Pulp Fiction

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 2055 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Jan 25, 2015
    0
    What the f222 was this sh7t? This is the worst movie i've ever seen! What a mind f777! And how the f999 this movie has this high scores? F777 the academy awards!
  2. May 24, 2013
    3
    this movie is beyond being overrated i mean there is an overrated movies and there is pulp fiction
    let's break it down shall we ?
    some people are impressed that it's 3 stories together REALLY is that impressive how about the movie babel why it's not a critically acclaimed movie like this ? the script is so corny that you can hear it from people while street walking the directing
    this movie is beyond being overrated i mean there is an overrated movies and there is pulp fiction
    let's break it down shall we ?
    some people are impressed that it's 3 stories together REALLY is that impressive
    how about the movie babel why it's not a critically acclaimed movie like this ?
    the script is so corny that you can hear it from people while street walking
    the directing OK what's great about it did you see the end of the movie and how the scenes connected together oh yes this called lack of imagination
    the performances is so annoying that it makes you question those actors resumes especially Samuel L. Jackson
    the homosexual rape is the weirdest thing i ever seen in a Hollywood movie and that's not even the worst part it doesn't add a thing to the story.
    the characters are ridiculous and i can go on and on but there is no point
    i guess some people get tricked into thinking that the movie is good
    because it's a Quentin Tarantino movie without actually watching the movie.
    Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    0
    I know, everyone says it's a good movie. Yes it is, but not my type. I tried to watch it 2-3 times but I can not resist. Something attracts me at all, not at all, I get bored so fast ... No offense, it is my opinion
  4. Jul 25, 2014
    1
    I have a lot to say about this movie. The plot is annoyingly simple, the performances are simply awful and Tarantuno's direction is the worst thing i've ever seen in cinema. I mean, it's only different sketches together in one disgusting movie. Im out.
  5. Nov 2, 2011
    0
    apparently,this movie has been overatted by the critics.this movie's really an incorrigible and incoherant rubbish. i call this movie a "ROTTEN FICTION".
  6. Feb 16, 2013
    0
    Ok, so this is the famous Tarantino masterpiece everyone is talking about. Ok, for starters, I thought the scene selection thing on my dvd was on random mode. People were dead in one scene then all of a sudden alive in the next. It didn't make sense and I was so confused I was a little sick in my stomach. Also, the movie was very racist, with Tarantino's script using the nasty word as muchOk, so this is the famous Tarantino masterpiece everyone is talking about. Ok, for starters, I thought the scene selection thing on my dvd was on random mode. People were dead in one scene then all of a sudden alive in the next. It didn't make sense and I was so confused I was a little sick in my stomach. Also, the movie was very racist, with Tarantino's script using the nasty word as much as he could. One of them even gets bummed. Everyone in this seems hell bent on using drugs, violence, racism of fatty fast food to get by. This may be how life was depicted in 1994 but it's a whole nother story in 2013. Get with the times, people... Expand
  7. Jul 23, 2015
    0
    This is one of the most overrated movies ever made, I neither like this movie or think it is good or edge, people need to get over Tarantino as he is far from a good writer or director, terrible movie.
  8. Sep 12, 2014
    1
    95% of this acclaimed film is detestable: the script, plot, cinematography and of course, Tarantino. The only thing that redeems this film from utter failure is the acting, mostly on the part of Christopher Walken, Samuel L. Jackson and Harvey Keitel.
  9. ArnaldoB.
    Jan 27, 2004
    0
    Most overrated movie I have ever seen.
  10. KenL.
    Aug 30, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILERs***] I'm not a prude. i liked "the godfather." and john carpenter's "the thing," which registers pretty darn high on the gore scale, is one of my all-time favorite movies. but "pulp fiction" is cinematic masturbation at its most juvenile. it's one long series of self-indulgent gangland fantasies as seen through the eyes of someone who us under the impression that[***SPOILERs***] I'm not a prude. i liked "the godfather." and john carpenter's "the thing," which registers pretty darn high on the gore scale, is one of my all-time favorite movies. but "pulp fiction" is cinematic masturbation at its most juvenile. it's one long series of self-indulgent gangland fantasies as seen through the eyes of someone who us under the impression that combining irony with violence equals brilliance. it's uncannily similar to when a young person figures out how to be sarcastic. he/she will revel in his/her newfound powers of irony at every opportunity, until it becomes a matter of sheer self-indulgence. see such film triumphs as these: a righteous african american quoting the bible as he riddles the bodies of young men with enough lead to shield superman's gonads from the motherlode of kryptonite. (oh my god, best movie of all time!!!) a sadistic inbred freak getting a taste of his own sodomy...from a righteous black man who moments before was on the receiving end of the same prescription. (never before in the history of culture have we seen such brilliance!!!!) a girl who o.d'ed getting stabbed in the heart with a giant needle filled with adrenalin, jumping up and, when asked to say something, says "something" in a rather nonplussed fashion--followed by a "whoa...that's trippy" from one of the other participants. (that rawks, man! even more than when i'm watching the real beavis and butthead!!!) killers on their way to assassinate someone speaking of such banalities as a quarter pounder with cheese being called a royale du fromage in france. (did you see how the boy king managed to make his killers a thousand times more awesomely hitmenlike by juxtaposing their murderous activities with mcdonalds' cheeseburgers--brilliantly referencing an american cultural icon along the way?!!) tarantino cannot for one moment resist the compulsion to punch you in the face with his brass knuckles of irony. the violence in "pulp fiction" and "natural born killers" clearly resides in the realm of self-indulgence. he makes his characters commit outrageously violent acts with not only ironic indifference, but with shocking detachment, which of course is meant to show not just how badass they are, but to shock the viewer into a kind of slack-jawed awe. when he won an academy award for "pulp fiction," he and his friend abruptly wrapped up their thoroughly inelegant acceptance comments--as it could hardly have been called a speech--with the decidedly juvenile comment, "if you'll excuse me now, i have to go pee." oh well. with these guys, it's either cinematic urination or cinematic masturbation. Expand
  11. SeanW.
    Mar 20, 2002
    0
    A classic? Glorified violence, cheesy characters, horrendous language- this is what qualifies as a classic these days? Just the resurrection of John Revolta's career is bad enough, but- please, Taratino is a perverted person, and I don't care how deep he's supposed to be, his movies are rubbish.
  12. VictoriaM.
    Jan 9, 2004
    0
    Thank you to all those who voted 0 to 3 rating on this horrible garbage. I have never seen such tripe and never will again. I thought the whole world had gone mad, but there are a few sane voices in the wilderness.
  13. JohnH.
    Apr 2, 2006
    2
    The movie was disgusting and devoid of plot. In the same way that American Graffiti offered a portrait of tween-life in the '60s, it offers a sketch of how gangsters and druggies get by. At least this was all I could produce of a point. The scene with Christopher Walken was supposed to be a highlight of the comedy. He stuck a watch up his butt. Get it? Yeah, real masterful humor. No The movie was disgusting and devoid of plot. In the same way that American Graffiti offered a portrait of tween-life in the '60s, it offers a sketch of how gangsters and druggies get by. At least this was all I could produce of a point. The scene with Christopher Walken was supposed to be a highlight of the comedy. He stuck a watch up his butt. Get it? Yeah, real masterful humor. No second grader could come up with that. The ending was kind of cute. Too bad it was not at all related to any of the other gross shots in the movie. It was just kind of there, for its own sake. Expand
  14. JS
    Jan 8, 2008
    1
    Amoral garbage. Most people don't understand this because a) Tarantino, though repulsively glib, has a rare gift; b) this gift is for making slicker than slick movies that don't bear a moment's reflection; and c) most people don't like reflecting on the kind of bloodbaths Tarantino offers here.
  15. TylerC.
    Dec 17, 2003
    0
    I waited 9 years to see this movie and after 9 years I see that I should have waited longer. I'm sorry to say this but I do not think that rape is entertaining. Also, after seeing Reservoir Dogs I do not think that torture is entertaining. I feel horrible that this sick crap entertains so many.
  16. GordonM.
    Dec 8, 2003
    3
    Yes, there are movies much gorier than Pulp Fiction but few directed by major directors that are as ugly. A movie like Schindler's List or Platoon is more violent quantitatively than Pulp Fiction yet Tarantino's violence is just a smart-dumb declaration of contempt for humanity. Personally, Marvin's head exploding upsets me far less than having other characters go at Yes, there are movies much gorier than Pulp Fiction but few directed by major directors that are as ugly. A movie like Schindler's List or Platoon is more violent quantitatively than Pulp Fiction yet Tarantino's violence is just a smart-dumb declaration of contempt for humanity. Personally, Marvin's head exploding upsets me far less than having other characters go at length, cracking jokes about a 'nigger's brains splattered across my windshield'. This is to be expected from the likes of Howard Stern or Mancow, but I expected more from the director of Reservoir Dogs. One reviewer mentioned the "right balance between tension and black comedy" in Uma Thurman's overdose scene. But, what balance? Braindead indifference pervades the entire scene, as though stupid laughter and infantile apathy were the highest forms of human expression. Inhumanity can be funny, black humor can have a point but context is everything. Three Stooges films, though cruel, are too outlandish to offend. Dr. Strangelove's misanthropic vision nests a pessimistic but genuine humanism. Pulp Fiction, on the other hand, is far too graphic to be dismissed as a cartoon and far too infantile to take seriously, offending without purpose. As for its big Bible (mis)quote, it's a clever piece of writing and powerful instance of Jackson's estimable talent but offensive served up as a sermon. I don't doubt that criminals have their unique moral codes; that they, like everyone else, go thru some kind of existential trial-by-fire whereby limited knowledge, pride, guilt, fear, weariness, and other factors merge toward formulating a new outlook on life; in other words, no one is ever totally condemned nor saved; we hover between sin and redemption. Yet, Tarantino gives Jackson the bully pulpit upon which to spew his mostly insane--albeit cleverly written--vomit, which we in the audience are supposed to behold as some higher, magnificent, and original form of hipsterish wisdom combining timeless truths of the Scriptures with the nihilistic cool of the gangsta. I just don't buy the hype. It's a cliche in movies to have blacks play judges because of the popular image of noble negro having overcome centuries of suffering; Jackson's sermonizing is in that mold; it's Tarantino the white boy's infatuation with black machismo smoothed around the edges by the notions of the spiritual negro, placed atop the altar of the church of the hipsterich badass cool(it's just a foulmouthered version of Legend of Bagger Vance). To each his own; I find it hollow. Tarantino has debased his considerable talent for ugly purposes. No matter how gracefully one shovels s***, it's still s***. Why go to such length to create plausible characters, write witty dialogue, mimic real gore and violence to wallow in foul artifice? Movies reflect human thought, values, emotions, and society. A movie celebrating dogfighting--even if all the dogfights were faked--is as bad as dogfighting. A movie glorifying the Holocaust or the Gulag--even if no one's actually killed--is as repugnant as the real thing because human thought and action are not entirely separate, which is why Birth of a Nation is not JUST A MOVIE. Tarantino's Pulp Fiction, if not a dogfight movie, is a humanfight movie. A movie that glibly takes pleasure in people as morons mangling one another. Movies don't have to show only the good side of mankind nor do they have to be didactic. But, the difference between Goodfellas and Pulp Fiction is Scorsese doesn't turn himself into a fanboy accomplice of louts and retards. But Pulp Fiction, unlike Goodfellas--or even Reservoir Dogs, for that matter--is nothing without Tarantino's addlebrained, infantile piggybackriding on the shoulders of inhumanity. That he's clever and packed his film with all sorts of homages to Noir, French New Wave, forgotten TV shows ultimately mean nothing; one can find similarly pointless but interesting conservations in Taxi cabs. What matters is Tarantino decided to make his film revolve around disturbing violence, mayhem, and murder, yet all he could come up with are gay redneck jokes, a splattered 'nigger's brains' joke, and a nauseating pulpy sermon. It's a good movie for anyone who wants to squeal like a pig which sadly applies to most critics who bent over backwards--or forwards--for this rot. Expand
  17. ChrisE.
    Feb 23, 2005
    3
    Overated.
  18. RoseM
    May 1, 2005
    3
    Yes, the movie was funny. It was NOT original, just like nothing QT does is original. And I'm not going to get past a Black man being raped and all the "ni..ers" uttered by QT: they were unnecessary to what little plot there was. The Boxing chapter was the best, but there were better ways have Marcellus forgive the slight. I don't know why ppl are obsessed with QT, other than Yes, the movie was funny. It was NOT original, just like nothing QT does is original. And I'm not going to get past a Black man being raped and all the "ni..ers" uttered by QT: they were unnecessary to what little plot there was. The Boxing chapter was the best, but there were better ways have Marcellus forgive the slight. I don't know why ppl are obsessed with QT, other than the sad idea that ppl are more depraved than I thought. After sitting thru Kill Bill recently, QT's mediocrity was confirmed. He has technical gifts but can't write, can't act and has no discernible panache. Expand
  19. ChipZ.
    Jun 6, 2005
    0
    A civilization which can produce, acclaim, and laugh at this movie does not deserve to continue existing, or to have ever existed.
  20. AriB.
    Jul 21, 2005
    1
    I just don't get it. Why do they love this film so much? It's a stupid movie about stupid people. Nothing's funny. Nothing was built up. There was nothing to think about. It felt like artistic rape. I wasn't even bored, but I wanted to walk out. This movie felt like modern art that just went over my head and flushed into the toilet. It's one notch up the Beavis I just don't get it. Why do they love this film so much? It's a stupid movie about stupid people. Nothing's funny. Nothing was built up. There was nothing to think about. It felt like artistic rape. I wasn't even bored, but I wanted to walk out. This movie felt like modern art that just went over my head and flushed into the toilet. It's one notch up the Beavis and Butthead movie and half a notch up My Boss' Daughter. Maybe like it's one of those really ugly sculptures that is so riveting that some people just have to love it while some just cannot. The briefcase?? Who cares? Salvation??? How? This movie was so infuriating, I can't even give it a zero rating. Expand
  21. MaxW
    Aug 13, 2005
    0
    Tarantino is a horrible director with crappy ideas.
  22. PamL.
    May 20, 2006
    0
    I went to see this movie with my husband when it first came out. I found it so disgusting and frankly boring that for the first (and only time in my life) I walked out of the theater after about 20 minutes. While my husband watched, I struck up a much more fascinating conversation in the lobby with an older usher from the U.K. who had been a jockey.
  23. J.H.
    Feb 7, 2007
    3
    A long winded, often boring, waaayyyy too long movie written around catch phrases and gratuitous violence that sold a fortune of cool posters to college kids all over the world. One long t.v. commercial with endless "props" to 50 years of pop culture. Gets a three for some of the acting and nothing else.
  24. RaifH.
    Nov 3, 2003
    0
    Depressing, dehumanizing, desensitizing. Tarantino is an exploitive hack, a 7th grader trying to shock.
  25. YoonMinC.
    Sep 24, 2003
    2
    [***SPOILERS***] Kudos to Tarantino's witty writing and his inventive framing device. Also, his way with actors is saucy and savvy. However, this is an ugly orgy of inhumanity, cinema as hacked off body parts strewn like so much trash. It's one thing to lampoon or parody violence but when one splashes the screen with violence this graphic and gory there should be some moral[***SPOILERS***] Kudos to Tarantino's witty writing and his inventive framing device. Also, his way with actors is saucy and savvy. However, this is an ugly orgy of inhumanity, cinema as hacked off body parts strewn like so much trash. It's one thing to lampoon or parody violence but when one splashes the screen with violence this graphic and gory there should be some moral accounting. Tarantino, who was up to such demand in Resevoir Dogs, goes into dumb 70s exploitation movie mode here, piling up dead, mangled, or bruised bodies while goading us to sneer and laugh like a bunch of doped out retards. One scene is an extended joke on saving an O.D.ed woman with a thick needle stabbed into her heart. Another scene has Jackson ruthlessly shoot a bunch of teens while making grand speeches misquoted from the Bible. Another has a bunch of rednecks bugger a black man only to have Bruce Willis turn the tide by slashing one with a sword, allowing the buggered black man(Rhames)to grab a shotgun and blow off the testicles of one of the rednecks and then make Burn Baby Burn speeches. This is ugly as cinema and offensive as moralizing. It's a smug, snide, sneering exercise in hipsterish cool and if this movie is the measure how 'with-it' anyone is, I'm proud to be lame. Some will say I just don't get it. Yes, I don't get dogfighting either. Nor, the pasttime of herding up foxes and clubbing them to death to the delight of onlookers; nor the joys of lynching. But, it's just a movie, no? Not when it's praised as the greatest thing since Shakespeare. Expand
  26. KenL.
    Sep 12, 2006
    1
    [***SPOILERs***] I'm not a prude. i liked "the godfather." and john carpenter's "the thing," which registers pretty darn high on the gore scale, is one of my all-time favorite movies. but "pulp fiction" is cinematic masturbation at its most juvenile. it's one long series of self-indulgent gangland fantasies as seen through the eyes of someone who us under the impression that[***SPOILERs***] I'm not a prude. i liked "the godfather." and john carpenter's "the thing," which registers pretty darn high on the gore scale, is one of my all-time favorite movies. but "pulp fiction" is cinematic masturbation at its most juvenile. it's one long series of self-indulgent gangland fantasies as seen through the eyes of someone who us under the impression that combining irony with violence equals brilliance. it's uncannily similar to when a young person figures out how to be sarcastic. he/she will revel in his/her newfound powers of irony at every opportunity, until it becomes a matter of sheer self-indulgence. see such film triumphs as these: a righteous african american quoting the bible as he riddles the bodies of young men with enough lead to shield superman's gonads from the motherlode of kryptonite. (oh my god, best movie of all time!!!) a sadistic inbred freak getting a taste of his own sodomy...from a righteous black man who moments before was on the receiving end of the same prescription. (never before in the history of culture have we seen such brilliance!!!!) a girl who o.d'ed getting stabbed in the heart with a giant needle filled with adrenalin, jumping up and, when asked to say something, says "something" in a rather nonplussed fashion--followed by a "whoa...that's trippy" from one of the other participants. (that rawks, man! even more than when i'm watching the real beavis and butthead!!!) killers on their way to assassinate someone speaking of such banalities as a quarter pounder with cheese being called a royale du fromage in france. (did you see how the boy king managed to make his killers a thousand times more awesomely hitmenlike by juxtaposing their murderous activities with mcdonalds' cheeseburgers--brilliantly referencing an american cultural icon along the way?!!) tarantino cannot for one moment resist the compulsion to punch you in the face with his brass knuckles of irony. the violence in "pulp fiction" and "natural born killers" clearly resides in the realm of self-indulgence. he makes his characters commit outrageously violent acts with not only ironic indifference, but with shocking detachment, which of course is meant to show not just how badass they are, but to shock the viewer into a kind of slack-jawed awe. when he won an academy award for "pulp fiction," he and his friend abruptly wrapped up their thoroughly inelegant acceptance comments--as it could hardly have been called a speech--with the decidedly juvenile comment, "if you'll excuse me now, i have to go pee." oh well. with these guys, it's either cinematic urination or cinematic masturbation. Expand
  27. CK
    Dec 26, 2007
    0
    We are movie fanatics who watched this cinematic pile of crap with seven other people ranging in age from 22 to 86. We watch a lot of movies in all genres, and we all thought it was the most overrated piece of vulgar garbage with gratuitous violence, foul language, and on top of it, waaaay too boring. Don't know what deep thought anyone is talking about. We have removed this from our We are movie fanatics who watched this cinematic pile of crap with seven other people ranging in age from 22 to 86. We watch a lot of movies in all genres, and we all thought it was the most overrated piece of vulgar garbage with gratuitous violence, foul language, and on top of it, waaaay too boring. Don't know what deep thought anyone is talking about. We have removed this from our collection. BTW, I have never given a movie a 0 before, and we have over 2000 movies in our collection. I echo those who say stay away..... Expand
  28. EricG
    Nov 15, 2008
    3
    Not the worst movie ever, but certainly not the masterpiece it was built up to be: Not funny, not interesting, no real story to tell, Didn't like and couldn't relate to any of the characters. In short, this movie is 2.5 hours of pure garbage.
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. 70
    The experience overall is like laughing down a gun barrel, a little bit tiring, a lot sick and maybe far too perverse for less jaded moviegoers.
  2. The New Republic
    Reviewed by: Stanley Kauffmann
    70
    But the way that this picture has been so widely ravened up and drooled over verges on the disgusting. Pulp Fiction nourishes, abets, cultural slumming. [14 Nov 1994]
  3. Chicago Tribune
    Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    100
    Pulp Fiction isn't just funny. It's outrageously funny. [14 Oct 1994]