Miramax Films | Release Date: October 14, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2177 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,030
Mixed:
47
Negative:
100
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
EpicLadySpongeFeb 3, 2016
Watch it once... huh? Watch it twice... okay, it's somehow enjoyable. Watch it three times.... ok, now that's lovable. Watch it four times... okay, I admit it's a masterpiece. Watch it five times.... wow, enjoyable and a masterpiece. Watch itWatch it once... huh? Watch it twice... okay, it's somehow enjoyable. Watch it three times.... ok, now that's lovable. Watch it four times... okay, I admit it's a masterpiece. Watch it five times.... wow, enjoyable and a masterpiece. Watch it six or higher times, WOW! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleJun 2, 2013
This movie is really really good, but just...strange. After you finish watching it, it leaves you with a strange feeling. Yet, it was extremely entertaining. It may be 2 and a half hours, but that seemed to fly by while watching it. Masterpiece.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerMay 16, 2013
A very interesting movie. Its combination of extreme violence and creates something unique and fantastic. The cast is filled with some of the best actors out there and the writing is just fantastic. It's unlike anything you've ever seen before.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MovieGuysSep 15, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pulp Fiction is one of those movies I liked more in retrospect than at the time. I think Tarantino's genius does play a part in this film, and the product is substantial; but Reservoir Dogs is better.

All the characters use witty, random dialogue about European hamburgers and the sexual implications of foot massages, but to what avail? I mean, as fun as it is to hear and watch, I just found that the whole movie lacked something. Maybe a little bit more editing would've done the trick; maybe it was something else. I can't quite put my finger on it.

Don't get me wrong. I think this is a classic Tarantino movie. I enjoyed Samuel L. Jackson's quotable lines, as well as a couple of outstanding scenes. (The OD, the Big Date, the scene where Harvey Keitel gets rid of the body, etc.) As a whole, the movie does work. But some minor details would make it even better.

The storyline of Bruce Willis and Ving Rhames was a little much. (Did Ving *really* have to get raped?) I know Tarantino just wanted to add some shock value to his film, but even for a person who doesn't mind that kind of thing in movies I found it a little extreme.

Oh, and one more thing: I learned that "zapateria" means "shoe store" in Spanish, courtesy of Butch.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Compi24Jul 14, 2015
Quentin Tarantino effortlessly seals his fate in Hollywood history with "Pulp Fiction," a thriller with all the signature Tarantino-isms: the engrossing dialogue, the gallows humor, and - of course - the gleeful brutality.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeAug 28, 2014
It is difficult to not recognize the triumph that Pulp Fiction truly is. Quentin Tarantino proves here his place amongst the film industry. Uma Thurman is superb! Many of the sequences are mind-blowing. My one issue with Pulp: leave outIt is difficult to not recognize the triumph that Pulp Fiction truly is. Quentin Tarantino proves here his place amongst the film industry. Uma Thurman is superb! Many of the sequences are mind-blowing. My one issue with Pulp: leave out Bruce Willis, entirely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
csw12Nov 26, 2015
As quirky and surprising as a movie gets without being annoying. The one liners are priceless and this will be one of the best roller coaster rides you will have in a film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ThegodfathersonJul 20, 2013
One of the most influential films of the 1990s, Pulp Fiction is a delirious post-modern mix of neo-noir thrills, pitch-black humor, and pop-culture touchstones.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart,Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart, controversial directions, "Pulp Fiction" spills in racism, mistakes, faults, God, and redemption into the game of crime. It's simply astonishing to do such thing, which makes the film a long living masterpiece in film history. Expand
24 of 25 users found this helpful241
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
It combines wit, humor, thrills, and eccentric realism for nearly three hours before it turn out to be one of the best films I've ever seen. Pulp Fiction is one of the great achievements in American cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeJan 8, 2017
Undoubtedly a classic, Pulp Fiction is well acted, well executed, well made and the movie was definitely interesting. It might have been too long for it's own good, but it's still a pretty good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 24, 2012
The plot is a little confusing at times (during Bruce Willis's part of the film) but overall its interesting and you gotta pay close attention to it. The cast is good ,not as great as people make it seem to be. There are parts in the movieThe plot is a little confusing at times (during Bruce Willis's part of the film) but overall its interesting and you gotta pay close attention to it. The cast is good ,not as great as people make it seem to be. There are parts in the movie that are excellent as well (usually the parts with Samuel L. Jackson). Overall its just a good film and worth the watch. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksMay 14, 2016
A near perfect film. Though Reservoir Dogs proved Tarantino was a force to be reckoned with, Pulp Fiction will always remain his masterpiece to film critics and fans alike.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
j30Nov 9, 2011
One of the best movies ever made, a masterpiece from the great Quentin Tarantino. Talk about one of the biggest Best Picture snubs in history. I'd be OK with Shawshank Redemption winning over Forest Gump. This movie has one of the bestOne of the best movies ever made, a masterpiece from the great Quentin Tarantino. Talk about one of the biggest Best Picture snubs in history. I'd be OK with Shawshank Redemption winning over Forest Gump. This movie has one of the best screenplays ever written, with razor sharp dialog and stories that are great all across the board. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JacobJan 8, 2015
Pulp Fiction is brilliant in that it lacks any sort of story. This is a film following the lives of several characters at various points of time. Most of the dialogue is natural and characters are allowed to breath. This is a film about lifePulp Fiction is brilliant in that it lacks any sort of story. This is a film following the lives of several characters at various points of time. Most of the dialogue is natural and characters are allowed to breath. This is a film about life and people more than anything else and it was really well executed. This is topped off with some great acting and wonderful presentation. I loved this movie at best and really liked it at its worst. I can see why this film has gained a lot of buzz. Definitely will be seeing this film a few more times in the future and you should to. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
It's complex story-line yet flamboyant and understandable comical tone ads to it's accomplished acting. It creates this parody of gangster life and how any other story can interrelate. That's the true beauty of "Pulp Fiction". My favorite movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochOct 15, 2012
That's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. TarantinoThat's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. Tarantino at his best, I would've given it 10 points, if there weren't the lame Bruce Willis part. It's not bad, but it's improper in my opinion. Still a must-see and one of the best movies ever made! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Pulp Fiction reaches near perfection.
A crime drama woven from multiple interlocking stories creating an unpredictable slew of comical, action packed and entertaining dialogue and plot twists. A masterpiece of a film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aadityamudharApr 17, 2016
Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart,Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart, controversial directions, "Pulp Fiction" spills in racism, mistakes, faults, God, and redemption into the game of crime. It's simply astonishing to do such thing, which makes the film a long living masterpiece in film history. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
drlowdonAug 12, 2013
Pulp Fiction tells the tale of a pair of hit-men trying to retrieve a briefcase, an ageing boxer taking a bung and going on the run and a couple of small-time crooks out of their depth. Shown in no particular order chronology is completelyPulp Fiction tells the tale of a pair of hit-men trying to retrieve a briefcase, an ageing boxer taking a bung and going on the run and a couple of small-time crooks out of their depth. Shown in no particular order chronology is completely out the window. To this day Pulp Fiction probably remains Tarantino's best movie. The cast, some of whose careers where seemingly going nowhere at the time, are uniformly excellent making the most of the fantastically cool script. The complex interweaving plot demands attention and while it will certainly not be for everybody it is certainly a film that everyone should see at least once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyApr 16, 2012
An epic movie, I don't be a fan of Tarantino, some of his movies are awful (in the good sense) for me (Hostal scare me and much). But Pulp Fiction is a master piece film, is really incredible, the development is supreme, the performances ofAn epic movie, I don't be a fan of Tarantino, some of his movies are awful (in the good sense) for me (Hostal scare me and much). But Pulp Fiction is a master piece film, is really incredible, the development is supreme, the performances of all the cast are amazing, I love this movie. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
KivaJul 7, 2013
Pulp Fiction was a big surprise to me. It is a small anthology with some crime stories which take place in America. It is directed in an amazing way and I love the photography of that film. Quentin Tarrantino did a great job in that film andPulp Fiction was a big surprise to me. It is a small anthology with some crime stories which take place in America. It is directed in an amazing way and I love the photography of that film. Quentin Tarrantino did a great job in that film and the actors like John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson amazed me with their performance. The movie is interesting and after watching that film you will be amazed. It has suspense and a great atmosphere. Thumbs up! *After Pulp Fiction I want to watch more of the director's film* Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chwJul 17, 2014
Pulp Fiction is an excellent movie. Although, it may seen confusing to some (not many people), it was a very good, very original film by Quentin Tarantino.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RalfbergsJun 4, 2015
One of the best movies and one of my favorites. The movie which Tarantino got his fame with and it really is classic Tarantino movie. Contains funny scenes, graphic and bloody scenes, interesting plot and everything else to watch and enjoy a movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
spadenxJan 5, 2012
Hands down one of the best films I have ever seen. One of the rare films that actually lives up to its hype. The story can be a little bit confusing but once you reach the end, The entire storyline just falls into place and it all makesHands down one of the best films I have ever seen. One of the rare films that actually lives up to its hype. The story can be a little bit confusing but once you reach the end, The entire storyline just falls into place and it all makes sense. I dont wanna over hype but I would definently suggest watching this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BradySmithNov 3, 2015
It's a witty, original, funny, and very stylish movie... but it's very overrated. The things to like are the performances, memorable characters, and it's unique style, which is most apparent in the scenes inside of Mia Wallace's house. ButIt's a witty, original, funny, and very stylish movie... but it's very overrated. The things to like are the performances, memorable characters, and it's unique style, which is most apparent in the scenes inside of Mia Wallace's house. But there are patches that I didn't much care for and I've seen better crime movies. I'm sure it's not quite possible to review it objectively after 20 years of imitators and movies influenced by it without it feeling a little watered down, but I didn't quite see why so many people are in love with this movie. But I'll give it original and entertaining which are anything but undesirable traits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TrilobiteGMay 17, 2015
This is my favourite movie of all time

Nothing beats this, not even whiplash, and that was incredible cinema. Pulp fiction is so beautifully strung together, so vulgar, so bloody and so hilarious that you'll want to re watch it over and
This is my favourite movie of all time

Nothing beats this, not even whiplash, and that was incredible cinema. Pulp fiction is so beautifully strung together, so vulgar, so bloody and so hilarious that you'll want to re watch it over and over again. Topped off with glorified drugs is quentin tarantinos best film and it is definitely the best film I have ever seen ever.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMasterEddyApr 3, 2016
“Pulp Fiction” is everything it’s said to be: brilliant and brutal, funny and exhilarating, jaw-droppingly cruel and disarmingly sweet. Quentin Tarantino, the postmodern Boy Wonder of American crass culture, for whom the only thing to fear is“Pulp Fiction” is everything it’s said to be: brilliant and brutal, funny and exhilarating, jaw-droppingly cruel and disarmingly sweet. Quentin Tarantino, the postmodern Boy Wonder of American crass culture, for whom the only thing to fear is boredom itself, has produced a work of mesmerizing entertainment. To watch this movie (whose 2 1/2 hours speed by unnoticed) is to experience a near-assault of creativity.

The multi-plot story, whose almost-Escherian design becomes apparent as the movie progresses, is too involved to outline. Essentially, the film’s a narrative circle of interconnecting, time-jumping episodes, in which various pulp-fictional gangsters, molls and palookas deal with bizarre occurrences in their lives. In the end, everything comes together in a multi-ironic Tarantino reverie. The never-a-dull-moment drama is propelled by its crazy-casting dream team: Samuel L. Jackson is unforgettable as a philosophical killer who quotes Ezekial before his ritual executions. Uma Thurman, serenely unrecognizable in a black wig, is marvelous as a zoned-out gangster’s girlfriend. Bruce Willis is a pug-faced charm as an aging boxer who refuses to throw a fight. And who knew John Travolta would produce the sweetest performance of his career as a good-natured goon?

As with his “Reservoir Dogs,” Tarantino delves into the working-stiff world of crime. For the characters in “Pulp Fiction,” killing, stealing and breaking fingers are merely occupational banalities. Partners Amanda Plummer and Tim Roth discuss whether to keep robbing liquor stores or stick up all the customers in the sandwich shop they’re eating in. (They carry on like a married couple making a mutual career decision.)

Hoodlums Travolta and Jackson—like modern-day Beckett characters—discuss foot massages, cunnilingus and cheeseburgers on their way to a routine killing job. The recently traveled Travolta informs Jackson that at the McDonald’s in Paris, the Quarter Pounder is known as “Le Royale.” However “a Big Mac’s a Big Mac, but they call it Le Big Mac.”

“Come on,” says Jackson, as they approach the room of their victims-to-be. “Let’s get into character.”

With chatty asides like these, Tarantino makes unwilling—and disconcertingly easy—conspirators of the audience, no matter how outlandish the action. In one of the movie’s most harrowing sequences, Thurman has a drug overdose and Travolta—stuck with babysitting her for his boss—has to perform improvisatory surgery. It’s horrifying and oddly funny. As Travolta and drug-dealer Eric Stoltz attempt to revive her with the help of a medical book, the movie enters some out-there combination of Sam Peckinpah-style gruesomeness and “I Love Lucy.”

Tarantino, an L.A. video store clerk-turned-auteur, was raised on filmic bloodletting. Screen violence, assimilated secondhand from such films as “Straw Dogs,” “The Godfather” and “Scarface,” is his most immediate reference point. But he transcends himself by putting brutality in quotation marks, making it traipse hand in hand with absurdity. It may be that, with “Reservoir Dogs” and “Pulp Fiction,” Tarantino has over-mined his muse. Should he make another work remotely like either film, he’ll run the risk of rendering his work commonplace. But for now, his material is witty, ironic and inspired—although the irredeemably squeamish should know to stay away. In “Pulp,” you’ll see what it is to clean up a car spattered with brain gore. But you’ll also see an amusing Harvey Keitel, as a freelance clean-up man (dressed as if for a prom) supervising the icky proceedings. In the film’s most exhilarating showpiece, Willis undergoes an extended, hair-raising suspense ride that includes sword violence, rape, gunfire and torture. After the most brutalizing experience of his life, Willis returns to his girlfriend, who promptly starts crying. Shaken beyond compare, Willis is the one who has to do the consoling.

“How was your breakfast?” he inquires, as pleasantly as he can.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
jimmytancrediAug 2, 2011
Along with typical elements of the director, Pulp Fiction is a chronologically scrambled collection of stories of crime are linked and extremely intelligent and entertaining. With that story, almost tough of Tarantino, the film makesAlong with typical elements of the director, Pulp Fiction is a chronologically scrambled collection of stories of crime are linked and extremely intelligent and entertaining. With that story, almost tough of Tarantino, the film makes references to other movies, series in several twists that change the opinion of the public about the supposed hero of the story. Fulled with jokes and dirty and gross terms, the filmâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieManiac83Apr 24, 2015
The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve uponThe danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Pulp Fiction is my favorite movie out of all the amazing films to come from director Quentin Tarantino. Everything about this film was brillent an amazing cast of over 10+ well known actors. Amazing witty Dialog that has you cracking up a lotPulp Fiction is my favorite movie out of all the amazing films to come from director Quentin Tarantino. Everything about this film was brillent an amazing cast of over 10+ well known actors. Amazing witty Dialog that has you cracking up a lot most of the conversations that go on in the movie are perfection. The gore and violence a Tarantino staple is toned done a bit from his other movies but what you get is great.

The story is a trip with the plot being jumbled all over the place it makes you peice the movie together and have fun with it. The movie more or less revolves around a big time crime boss Marsellus Wallace(Ving Rhames) and from here we branch off into little story arcs with John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson they are his hit men, Bruce Willis a guy on the run becuase we he was paid to throw a boxing match but didn't and Marsellus wife Uma Thurman she just wants to have a good time which ends up costing her. All the actors in this film do an amazing job even the actors with small roles they still sold it.

Overall I give it a 10 The movie is masterful and I never get tired of watching it also watching it on blu ray is awesome.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MasterRileyAug 10, 2016
Pulp Fiction is a very original idea for a film in the sense that it tells multiple disjointed stories rather than just one. It does this with incredible style through the writing, performances, action, music, editing, and cinematography thatPulp Fiction is a very original idea for a film in the sense that it tells multiple disjointed stories rather than just one. It does this with incredible style through the writing, performances, action, music, editing, and cinematography that the film becomes something truly amazing. A definite must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiNov 25, 2013
An instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some storyAn instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some story lines and dead in the other, and this made you think what it would have been like if these characters had gotten out in time.

There were long portions of dialogue dedicated solely to humour, and others to theological and philosophical discussions. There are three stories running in parallel, which often come into contact with the others without affecting them, and are told in a non-linear way.

Among Tarantino's films, I believe it's second only to Django Unchained, which was much more coherent and awe-inspiring, albeit with seemingly unnecessary bloody violence and an inflated running time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
cabritaJan 23, 2012
An unbelievably acted directed and written film. The film is engaging and very funny. The film is very engaging and is never dull. All the scenes in the film are superbly crafted and there is not one thing wrong I can say about this film. AAn unbelievably acted directed and written film. The film is engaging and very funny. The film is very engaging and is never dull. All the scenes in the film are superbly crafted and there is not one thing wrong I can say about this film. A true masterpiece and one of the best films of all time. To bad the rest of tarantinos films I have not enjoyed although I have not seen Kill Bill 2 and resevoir dogs. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
oDjentoDec 30, 2015
I am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjuction with Hateful 8 release. Pulp Fiction is one of my favourite films of all time. It combines great acting, incredible directing, elements of dark comedy, impeccableI am going back and reviewing all Tarantino films i have watched in conjuction with Hateful 8 release. Pulp Fiction is one of my favourite films of all time. It combines great acting, incredible directing, elements of dark comedy, impeccable dialogue and is shot in achronology to make this one of the most rewatchable and quotable films of all times. A cinematic achievement.
10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Feb 9, 2014
Nearly a perfect film. It's entertaining and not predictable, the writing is intelligent and the acting is superb. It is presented in typical Tarantino fashion (it's out of order) and this makes it a film that you will appreciate much moreNearly a perfect film. It's entertaining and not predictable, the writing is intelligent and the acting is superb. It is presented in typical Tarantino fashion (it's out of order) and this makes it a film that you will appreciate much more the second time through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theahsanhaseebSep 10, 2012
I must say that Quentin Tarantino really makes unusual films, no matter how many films you watch that are based on the crime genre, Pulp Fiction always looks different and awesome. I can't get enough of the way in which this film is shownI must say that Quentin Tarantino really makes unusual films, no matter how many films you watch that are based on the crime genre, Pulp Fiction always looks different and awesome. I can't get enough of the way in which this film is shown i.e. the non-linear narrative style, the intersecting storylines and highly stylized manner of editing are worth appreciating. Outstanding direction, strong screenplay, very clever incorporation of black-comedy and pop culture references. Moreover, the stupendous performances by Samuel L. Jackson, John Travolta and Bruce Willis make this film even better. ..And those famous scenes such as Jules' "I DARE YOU. I DOUBLE DARE YOU", and the dance of Vincent and Mia are truly brilliant. Pulp Fiction is one of the most influential films of all time, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
An oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in otherAn oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in other films. Pulp Fiction is possibly the strongest and most powerful Tarantino movie besides Inglourious Basterds{read my review for Inglourious Basterds to find out what I said}. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JonnyFendiJan 11, 2011
Thiz movie known as the most talked about movie. The movie that acquired a lot of good reviews from most critics. You must see it yourself then you understand why. Starred by many well-known Actors, such as: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson,Thiz movie known as the most talked about movie. The movie that acquired a lot of good reviews from most critics. You must see it yourself then you understand why. Starred by many well-known Actors, such as: John Travolta, Samuel L. Jackson, Uma Thurman, Bruce Willis and many. Directed by Quentin Tarantino, the eccentric Director. The plot is unusual, but very interesting in a strange way. The Script made by Tarantino himself. Very confusing plot around the movie. Move forward and backward along the movie. These elements that made people appreciate it. You must see over and over to understand the idea. However, actually the plot is an ordinary plot just like other ordinary movie but the editing made it great for overall. The other factor that make thiz movie unforgettable is the dialogues. The dialogues are mostly long but colorful, rude but exciting. Thiz movie costs by limited budget, but still a lot of well-known stars involved. Thiz proofs that The Actors know there is something different on the script to offer. The other memorable scene you will never forget is when Travolta and Truman dancing. The dancing is cult. People remember Travolta for musical movies, such as SATURDAY NIGHT FEVER (1977) and GREASE (1978). When we see him appear at movie again for such a long time and we see him dancing by his present figure, something magical happens. That is the fun part. If you like independent movie, Totally you must see this movie

Visit My Blog on JONNY'S MOVEE : http://jonnyfendi.blogspot.com
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
RegOzApr 5, 2012
Tarantino has good movies, but to me this is not his best. As many, I believe Pulp Fiction is overrated. Personally, I enjoyed Reservoir Dogs much more. Of course I can't say this is a bad movie, for that would be unfair; but it is not, inTarantino has good movies, but to me this is not his best. As many, I believe Pulp Fiction is overrated. Personally, I enjoyed Reservoir Dogs much more. Of course I can't say this is a bad movie, for that would be unfair; but it is not, in my opinion, a masterpiece. Tarantino has made himself a name because his movies are different and challenge our ideas of 'normality', but I don't see any greatness' in Pulp Fiction. I didn't find it engaging or profound; I didn't feel it was particularly fun or witty either. I guess most people either like this film or hate it. I am ambivalent about it. I think because of its cinematography, the good performances, and its peculiarity it deserves a 7. To me, giving it more than that is bestowing this movie with a nature and trascendence it doesn't have. However, I am okey if you disagree with me and I can see why. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
shiftworkerNov 30, 2016
Crime. Closely shot, sharply scripted gangster tale. The scenes appear only lightly linked, partly because each are so strong in themselves, and partly because they are steadily drow together. Watching this is sheer luxury, like the smoothestCrime. Closely shot, sharply scripted gangster tale. The scenes appear only lightly linked, partly because each are so strong in themselves, and partly because they are steadily drow together. Watching this is sheer luxury, like the smoothest milk chocolate, it leaves me feeling spoilt but wanting more. Mmmm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ReubenIsAGodAug 23, 2013
Say What, SAY WHAT, I DARE U, I DOUBLE DARE U SAY What, Awesome movie the last 2 arcs are awesome and truly make up for the slow shallow first arc, 10/10 mother
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
seancriswellOct 16, 2012
Watched this movie for the third or fourth time, and not only does it stand up, it gets better with age. There is nothing about this movie that can be explained to you, you have to see it for yourself and decide how you feel. For me there mayWatched this movie for the third or fourth time, and not only does it stand up, it gets better with age. There is nothing about this movie that can be explained to you, you have to see it for yourself and decide how you feel. For me there may not be another movie with so much rich memorable dialogue, and out of this world acting. The only problem I have with this movie at all is the character that Tarantino plays himself. I don't even think the character is poor, it is simply that Tarantino can not act. The problem here is that the cast is so big and every character so good that this character take you out of the movie for just a moment. Have no fear The Wolf is here to save this sequence. Unbelievable movie, can't wait for my next viewing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
filmtrashreviewJul 2, 2011
Some films are looked in high standard just because they have been looked at in high standard for a long time. However, this film is not one of them. It felt like you spent an entire day with the characters and at over 2 and a half hours it'sSome films are looked in high standard just because they have been looked at in high standard for a long time. However, this film is not one of them. It felt like you spent an entire day with the characters and at over 2 and a half hours it's no wonder. I didn't mind though and it's always refreshing to relive the reasons why Travolta and Jackson are forever considered great actors. The only problem I had with the film was in some places it chose guns over story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SythusRATINGSOct 21, 2014
Several inter-locking stories of crime and intrigue form a temporal mosaic set in the Los Angeles underworld with great performances from the talented cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DokaluJun 6, 2015
This movie is just cool. That's the perfect word to describe it: cool. Cool script, cool directing, cool Tarantino, cool story, cool action, cool acting, cool actors, cool movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Film_Fanatic_15Nov 22, 2010
Quentin Tarantino has created a masterpiece in the film industry. Intense action, legendary lines, and memorable characters. It's one of the best movies ever made. The entire cast is absoloutely entertaining to watch, and Tarantino's style ofQuentin Tarantino has created a masterpiece in the film industry. Intense action, legendary lines, and memorable characters. It's one of the best movies ever made. The entire cast is absoloutely entertaining to watch, and Tarantino's style of telling events out of order is intelligent. The film is epic as any movie can get. It is an intense, sexy, addictive crime/comedy/drama that warps into overdrive and thrown into the hands of one of hollywood's greatest directors and producers that puts crime into something so addictive, nobody can resist. It's like watching a sex scene on steroids while drunk. Fantastic and ultimate perfection! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GreatbealloJan 26, 2012
Brilliantly written. Pulp Fiction is one of the most intoxicating movies of all time. It sucks one into its twisting timelines, complicated relationships, and irresistible dialogue. It will sucker punch you and then kiss you lightly on theBrilliantly written. Pulp Fiction is one of the most intoxicating movies of all time. It sucks one into its twisting timelines, complicated relationships, and irresistible dialogue. It will sucker punch you and then kiss you lightly on the lips as the end credits start to roll down the screen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
sinadoomOct 29, 2011
I didn't even get what the film was about. Nothing connected. The chronology didn't make sense. But do you know what? WHO CARES! This film was a beast. BEAST. So many funny quotes, badass moments and legendary scenes. It was just soI didn't even get what the film was about. Nothing connected. The chronology didn't make sense. But do you know what? WHO CARES! This film was a beast. BEAST. So many funny quotes, badass moments and legendary scenes. It was just so entertaining. Admitedly after the first hour I was thinking "How has this film got 94 on Metacritic?" But then when I realised that it's not telling a narrative that's meant to be moving, it suddenly clicked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroNov 23, 2013
Quentin Tarantino is absolutely a genius and this movie proves how is this geniality,an outstanding movie with an non-linear story is great,some movies would serve this movie as an example.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VinceRocks123Apr 12, 2015
An explosive paradiso collage of a non-linear storytelling Quentin Tarantino really musters out the best of himself in this violent tale of black comedy, bizarre situations, profanity, crime, and religious redemption, a superb LA Pulp CrimeAn explosive paradiso collage of a non-linear storytelling Quentin Tarantino really musters out the best of himself in this violent tale of black comedy, bizarre situations, profanity, crime, and religious redemption, a superb LA Pulp Crime Novel styled sandwich that is as colorful as the first time it was made. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AkashVijayJan 19, 2015
Simply put, Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece. Abstrusely put, Pulp Fiction impeccably blends in stylistic and darkly comical dialogue with substantial notions about the bleak, sadistic and nihilistic word of gangsters, juggled in a supremelySimply put, Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece. Abstrusely put, Pulp Fiction impeccably blends in stylistic and darkly comical dialogue with substantial notions about the bleak, sadistic and nihilistic word of gangsters, juggled in a supremely intricate non-linear plot line. Pulp Fiction struck the world of cinema like a bolt of lightening when it least expected it, influencing film-makers around the world to imitate, replicate and adopt to Tarantin-ian dialogue. But knowing the words isn't enough; genius lies between the lines, or in this case, in the rhythm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SummersausageJan 5, 2013
Pronominal! Just the way this movie was written brought me so much happiness. Short stories that all connect and complex characters that have meaningless conversations that bring sub-plots that settle there until they become a main part ofPronominal! Just the way this movie was written brought me so much happiness. Short stories that all connect and complex characters that have meaningless conversations that bring sub-plots that settle there until they become a main part of the original storyline. I love the over saturation of colors to shoot a new style of noir for L.A. Samual L. Jackson gives the best performance of his career and his revelations speech is one of the greatest moments in american filmography. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
YorkManFeb 1, 2016
Pulp Fiction remains the film that QT's output will always be compared to. After Reservoir Dogs put him on the map (even if it's just an unashamed rip-off of the far better 'City on Fire'), Pulp Fiction came along a couple of years later andPulp Fiction remains the film that QT's output will always be compared to. After Reservoir Dogs put him on the map (even if it's just an unashamed rip-off of the far better 'City on Fire'), Pulp Fiction came along a couple of years later and just annihilated the idea that independent film-making was about scraping back enough profit to plough into the next project.
On a small ($8 Million) budget, it grossed over $200 Million, and cemented QT as THE director for any respectable actor to get themselves associated with.

It's hard to sit here and offer any kind of critique of the movie, it's now became so ingrained into 'pop' culture that it's more about the legacy, than the film itself. It spawned a slew of similarly styled/themed movies over the next few years, and the term 'Tarantino-esque' was invented to describe them.
The film resurrected the career of John Travolta, turned Uma Thurman into an unlikely pin-up, and showed the world what only a few people had noticed up to that point... That Samuel L. Jackson was one of the most charismatic actors of all time.
With its sequence-breaking narrative, groundbreaking usage of music, extended steadycam shots, over the top violence/profanity, drug usage, witty dialogue, brilliant direction, and enough nods to other great films of the 40's/50's and 60's to keep the most avid cinephile trying to spot references in the background of virtually every shot...
A true modern masterpiece, and worthy of a 10/10 rating.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LaGuertaMar 17, 2013
A brilliant spectacle of violence, humour and quirk, what can be said about this film which hasn't already been said? Get yourself a big Kahuna burger, a tasty Sprite to wash it down and watch Pulp Fiction, Ezekial 25:17.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LinttaFlamingoOct 19, 2016
Pulp Fiction is so well written that nothing feels forced. It's a long, outrageously funny and clever gangster film that gives us characters that actually have personality and actually do normal things too. And I seriously want to know whatPulp Fiction is so well written that nothing feels forced. It's a long, outrageously funny and clever gangster film that gives us characters that actually have personality and actually do normal things too. And I seriously want to know what was in that briefcase. Quentin Tarantino knows his stuff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
heathermMar 23, 2015
I don't really know what good things I can add in a review of this amazing movie. The stories all come together so perfectly, the individual scenes are gorgeous, and the dialogue has this wonderful theatricality that makes it so, so fun toI don't really know what good things I can add in a review of this amazing movie. The stories all come together so perfectly, the individual scenes are gorgeous, and the dialogue has this wonderful theatricality that makes it so, so fun to watch. Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta frame the movie in a big way, with their quick-paced, antagonistic dialogue and absolutely wonderful portrayals. Uma Thurman is amazing in a crazy, off-kilter kind of way and of course the dance scene she has with Travolta is famous for a reason. Her self-disparaging almost-shyness gives her character this delicacy that's beautiful to watch. Wonderful ensemble cast, captivating web of overlapping stories and timelines. There are so many reasons this film is a classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JumpmanJan 7, 2016
Overrated for sure but undoubtedly entertaining. Tarantino is a genius he is among the top 10 filmmakers of all time and maybe the most genuine one!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
DalekAug 18, 2014
Pulp Fiction was something special. Something different, with fantastic character development as well as dialogue and memorable quotes. It's definitely worth watching.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
NShep53Aug 1, 2015
Pulp Fiction is the movie that really opened my eyes to "good" movies. Yes, before I saw Pulp Fiction, I had seen good movies, but after watching PF I understood what a good movie was and why it was good. And PF is not just good. It isPulp Fiction is the movie that really opened my eyes to "good" movies. Yes, before I saw Pulp Fiction, I had seen good movies, but after watching PF I understood what a good movie was and why it was good. And PF is not just good. It is amazing. The cast is perfect, the structure of the movie feels fresh and different. Overall, the movie is a modern masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Epik_NinnjaMay 23, 2015
I understand the high reviews and why this is regarded as such a classic (and I agree it's a classic) but I didn't love it like most others did. It's an episodic and eccentric film about a number of different men who somehow end up workingI understand the high reviews and why this is regarded as such a classic (and I agree it's a classic) but I didn't love it like most others did. It's an episodic and eccentric film about a number of different men who somehow end up working for this man with a bandade on his head. Either that, or he's trying to kill them. It's funny at times and just plain stylish at others. I'll admit the dialogue is good. Despite all this, it's just so eccentric sometimes that I begin to not like it as much. Also, there are some just plain boring scenes where characters talk about nothig of importance. I suppose this is part of the appeal, with its stylistic dialogue and all, but I was bored. To wrap this up, there's no doubt I like the movie but I'm afraid I can't say that I love it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
warrenworldMay 3, 2014
The direction, acting, and template are just the things that make this a cinematic achievement, even when there are moments of imperfect conversation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CPD98Aug 19, 2014
¿Que decir de esta película? Tarantino es un genio pero con esta obra se superó. El dúo Travolta-Jackson ya es parte de la historia del cine, los diálogos son realmente divertidos, con frases míticas (bueno, pero no empecemos a chuparnos las¿Que decir de esta película? Tarantino es un genio pero con esta obra se superó. El dúo Travolta-Jackson ya es parte de la historia del cine, los diálogos son realmente divertidos, con frases míticas (bueno, pero no empecemos a chuparnos las pollas todavía), la trama de mas de dos horas te tiene enganchado hasta el final, y que final, una de las mejores escenas de la historia. En definitiva, una película que la puedes ver todas las veces que quieras y que siempre te sorprende y te hace gracia. Película que hay que ver antes de morir si o si. Toda una genialidad. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of the zaniest, funniest, smartest and most entertaining movies I have ever seen. One of my all time favorites as well. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson give terrific performances.
29 of 31 users found this helpful292
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
Pulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.ThePulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.The starring actors do an excellent job, Which is't a surprise. The script is typical in Tarantino's style.Something to note is that the acts aren't in chronological order, but will still make sense Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nboley08Aug 15, 2010
Might be the best film of the 1990's. Tarantino established himself as one of the most stylish and individual directors alive with this masterpiece of pop cinema, which combines several stories involving a vivid array of characters who couldMight be the best film of the 1990's. Tarantino established himself as one of the most stylish and individual directors alive with this masterpiece of pop cinema, which combines several stories involving a vivid array of characters who could only be seen in a comic book. The dialogue is fantastic (one of the best and most entertaining screenplays ever), the performances are fantastic, and the soundtrack rocks throughout the entire movie. This is one of the key films in American cinema, and should be watched and loved by anyone who calls themselves a fan of the movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
sammieteeApr 14, 2013
Pulp Fiction is the type of movie that gets better the more times you watch it. It is a true cult classic, but I was slightly disappointed. I think it was just because I expected so much from it. I did like how it all came together in the endPulp Fiction is the type of movie that gets better the more times you watch it. It is a true cult classic, but I was slightly disappointed. I think it was just because I expected so much from it. I did like how it all came together in the end but I did spend most of the movie slightly confused. It is a good movie in the end and is worth it's tile as a cult classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KingmushMay 10, 2011
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/pulp-fiction.html

First off I will say I throughly enjoyed this movie. Pulp Fiction was great at the kind of movie style I like. Multiple story lines, nonlinear plot line, interconnectedness with
http://mushreviews.blogspot.com/2011/05/pulp-fiction.html

First off I will say I throughly enjoyed this movie. Pulp Fiction was great at the kind of movie style I like. Multiple story lines, nonlinear plot line, interconnectedness with one another, violence, and loads of pop culture references with witty banter. Add the fact that I am a big fan of Tarantino and of course this movie was a hit with me. I must say I don't know why I haven't seen this movie before... I think the length was one aspect but even then I am disappointed in myself. My only real problem with the movie is more of a personal issue and I don't even know why I'm bringing it up really as it worked well in the end. But the nonlinear plot line plus the nature of the different plots for a while really confused me as it just seemed to be a bunch of loosely related almost boring story lines. Of course things pick up quick and change back and forth which then diminishes this tiny complaint a little but I'll stick with it. A few parts were slow.

Nonetheless, this is a cult classic movie that totally deserves the attention.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ZalDec 19, 2012
I had a fanatastic time watching this movie. Every scene was a joy to watch and for me, there was never a dull moment. My favorite performance came from Samuel L. Jackson but everyone was great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CinemaSinsMay 9, 2015
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

"The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

"The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who in the name of charity and goodwill shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother's keeper and a finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee." - Jules' version of Ezekiel 25:17
The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

For anyone who thought they knew the breadth of Bruce Willis' and John Travolta's acting ability, a surprise awaits. Whether it's an effect of the script, the direction, or something else, these two turn in surprisingly strong performances. And they're not the only ones. Uma Thurman, Rosanna Arquette, Ving Rhames, Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Amanda Plummer, Eric Stoltz (who has a Tarantino-related triple play with Pulp Fiction, Killing Zoe, and Sleep With Me), and the director himself are all excellent. And then there's Samuel L. Jackson, who seems to get better with every outing.

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DollisOct 16, 2012
my all time favorite movie's are Pulp Fiction (1994) .The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies, what i don't like are the sillymy all time favorite movie's are Pulp Fiction (1994) .The Godfather (1972) .Taxi Driver (1976). Carrie (1976). Scarface (1983). GoodFellas (1990) . Raging Bull (1980) .Casino (1995) there masterpiece movies, what i don't like are the silly remakes why a new carrie movie ? this is the 4th movie carrie the made it's just stupid ,Sissy Spacek and Piper Laurie are absolutely perfect ,they both got Oscar nominations out of it, for God sake! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MovieMasterEdMar 22, 2016
The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve uponThe danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

"Vincent Vega and Marsellus Wallace's Wife" is the first story. It opens with Vincent (John Travolta) and Jules (Samuel L. Jackson) out on a hit for their boss, Marsellus (Ving Rhames). Along the way, Vincent confesses that he's uneasy about an upcoming job - taking out Marsellus' young wife Mia (Uma Thurman) while the main man is out of town. The source of the nervousness lies in a story circulating that Marsellus had a man thrown out a fourth story window for giving Mia a foot massage. One wrong step and Vincent could find himself in deep trouble.

"The Gold Watch" is about a boxer, Butch (Bruce Willis), who is handsomely paid by Marsellus to throw a fight. Only at the last moment does it become more profitable to renege on the deal. So, along with his French girlfriend, Fabienne (Maria de Medeiros), Butch goes on the run, hoping to live long enough to spend some of the fortune he has suddenly gained.

"The Bonnie Situation" ties together a few loose threads. It also introduces Harvey Keitel as a suave problem-solver named Wolf and Quentin Tarantino as Jim, a man worried that his wife will come home from work to find a dead body in a blood-spattered car in his garage. Sometimes, it appears, helping out Marsellus is not without its complications.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

For anyone who thought they knew the breadth of Bruce Willis' and John Travolta's acting ability, a surprise awaits. Whether it's an effect of the script, the direction, or something else, these two turn in surprisingly strong performances. And they're not the only ones. Uma Thurman, Rosanna Arquette, Ving Rhames, Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Amanda Plummer, Eric Stoltz (who has a Tarantino-related triple play with Pulp Fiction, Killing Zoe, and Sleep With Me), and the director himself are all excellent. And then there's Samuel L. Jackson, who seems to get better with every outing.

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TubieNov 2, 2010
It's hard for me to rate a movie over 8 because I think only near perfect works of art deserve a 9 or a 10 when it comes to movies. This one is a perfect example of this. This movie sets the bar for other action films to measure against. TheIt's hard for me to rate a movie over 8 because I think only near perfect works of art deserve a 9 or a 10 when it comes to movies. This one is a perfect example of this. This movie sets the bar for other action films to measure against. The different interconnecting stories the cast, just about everything here is amazing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DukeNov 4, 2010
Quentin Tarantino creates something new and original - combing the stories of a boxer, two hit men and a gangsters wife into a 154 minutes of masterful filmmaking.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
muzzikloverMar 6, 2011
One of the best films I have ever seen in my life. Everything is perfect and everything I love about Tarantino is here. The characters are easy to relate and fun to be with, the dialogs are destined to be common everyday quotes, the violenceOne of the best films I have ever seen in my life. Everything is perfect and everything I love about Tarantino is here. The characters are easy to relate and fun to be with, the dialogs are destined to be common everyday quotes, the violence is highly stylish and fun to watch and every single scene in this movie is so well paced and so well written that each moment is special (watch Christopher Walken's part. Amazing). You shouldn't be reading this review at all your should be watching the film yourself. It is worth your hours. The perfect referential film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Mr_MuumiFeb 20, 2013
The fact that this movie is filled with dialogues and scenes that are inevitably part of modern pop culture speaks for itself. I rarely use the word "classic", but Pulp Fiction qualifies as one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MetallicCriticDec 20, 2011
I seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. WithI seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. With Quentin Tarantino there's no way that it's sucks. The stories of different people connecting simultaneously has been bone before but not as good as this masterpiece. John Travolta dying at the middle of the film and walking out of the dinner at the end was very well planed out. This film doesn't even fallow the same time period. Don't forget about the violence. It was very violent and bloody. This film deserved to win best picture at Oscars over Forrest Gump. I don't have much else to say so what are you still doing here. If you haven't seen the movie go see it and if you have seen it go see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
pgmarkDec 17, 2010
Not a huge fan of all of Tarantino's films but this one is great. Great music.. great cast... great dialog!!!!!!

Must see - *highlights* Samuel J, Travolta, Steve B... great performances
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MouthofSauronApr 18, 2013
Having proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product isHaving proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product is one hell of a scintillating experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
EddyGregsApr 19, 2015
The lives of two mob hit men, a boxer, a gangster's wife, and a pair of diner bandits intertwine in four tales of violence and redemption.

The least interesting thing about Pulp Fiction is what is in that bloody briefcase. Whether it is
The lives of two mob hit men, a boxer, a gangster's wife, and a pair of diner bandits intertwine in four tales of violence and redemption.

The least interesting thing about Pulp Fiction is what is in that bloody briefcase. Whether it is unlimited moolah, the soul of Crime Lord Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames) or the gold lame suit worn by Val Kilmer's Elvis in True Romance (1993) really misses the point of Tarantino's molotov cocktail of a picture. Making a mockery of the difficult-second-film cliche, Tarantino weaves a patchwork of crime film history into something shiny and new. Peppered with great moments eaten up by actors working at the top of their game (Travolta, Willis and Thurman have never been better, and the film created the aura of greatness that currently surrounds Jackson) Pulp's witty writing, pop culture-surfing, gleeful amorality, cult tuneology and hyperkinetic energy has redefined the crime genre for the foreseeable future.

Brilliantly written and unfathomably cool, this would make a good case for most quotable crime movie of all time. On top of all that one of the best films ever made!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
julian_zizzleMar 29, 2012
Wow i just finished it and loved it, this one was certainly a movie to be remembered. Deserves to be watched again. I wish there would be more Uma Thurman on this one though, maybe giving her gangster role would be fantastic. And then thisWow i just finished it and loved it, this one was certainly a movie to be remembered. Deserves to be watched again. I wish there would be more Uma Thurman on this one though, maybe giving her gangster role would be fantastic. And then this movie would be... even more awesome than it already is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rodericrinehartAug 14, 2010
One of my favorite movies ever, and classic Tarantino. Noone can shoot these disjointed action dramas with such finesse and creativity. He won't be able to top this one, but he has had great movies before and after it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PachekoviskMar 16, 2016
EXCELLENT
One of my favorite films and Quentin Tarantino's best.
It's one of that movies that gets better and better each time I watch it.
Adding to all that, it has one of the best screenplays ever written in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
EdwardGregoryApr 19, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The least interesting thing about Pulp Fiction is what is in that bloody briefcase. Whether it is unlimited moolah, the soul of Crime Lord Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames) or the gold lame suit worn by Val Kilmer's Elvis in True Romance (1993) really misses the point of Tarantino's molotov cocktail of a picture. Making a mockery of the difficult-second-film cliche, Tarantino weaves a patchwork of crime film history into something shiny and new. Peppered with great moments eaten up by actors working at the top of their game (Travolta, Willis and Thurman have never been better, and the film created the aura of greatness that currently surrounds Jackson) Pulp's witty writing, pop culture-surfing, gleeful amorality, cult tuneology and hyperkinetic energy has redefined the crime genre for the foreseeable future.

Drawing on the compendium format of Black Mask magazine and Mario Bava's gothic flick Black Sabbath (1963) as well as the twisty-turny crime literature of Frederick Brown and Charles Willeford, Tarantino wrote Pulp on the European press push for Reservoir Dogs (1991) — hence Vincent Vega (Travolta )'s detailed knowledge of Amsterdam minutiae. As such, the film also boasts a European feel; both in specific incident — the day-in-the-life-of-a-hit-man strand acknowledges the influence of Jean-Pierre Melville's Le Samourai (1967) and the Vincent-Mia's twist has the same spirit as the impromptu dance in Jean-Luc Godard's crime flick Bande A Part (1964) — and in its rather intelligent sense of deconstructing Hollywood history.

Indeed, Pulp Fiction operates in the hinterland between reality and movie reality. Into a cadre of movie archetypes — the assassin, the mob boss, the gangster's moll, the boxer who throws a fight — Tarantino injects a reality check that is as funny as it is refreshing. Whereas most crime flicks would breeze over the rendezvous between Vincent and Mia, here we actually get to go on the date— polite chit-chat, awkward silences, bad dancing — before it spirals off into a drugged-up disaster. Just as Dogs is a heist film where you don't see the heist, Pulp is a boxer-takes-a-dive flick where you never see the bout, opting instead for conversations about muffins and Deliverance-style rape. Moreover, after Vincent and Jules take back Marsellus' briefcase, rather than cutting to a cop on their trail, we stay with them and revel in their banal banter as they dispose of a corpse (the genius of Keitel's Wolf in this effort is a moot point — how much intelligence does it take | to clean a car, then throw a rug over the back seat?)

What startled about Pulp on release was its audacious story dynamics. It was originally planned as a straight anthology flick — Tarantino's decision to cross-reference the yarns mines even more dramatic gold (i.e. the hero can get killed halfway through). While none of the stories amount to much on their own — if you told Pulp in a linearity, it would start with Vincent and Jules arriving at Brett's apartment and end with Butch and Fabienne Dooming off on Zed's chopper—in crisscrossing the exposition, Tarantino forges hooks of expectation and curiosity that pay off one by one in satisfying ways.

Through its tricksy plot structure, very few films capture such a rich sense of an interconnected crime community. Of course, this extends even beyond the parameters of the film itself to Tarantino's other movies — that Vincent Vega has a brother better known as Mr. Blonde hints at a whole nexus of underworld activity — and to the whole crime genre itself. As Butch kills Maynard, Marsellus Wallace warns Zed he's going to get some henchman, "To go to work with a pair of pliers and a blowtorch." In Charley Varrick (1973), a character named Maynard warns a bank manager about the very same method of torture.

While all the plaudits may have gone to Tarantino's killer dialogue — it's appeared everywhere from parody Plump Fiction to the Fun Lovin' Criminals' hit Scooby Snacks — Pulp is an equally stimulating visual experience. From the eyeful of Jackrabbit Slims to the magical square Mia draws to underline Vincent's geekiness to Andrzej Sekula's glossy, wide angled image-crafting, the look of Pulp is equally as imaginative without ever calling attention to itself.

More protean than Dogs, more fun than Jackie Brown, Pulp is so perfectly wrought it makes you forgive the crimes against cinema that Tarantino has perpetrated with his acting. Three great movies for the pries of one, the anaemic rip-offs that have followed have only served to sharpen its greatness. Besides, how could you not love a movie where a character called Antwan Rockamora is constantly referred to as Tony Rocky Horror?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GerardistheWayAug 23, 2016
There are not many movies to which I would award a perfect score. This, my favorite film both by writer-director Quentin Tarantino and of all time, is one of them.

The story is so scattershot and disassembled that it's difficult to give an
There are not many movies to which I would award a perfect score. This, my favorite film both by writer-director Quentin Tarantino and of all time, is one of them.

The story is so scattershot and disassembled that it's difficult to give an accurate summary, but I'll see if I can. Here goes: burger-loving, philosophical hit man Jules Winnfield (Samuel L. Jackson) and his heroin-addicted partner Vincent Vega (John Travolta) spend their days carrying out odd jobs for their gangster boss Marsellus Wallace (Ving Rhames), whether it be taking the big man's wife (Uma Thurman) out for dinner or shooting traitorous business partners (intentionally or not). One such treacherous individual is Butch Coolidge (Bruce Willis), an aging boxer planning on making a grand exit from the sport, but risks Wallace's wrath in doing so. There are a few side plots that resolve themselves fairly quickly (i.e. a pair of robbers holding up a restaurant due to the supposed lesser risks, as well as a pawn shop owner and security guard into a rather unusual form of S&M), and the action that occurs over the course of three days in LA will surprise, disgust, delight, and amuse in equal measure.

What's most interesting about Tarantino's movie is the amount of time devoted to character dialogue, whether it be conversations or monologues, and indeed the most interesting moments are when extended discussions on topics ranging from the legality of hash in Amsterdam to, on a more philosophical note, what it feels like to end a life and religion. The problems faced by Jules, Vincent, and Butch aren't exactly the most typical, but the air of everyday ordinariness given to them by Tarantino makes us feel like even criminals have a stressful day at work every now and again.

From a writing standpoint this movie is easily one of the finest ever produced, with each line of dialogue specifically crafted to the situation at hand and ranging from mellow and laid-back to gleefully profane. While it is most certainly a neo-noir crime drama, the film plays out much like a black/dark comedy in many places (such as when a man getting his head blown off is hilarious), providing comic relief to balance out the violence, profanity, and drug-induced antics (looking at you, Uma and Johnny) whenever they tend to become a bit overwhelming. Tarantino is not one of those cookie-cutter blockbuster writers that film schools crank out by the hundreds these days; he is a wordsmith, a vulgar poet who brings out the worst in our society and places it into his movies so we can laugh at what we've ultimately created.

The cast nails their roles to a T, whether it be Travolta (in a career-invigorating role) as the suave, hip mob enforcer who seems to like thin ties as much as his brother Vic (remember Michael Madsen, from "Reservoir Dogs"? Him.), Jackson as his more thoughtful and goal-oriented partner, Willis as the boxer with the not-so-genius ingenious plan, or Thurman as the spoiled trophy wife. Their performances help bring these characters to life in a way that we couldn't imagine if any other actor had played the part (speaking of which, Travolta was offered the title role in "Forrest Gump" before turning it down in favor of this one), to the point that some of them, especially Jackson, have become synonymous with their role and work with Tarantino. The supporting cast, ranging in star power from the legendary Cristopher Walken to Rhames as the mob boss Wallace to Eric Stoltz as Vincent's drug dealer to Tim Roth as one half of the restaurant-robbing duo, certainly don't back down in the presence of such powerful acting and bring humor or much-needed dialogue to situations that are quickly growing dull. Everyone involved in this film brought their A-game, and it makes the ride all the more enjoyable.

I've said it a million times, and I'll say it again: this film, in addition to being my favorite movie of all time, is easily one of the finest pieces of modern cinema ever produced. Tarantino, with his tightly-knit script full of razor-sharp wit, ensemble cast of talented actors, and outrageously absurd scenarios that the former group faces in pursuit of solving one of their problems, has created one of the greatest movies of all time. Tarantino is a master of his craft, and ever since my first viewing of this film any efforts of his have been first priority on my watch list. Though "Forrest Gump" is good, the loss of Best Picture by this film to the former is one of the biggest Oscar snubs in history. Watch it, and you'll understand why. 10/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CinemassacreMar 13, 2016
The danger of having a successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve uponThe danger of having a successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

For anyone who thought they knew the breadth of Bruce Willis' and John Travolta's acting ability, a surprise awaits. Whether it's an effect of the script, the direction, or something else, these two turn in surprisingly strong performances. And they're not the only ones. Uma Thurman, Rosanna Arquette, Ving Rhames, Harvey Keitel, Tim Roth, Amanda Plummer, Eric Stoltz (who has a Tarantino-related triple play with Pulp Fiction, Killing Zoe, and Sleep With Me), and the director himself are all excellent. And then there's Samuel L. Jackson, who seems to get better with every outing.

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
KristianBKAug 16, 2014
One or two minutes too long, a type of film that only comes once or twice a century. One of the best screenplays ever put on film, great performances, bad-ass soundtrack, Tarantino directing at his finest, great cinematography as well.One or two minutes too long, a type of film that only comes once or twice a century. One of the best screenplays ever put on film, great performances, bad-ass soundtrack, Tarantino directing at his finest, great cinematography as well. Complicated, the structure of the film somehow reminds me of Chinatown, but if I compare these two, Pulp Fiction is a little bit more appealing. You just can't beat those dialogues about burgers. Cleverly done, Tarantino. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
glasses1Nov 1, 2013
Fantastic film that showed us the real spirit of filmmaking. It contained superb writing and terrific performances. One of my all time favorite movies. A must see for anyone interested in pursuing film as a career. Strongly Recommend
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BurnsWEMNov 10, 2014
A near perfect movie that is Tarantino's best in my opinion. Great acting, dialogue, and plot. I loved how the story was out of order and it was like putting a puzzle together. I knew about this before I watched the film and i thought itA near perfect movie that is Tarantino's best in my opinion. Great acting, dialogue, and plot. I loved how the story was out of order and it was like putting a puzzle together. I knew about this before I watched the film and i thought it was going to be very confusing but it really wasn't and was quite easy to understand. This is not only a must see for action or Travolta fans but a must see for any person that enjoys watching movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LelchelseaJan 19, 2015
Tarintino delivers one of the most unique cinematic experience with Pulp Fiction. Not only can he string together a non linear story to make it easy to follow and exciting but does it with such fluency and style that it completely makes theTarintino delivers one of the most unique cinematic experience with Pulp Fiction. Not only can he string together a non linear story to make it easy to follow and exciting but does it with such fluency and style that it completely makes the film a true masterpiece Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ragekoiSep 13, 2013
A classic feel-good film. The writing is top notch, providing some of the most hilarious and brilliant lines ever put into a film. The overall charm of the film is astounding. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson create two of the most belovedA classic feel-good film. The writing is top notch, providing some of the most hilarious and brilliant lines ever put into a film. The overall charm of the film is astounding. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson create two of the most beloved characters in cinema. The Bruce Willis story arc seems a bit unnecessary however it's hilarious for what it is. In the end Pulp Fiction has easily won the love of countless movie-goers of the many many years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Cameronius_113Jan 15, 2017
Pulp Fiction was released in 1994 and was directed by Quentin Tarantino. The movie is basically about two hitmen, a boxer and a mob boss and his wife and how their stories which seem completely unrelated at first intertwine with each other.Pulp Fiction was released in 1994 and was directed by Quentin Tarantino. The movie is basically about two hitmen, a boxer and a mob boss and his wife and how their stories which seem completely unrelated at first intertwine with each other. It's quite a clever and original concept.
The movie has a unique style to it which I haven't seen in any other movie which makes a very unique experience. This was apparently based off of pulp magazines which would contain the kind of style this movie has. I honestly can't think of the words to describe the style but I can say it isn't very serious and feels intentionally unrealistic. It's also split up into many different segments to tell each seperate story which is also something I haven't seen before and also adds to the kind of 'comical' feel but not in the 'over-the-top' sense.
The acting is absolutely great and every actor gives a great performance, all of which feel so natural and unscripted. Even actors who have a short time on-screen like Christopher Walken leave a memorable impact.
This is probably the best-written movie I have seen so far. The writing is just so clever and adds to how natural the acting is by giving a naturally-written script. It also makes entertainment out of things that may seem strange at first but prove to be extremely effective (for example making a scene talking about hamburgers and drinks). Another thing is that whenever a character makes a point, it's always true which shows how well-written these characters are. There's also a great deal of humour and I found myself laughing a good number of times.
This has got to be one of the most quotable movies ever. It just goes to show how great the script is; almost every single line in this film is quotable.
The movie isn't in chronological order but the weird thing is that it works better like that. I find that this is because as you go along you see how these stories connect with each other and how all the dots join up which makes a much better experience than just showing how everything works at the start and thus removing a lot of the excitement from the rest of the film.
Overall, I absolutely loved this film and this is now one of my favourite movies. The acting was great, the writing was amazing and the style to it is very unique and original and makes for an extremely entertaining watch. I would highly recommend this film.
8.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
boneMay 10, 2011
Pulp Fiction is an unconventional gangster movie that kept me intrigued from beginning to end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ag10Jan 8, 2013
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In my opinion Pulp Fiction is Quentin Tarantino's most amazing film. It had everything a movie could have. A brilliant and clever story, phenomenal acting, exceptional soundtrack, and the dialogues were second to none. Now this film is not for everyone! It requires patience to see what the actual events are rather than knowing what happens in a chronological order. This made the movie unique but also, unpredictable and that is a great asset in a film because it makes you think. It was one of the greatest experiences in cinema and also one of the most enjoyable because of the different assets in the movie. However, some scenes were a bit exaggerated and not really needed: like the homosexual rape scene and the jab to the heart. Overall though, this movie is a masterpiece, and I believe an influence to many of the modern movies out there. Samuel L Jackson, John Travolta and Bruce Willis. What more can you want in a movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RyanSolomonMay 4, 2013
Pulp Fiction is the most well crafted, smartly written, well directed piece of artwork in the history of movies in history. This is by far my favorite movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CinemaBlendMay 6, 2015
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

"The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

"The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who in the name of charity and goodwill shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother's keeper and a finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee." - Jules' version of Ezekiel 25:17
The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a near-masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
796712Nov 4, 2010
one of the greatest films ever made in my opinion its better than the godfather if you havent seen it youd better because theres no other fil like it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
TheMovieDoctorJan 7, 2016
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir
Pulp (pulp) n. 1. A soft, moist, shapeless mass of matter. 2. A book containing lurid subject matter, and being characteristically printed on rough, unfinished paper.

The danger of having as successful and explosive a debut as Reservoir Dogs is that expectations are invariably high - sometimes unrealistically so - for the follow up. Quentin Tarantino, however, has managed the near-impossible: improve upon the extraordinary. Pulp Fiction shows what can happen when a talented and accomplished filmmaker reaches his apex.

This film is one wild ride. An anthology of three interconnected stories that take place in a modern-day Los Angeles tinted by echoes of Dashiell Hammett and Raymond Chandler, the movie impresses in every possible way. Writer/director Tarantino has merged film noir with the gangster tale and pulled them both into the '90s. As definitive as Francis Ford Coppola's Godfather saga was for the '70s, so is Pulp Fiction for today's generation.

Pulp Fiction's three tales are structured to intersect and overlap at key points, even though they are not presented in chronological order. Tarantino arranges his initial scene to dovetail with his final one in a remarkable example of closure. Those confused by the structure will see everything clearly once the final line is spoken.

"Vincent Vega and Marsellus Wallace's Wife" is the first story. It opens with Vincent (John Travolta) and Jules (Samuel L. Jackson) out on a hit for their boss, Marsellus (Ving Rhames). Along the way, Vincent confesses that he's uneasy about an upcoming job - taking out Marsellus' young wife Mia (Uma Thurman) while the main man is out of town. The source of the nervousness lies in a story circulating that Marsellus had a man thrown out a fourth story window for giving Mia a foot massage. One wrong step and Vincent could find himself in deep trouble.

"The Gold Watch" is about a boxer, Butch (Bruce Willis), who is handsomely paid by Marsellus to throw a fight. Only at the last moment does it become more profitable to renege on the deal. So, along with his French girlfriend, Fabienne (Maria de Medeiros), Butch goes on the run, hoping to live long enough to spend some of the fortune he has suddenly gained.

"The Bonnie Situation" ties together a few loose threads. It also introduces Harvey Keitel as a suave problem-solver named Wolf and Quentin Tarantino as Jim, a man worried that his wife will come home from work to find a dead body in a blood-spattered car in his garage. Sometimes, it appears, helping out Marsellus is not without its complications.

As was the case in Reservoir Dogs, Tarantino's crisp dialogue sparkles. The vulgarity-laced monologues and conversations ripple with humor and are ripe with points to ponder. Foot massages, hamburgers, comfortable silence, a gold watch, pot bellies, divine intervention, and filthy animals - all these and more receive the writer's attention as he presents meaningless issues in an intensely-fascinating and almost lyrical fashion. Who else (except perhaps David Mamet) can make profanity sound so poetic?

For anyone who thought they knew the breadth of Bruce Willis' and John Travolta's acting ability, a surprise awaits. Whether it's an effect of the script, the direction, or something else, these two turn in surprisingly strong performances.

All the details are executed to perfection. Ironies abound in the smallest situations. One death is caused by, of all things, a poptart. And it takes a director of rare talent to find the comedy in so many macabre situations. This goes beyond gallows humor. Mixing the original with the derivative, Tarantino pushes Pulp Fiction in directions that are equally anticipated and unexpected.

Relentless in its pace, Pulp Fiction is as exhausting as it is exhilarating. In between all the shootings, Mexican standoffs, and other violent confrontations exist opportunities to explore various facets of the human experience, including rebirth and redemption. With this film, every layer that you peel away leads to something deeper and richer. Tarantino makes pictures for movie-lovers, and Pulp Fiction is a masterpiece.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
I'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly itI'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly it delivered. There's so much you can talk about with this film but a lot of it you've probably already heard. It's probably best not to overhype it because overhyping films can turn masterpieces into mediocre films. My advice is it's a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ElmacroNov 29, 2016
La obra maestra definitiva de Tarantino, con esta película se posiciono entre los mejores directores y guionistas de los últimos 20 años dando a luz una historia bastante fresca y con personajes bastante entrañables.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews