Dimension Films | Release Date: August 11, 2006
8.4
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 496 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
408
Mixed:
12
Negative:
76
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
emilypyreSep 26, 2012
creepy as f**k, loved every second of it.
28 of 29 users found this helpful281
All this user's reviews
10
alliedcolaSep 26, 2012
Great, scary film
27 of 28 users found this helpful271
All this user's reviews
10
CuriousStrangerSep 26, 2012
Better than the original by far.
38 of 40 users found this helpful382
All this user's reviews
10
averyjerryguySep 26, 2012
Cool cinematography
27 of 29 users found this helpful272
All this user's reviews
10
DanK.Aug 10, 2006
Great Film, genuinely scary at times. loved it
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
moviegrabbagJun 13, 2011
This was just plain horrible. The acting was a joke, the plot was one big hole after another and all the charactors were just bad people. I was actually happy when they died, I am actually angry more of them didn't die! Don't watch thisThis was just plain horrible. The acting was a joke, the plot was one big hole after another and all the charactors were just bad people. I was actually happy when they died, I am actually angry more of them didn't die! Don't watch this steaming pile of crap. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
FitriAmirrolNov 19, 2010
Without doubt a contender for the worst possible Asian-horror remake, Pulse simply downright failed; The cast is appalling, the story is nonsense, the pace is erratic, the VFX is cheap, the horror is non-existent and the ending is so silly,Without doubt a contender for the worst possible Asian-horror remake, Pulse simply downright failed; The cast is appalling, the story is nonsense, the pace is erratic, the VFX is cheap, the horror is non-existent and the ending is so silly, it ridicules your IQ. A two-year-oldâ Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
WJSAug 28, 2015
This movie is very weird and although it has a few creepy moments, mostly it's just a bunch of nightmare images strung together in a basically plot less story. The acting is not that great and it's shot in a very dark way that makes it hardThis movie is very weird and although it has a few creepy moments, mostly it's just a bunch of nightmare images strung together in a basically plot less story. The acting is not that great and it's shot in a very dark way that makes it hard to see. The direction is very pedestrian and the visual effects are not that special. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
FrankAug 12, 2006
The effects, both visual and sound, were great in the movie, but the actual movie itself wasn't good. The ending was terrible, and there was too much delay between the action. The "scary scenes" were obvios, and the previews gave away The effects, both visual and sound, were great in the movie, but the actual movie itself wasn't good. The ending was terrible, and there was too much delay between the action. The "scary scenes" were obvios, and the previews gave away what could've been some of the best parts. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BRizzaAug 13, 2006
More holes than Louis Sachar
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
marc5477Jan 23, 2016
If you dont know science dont write stories with tech at center stage. Simply as that. The premise of this movie is that some college kids discovered a "frequency" that had never been observed previously using a computer and apparently aIf you dont know science dont write stories with tech at center stage. Simply as that. The premise of this movie is that some college kids discovered a "frequency" that had never been observed previously using a computer and apparently a computer hack can fix the problem... Clearly the movie was going for some sort of wireless frequency and once the aliens arrived they took over internet servers. There is no such thing as a frequency we never knew existed, not within known tech. There are only frequencies that are not usable for various physics reasons. So anyway, the premise is garbage but hey, its a horror movie... or at least it tried to be. The problem is that its not scary in any traditional sense. There are no scary monsters, just some blurry human looking things that apparently take away your will to live. How? No revealed. Why? Not revealed. Who are these aliens? Not discussed. But hey, they are apparently afraid of the color red! So mysterious.... oooh aahhh. Lame. Stick with Pinhead, Jason and Freddy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MonicaU.Aug 12, 2006
Way better than i had any right to expect it to be. and kristen bell is always marvelous.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TobyAug 12, 2006
Awful. Wes Craven strikes again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ProtoclownAug 12, 2006
Absolutely the lamest horror movie I've seen this year. Not even REMOTELY scary, this movie relied on every boring old cliche in the book, and didn't even pull them off competently. And why on earth did nobody ever turn on a single Absolutely the lamest horror movie I've seen this year. Not even REMOTELY scary, this movie relied on every boring old cliche in the book, and didn't even pull them off competently. And why on earth did nobody ever turn on a single light in the entire movie? Even the library was dimly lit with flickering flourescent bulbs. THE LIBRARY!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
PencilsAug 12, 2006
Not the best, but not bad. Quite atmospheric and creepy at times. No, it didnt make a lot of sense in spots, but, then, what horror movies does, really? Very few, so I don't worry about that part. I liked the low-key special effects. In Not the best, but not bad. Quite atmospheric and creepy at times. No, it didnt make a lot of sense in spots, but, then, what horror movies does, really? Very few, so I don't worry about that part. I liked the low-key special effects. In the end, it's an enjoyable way to spend a summer afternoon. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
Mr.CheeseAug 14, 2006
Remakes have had a dark history , some of them have defined what NOT to watch. Pulse is no other story, this "horror" movie tries to incorporate all of the best elements of horror and fails in all. The "scary" moments are extremely Remakes have had a dark history , some of them have defined what NOT to watch. Pulse is no other story, this "horror" movie tries to incorporate all of the best elements of horror and fails in all. The "scary" moments are extremely predictable and the story is laughable (dead people attacking by internet and phone connections, wanting to be whole again, how nice of them). The acting could definitely be better, you might be asking yourself if the main characters are mentally challenged since they walk to their demise without hesitating. The only good thing about this movie? It's a great comedy! My friends and I laughed throughout the entire movie, only watch this movie if you're a die-hard fan of Kurosawa's. Otherwise, you might not want to spend your hard-earned cash on this one and you deserve better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
AmitabhJ.Aug 9, 2006
Simple...One of thw worst films ive seen...Not even worth the space it occupies on the web.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MIsterThomYorkeAug 11, 2006
Painfully bad. Previews ruin any moments that could have been even remotely scary. Wes Craven needs to give it up. All he touches turns to crap.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
BrandonW.Aug 11, 2006
I've seen the original and this remake is just one more reminder of how incredibly stupid Hollywood thinks we are. This is quite possibly the worst film that I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SeanC.Aug 16, 2006
Everyone wanted to see this movie...the question I have for thoes people, is why? Why on earth would you ever want to disgrace your week by comming to the theaters and dropping 8 bucks on the biggest piece of crap you will see this summer. Everyone wanted to see this movie...the question I have for thoes people, is why? Why on earth would you ever want to disgrace your week by comming to the theaters and dropping 8 bucks on the biggest piece of crap you will see this summer. In fact I am so convinced this is the biggest failure in the last 10 years, I am willing to stake my annual income that each and every teen actor who appeared in this forsaken film will get hate mail by the millions. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
beardishAug 18, 2006
Moive remakes usually have the red flag indicating to potential viewers not to watch them. I'd sure like to say that Pulse wasn't like that, but I can't. I hate seeing good movies being remade into something that amounts to ........
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
KevinBDec 30, 2006
The only saving grace of this movie is Kristen Bell. The rest of it is lazy screenwriting. And red tape? Really? Come on... "they take your will to live." That's scary? No. It isn't. It's a good thing I didn't have to pay The only saving grace of this movie is Kristen Bell. The rest of it is lazy screenwriting. And red tape? Really? Come on... "they take your will to live." That's scary? No. It isn't. It's a good thing I didn't have to pay to rent this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
KasraA.Aug 11, 2006
I saw the movie "pulse" just about an hour ago and i was not impressed. I found the storyline or plot to make little sense.. it was like throughout the movie there were loose ends that were never discussed. For example... why would the I saw the movie "pulse" just about an hour ago and i was not impressed. I found the storyline or plot to make little sense.. it was like throughout the movie there were loose ends that were never discussed. For example... why would the "infected" individuals turn to ash... that makes no sense. The movie never really achieved a level in spookiness as others of its type like "the grudge" but overall, it was worth seeing once. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
SusanS.Aug 11, 2006
It was very dark no color no surprises the most disturbing thing was the condition of the movie theater. I have seen scarier on the X- Files.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
TheLyleAug 12, 2006
This is the worst movie i have seen in years. The acting, plot, character development, dialogue, suspense, and premise of the movie are all terribly predictible and painful to sit through. you will absolutely hate this movie, unless you This is the worst movie i have seen in years. The acting, plot, character development, dialogue, suspense, and premise of the movie are all terribly predictible and painful to sit through. you will absolutely hate this movie, unless you think its worth $10 to watch a group of teenagers ruin their acting careers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PabloR.Aug 13, 2006
This movie is the best scary movie i have ever seen! This movie had the best cast and my favorite thing about it was that it didnt have a stupid white girl trip. And those faces! My gosh so freaky... on top of that! The plot didnt suck like This movie is the best scary movie i have ever seen! This movie had the best cast and my favorite thing about it was that it didnt have a stupid white girl trip. And those faces! My gosh so freaky... on top of that! The plot didnt suck like every other movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
WAJAug 17, 2006
Although this movie had some decent visual effects and notable cinematography, the plot and acting left much to be desired. The movie seemed to have been made to show the director's/writer's hatred of how technology has become part Although this movie had some decent visual effects and notable cinematography, the plot and acting left much to be desired. The movie seemed to have been made to show the director's/writer's hatred of how technology has become part of everyones lives. The beginning of the story spent more time acting as a commercial for razor phones rather than developing the charachters. By the end, the "moral" of the story is smashed repeatedly over your head, but the story itself strays and begins making less and less sense. It seems as though the writer or director began to run out of ideas and borrowed from much better horror/suspense movies such as 28 days later and The Shining. This movie is clearly not worth the ten dollars and definitely not worth the two hours or so of your life that it steals from you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ChadS.Aug 17, 2006
"Pulse" blows. This filmmaker obviously has watched "Signs", the way in which he expands the crisis' scope from a local one to a full-scale apocalypse. Give M. Night Shyamalan some credit, the man knows how to direct his actors. For "Pulse" blows. This filmmaker obviously has watched "Signs", the way in which he expands the crisis' scope from a local one to a full-scale apocalypse. Give M. Night Shyamalan some credit, the man knows how to direct his actors. For instance, he'd give more instructions to Brad Dourif than "act really, really crazy, man." As the two leads encounter survivors fleeing the city, that's when the real blowing begins. More over-acting, or maybe it's a consciousness that we gravitate towards pretty people. Would they for just anybody? The bad dialogue ably defeats Kristin Bell from the get-go. She laments not seeing the warning signs of her late boyfriend, and yet it takes ages for her, or anybody to notice that a friend under similar circumstances is also unresponsive to his text messages and cell calls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
CineAutoctonoMay 30, 2017
"Pulse" was a movie that had no emotion, to begin with, there were no shocks that surprised me, but the photography is good, and the story was loose, and meaningless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews