Punch-Drunk Love

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 251 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 251
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rosemary
    Nov 4, 2002
    3
    I did not enjoy this movie at all. I'm one of those people who just didn't "get it." I do think Adam Sandler was unexpectedly good. Emily Watson was great as always. However, their performances were not enough to make me like the movie.
  2. PhilF.
    Oct 13, 2008
    1
    This movie was terrible. I've heard nothing but good reviews for it over the last 5 years; i watched it today, and was in great disappointment. Sandlers acting wasn't half bad, but it was really hard to tell with all of the asstastic diologue and crappy acting. gave it a 1 because i felt better after not having to watch it anymore.
  3. JohnM.
    Jun 22, 2005
    0
    Listen people, just because it makes no sense and is artsy doesn't make it worth your while. This putrid picture is awash in a sea of feaux symbolism. There is no meaning to be found in this one. Being the aventest-of-garde does not translate into a good movie experience. I thought my head was gonna explode during this garbage. Sandler needs to stick to nose-picking, one-liner humor Listen people, just because it makes no sense and is artsy doesn't make it worth your while. This putrid picture is awash in a sea of feaux symbolism. There is no meaning to be found in this one. Being the aventest-of-garde does not translate into a good movie experience. I thought my head was gonna explode during this garbage. Sandler needs to stick to nose-picking, one-liner humor for meatheads. Expand
  4. RyanG.
    Apr 26, 2006
    1
    Worst Movie Adam Sandler Ever Made.
  5. DustyM.
    Oct 27, 2002
    1
    What a boringly simple plot. So many unnecessary symbolic moments that arent resolved. What was with the truck crash? And the harmonium? Duh! So he gives it to her at the end. Thats a coincidence - thats not deep. Anderson seems blown away with coincidence. Another thing I dont like about him is he is the king of "artful" randomness. If you don't get it well it must be symbolic. NO! What a boringly simple plot. So many unnecessary symbolic moments that arent resolved. What was with the truck crash? And the harmonium? Duh! So he gives it to her at the end. Thats a coincidence - thats not deep. Anderson seems blown away with coincidence. Another thing I dont like about him is he is the king of "artful" randomness. If you don't get it well it must be symbolic. NO! Its just random. I bet he does a lot of drugs when he writes. Dont get me wrong, that can produce creative moments. But truck crashes ar enot creative. F..king disjointed and half- assed. Expand
  6. AlbertL.
    Nov 20, 2002
    0
    After the bathroom scene I walked out. I couldn't take it anymore. What a waste of time. Simply horrible.
  7. LucyL.
    Dec 5, 2002
    0
    There is a God. I went to see Solaris and walked out after 30 minutes. Since I had paid for a movie I felt guilty but snuck into Punch Drunk Love. I left after 40 horrendous minutes. God punished me for sneaking in. I had to take a shower when I got home just to get the stench off from these two turkeys. If this is the best Hollywood has to offer at this time of year, perhaps we should There is a God. I went to see Solaris and walked out after 30 minutes. Since I had paid for a movie I felt guilty but snuck into Punch Drunk Love. I left after 40 horrendous minutes. God punished me for sneaking in. I had to take a shower when I got home just to get the stench off from these two turkeys. If this is the best Hollywood has to offer at this time of year, perhaps we should all give up movies? Expand
  8. NedD.
    Dec 16, 2002
    0
    Lame every which way from Sunday. The entire audience of 3 people walked out.
  9. MaxG.
    Jul 3, 2003
    1
    This was the most boring pointless movie I've ever seen I could'nt watch it all it was so boring that was the first movie with Adam sandler in it that I didn't like.
  10. Eric
    Oct 23, 2002
    3
    I don't see what all the fuss is about. Is it original? Yes. Does it hold your attention? Largely. Are the characters or story credible? No!
  11. AndyM.
    Jul 20, 2003
    0
    This has to have been the worst movie of all time. No point, no plot... I was shocked to see metacritic rated it so high... Just shows how out of touch critics are with reality.
  12. JasonL.
    Jul 20, 2003
    0
    This is the most pretentious and irredeemably dystfunctional piece of cinema I have ever had the displeasure of watching. It also reminds me why I never listen to critics or read any of their reviews. What planet are they on? The list of attrocities is neverending and if this is someone's idea of love - they need therapy and fast.
  13. Scott
    Dec 4, 2002
    0
    If there was a NEGATIVE 10 I would have used it. This was the worst movie I have EVER had the displeasure to have seen. I cannot rate this film low enough. In fact, I walked out after "Mafia" showed up. THE WORST FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!
  14. JoshL.
    Oct 20, 2002
    3
    This overrated movie is a mess. Romances - whether conventional or unconventional still need to be romantic. It is NEVER clear to us why in the world this seemingly NORMAL woman would fall in love with this freak of a man (other than her saying "I saw your picture and I thought you were cute"). I wish I understood all the raves. Just because something is DIFFERENT doesn't This overrated movie is a mess. Romances - whether conventional or unconventional still need to be romantic. It is NEVER clear to us why in the world this seemingly NORMAL woman would fall in love with this freak of a man (other than her saying "I saw your picture and I thought you were cute"). I wish I understood all the raves. Just because something is DIFFERENT doesn't automatically make it GOOD! It's like a bunch of Saturday Night Live skits with one specific character (Adam has a temper) strung together. Expand
  15. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2002
    0
    I must say that i've seen no movie like this one. there's nothing funny or romantic about it. the story is so stupid, it doesn't even deserved to be produced. it is the worst movie i will ever see; there will never been another one quite as bad as this.
  16. RonP.
    Nov 15, 2002
    1
    This is the movie that "prooves Adam Sandler can act"??? I don't think so; I'd hate to see what his lesser performances have been like. Emily Watson is superb, as always, but there's absolutely no chemistry between the two and no way to explain why she would be so desperately attracted to such a loser. Nothing in this train wreck worked for me. My respect for the collective This is the movie that "prooves Adam Sandler can act"??? I don't think so; I'd hate to see what his lesser performances have been like. Emily Watson is superb, as always, but there's absolutely no chemistry between the two and no way to explain why she would be so desperately attracted to such a loser. Nothing in this train wreck worked for me. My respect for the collective wisdom of movie reviewers has just dropped even lower! Expand
  17. FantasyL.
    Oct 23, 2002
    0
    Quite frankly one of the worst turkeys of all time. It is a dark depressing unromantic boring film without any sympathetic characters. There isn't any laughs whatsoever so how this is called a comedy is beyond me. It is beyond all human comprehension that any professional could find any redeeming quality in this garbage. For Adam Sandler fans, this is the same mistake Woody Allen Quite frankly one of the worst turkeys of all time. It is a dark depressing unromantic boring film without any sympathetic characters. There isn't any laughs whatsoever so how this is called a comedy is beyond me. It is beyond all human comprehension that any professional could find any redeeming quality in this garbage. For Adam Sandler fans, this is the same mistake Woody Allen made when he stopped being funny and took his career in another direction. This is the bomb of all bombs. Expand
  18. AppleH.
    Nov 17, 2002
    0
    Let me preface my remarks by stating that I am a huge Adam Sandler fan. I read the public reviews on this board, and to say the least, they vary greatly. In any event, I went not knowing what to expect? Well, this was a terrible movie devoid of any chemistry between the stars. The music was awful, the dialogue terrible, and the storyline had as many holes as swiss cheese. If Let me preface my remarks by stating that I am a huge Adam Sandler fan. I read the public reviews on this board, and to say the least, they vary greatly. In any event, I went not knowing what to expect? Well, this was a terrible movie devoid of any chemistry between the stars. The music was awful, the dialogue terrible, and the storyline had as many holes as swiss cheese. If intellectually it was meant to stimulate me, quite frankly, I just didn't get it? Walking out after this mess the other (few) moviegoers who shared this experience were left shaking their heads as well. 1/2 of the audience walked out midway through. Unfortuantely for me I stayed until it was mericifully over. Ugly is the best word to describe this garbage. Expand
  19. LassiterP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    0
    Possibly one of the worst movies ever made. Those of you who loved it have me going mad. I cannot decide if you really did or is this the biggest goof of all time? What little audience went to see it was walking out throughout the flick. I made the mistake of staying until the end. What a disappointment! No chemistry whatsoever.
  20. DavidH.
    Nov 22, 2002
    1
    This was the worst movie that I have ever seen. There was no plot, the characters were less then skin deep. Half of the same audience walked out before the movie was half over. I spent the whole movie waiting for the movie to become interesting. Not worth the film it is printed on.
  21. ChristiH.
    Aug 19, 2003
    1
    For a supposed romantic comedy, there was NO romance and NO comedy. What the heck WAS that, anyway? I couldn't even watch it all the way through, it was so dysfunctional. 30 minutes into it, I was praying for something, anything, to happen. The "artistic" montages and jarring music were an elaborate smoke-and-mirrors attempt to disguise the fact that this movie is *crap*.
  22. RandyH.
    Jan 2, 2003
    0
    I never went to a movie before where the ticket seller advised that there were NO REFUNDS before entering the theater. After watching this disaster I now understand why. How this mess was released is beyond all human comprehension. To be subjected to it is cruel and inhuman punishment.
  23. G.Lee
    Dec 28, 2002
    1
    "PT Anderson?" More like "PT Barnum". This movie proves that a sucker critic is born every minute. Punch Drunk Love is laughably pretentious excrement. It plays like Paul Thomas Anderson rented a ton of French movies and determined that they used icons and symbols to achieve depth. So he put meaningless icons and symbols in his movie, but forgot the depth. Half the theater was laughing AT "PT Anderson?" More like "PT Barnum". This movie proves that a sucker critic is born every minute. Punch Drunk Love is laughably pretentious excrement. It plays like Paul Thomas Anderson rented a ton of French movies and determined that they used icons and symbols to achieve depth. So he put meaningless icons and symbols in his movie, but forgot the depth. Half the theater was laughing AT the movie even before the film cut to floating colors for two minutes. There are great actors in this film, but they almost look embarrassed. The script is incompetent, the comedy is forced, the end result is a festering pile of faux-intellectual refuse. Expand
  24. JennyandVicki
    Jul 2, 2003
    1
    This movie was the worst movie I have ever seen, do to the fact that adam sandler's movies are great. Nothing in this movie made any sense, no plot, extreme confusion and dissatisfication. We are disappointed.
  25. BrettS.
    Jul 13, 2003
    0
    Complete garbage.
  26. RussB.
    Oct 20, 2002
    1
    This has to be the worst film in years! Sandler can act OK , but if you do a Hollywood film, aren't you supposed to be able to act a little?
  27. HarrietA.
    Nov 15, 2002
    1
    Sorry, I just didn't get it. The movie was so bad that I stayed for fear that I would miss something everyone else saw. There was absolutely no chemistry between the so-called stars. This is by far one of the worst movies ever made. The remaining audience at the end seemed to be of that opinion as well.
  28. AmberP.
    Nov 19, 2002
    0
    This flick is unadulterated sh-t. It is a mess from beginning to end and makes absolutely no sense. And Adam what is up with continously wearing the blue suit? When he tore up the bathroom I was hoping he would have smashed his head on the wall and killed himself. In that way, at least, the movie would have been over. No such luck as this garbage continued. All of you who loved this film This flick is unadulterated sh-t. It is a mess from beginning to end and makes absolutely no sense. And Adam what is up with continously wearing the blue suit? When he tore up the bathroom I was hoping he would have smashed his head on the wall and killed himself. In that way, at least, the movie would have been over. No such luck as this garbage continued. All of you who loved this film probably would have thought "wow" a scene worthy of an OSCAR if he had died in the bathroom? C'mon what were you guys watching? There was no chemistry and the music sucked. As one reviewer said there were signs in some theaters warning that there were "No Refunds." If that doesn't tell you something nothing else will. Avoid PDL like the plague. Expand
  29. JeremyG.
    Dec 1, 2002
    0
    I'd like to punch everyones' lights out for making a movie as bad as this. There was absolutely no chemistry between the stars. It was never explained why Emily Watson (a very good actress) would be so desperate to be with a jerk like Adam unless she had zero self-esteem which was not evident. This movie was so disjointed with such bad dialogue that I am unable to understand how I'd like to punch everyones' lights out for making a movie as bad as this. There was absolutely no chemistry between the stars. It was never explained why Emily Watson (a very good actress) would be so desperate to be with a jerk like Adam unless she had zero self-esteem which was not evident. This movie was so disjointed with such bad dialogue that I am unable to understand how it was even made? If this proved that Sandler could act, I have a bridge I want to sell you. It was just another variation of the dumb characters he usually protrays without one funny line. His acting was comparable to Sean Penn in that both played retarded characters. In this case, Adam played an emotionally disturbed person without conviction. Simply the worst movie of the year. Expand
  30. HarryH.
    Oct 25, 2002
    0
    Love Adam Sandler. Hated P-D Love. It is so disjointed, that it is hard to believe that it was even made? Absolutely horrible. His fans will be very disappointed.
  31. CarolAnn
    Oct 24, 2002
    0
    I have seen so many bad movies lately however, this was the worst! No intelligent dialog, no chemistry between principal characters, bad really bad backgroud music, slow and boring. I wanted to leave but it was early and this turned into a NEGATIVE attraction. This is the last time l will ever think about this movie.
  32. IggyZ.
    Dec 6, 2002
    0
    A discombobulated mess from the start to the sorry conclusion. I lacked the insight and intelligence to join the mass exodus out of the theater.
  33. MatthewC.
    Nov 25, 2002
    2
    The movie starts with a mysterious present in the street and a car crash. Only a train crash could have been beter, as this movie was a complete and total train wreck. Paul Thomas Anderson has made ONE good movie, Magnolia was pure waste of time. I took my girl friend to see this movie to make up for taking her to see the Tuxedo, she told me she was sorry after it was over for complaining The movie starts with a mysterious present in the street and a car crash. Only a train crash could have been beter, as this movie was a complete and total train wreck. Paul Thomas Anderson has made ONE good movie, Magnolia was pure waste of time. I took my girl friend to see this movie to make up for taking her to see the Tuxedo, she told me she was sorry after it was over for complaining about Jackie Chan. Expand
  34. D.J.
    Oct 27, 2002
    1
    Disjointed does not equal symbolism. It is, however, indicative of a half-assed script. Acting was good though. Really boring plot. There is so much more to write about than a boring old head over heels in love story. What a waste. Sandler's character was not believable.
  35. LuigiP.
    Dec 1, 2002
    0
    What a weekend. First I went to see Solaris and walked out after 40 minutes. Trying to get the stench out from that garbage, yesterday I returned to see Punch Drunk Love. Solaris should be Best Picture compared to PDL. It was absolutely horrible. I walked out with about 5 other patrons half way through. What a disaster?
  36. JohnnyY.
    Dec 14, 2002
    0
    Possibly one of the worst movies ever made? So bad that the entire audience made up of 7 people walked out. I was the last to leave about 40 minutes into the film. I have above average intelligence and wanted so much to like the flick. I am sorry as I just did not get it. There was no chemistry between the stars and the movie is just completely disjointed. The musical score was terrible. Possibly one of the worst movies ever made? So bad that the entire audience made up of 7 people walked out. I was the last to leave about 40 minutes into the film. I have above average intelligence and wanted so much to like the flick. I am sorry as I just did not get it. There was no chemistry between the stars and the movie is just completely disjointed. The musical score was terrible. Don't waste your time! Expand
  37. JanetS.
    Oct 27, 2002
    0
    Adam Sandler has always been one of my favorite comedians ever since I first saw him on Saturday Night Live. Good or mostly bad movies never disuaded me from going to see him. That is until Punch-Drunk Love! His free pass is over as this was one of most depressing disappointing films that I have seen in a long time. There was nothing that I enjoyed. Adam, you now have to earn the right Adam Sandler has always been one of my favorite comedians ever since I first saw him on Saturday Night Live. Good or mostly bad movies never disuaded me from going to see him. That is until Punch-Drunk Love! His free pass is over as this was one of most depressing disappointing films that I have seen in a long time. There was nothing that I enjoyed. Adam, you now have to earn the right for me to see your future movies. What a travesty that this film was even made? Oscar? Please, this could be the worst bomb of the year. Expand
  38. RobertH.
    Oct 23, 2002
    0
    Where to begin? Ever since I saw Adam Sandler in the Wedding Singer, I have gone to see all of his films. I had hoped that he could capture the magic of that beloved film. More times than not, most that followed had simple dimwitted plots, but despite this fact, quite simply, Adam made me laugh. Well, when I heard the professional critics rave, I could hardly restrain myself to see it? Where to begin? Ever since I saw Adam Sandler in the Wedding Singer, I have gone to see all of his films. I had hoped that he could capture the magic of that beloved film. More times than not, most that followed had simple dimwitted plots, but despite this fact, quite simply, Adam made me laugh. Well, when I heard the professional critics rave, I could hardly restrain myself to see it? Well, I just came back from the viewing! And, that is exactly what it was - a funeral. Without question, it is one of the worst movies ever made. Adam does not have one funny line in the entire movie, not even a chuckle. Therefore to call this a comedy is an out and out lie. As for his character, it is never delved into and he is pathetic. He wears the same blue suit throughout this dark depressing movie. It is also devoid of any romantic chemistry whatsoever. The characters do not mesh and the musical score is absolutely attroicous. Possibly the only people who might find this movie somewhat interesting is a group of psychologists at a convention. Leaving the theater, the limited audience mumbled collectively how truly bad this film is. If you are an Adam Sandler fan, be forewarned, this is possibly the worst movie ever made. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  39. ThreeChordsMagazine
    Sep 21, 2003
    0
    Without a doubt this is the worst film I have ever seen. I can appreciate a good emotional film - I cried so much at A Walk To Remember you wouldn't believe. I can appreciate a good comedy - every other Adam Sandler film has me in stitches. I work in a video shop, and not one person who has seen this film enjoyed it. Just toptal unadulterated crap!
  40. JaredH.
    Nov 28, 2002
    0
    This movie sucked big time. I walked out in the middle with most of the few that were there. We asked for our money back without any luck. I cannot believe this movie was even made. It was strictly amateur hour as the music, acting and directing all sucked. Avoid at all costs.
  41. TP
    Mar 4, 2005
    1
    Its hidden messages were so deeppp that ordinary audiances like me cannot perceive. Many of them lead to nowhere and havent been comprehended at the end.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 75
    Quirky and stylish, but not in a manner that comes across as overly artsy or pretentious.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    70
    The strangest thing about writer-director Paul Thomas Anderson's unusual romantic comedy is how much of it is based on a true story.
  3. Whether Adam Sandler can actually act is not actually answered in Paul Thomas Anderson's Punch-Drunk Love. But he's great in it.