LA Pulp CrimeAn explosive paradiso collage of a non-linear storytelling Quentin Tarantino really musters out the best of himself in this violent tale of black comedy, bizarre situations, profanity, crime, and religious redemption, a superb LA Pulp Crime Novel styled sandwich that is as colorful as the first time it was made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve uponThe danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
dmullzDec 28, 2010
This is probably one of the greatest movies ever to hit the silver screen (in my opinion that is). Tarantino, you're one hella director, keep it up. If you haven't seen this movie or you're debating on seeing it, well...SEE IT!!!!!!
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
KanyeWestMar 19, 2011
Yo The Godfather: I'm really happy for you... Imma let you finish, but Pulp Fiction is the best movie of ALL TIME... of ALL TIME!!! but really I have yet to see better movie
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
10
PeterP.Jan 22, 2008
If your idea of a good movie is filled with slow motion or flashy action sequences, love scenes, and a clear cut happy ending, don't watch this movie. But if you want something gritty, real and entirely different than most the movies If your idea of a good movie is filled with slow motion or flashy action sequences, love scenes, and a clear cut happy ending, don't watch this movie. But if you want something gritty, real and entirely different than most the movies out there, you just might need to see this one. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
FelixK.Feb 14, 2008
Definitely belongs to the 10 best movies of all times !!! The story and the dialogues are just awesome and it's really sad to see that it only received the script-oscar. What about this ridiculous Forrest Gump is worth these many trophies !
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
MM.Jan 23, 2008
Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion, of course. But I don't think that any serious viewer -- or at least any viewer with an opinion worth considering -- will grant Pulp Fiction its rightful place in the canon. That Everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion, of course. But I don't think that any serious viewer -- or at least any viewer with an opinion worth considering -- will grant Pulp Fiction its rightful place in the canon. That doesn't mean the film is perfect or that reasonable viewers can't differ on its relative strengths and weaknesses. Those who find the dialogue too steeped in post-modern hipsterism, however, can still marvel at a non-linear storyline that may best "Citizen Kane" in its elegance and ingenuity. Those who find some of the plot twists (think Gimp, baby) too contrived can still appreciate performances -- and character interactions -- whose artistry will stun audiences for many, many generations to come. In other words....hell, that guy below is right: If you don't find something -- or lots of things -- to love about this movie, see a doctor. It's time to get that stick removed. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
9
pgmarkDec 17, 2010
Not a huge fan of all of Tarantino's films but this one is great. Great music.. great cast... great dialog!!!!!!

Must see - *highlights* Samuel J, Travolta, Steve B... great performances
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaJan 23, 2012
An unbelievably acted directed and written film. The film is engaging and very funny. The film is very engaging and is never dull. All the scenes in the film are superbly crafted and there is not one thing wrong I can say about this film. AAn unbelievably acted directed and written film. The film is engaging and very funny. The film is very engaging and is never dull. All the scenes in the film are superbly crafted and there is not one thing wrong I can say about this film. A true masterpiece and one of the best films of all time. To bad the rest of tarantinos films I have not enjoyed although I have not seen Kill Bill 2 and resevoir dogs. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
guessSep 26, 2005
One of my faves.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ThegodfathersonJul 20, 2013
One of the most influential films of the 1990s, Pulp Fiction is a delirious post-modern mix of neo-noir thrills, pitch-black humor, and pop-culture touchstones.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
KentC.Jan 13, 2008
Very funny at times, it will hold your interest for pretty much all of the movie. Sam Jackson and Bruce Willis were a blast to watch, but i'm not a big fan of Travolta. The dialogue is usual Tarantino affair, with lots of cursing and Very funny at times, it will hold your interest for pretty much all of the movie. Sam Jackson and Bruce Willis were a blast to watch, but i'm not a big fan of Travolta. The dialogue is usual Tarantino affair, with lots of cursing and pop culture references and usually pretty clever. It never got boring, either. Some scenes are unnecessary (the very disturbing bondage rape scene). Not for kids. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
J.RyanG.May 23, 2005
Perhaps the greatest film ever made, but only a few inches from horrible. This is risk-taking at its most exhilarating. Minor tweaks in the script or the casting, one would think, might disrupt its undeniable rhythm and punch. Though there Perhaps the greatest film ever made, but only a few inches from horrible. This is risk-taking at its most exhilarating. Minor tweaks in the script or the casting, one would think, might disrupt its undeniable rhythm and punch. Though there are many reasons to love and admire this film, all can be summed up by merely watching people watching this film--and how great it must be to watch a film school class picking it apart scene-by-scene. Everything, every last line, every minor quiver of the speaker's upper lip, operates faithfully in divine service to the film's totality. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
IllyaZ.May 30, 2005
One of the best films ever!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
DalekAug 18, 2014
Pulp Fiction was something special. Something different, with fantastic character development as well as dialogue and memorable quotes. It's definitely worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TubieNov 2, 2010
It's hard for me to rate a movie over 8 because I think only near perfect works of art deserve a 9 or a 10 when it comes to movies. This one is a perfect example of this. This movie sets the bar for other action films to measure against. TheIt's hard for me to rate a movie over 8 because I think only near perfect works of art deserve a 9 or a 10 when it comes to movies. This one is a perfect example of this. This movie sets the bar for other action films to measure against. The different interconnecting stories the cast, just about everything here is amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DukeNov 4, 2010
Quentin Tarantino creates something new and original - combing the stories of a boxer, two hit men and a gangsters wife into a 154 minutes of masterful filmmaking.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 16, 2013
A very interesting movie. Its combination of extreme violence and creates something unique and fantastic. The cast is filled with some of the best actors out there and the writing is just fantastic. It's unlike anything you've ever seen before.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
Thiz movie known as the most talked about movie. The movie that acquired a lot of good reviews from most critics. You must see it yourself then you understand why. Starred by many well-known Actors, such as: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson,Thiz movie known as the most talked about movie. The movie that acquired a lot of good reviews from most critics. You must see it yourself then you understand why. Starred by many well-known Actors, such as: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Uma Thurman, Bruce Willis and many. Directed by Quentin Tarantino, the eccentric Director. The plot is unusual, but very interesting in a strange way. The Script made by Tarantino himself. Very confusing plot around the movie. Move forward and backward along the movie. These elements that made people appreciate it. You must see over and over to understand the idea. However, actually the plot is an ordinary plot just like other ordinary movie but the editing made it great for overall. The other factor that make thiz movie unforgettable is the dialogues. The dialogues are mostly long but colorful, rude but exciting. Thiz movie costs by limited budget, but still a lot of well-known stars involved. Thiz proofs that The Actors know there is something different on the script to offer. The other memorable scene you will never forget is when Travolta and Truman dancing. The dancing is cult. People remember Travolta for musical movies, such as SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER (1977) and GREASE (1978). When we see him appear at movie again for such a long time and we see him dancing by his present figure, something magical happens. That is the fun part. If you like independent movie, Totally you must see this movie

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
posSep 2, 2011
A crowning achievement in film. a true masterpiece. this films got it all great characters, soundtrack, story, comedy, wonderfully put together with some some of the best dialogue and writing in film history. the finest work from a true filmA crowning achievement in film. a true masterpiece. this films got it all great characters, soundtrack, story, comedy, wonderfully put together with some some of the best dialogue and writing in film history. the finest work from a true film genius quentin tarantino. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 5, 2012
Tarantino has good movies, but to me this is not his best. As many, I believe Pulp Fiction is overrated. Personally, I enjoyed Reservoir Dogs much more. Of course I can't say this is a bad movie, for that would be unfair; but it is not, inTarantino has good movies, but to me this is not his best. As many, I believe Pulp Fiction is overrated. Personally, I enjoyed Reservoir Dogs much more. Of course I can't say this is a bad movie, for that would be unfair; but it is not, in my opinion, a masterpiece. Tarantino has made himself a name because his movies are different and challenge our ideas of 'normality', but I don't see any greatness' in Pulp Fiction. I didn't find it engaging or profound; I didn't feel it was particularly fun or witty either. I guess most people either like this film or hate it. I am ambivalent about it. I think because of its cinematography, the good performances, and its peculiarity it deserves a 7. To me, giving it more than that is bestowing this movie with a nature and trascendence it doesn't have. However, I am okey if you disagree with me and I can see why. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
The plot is a little confusing at times (during Bruce Willis's part of the film) but overall its interesting and you gotta pay close attention to it. The cast is good ,not as great as people make it seem to be. There are parts in the movieThe plot is a little confusing at times (during Bruce Willis's part of the film) but overall its interesting and you gotta pay close attention to it. The cast is good ,not as great as people make it seem to be. There are parts in the movie that are excellent as well (usually the parts with Samuel L. Jackson). Overall its just a good film and worth the watch. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyApr 16, 2012
An epic movie, I don't be a fan of Tarantino, some of his movies are awful (in the good sense) for me (Hostal scare me and much). But Pulp Fiction is a master piece film, is really incredible, the development is supreme, the performances ofAn epic movie, I don't be a fan of Tarantino, some of his movies are awful (in the good sense) for me (Hostal scare me and much). But Pulp Fiction is a master piece film, is really incredible, the development is supreme, the performances of all the cast are amazing, I love this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pulp Fiction is one of those movies I liked more in retrospect than at the time. I think Tarantino's genius does play a part in this film, and the product is substantial; but Reservoir Dogs is better.

All the characters use witty, random dialogue about European hamburgers and the sexual implications of foot massages, but to what avail? I mean, as fun as it is to hear and watch, I just found that the whole movie lacked something. Maybe a little bit more editing would've done the trick; maybe it was something else. I can't quite put my finger on it.

Don't get me wrong. I think this is a classic Tarantino movie. I enjoyed Samuel L. Jackson's quotable lines, as well as a couple of outstanding scenes. (The OD, the Big Date, the scene where Harvey Keitel gets rid of the body, etc.) As a whole, the movie does work. But some minor details would make it even better.

The storyline of Bruce Willis and Ving Rhames was a little much. (Did Ving *really* have to get raped?) I know Tarantino just wanted to add some shock value to his film, but even for a person who doesn't mind that kind of thing in movies I found it a little extreme.

Oh, and one more thing: I learned that "zapateria" means "shoe store" in Spanish, courtesy of Butch.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
StevenO.Jul 10, 2009
Very original. Quentin Tarantino took different situations and brought them together. This movie really brings out the different characters and their situations as well as how these situations effect each other and themselves. Definitely a Very original. Quentin Tarantino took different situations and brought them together. This movie really brings out the different characters and their situations as well as how these situations effect each other and themselves. Definitely a good movie to watch with a Royale with Cheese. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CyJun 20, 2002
Liked it the first time, loved it the secound time. Excellent movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
S.BarnesMay 6, 2009
This film is continuously hilarious from beginning to end. With it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
E.W.Sep 8, 2002
An excellent example of a heady movie that imerses the person in the environment of the situation. Anyone who says this movie isnt deep isn't smart enough to see it at that level. Enough Said.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JustinT.Sep 9, 2002
My favorite movie ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeM.Oct 6, 2003
Thrilling AND Hilarious! Masterpiece!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AldoM.Jun 29, 2004
Very unique and it's Jules dammit! Not Jools.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.B.Oct 20, 2005
I still remember how giddy and excited I was while I was watching this movie in the theater. A top ten favorite of mine.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaxC.Mar 10, 2005
The movie is among the best original movies ever made. Tarantino pushes the boundaries and accomplishes to create a masterpiece that has becomed a cult phenomenom. The people who have rated this movie with a low rating should've watched The movie is among the best original movies ever made. Tarantino pushes the boundaries and accomplishes to create a masterpiece that has becomed a cult phenomenom. The people who have rated this movie with a low rating should've watched the latest Jackie Chan movie. I still believe that a Pulp Fiction sequel is very possible, one where it would show that main characters in the time before they were ever involved in the original film and it would show everything leading up to the events of the film. Dark comedies rock and Pulp Fiction is the second best dark comedy, being beaten only by the truly cult classic: Dr. Strangelove: or how I learned to stop worrying and love the bomb. If you havent seen this movie yet, go buy it now because 50 years from now people will still find this film to be refreshing in a world made up of hollywood special effects popcorn movies. Enjoy! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Apr 1, 2005
THE FILM.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilgameshX.Jul 26, 2005
It isnt supposed to be funny, you morons. Pulp Fiction is to comedy as George Bush is to president.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamX.Apr 1, 2006
Pulp Fiction is one of my all time favourites. It has a timeless feel to it, excellent cast, excellent plot and a genius-come-director Quentin Tarentino. The reviewers that vote this 0 and don't come up with a better explanation than Pulp Fiction is one of my all time favourites. It has a timeless feel to it, excellent cast, excellent plot and a genius-come-director Quentin Tarentino. The reviewers that vote this 0 and don't come up with a better explanation than that it's 'sick, evil, sicksickdsfieevil' are clearly idiots who have probably never seen the film itself. Tarentino, you either love him or hate him and his films, but back up your arguments. Pulp Fiction was an instant classic and always will be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IlirC.Jul 30, 2006
overall a good movie with great dialogue...i wouldnt really call this a movie though rather a combination of 3 short scenes.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
adityamSep 5, 2009
Oh God! I just couldn't believe what I have watched here. I have watched a Masterpiece. I do not say it out of respect as I did for The Godfather, but I say it out of pure exhilaration and relief (Quiet the opposite what you witness on Oh God! I just couldn't believe what I have watched here. I have watched a Masterpiece. I do not say it out of respect as I did for The Godfather, but I say it out of pure exhilaration and relief (Quiet the opposite what you witness on the surface). For the first time after many ages I don't feel guilty about giving a film 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
zackmJan 2, 2010
I can honestly say that this is one of the best genre changing films of the past few decades since the godfather or the goodfellas. if i made a list of my top ten favorite movies pulp fiction would without a doubt be on there somewhere.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TonyFeb 2, 2002
Uh. It's great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.S.Oct 8, 2003
Best movie of the past 20 years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GeorgeS.Apr 7, 2003
It's a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinF.Apr 16, 2004
Pulp Fiction is quite simply one of the greatest films of all time. It's fantastic from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BrennanJ.Jul 6, 2004
I personally love this movie. But in all honesty, this goes for all of QT's movies, you usually will absolutely love them, or be completely disgusted by them. I don't like to stereotype, but the people who usually will give it 0 I personally love this movie. But in all honesty, this goes for all of QT's movies, you usually will absolutely love them, or be completely disgusted by them. I don't like to stereotype, but the people who usually will give it 0 are the older, more conservative people, probably very religious and would consider even liking this movie immoral. So with this I'm not surprised at all to see so many 10's and even some 0's, but just that fact that you will be head over heels in love with the work of this director, or hate it and never have to watch it again, it's worth watching one of his movies for the first time. The greatest part of this movie is not the story itself, but the way in which the movie is made. Never before have I actually seen such talent in a director from watching a movie. Quentin takes story lines that almost have nothing to them, and turns it into something so incredible, you can't even explain it, it's something that has to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
GaborA.Jan 11, 2005
Excellent creative film making but im not going to throw around phrases like top ten like so many do when the film is mentioned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
marshallmOct 20, 2005
Really good, in a brutal, weird, unconfortable sort of way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JonHFeb 19, 2005
The movie of the 90's, some might look at that as a bad thing, but it certainly is one of my all time favs.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WongitMar 12, 2005
Pulp Fiction defines the word "Classic". Whatever Tarantino was on when he created this masterpiece, i want some of it. Its the most original movie I have ever experienced. I want more movies to be like this. Most american films are pretty Pulp Fiction defines the word "Classic". Whatever Tarantino was on when he created this masterpiece, i want some of it. Its the most original movie I have ever experienced. I want more movies to be like this. Most american films are pretty much the same from start to finish, but this one is so original, and different that its a pure classic. Quite possibley the best movie ever, and im not exagerating at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnoApr 16, 2005
I'm not a Tarantino fan, infact, I think 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'True Romance' are dreadful films that border between average and messy. However, 'Pulp Fiction' is just flawless. I'm the sort of film I'm not a Tarantino fan, infact, I think 'Reservoir Dogs' and 'True Romance' are dreadful films that border between average and messy. However, 'Pulp Fiction' is just flawless. I'm the sort of film buff that ends up hating films like this but every ounce of this film is pure classic. The immaculate script delivered by great actors at their best, awesome soundtrack, beautifully choreographed action and near perfect pace, editing and direction. If you approach this film with a negative opinion of humourised violence or find Tarantino lacks any humanity in his scripts, then you are quite possibly approaching from a similar angle to me. And I loved every minute of this funny, exciting masterpiece. I hate giving out 10/10 but I'd be lying if I didn't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
Travolta and Jackson are absolutely perfect together, one of the best duo's in movie history, and that's no overstatement.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieC.Mar 6, 2007
This moive is amazing! It combines deep thought with a crazy story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NeilL.Mar 8, 2008
Those people who rate this as crap probably gave movies like starship troopers a perfect 10. this is not one of those movies that you watch once. Every Tarantino movie that I saw was different. Everytime you watch it, you will notice Those people who rate this as crap probably gave movies like starship troopers a perfect 10. this is not one of those movies that you watch once. Every Tarantino movie that I saw was different. Everytime you watch it, you will notice something that you havents seen the first time. Pulp Fiction is deffinately the best movie of all time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlexAug 9, 2008
Absolutely thrilling. One of those movies that you just want the scenes to keep going, even after you've finished the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AliSep 21, 2009
One of the best movie i've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
davidpJan 4, 2010
One of the key films of modern cinema. Still as fresh as the day it came out, but Quentin never equaled it in subsequent films, though he still has his moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Dec 4, 2002
A bad ass mother of all films, samuel'l rocks, travolta's smooth and bruce is bruce (awesome)!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlbundyFeb 10, 2002
One of the greatest films ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DagneyFeb 13, 2002
Good Christ. Don't know if I got it entirely the first time (I was 14), but the second time was definitely the charm. Hilarious, tragic, cold, compassionate, sick and oddly human, this is a FILM. Don't think "Titanic" or Good Christ. Don't know if I got it entirely the first time (I was 14), but the second time was definitely the charm. Hilarious, tragic, cold, compassionate, sick and oddly human, this is a FILM. Don't think "Titanic" or "Gladiator", or for that matter even the wonderful "Forrest Gump," because this movie is a formal breakthrough like none of those Oscar winners could be. Think "The Godfather." Think "2001". This movie is a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MattR.Feb 23, 2002
I loved it the first time, then really didn't the second time. Nevertheless, it is an important film, a groundbreaker in cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JackMoviegoerMay 6, 2002
Sean W. would not know a good movie if it hit him in the face and wiggled. He probably loves the Russia House or Ishtar. WATCH THIS MOVIE.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RossW.Jun 16, 2002
This movie is a classic. Sean W's favorite movie is probaly battlefield earth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BadM.Aug 16, 2002
A true modern masterpiece in all of it's lovely horror and perversion. Greatest Film of the 90's!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnnyBlazeNov 29, 2003
One of the best pieces of American pop culture ever crafted. Anyone who has a problem with the subject matter of this movie needs to lighten up, get out and get a life. Pulp Fiction is an incredible, original, stylish film which explores One of the best pieces of American pop culture ever crafted. Anyone who has a problem with the subject matter of this movie needs to lighten up, get out and get a life. Pulp Fiction is an incredible, original, stylish film which explores great dialogue, interesting characters, with intriguing scenarios. It's one of those movies that leaves you with unforgettable moments. It's ferocious fun... Isn't that what movies are SUPPOSED to be all about?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GilbertMulroneycakesAgain,SorryDec 18, 2003
Sorry to come back again, but Gordon's given me a lot of thought with his slightly epic review thing. He's gone and got me thinking about subjective realities there - for example: "One reviewer mentioned the "right balance between Sorry to come back again, but Gordon's given me a lot of thought with his slightly epic review thing. He's gone and got me thinking about subjective realities there - for example: "One reviewer mentioned the "right balance between tension and black comedy" in Uma Thurman's overdose scene" That'd be me then. But he goes on to say: "But, what balance? Braindead indifference pervades the entire scene, as though stupid laughter and infantile apathy were the highest forms of human expression." Now, unless there's two films doing the rounds called "Pulp Fiction", something's a bit odd there. Because I saw the same scene as him and I got tension and black comedy. He got indifference and blank-eyed contempt. "Black humor can have a point but context is everything." Damn straight, and I like Pulp Fiction's grasp of that. But Gordon, now he can't find it. Again with the odd. "Pulp Fiction, on the other hand, is far too graphic to be dismissed as a cartoon" - thank God - "and far too infantile to take seriously," - once more with the me not seeing the same things; I saw a very grown-up film when I saw Pul Fiction, not one "offending without purpose" - offending isn't even in it. Then we come to "Yet, Tarantino gives Jackson the bully pulpit upon which to spew his mostly insane--albeit cleverly written--vomit, which we in the audience are supposed to behold as some higher, magnificent, and original form of hipsterish wisdom combining timeless truths of the Scriptures with the nihilistic cool of the gangsta." The problem here is that word "supposed". You, Gordon, THINK we were supposed to get all that out of it. I THOUGHT we were getting Jools' redemption - and I am assuming you're talking about the scene in the café at the end, where he recites it calmly to Tim Roth and actually, for the first time, thinks about what it means. I ask for clarification because I hate to think you've put so much effort into analysing him shouting it to people he's about to kill - which is signifying of nothing so much as Jools being scary as part of his job. Oh, and don't call it vomit, because it's childish. Glib labelling is the curse of modern criticism. Still, it's just that once so I'll let you off. But anyway, that whole subjective realities thing - you looked at Pulp Fiction and saw "Tarantino's addlebrained, infantile piggybackriding on the shoulders of inhumanity." You saw "a movie that glibly takes pleasure in people as morons mangling one another". You saw a movie that pushed a lot of your buttons. I saw a brilliantly crafted, constructed and acted piece of pure cinema, because I wasn't looking at the violence. I don't mean to criticise because you were, however - the violence and unpleasantness was obviously too much for you to see beyond, and that's fair enough. But it's also Your Problem, and one that's blinded you to the undeniable and inherent merits of the movie. Personally, I don't think it was taking pleasure in Marvin's head exploding, and if the characters were making jokes about "nigger's brains on my windshield" they completely passed me by because they seemed to be taking the situation deadly seriously to me. If he was making the film you describe, Gordon, QT wouldn't have bothered with the conversation about the hamburgers or foot massages, or the lady contemplating having a pot belly. If he was following through with the mean-spirited film you saw, he wouldn't have put the dialogue in, he would have gone straight to Marvin's Head. There's a film came out a year or two later called "Frogs For Snakes". It's about Barbara Herschey quoting film lines and shooting people for 90 minutes. It looks to me a lot like Pulp Fiction looks to you. The film takes no pleasure in the events, but it takes pleasure in the people caught up in them. That's enough for me; it's not enough for you. It doesn't make it any less one of the best films of the last ten years. And it doesn't make QT an "accomplice of schoolboy louts and retards". There really isn't any need for that. QT made a film you don't like, he didn't insult your mother. Oh, and again with the use of "retard" as perjorative. Won't have it in the house. Anyway, as far as I can tell, Pulp Fiction is indeed still a masterpiece, and always will be one - if you can see past the unpleasantness to the very real soul of the enterprise. If you can't, fair enough, but that's not QT's fault. Sorry. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ANightmareOfGhoulishMulroneycakesOct 31, 2003
[***Spoilers As Well, Probably...but then, if you haven't yet seen it, why on earth not? Shame on you.***] No, Yoon Min Cho, you DON'T get it. You miss the point completely. I have no idea what film he (I assume, from the Erin [***Spoilers As Well, Probably...but then, if you haven't yet seen it, why on earth not? Shame on you.***] No, Yoon Min Cho, you DON'T get it. You miss the point completely. I have no idea what film he (I assume, from the Erin Brockovich review he wrote, that he's a 'he') saw, but the one I saw wasn't all that violent. Really. Not for looking, anyway; violence happens, but not often in full view of the audience. You think you see more than you do see. You don't see the guy being slashed with a sword. You get a big before and a few seconds worth of after, and you think you got everything. You don't see Marvin's head burst. QT knows that would break the film altogether, so there's a shocking explosion of quite a lot of blood that takes a second or two, long enough that you think you saw what happened. But you didn't. Maybe if you got off the moral high ground and just watched the film, without the Daily Mail factor, you'd enjoy it more. Sorry to be harsh, but any review whining about violence misses the point so completely it's almost worthy of praise. The famous waking-up-Uma-Thurman scene, for example, flirts with tastelessness, but just about manages to strike the right balance between tension and black comedy by meticulously setting up the situation and characters ages beforehand. That's skill, right there. But YMC, it seems, didn't notice the skill, because he was too busy being ticking things off on his "violent bit scorecard". He probably wasn't even listening to the asbolutely magnificent dialogue because oh my God, it's sick and wrong. In fact, he can't have been, because he completely missed the significance of the Bible misquote. Unless he got up and left before the end of the film, as seems likely. Ugly as filmmaking? Not here, mate. As for being offensive as moralizing, I suppose it would be, if it was intended as such. But - here's the thing - it isn't. Yoon Min Cho, with the greatest of respect - because to my mind you've posted some of the most interesting and intelligent reviews elsewhere on this site - take a look around you. See all those trees? There's a wood there somewhere, if you care to look for it. With that review you give yourself a 2 rating, not the film. The film - just to stray onto the percieved topic - is a masterpiece. A masterpiece with swearing and blood, but if that makes a difference to you, don't watch the thing. And don't blame QT when you don't like it. If it's anyone's fault - and it really isn't - it's yours. Don't compare it to dogfighting, for heaven's sake - it really is just a movie. Oh, and don't claim the moral high ground and then use the word "retard" as a perjorative. Not funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeroenvanderMeerMay 28, 2003
Just one word: "Masterpiece."
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamL.Jul 11, 2003
One of the best movies EVER!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OmuhD.Jul 29, 2003
THIS MOVIE ROXX.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChrisI.Aug 5, 2003
This is one of the greatest movies of all time. You can watch it as many times as you want and the quality never lowers. This is one hell of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KeithE.Sep 19, 2003
This is one of the greatest films of the last 15 years. I read a few responses that were negative towards the film. These Tarantino haters claimed that the characters in Pulp Ficiton lacked character. Please!!!! In what other film can you This is one of the greatest films of the last 15 years. I read a few responses that were negative towards the film. These Tarantino haters claimed that the characters in Pulp Ficiton lacked character. Please!!!! In what other film can you see two characters having a conversation about McDonalds and be entertained by it. All of the characters were deeper than the criticizers give them credit for (maybe you need to open your minds and watch it again!). That Tarantino simply pieced the movie together is wrong. Each scene compliments the last until the beginning is the end.... Great movie, watch it twenty times and you still won't completely get it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful