Miramax Films | Release Date: October 14, 1994
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 2174 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
2,027
Mixed:
47
Negative:
100
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 27, 2011
Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart,Quentin Tarantino's "Pulp Fiction" is not your average gangster movie where people shoot each other and do drugs. This film is about the highest level of perfection you can achieve in the category of gangster films. Led by smart, controversial directions, "Pulp Fiction" spills in racism, mistakes, faults, God, and redemption into the game of crime. It's simply astonishing to do such thing, which makes the film a long living masterpiece in film history. Expand
24 of 25 users found this helpful241
All this user's reviews
10
TheNewSpielbergMay 2, 2011
One of the zaniest, funniest, smartest and most entertaining movies I have ever seen. One of my all time favorites as well. John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson give terrific performances.
29 of 31 users found this helpful292
All this user's reviews
10
Michelep.Dec 20, 2006
Best movie ever..hands down!
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
dj1982Dec 3, 2011
Even years after the release the movie feels fresher than many of the movies made today. Quentin Tarantino takes a story, twists it and turns, plays with our expectations and leaves us with a masterpiece.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AlvaradoKTAJun 7, 2012
Pulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.ThePulp Fiction may be Tarantino's best film ever. From the opening scene to the very end, there is not a single dull moment. There is always someone getting shot at , someone doing drugs or someone getting cussed at the best possible way.The starring actors do an excellent job, Which is't a surprise. The script is typical in Tarantino's style.Something to note is that the acts aren't in chronological order, but will still make sense Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
julesw.Aug 19, 2007
Best movie of all time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
ClifC.Mar 9, 2009
Incredible acting (especially Travolta and Jackson), incredible stories and incredible piece of art for Pop culture! Though the end is a bit frustrating, the plot is great, really I mean it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Dec 31, 2002
When one reviews a film, they must look past what is morally incorrect or socially unacceptable and focus on the originality of the film, and the only reason this very original, extreely absorbing movie did not win the Best Picture Oscar is When one reviews a film, they must look past what is morally incorrect or socially unacceptable and focus on the originality of the film, and the only reason this very original, extreely absorbing movie did not win the Best Picture Oscar is that Forrest Gump was just less controversial. (Albeit just as good) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JasonW.Nov 4, 2004
This is the most entertaining movie i've ever seen. It isn't flawless, but it's as close as i've ever seen. Tarentino goes overboard in every movie he does, but his method fits this film. Bravo! Bravo!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KarstenN.Sep 10, 2005
This is one of the greatest movies ever made, absolutely brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AliSep 20, 2005
One of the best movie i've ever seen.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KentE.Apr 1, 2007
Great movie. One of the best movies of all time. The thing that makes this movie so great is that it doesnt take itself too seriously. Yes the jokes help this movie out a lot, but who cares the jokes are classic "Royal with cheese", "Big Great movie. One of the best movies of all time. The thing that makes this movie so great is that it doesnt take itself too seriously. Yes the jokes help this movie out a lot, but who cares the jokes are classic "Royal with cheese", "Big Kahuna Burger" "La Big Mac" that opening scene of the movie is classic and probably one of the best parts of movies of all time. So many classic lines from this movie and its also well acted and directed. Its a crazy movie, that doesnt make sense, but it doesnt try too, and for those of you who say its too long, go watch a Disney movie or one the horror movies out there today, maybe their more your type of movie, you dont have to think as long. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
TroyP.Oct 17, 2008
Funny and entertaining from beginning to end. Amazing script and great acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DaveFSep 19, 2008
The finest thing to come out of America period. the only let down is that i will never be able to watch it again for the first time and have that feeling i had when the credits rolled and i was sat there mouth agape unable to take in the The finest thing to come out of America period. the only let down is that i will never be able to watch it again for the first time and have that feeling i had when the credits rolled and i was sat there mouth agape unable to take in the awesomeness of what i had just seen. i think its safe to say its without any doubt the best film ever made by some considerable margin. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NinjaMafiaFeb 11, 2004
I finally saw this movie after seemingly thousands of years. I actually saw Kill Bill before this movie so I was having high hopes that Quinten would pull of another masterpeice, and my hopes were met. The movie characters were witty and I finally saw this movie after seemingly thousands of years. I actually saw Kill Bill before this movie so I was having high hopes that Quinten would pull of another masterpeice, and my hopes were met. The movie characters were witty and realistic. Some scenes(the gun accidently going off) were the most hilarious things I have ever seen. Sharp dialogue, clever editing. There just isn't alot this movie has going against it, besides the fact that there is no real strong storyline going for it. But that is where the beauty of the film lies, it just feels like we are actually following these guys around on one of their, most likely, not so better days. Does life itselfs have a grand storyline that we all need to follow out? No, and neither does this movie, making it all the more better. The dialogue is also perfect. The hamburger conversation feels like a conversation you would find me and my friends having on a normal day. The only complaint I have about this film is that the second chapter, with the boxer, seemed a bit out of place with the other two chapters. Maybe if they threw in a bit more of Vincent or Jools into the chapter it would have fit in a bit better. With that minor Quipe aside, Pulp Fiction is a movie that is more than just a movie you need to see, you have to see this film or forever be haunted by the awesome that got away. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JamesMNov 19, 2005
About as perfect as a film will ever get. See it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
NickyE.Sep 14, 2005
[sarcasm] Max W, you seem smart. I like smart people. You should tell the world about Tarantino's crappy ideas and the then REDO Pulp Fiction with your amazing filmmaking skills. I'm sure we would all be pleased with the results. [sarcasm] Max W, you seem smart. I like smart people. You should tell the world about Tarantino's crappy ideas and the then REDO Pulp Fiction with your amazing filmmaking skills. I'm sure we would all be pleased with the results. [/sarcasm] But, seriously, this movie is great - if you don't get it... move to Canada (or something like that). Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidP.Sep 21, 2007
Brilliantly entertaining. This was the movie that revitalized American cinema in the mid 1990s... though it would have been nice if other directors took his example for inspiration rather than just becoming copycats. This is the 10 in Brilliantly entertaining. This was the movie that revitalized American cinema in the mid 1990s... though it would have been nice if other directors took his example for inspiration rather than just becoming copycats. This is the 10 in Tarantino's repertoire... nothing before or since has been better than an 8. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
WesE.Nov 15, 2005
Easily one of the best, most finely-crafted films ever. The only movie that could ever reach the cinematic brilliance of Pulp Fiction was Wizard of Oz, more than 70 years ago.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
nboley08Aug 15, 2010
Might be the best film of the 1990's. Tarantino established himself as one of the most stylish and individual directors alive with this masterpiece of pop cinema, which combines several stories involving a vivid array of characters who couldMight be the best film of the 1990's. Tarantino established himself as one of the most stylish and individual directors alive with this masterpiece of pop cinema, which combines several stories involving a vivid array of characters who could only be seen in a comic book. The dialogue is fantastic (one of the best and most entertaining screenplays ever), the performances are fantastic, and the soundtrack rocks throughout the entire movie. This is one of the key films in American cinema, and should be watched and loved by anyone who calls themselves a fan of the movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MetallicCriticDec 20, 2011
I seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. WithI seriously don't know what to say about this film. It was mind blowing. It was very well written. I loved the dialogue especially the beginning scene in the dinner with Tim Roth. The best part of the film has to be the directing. With Quentin Tarantino there's no way that it's sucks. The stories of different people connecting simultaneously has been bone before but not as good as this masterpiece. John Travolta dying at the middle of the film and walking out of the dinner at the end was very well planed out. This film doesn't even fallow the same time period. Don't forget about the violence. It was very violent and bloody. This film deserved to win best picture at Oscars over Forrest Gump. I don't have much else to say so what are you still doing here. If you haven't seen the movie go see it and if you have seen it go see it again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tedleanseMay 6, 2012
The greatest film ever made. Dialogue in the film is perfect, brilliantly written by Tarantino.

A superb performance from John Travolta and Samuel L. Jackson.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MikeTheGaiJun 23, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pulp Fiction, probably one of the most memorable movies I have seen. From beginning to end this movie has you glued to you're seat wondering what crazy adventure the characters are going to have next. Not recommended for the whole family but it is a good movie overall to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
axelkochOct 15, 2012
That's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. TarantinoThat's how an awesome motion picture should be like. Fantastic screenplay, terrific actors to the point of the tiniest roles (Steve Buscemi as a waiter or Christopher Walken as an ex-soldier) and a marvelous kind of story-telling. Tarantino at his best, I would've given it 10 points, if there weren't the lame Bruce Willis part. It's not bad, but it's improper in my opinion. Still a must-see and one of the best movies ever made! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MouthofSauronApr 18, 2013
Having proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product isHaving proven to be a consumate director with "Reservoir Dogs", Tarantino delivers his magnum opus with "Pulp Fiction". At once brutal, disturbing, and comedic, this classic is actually three separate films melded into one, and the product is one hell of a scintillating experience. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
SwatiNov 25, 2013
An instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some storyAn instant classic. Ripe with witticisms and sharp retorts. This is the only instance I actually liked haphazard storytelling, because it actually succeeded in evoking certain feelings, where some of the characters were alive in some story lines and dead in the other, and this made you think what it would have been like if these characters had gotten out in time.

There were long portions of dialogue dedicated solely to humour, and others to theological and philosophical discussions. There are three stories running in parallel, which often come into contact with the others without affecting them, and are told in a non-linear way.

Among Tarantino's films, I believe it's second only to Django Unchained, which was much more coherent and awe-inspiring, albeit with seemingly unnecessary bloody violence and an inflated running time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheWalrus2000Mar 9, 2013
An oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in otherAn oustanding and strongly built film, Tarantino sets loose one of the best plots of all time not to mention suceeding in showing strong performances by your every day actors Samuel L. Jackson and John Travolta who usually lag behind in other films. Pulp Fiction is possibly the strongest and most powerful Tarantino movie besides Inglourious Basterds{read my review for Inglourious Basterds to find out what I said}. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
theunholymesiahSep 25, 2013
I'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly itI'd seen the first Kill Bill, Inglorious Basterds, Django Unchained and Reservoir Dogs before this. I'd thought some of those were pretty damn good so coming into this I thought "alright Tarantino... show me your best". and surprisingly it delivered. There's so much you can talk about with this film but a lot of it you've probably already heard. It's probably best not to overhype it because overhyping films can turn masterpieces into mediocre films. My advice is it's a must watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrPenmanOct 8, 2013
My favorite movie of all time! This movie is fun and engaging to the core. The dialogue in this movie is the best example of Tarantino's writing ability. Every character feels genuine and has interesting things to say in interesting ways.My favorite movie of all time! This movie is fun and engaging to the core. The dialogue in this movie is the best example of Tarantino's writing ability. Every character feels genuine and has interesting things to say in interesting ways. Plus the dark comedy that is entwined into the whole movie is simply wonderful. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joao1198pedroNov 23, 2013
Quentin Tarantino is absolutely a genius and this movie proves how is this geniality,an outstanding movie with an non-linear story is great,some movies would serve this movie as an example.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews