User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 241 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 54 out of 241
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JacintaG.
    Nov 16, 2003
    4
    I'm all for slow, quirky films- but this was a complete bore. It's a crap movie. There was a peep or brilliance shining through at some point, but was squashed flat by the non-existent a plot. Don't waste your money.
  2. TristanM.
    Jun 14, 2007
    10
    Everybody who hates this movie keeps complaining about how disjointed the script was, how terrible they think the dialogue was, the jarring music, how nothing makes sense, blah blah blah blah blah. How ignorant can you get? People are too afraid to step outside the box and see things from a different perspective because they are too used to being spoon-fed the same formulaic Hollywood Everybody who hates this movie keeps complaining about how disjointed the script was, how terrible they think the dialogue was, the jarring music, how nothing makes sense, blah blah blah blah blah. How ignorant can you get? People are too afraid to step outside the box and see things from a different perspective because they are too used to being spoon-fed the same formulaic Hollywood garbage where everything has to be explained and make sense. The reason why most of the professional critics gave the film such good reviews (and why P.T. Anderson won the Best Director award at the Cannes Film Festival for this movie) is because they're used to seeing a variety of movies, some which strive to be different, others that don't. If all you allow yourself to see is the typical Hollywood film (including typical Adam Sandler comedies), then of course you're not going to recognize and appreciate the beauty of this film. Start watching movies from other countries (or more American independent cinema) and you'll quickly see that there are THOUSANDS of movies out there that don't make sense, that don't explain everything, and don't rely on dialogue. Hollywood films rely on dialogue; you can more or less tell what's going on in the movie just by listening, without even having to see it. Punch-Drunk Love (and other examples of art cinema) are usually more concerned with the visual look than they are with dialogue or plot, since cinema is a VISUAL medium. Look at the shots and editing in Punch-Drunk Love. If you don't remember what they looked like, then you weren't paying attention. Go back and watch the film again and note how the color and cinematography and editing are different than a typical Hollywood film. Do you think it's easy to make a film like that, to rely on less editing like P.T. Anderson does? Anybody who has experience making movies knows that it's much harder to shoot a film using long takes and a moving camera than the safer, easier to manipulate rapid editing of a typical Hollywood film. Watch the movie again with an open mind and think about that. And watch more non-Hollywood movies; after a while, you'll start to see why somebody might love this movie so much. Expand
  3. TimK.
    Oct 26, 2002
    9
    The lousy reviews by fans tell why sandler is cashing checks off the ridiculousness of such as little nicky and the waterboy. if you have the attention span of an 8 year old and think sit coms are great, then no this isn't the movie for you. but if you appreciate intelligent humor and depth in a film, then this movie is amazing.
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    9
    Trained to value mediocre plots like safety blankets, whose purpose is to explain everything in order to divorce movies from the random, surreal beauty of life, many Americans are unable to recognize the virtuosity displayed in Punch-Drunk Love. PT Anderson is the most talented filmmaker born in this country since Robert Altman. This is his fourth film and he has done the impossibleTrained to value mediocre plots like safety blankets, whose purpose is to explain everything in order to divorce movies from the random, surreal beauty of life, many Americans are unable to recognize the virtuosity displayed in Punch-Drunk Love. PT Anderson is the most talented filmmaker born in this country since Robert Altman. This is his fourth film and he has done the impossible again: a mediation on Godardian cinema served up burger and fries style. Adam Sandler and Anderson's camera provide the meat and potatoes while Emma Watson's cool dreaminess round off the meal like cold cream. Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    After watching this movie I thought to myself what is Adam Sandler doing. This guy can really act granted Paul Thomas Anderson is brilliant, but Sandler gives an outstanding performance. I connected in so many ways with Barry and that's a credit to Sandler. I so hope one day after he is done making the likes of Jack and Jill and Grown Ups 2, he might get another shot at making somethingAfter watching this movie I thought to myself what is Adam Sandler doing. This guy can really act granted Paul Thomas Anderson is brilliant, but Sandler gives an outstanding performance. I connected in so many ways with Barry and that's a credit to Sandler. I so hope one day after he is done making the likes of Jack and Jill and Grown Ups 2, he might get another shot at making something meaningful. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2014
    8
    It's queer, on the borderline of hipster. But what really makes this film noticeable is how Adam Sandler actually displays some raw talent, both comical and dramatic. The whole script has this creativity to it, that makes both question and enjoy the film. Again, loved the Philip Seymour Hoffman scenes. If only Sandler could do more of this kind of cinema.
  7. DrewD.
    Jan 10, 2009
    10
    It is really a testament to the sadness of America that half of them cannot appreciate a film like this. Most of them just think it is dumb--they say it is "disjointed" or that the leads have "no chemistry". This is what doing nothing but watching TV and standard Hollywood films does to your brain: you can't understand real human relationships (which are not "explainable" and are in It is really a testament to the sadness of America that half of them cannot appreciate a film like this. Most of them just think it is dumb--they say it is "disjointed" or that the leads have "no chemistry". This is what doing nothing but watching TV and standard Hollywood films does to your brain: you can't understand real human relationships (which are not "explainable" and are in fact "random", at least for most of us), you can't empathize with those who clearly have some sort of disorder, and can't figure out the unity of an actually pretty straightforward film, by artistic cinematic standards. Then, perhaps even worse, there are a group who recognize that they can't understand the film, but are too proud to admit it and accuse the film of being "pretentious" and full of "fake symbolism". I am not surprised though, that those who were expecting a standard Adam Sandler film, where you are supposed to laugh at someone who is different, didn't like this film, where you are supposed to feel for someone who is different. A shame. Expand
  8. AndyS.
    Nov 28, 2002
    4
    A modest little love story swollen grotesquely out of proportion by a forced regimen of showy, self-conscious camera moves, surreal flourishes, and an often bombastic score. Not that P.T. Anderson hasn't made this formula work brilliantly before (2 1/2 times to be precise), but this time he comes up short due mostly to an uncharacteristically slight script. The leads are very good A modest little love story swollen grotesquely out of proportion by a forced regimen of showy, self-conscious camera moves, surreal flourishes, and an often bombastic score. Not that P.T. Anderson hasn't made this formula work brilliantly before (2 1/2 times to be precise), but this time he comes up short due mostly to an uncharacteristically slight script. The leads are very good (Sandler) and great as usual (Wastson), but not only don't have any chemistry, but seem to be acting in different films. Expand
  9. Rosemary
    Nov 4, 2002
    3
    I did not enjoy this movie at all. I'm one of those people who just didn't "get it." I do think Adam Sandler was unexpectedly good. Emily Watson was great as always. However, their performances were not enough to make me like the movie.
  10. PatC.
    Jan 7, 2004
    5
    Pretty Woman meets Dumb & Dumber. Don't look for much substance. The plot is disjointed, the premise stupid, but moments of audacious authenticity emerge at random.
  11. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    If you didn't like this move you probably shop at wal-mart, loved transformers, and probably don't have much depth. This is probably one of Adam Sandlers best performances as an actor and will always be one of my favorites. "Hey Barry, remember when we used to call you Gay Boy?" hahaha, great film.
  12. Sep 11, 2013
    10
    Whimsical, Nietzschean, Beautiful. Jon Brion's score is the perfect complement to this story of a man coming into his own. Paul Thomas Anderson has an eye for shots and cinema all his own. Loved it.
  13. PhilF.
    Oct 13, 2008
    1
    This movie was terrible. I've heard nothing but good reviews for it over the last 5 years; i watched it today, and was in great disappointment. Sandlers acting wasn't half bad, but it was really hard to tell with all of the asstastic diologue and crappy acting. gave it a 1 because i felt better after not having to watch it anymore.
  14. JohnM.
    Jun 22, 2005
    0
    Listen people, just because it makes no sense and is artsy doesn't make it worth your while. This putrid picture is awash in a sea of feaux symbolism. There is no meaning to be found in this one. Being the aventest-of-garde does not translate into a good movie experience. I thought my head was gonna explode during this garbage. Sandler needs to stick to nose-picking, one-liner humor Listen people, just because it makes no sense and is artsy doesn't make it worth your while. This putrid picture is awash in a sea of feaux symbolism. There is no meaning to be found in this one. Being the aventest-of-garde does not translate into a good movie experience. I thought my head was gonna explode during this garbage. Sandler needs to stick to nose-picking, one-liner humor for meatheads. Expand
  15. RyanG.
    Apr 26, 2006
    1
    Worst Movie Adam Sandler Ever Made.
  16. DustyM.
    Oct 27, 2002
    1
    What a boringly simple plot. So many unnecessary symbolic moments that arent resolved. What was with the truck crash? And the harmonium? Duh! So he gives it to her at the end. Thats a coincidence - thats not deep. Anderson seems blown away with coincidence. Another thing I dont like about him is he is the king of "artful" randomness. If you don't get it well it must be symbolic. NO! What a boringly simple plot. So many unnecessary symbolic moments that arent resolved. What was with the truck crash? And the harmonium? Duh! So he gives it to her at the end. Thats a coincidence - thats not deep. Anderson seems blown away with coincidence. Another thing I dont like about him is he is the king of "artful" randomness. If you don't get it well it must be symbolic. NO! Its just random. I bet he does a lot of drugs when he writes. Dont get me wrong, that can produce creative moments. But truck crashes ar enot creative. F..king disjointed and half- assed. Expand
  17. AlbertL.
    Nov 20, 2002
    0
    After the bathroom scene I walked out. I couldn't take it anymore. What a waste of time. Simply horrible.
  18. LucyL.
    Dec 5, 2002
    0
    There is a God. I went to see Solaris and walked out after 30 minutes. Since I had paid for a movie I felt guilty but snuck into Punch Drunk Love. I left after 40 horrendous minutes. God punished me for sneaking in. I had to take a shower when I got home just to get the stench off from these two turkeys. If this is the best Hollywood has to offer at this time of year, perhaps we should There is a God. I went to see Solaris and walked out after 30 minutes. Since I had paid for a movie I felt guilty but snuck into Punch Drunk Love. I left after 40 horrendous minutes. God punished me for sneaking in. I had to take a shower when I got home just to get the stench off from these two turkeys. If this is the best Hollywood has to offer at this time of year, perhaps we should all give up movies? Expand
  19. NedD.
    Dec 16, 2002
    0
    Lame every which way from Sunday. The entire audience of 3 people walked out.
  20. MaxG.
    Jul 3, 2003
    1
    This was the most boring pointless movie I've ever seen I could'nt watch it all it was so boring that was the first movie with Adam sandler in it that I didn't like.
  21. Eric
    Oct 23, 2002
    3
    I don't see what all the fuss is about. Is it original? Yes. Does it hold your attention? Largely. Are the characters or story credible? No!
  22. AndyM.
    Jul 20, 2003
    0
    This has to have been the worst movie of all time. No point, no plot... I was shocked to see metacritic rated it so high... Just shows how out of touch critics are with reality.
  23. JasonL.
    Jul 20, 2003
    0
    This is the most pretentious and irredeemably dystfunctional piece of cinema I have ever had the displeasure of watching. It also reminds me why I never listen to critics or read any of their reviews. What planet are they on? The list of attrocities is neverending and if this is someone's idea of love - they need therapy and fast.
  24. Scott
    Dec 4, 2002
    0
    If there was a NEGATIVE 10 I would have used it. This was the worst movie I have EVER had the displeasure to have seen. I cannot rate this film low enough. In fact, I walked out after "Mafia" showed up. THE WORST FILM I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!
  25. JoshL.
    Oct 20, 2002
    3
    This overrated movie is a mess. Romances - whether conventional or unconventional still need to be romantic. It is NEVER clear to us why in the world this seemingly NORMAL woman would fall in love with this freak of a man (other than her saying "I saw your picture and I thought you were cute"). I wish I understood all the raves. Just because something is DIFFERENT doesn't This overrated movie is a mess. Romances - whether conventional or unconventional still need to be romantic. It is NEVER clear to us why in the world this seemingly NORMAL woman would fall in love with this freak of a man (other than her saying "I saw your picture and I thought you were cute"). I wish I understood all the raves. Just because something is DIFFERENT doesn't automatically make it GOOD! It's like a bunch of Saturday Night Live skits with one specific character (Adam has a temper) strung together. Expand
  26. [Anonymous]
    Nov 1, 2002
    0
    I must say that i've seen no movie like this one. there's nothing funny or romantic about it. the story is so stupid, it doesn't even deserved to be produced. it is the worst movie i will ever see; there will never been another one quite as bad as this.
  27. RonP.
    Nov 15, 2002
    1
    This is the movie that "prooves Adam Sandler can act"??? I don't think so; I'd hate to see what his lesser performances have been like. Emily Watson is superb, as always, but there's absolutely no chemistry between the two and no way to explain why she would be so desperately attracted to such a loser. Nothing in this train wreck worked for me. My respect for the collective This is the movie that "prooves Adam Sandler can act"??? I don't think so; I'd hate to see what his lesser performances have been like. Emily Watson is superb, as always, but there's absolutely no chemistry between the two and no way to explain why she would be so desperately attracted to such a loser. Nothing in this train wreck worked for me. My respect for the collective wisdom of movie reviewers has just dropped even lower! Expand
  28. FantasyL.
    Oct 23, 2002
    0
    Quite frankly one of the worst turkeys of all time. It is a dark depressing unromantic boring film without any sympathetic characters. There isn't any laughs whatsoever so how this is called a comedy is beyond me. It is beyond all human comprehension that any professional could find any redeeming quality in this garbage. For Adam Sandler fans, this is the same mistake Woody Allen Quite frankly one of the worst turkeys of all time. It is a dark depressing unromantic boring film without any sympathetic characters. There isn't any laughs whatsoever so how this is called a comedy is beyond me. It is beyond all human comprehension that any professional could find any redeeming quality in this garbage. For Adam Sandler fans, this is the same mistake Woody Allen made when he stopped being funny and took his career in another direction. This is the bomb of all bombs. Expand
  29. AppleH.
    Nov 17, 2002
    0
    Let me preface my remarks by stating that I am a huge Adam Sandler fan. I read the public reviews on this board, and to say the least, they vary greatly. In any event, I went not knowing what to expect? Well, this was a terrible movie devoid of any chemistry between the stars. The music was awful, the dialogue terrible, and the storyline had as many holes as swiss cheese. If Let me preface my remarks by stating that I am a huge Adam Sandler fan. I read the public reviews on this board, and to say the least, they vary greatly. In any event, I went not knowing what to expect? Well, this was a terrible movie devoid of any chemistry between the stars. The music was awful, the dialogue terrible, and the storyline had as many holes as swiss cheese. If intellectually it was meant to stimulate me, quite frankly, I just didn't get it? Walking out after this mess the other (few) moviegoers who shared this experience were left shaking their heads as well. 1/2 of the audience walked out midway through. Unfortuantely for me I stayed until it was mericifully over. Ugly is the best word to describe this garbage. Expand
  30. LassiterP.
    Nov 20, 2002
    0
    Possibly one of the worst movies ever made. Those of you who loved it have me going mad. I cannot decide if you really did or is this the biggest goof of all time? What little audience went to see it was walking out throughout the flick. I made the mistake of staying until the end. What a disappointment! No chemistry whatsoever.
  31. DavidH.
    Nov 22, 2002
    1
    This was the worst movie that I have ever seen. There was no plot, the characters were less then skin deep. Half of the same audience walked out before the movie was half over. I spent the whole movie waiting for the movie to become interesting. Not worth the film it is printed on.
  32. ChristiH.
    Aug 19, 2003
    1
    For a supposed romantic comedy, there was NO romance and NO comedy. What the heck WAS that, anyway? I couldn't even watch it all the way through, it was so dysfunctional. 30 minutes into it, I was praying for something, anything, to happen. The "artistic" montages and jarring music were an elaborate smoke-and-mirrors attempt to disguise the fact that this movie is *crap*.
  33. RandyH.
    Jan 2, 2003
    0
    I never went to a movie before where the ticket seller advised that there were NO REFUNDS before entering the theater. After watching this disaster I now understand why. How this mess was released is beyond all human comprehension. To be subjected to it is cruel and inhuman punishment.
  34. G.Lee
    Dec 28, 2002
    1
    "PT Anderson?" More like "PT Barnum". This movie proves that a sucker critic is born every minute. Punch Drunk Love is laughably pretentious excrement. It plays like Paul Thomas Anderson rented a ton of French movies and determined that they used icons and symbols to achieve depth. So he put meaningless icons and symbols in his movie, but forgot the depth. Half the theater was laughing AT "PT Anderson?" More like "PT Barnum". This movie proves that a sucker critic is born every minute. Punch Drunk Love is laughably pretentious excrement. It plays like Paul Thomas Anderson rented a ton of French movies and determined that they used icons and symbols to achieve depth. So he put meaningless icons and symbols in his movie, but forgot the depth. Half the theater was laughing AT the movie even before the film cut to floating colors for two minutes. There are great actors in this film, but they almost look embarrassed. The script is incompetent, the comedy is forced, the end result is a festering pile of faux-intellectual refuse. Expand
  35. TheCurseOfGilbertMulroneycakes
    Dec 6, 2002
    9
    Lucy L: you didn't see it from the start, nimrod. Everyone else who gave it a yellowred score I imagine would be previous Sandler fans angry that he's decided to make a subtle, intelligent movie aimed at more than him and his friends. Hey, I respect Sandler - I don't like his work, but many many do, and he makes them all happy in a wierd sort of way, so kudos. Also he seems Lucy L: you didn't see it from the start, nimrod. Everyone else who gave it a yellowred score I imagine would be previous Sandler fans angry that he's decided to make a subtle, intelligent movie aimed at more than him and his friends. Hey, I respect Sandler - I don't like his work, but many many do, and he makes them all happy in a wierd sort of way, so kudos. Also he seems a lovely, wonderfully self-deprecating sort of a bloke - but the rut of dumb gross-out after dumb gross-out had to be broken sooner or later. And it has been, with the help of Paul Thomas the Anderson. It's not quite his third masterpiece (after Boogie Nights and the ultra-Sandlerfan-alienating Magnolia) but it's close. And Sandler's great. Shame he made Mr Deeds and Eight (sigh) Crazy Nights immediately afterwards. Still, at least he has this. At least we know he can do it. Expand
  36. JennyandVicki
    Jul 2, 2003
    1
    This movie was the worst movie I have ever seen, do to the fact that adam sandler's movies are great. Nothing in this movie made any sense, no plot, extreme confusion and dissatisfication. We are disappointed.
  37. BrettS.
    Jul 13, 2003
    0
    Complete garbage.
  38. RussB.
    Oct 20, 2002
    1
    This has to be the worst film in years! Sandler can act OK , but if you do a Hollywood film, aren't you supposed to be able to act a little?
  39. HarrietA.
    Nov 15, 2002
    1
    Sorry, I just didn't get it. The movie was so bad that I stayed for fear that I would miss something everyone else saw. There was absolutely no chemistry between the so-called stars. This is by far one of the worst movies ever made. The remaining audience at the end seemed to be of that opinion as well.
  40. MarcK.
    Nov 2, 2002
    5
    What has happened to PT Anderson? After the great "Boogie Nights" was the not-so-good "Magnolia", and now comes "Punch Drunk Love", which isn't even as good as "Magnolia." The only good things about this movie are Emily Watson and Anderson's great visual style. Sandler is in TOTALLY over his head during this picture. As others have noted, we know nothing about these characters, What has happened to PT Anderson? After the great "Boogie Nights" was the not-so-good "Magnolia", and now comes "Punch Drunk Love", which isn't even as good as "Magnolia." The only good things about this movie are Emily Watson and Anderson's great visual style. Sandler is in TOTALLY over his head during this picture. As others have noted, we know nothing about these characters, and why Emily Watson is even remotely attracted to Sandler. In music, Alanis, Hootie, etc. put out great first albums, and then when they have the power/clout to do anything they like, the results were albums that bombed. I think that analogy is appropriate to what is going on with PT Anderson right now. Expand
  41. AmberP.
    Nov 19, 2002
    0
    This flick is unadulterated sh-t. It is a mess from beginning to end and makes absolutely no sense. And Adam what is up with continously wearing the blue suit? When he tore up the bathroom I was hoping he would have smashed his head on the wall and killed himself. In that way, at least, the movie would have been over. No such luck as this garbage continued. All of you who loved this film This flick is unadulterated sh-t. It is a mess from beginning to end and makes absolutely no sense. And Adam what is up with continously wearing the blue suit? When he tore up the bathroom I was hoping he would have smashed his head on the wall and killed himself. In that way, at least, the movie would have been over. No such luck as this garbage continued. All of you who loved this film probably would have thought "wow" a scene worthy of an OSCAR if he had died in the bathroom? C'mon what were you guys watching? There was no chemistry and the music sucked. As one reviewer said there were signs in some theaters warning that there were "No Refunds." If that doesn't tell you something nothing else will. Avoid PDL like the plague. Expand
  42. JeremyG.
    Dec 1, 2002
    0
    I'd like to punch everyones' lights out for making a movie as bad as this. There was absolutely no chemistry between the stars. It was never explained why Emily Watson (a very good actress) would be so desperate to be with a jerk like Adam unless she had zero self-esteem which was not evident. This movie was so disjointed with such bad dialogue that I am unable to understand how I'd like to punch everyones' lights out for making a movie as bad as this. There was absolutely no chemistry between the stars. It was never explained why Emily Watson (a very good actress) would be so desperate to be with a jerk like Adam unless she had zero self-esteem which was not evident. This movie was so disjointed with such bad dialogue that I am unable to understand how it was even made? If this proved that Sandler could act, I have a bridge I want to sell you. It was just another variation of the dumb characters he usually protrays without one funny line. His acting was comparable to Sean Penn in that both played retarded characters. In this case, Adam played an emotionally disturbed person without conviction. Simply the worst movie of the year. Expand
  43. HarryH.
    Oct 25, 2002
    0
    Love Adam Sandler. Hated P-D Love. It is so disjointed, that it is hard to believe that it was even made? Absolutely horrible. His fans will be very disappointed.
  44. CarolAnn
    Oct 24, 2002
    0
    I have seen so many bad movies lately however, this was the worst! No intelligent dialog, no chemistry between principal characters, bad really bad backgroud music, slow and boring. I wanted to leave but it was early and this turned into a NEGATIVE attraction. This is the last time l will ever think about this movie.
  45. IggyZ.
    Dec 6, 2002
    0
    A discombobulated mess from the start to the sorry conclusion. I lacked the insight and intelligence to join the mass exodus out of the theater.
  46. MatthewC.
    Nov 25, 2002
    2
    The movie starts with a mysterious present in the street and a car crash. Only a train crash could have been beter, as this movie was a complete and total train wreck. Paul Thomas Anderson has made ONE good movie, Magnolia was pure waste of time. I took my girl friend to see this movie to make up for taking her to see the Tuxedo, she told me she was sorry after it was over for complaining The movie starts with a mysterious present in the street and a car crash. Only a train crash could have been beter, as this movie was a complete and total train wreck. Paul Thomas Anderson has made ONE good movie, Magnolia was pure waste of time. I took my girl friend to see this movie to make up for taking her to see the Tuxedo, she told me she was sorry after it was over for complaining about Jackie Chan. Expand
  47. D.J.
    Oct 27, 2002
    1
    Disjointed does not equal symbolism. It is, however, indicative of a half-assed script. Acting was good though. Really boring plot. There is so much more to write about than a boring old head over heels in love story. What a waste. Sandler's character was not believable.
  48. LuigiP.
    Dec 1, 2002
    0
    What a weekend. First I went to see Solaris and walked out after 40 minutes. Trying to get the stench out from that garbage, yesterday I returned to see Punch Drunk Love. Solaris should be Best Picture compared to PDL. It was absolutely horrible. I walked out with about 5 other patrons half way through. What a disaster?
  49. JohnnyY.
    Dec 14, 2002
    0
    Possibly one of the worst movies ever made? So bad that the entire audience made up of 7 people walked out. I was the last to leave about 40 minutes into the film. I have above average intelligence and wanted so much to like the flick. I am sorry as I just did not get it. There was no chemistry between the stars and the movie is just completely disjointed. The musical score was terrible. Possibly one of the worst movies ever made? So bad that the entire audience made up of 7 people walked out. I was the last to leave about 40 minutes into the film. I have above average intelligence and wanted so much to like the flick. I am sorry as I just did not get it. There was no chemistry between the stars and the movie is just completely disjointed. The musical score was terrible. Don't waste your time! Expand
  50. JanetS.
    Oct 27, 2002
    0
    Adam Sandler has always been one of my favorite comedians ever since I first saw him on Saturday Night Live. Good or mostly bad movies never disuaded me from going to see him. That is until Punch-Drunk Love! His free pass is over as this was one of most depressing disappointing films that I have seen in a long time. There was nothing that I enjoyed. Adam, you now have to earn the right Adam Sandler has always been one of my favorite comedians ever since I first saw him on Saturday Night Live. Good or mostly bad movies never disuaded me from going to see him. That is until Punch-Drunk Love! His free pass is over as this was one of most depressing disappointing films that I have seen in a long time. There was nothing that I enjoyed. Adam, you now have to earn the right for me to see your future movies. What a travesty that this film was even made? Oscar? Please, this could be the worst bomb of the year. Expand
  51. RobertH.
    Oct 23, 2002
    0
    Where to begin? Ever since I saw Adam Sandler in the Wedding Singer, I have gone to see all of his films. I had hoped that he could capture the magic of that beloved film. More times than not, most that followed had simple dimwitted plots, but despite this fact, quite simply, Adam made me laugh. Well, when I heard the professional critics rave, I could hardly restrain myself to see it? Where to begin? Ever since I saw Adam Sandler in the Wedding Singer, I have gone to see all of his films. I had hoped that he could capture the magic of that beloved film. More times than not, most that followed had simple dimwitted plots, but despite this fact, quite simply, Adam made me laugh. Well, when I heard the professional critics rave, I could hardly restrain myself to see it? Well, I just came back from the viewing! And, that is exactly what it was - a funeral. Without question, it is one of the worst movies ever made. Adam does not have one funny line in the entire movie, not even a chuckle. Therefore to call this a comedy is an out and out lie. As for his character, it is never delved into and he is pathetic. He wears the same blue suit throughout this dark depressing movie. It is also devoid of any romantic chemistry whatsoever. The characters do not mesh and the musical score is absolutely attroicous. Possibly the only people who might find this movie somewhat interesting is a group of psychologists at a convention. Leaving the theater, the limited audience mumbled collectively how truly bad this film is. If you are an Adam Sandler fan, be forewarned, this is possibly the worst movie ever made. Avoid at all costs. Expand
  52. ThreeChordsMagazine
    Sep 21, 2003
    0
    Without a doubt this is the worst film I have ever seen. I can appreciate a good emotional film - I cried so much at A Walk To Remember you wouldn't believe. I can appreciate a good comedy - every other Adam Sandler film has me in stitches. I work in a video shop, and not one person who has seen this film enjoyed it. Just toptal unadulterated crap!
  53. JacintaG.
    Nov 16, 2003
    4
    I'm all for slow, quirky films- but this was a complete bore. It's a crap movie. There was a peep or brilliance shining through at some point, but was squashed flat by the non-existent a plot. Don't waste your money.
  54. JaredH.
    Nov 28, 2002
    0
    This movie sucked big time. I walked out in the middle with most of the few that were there. We asked for our money back without any luck. I cannot believe this movie was even made. It was strictly amateur hour as the music, acting and directing all sucked. Avoid at all costs.
  55. TP
    Mar 4, 2005
    1
    Its hidden messages were so deeppp that ordinary audiances like me cannot perceive. Many of them lead to nowhere and havent been comprehended at the end.
  56. Sep 25, 2013
    9
    The first time I saw this movie I absolutely loved it. After seeing it a couple of times after the effect isn't as strong but I still love it. Any doubters on Adam Sandler and his acting ability haven't seen this film. This would have to be the best performance I've seen from him. Not much happens in the first half hour but after that it becomes so interesting. It's not always funny butThe first time I saw this movie I absolutely loved it. After seeing it a couple of times after the effect isn't as strong but I still love it. Any doubters on Adam Sandler and his acting ability haven't seen this film. This would have to be the best performance I've seen from him. Not much happens in the first half hour but after that it becomes so interesting. It's not always funny but there are some very funny bits. The romance between the two I loved so much, they get along so well and they're not the perfect specimens. This isn't Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence these are two average and kinda weird people. Paul Thomas Anderson has some really interesting cinematography and music. I can understand why people wouldn't find it that great or if they didn't get it at all but I really enjoyed it. Expand
  57. DaveF
    May 19, 2005
    10
    A giddy, surreal tapestry of anxiety, weirdness, rage and love. Funny and startling, even on repeat viewings. Satisfying, both intellectually and viscerally. Neither the avant-garde bits nor the overloud background music can detract from this singular experience. My favorite film.
  58. MauroG.
    Oct 13, 2005
    10
    Increible!!! Indescriptible!!!
  59. tonybob
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    I loved this movie. i was a little hesitant about buying it based on the reviews given but am so i happy i did. i didnt see one thing about it not a boring seen i wonder if people have seen the same movie as me because i didnt see one imperfection about it. this movie was brilliant funny and everything you could ask for in a movie.
  60. StephenQ.
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    A dark romantic-comedy about love and how everyone deserves it, even the neurotic. This isn't Billy Madison, this is a dark, gritty and surprisingly uplifting romance. I think of it as a lesser Tony Takitani (another great indie flick). If you've ever felt Napoleon Dynamite-ish and been depressed, this is the movie for you.
  61. JeffH.
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    Believe it or not, this could be picture of the year.
  62. Josh
    Dec 13, 2002
    10
    Scott, if you use a -10 then I'll use a +10!! Another brilliant movie from Anderson! I agree with you Dirk, I hate Sandler but somehow Paul Thomas Anderson made him look brilliant. Emily Watson was wonderful as usual. I also loved Luis Guzman, a great Anderson regular. And who could forget the most brilliant actor alive today, Philip Seymour Hoffman!!! Each of his characters are Scott, if you use a -10 then I'll use a +10!! Another brilliant movie from Anderson! I agree with you Dirk, I hate Sandler but somehow Paul Thomas Anderson made him look brilliant. Emily Watson was wonderful as usual. I also loved Luis Guzman, a great Anderson regular. And who could forget the most brilliant actor alive today, Philip Seymour Hoffman!!! Each of his characters are unique but sooooo honest. I'm sorry if people didn't make sense of the movie but who said there was anything wrong with that. Expand
  63. PatrickB.
    Apr 16, 2003
    9
    Romance in film is not dead! A wonderful if definitely referential (see Jacques Tati) hymn to human frailty and the all conquering power of love - the best American movie of 2002 just ahead of Far From Heaven.
  64. MaryC.
    Oct 27, 2002
    10
    This was the greatest film I have seen in the theatre in months. It was moving, it was different, it was funny, it was romantic, it was great. PT Anderson always amazes me. I think I will go see it again right now.
  65. JeffM.
    Nov 5, 2002
    9
    Defies any expectations based on Sandler's last few crap movies and Anderson's overrated Magnolia -- this film had disaster written all over it. Surprise, surprise -- the two got together and made a weird and funny gem. I want to see it again.
  66. CamK.
    Oct 12, 2002
    10
    Purely heroic.
  67. AlexK.
    Nov 25, 2002
    10
    Congratulations to all those who gave Punch-Drunk Love a 0 or 1: You've proved to be as ignorant as you are plentiful. As a big Paul Thomas Anderson fan, I believe PDL is an expectedly brilliant follow-up to Magnolia. It is witty, poignant, and quite innovative in terms of use of sound and music. To all those who hate it simply because it is different and not a typical Sandler flick: Congratulations to all those who gave Punch-Drunk Love a 0 or 1: You've proved to be as ignorant as you are plentiful. As a big Paul Thomas Anderson fan, I believe PDL is an expectedly brilliant follow-up to Magnolia. It is witty, poignant, and quite innovative in terms of use of sound and music. To all those who hate it simply because it is different and not a typical Sandler flick: Buzz off. I'm sure you'll just love "8 Crazy Nights." Expand
  68. Dirk
    Nov 28, 2002
    10
    Finally! An Adam Sandler movie worth seeing! All of his enfant-terrible characters from his prior 'movies' finally get realized by Paul Thomas Anderson.
  69. MichaelM.
    Nov 2, 2002
    9
    This was very nice change for Adam Sandler. He is definitely a good actor when he needs to be. I do not see why people give this movie below a 5.
  70. LemonP.
    Nov 5, 2002
    8
    I like Adam Sandler. I like a lot of his movies, though having them all be PG-13 is a mistake. Punch-Drunk love is his first R rated film, but it's also not a vehicle for him to do his trademark comedy. But who cares, because the film is good. Like Rushmore, there are going to be a lot of people who won't appreciate Punch-Drunk Love. Not all of those people are complete and I like Adam Sandler. I like a lot of his movies, though having them all be PG-13 is a mistake. Punch-Drunk love is his first R rated film, but it's also not a vehicle for him to do his trademark comedy. But who cares, because the film is good. Like Rushmore, there are going to be a lot of people who won't appreciate Punch-Drunk Love. Not all of those people are complete and utter idiots... Some of them are just dumb and impatient. Expand
  71. DanielT.
    Nov 6, 2002
    10
    I suspected this movie would be good (it's directed by P.T. Anderson, after all), but I wasn't sure it would be funny. Fortunately, it was hilarious, and everyone I saw it with--a group of about 15 people--thoroughly enjoyed it. Adam Sandler's character is absolutely amazing to watch as he fluctuates from calm and impassive to furiously violent and then back again. This I suspected this movie would be good (it's directed by P.T. Anderson, after all), but I wasn't sure it would be funny. Fortunately, it was hilarious, and everyone I saw it with--a group of about 15 people--thoroughly enjoyed it. Adam Sandler's character is absolutely amazing to watch as he fluctuates from calm and impassive to furiously violent and then back again. This movie is alternately funny, exciting, tragic, uplifting and beatiful. Truly a brilliantly made film, probably the best I've seen this year. I HIGHLY recommend it. Expand
  72. Pat
    Nov 4, 2002
    10
    Wow, that movie was amazing. I would see it 10 more times if it didn't cost som much to get in to the theater. You people who say it's dumb just don't understand good movies. You people are idiots.
  73. ChadS.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    "Punch-Drunk Love" is the best American film of 2002. It's a brand-new world when you emerge out from your local neighborhood cineplex. It's a world where we have to drop the asterisk from actor when we think about Adam Sandler's contribution to the planet. The last hold-outs will be won over when he berates his sister from a Waikiki pay-phone. The pay-phone is a nice touch "Punch-Drunk Love" is the best American film of 2002. It's a brand-new world when you emerge out from your local neighborhood cineplex. It's a world where we have to drop the asterisk from actor when we think about Adam Sandler's contribution to the planet. The last hold-outs will be won over when he berates his sister from a Waikiki pay-phone. The pay-phone is a nice touch because his character probably doesn't have enough friends to make the cell-phone a worthwhile purchase. Sandler is amazing but he gets a lot of help from his co-star Emily Watson. She has an interesting role here. This stellar British actress plays a character who nurtures an underdog, while at the same time, as actors, she helps elevate Canteen Boy to respectability. As for the director Paul Thomas Anderson, he has my everlasting admiration for making outstanding use of Hawaii and its music in a lovely protracted scene where the couple walks back to their hotel room. "Punch-Drunk Love" will get under your skin. The damn thing is alive. Expand
  74. ScottH.
    Jun 25, 2003
    9
    Hey guys guess what? Actors don't have to give the exact same type of performance over and over again. Sandler shines in this touching, TENSE, and beautifully shot movie. Kudos for using music from Popeye!
  75. JenniferM.
    Oct 27, 2002
    9
    I think part of the reason so many people below gave this movie such a poor rating, is that they may have been expecting another typical Adam Sandler comedy. I had no such expectation, as I was aware that this was more of an "art film" with more depth and seriousness (and did not expect it to be a comedy at all). I absolutely loved this movie- I thought Sandler was outstanding and very I think part of the reason so many people below gave this movie such a poor rating, is that they may have been expecting another typical Adam Sandler comedy. I had no such expectation, as I was aware that this was more of an "art film" with more depth and seriousness (and did not expect it to be a comedy at all). I absolutely loved this movie- I thought Sandler was outstanding and very touching as a pathetic, disturbed, desparately isolated man. What could be more touching than two desparate souls finding each other despite their flaws and problems? Expand
  76. CJD
    Oct 18, 2002
    8
    After seeing this movie I don't know what to think for sure, but 3 adjectives come to mind: Musical, magical, and thoughtful. What is amazing is director Paul Thomas Anderson's ability to create a movie that is thoroughly musical while creating a movie that is -- strictly speaking -- not a musical. The film is marked by an unpredictability and serendipity that give the viewer After seeing this movie I don't know what to think for sure, but 3 adjectives come to mind: Musical, magical, and thoughtful. What is amazing is director Paul Thomas Anderson's ability to create a movie that is thoroughly musical while creating a movie that is -- strictly speaking -- not a musical. The film is marked by an unpredictability and serendipity that give the viewer both paranoia and optimism. Strange and scary things happen at the beginning, but these events magically seem to set the characters off on an uplifting journey. Don't go to see it for the comedy: When many of the humorous parts occur -- as with the brother-in-law and phone-sex call -- there is a sense of seriousness and pity which seems to make laughter inappropriate. Certainly one of this year's most imaginative and best made films. Collapse
  77. MegD.
    Nov 17, 2002
    8
    It was weird, I just saw the movie, and I'm not sure I understand what just happened, but I think I liked it.
  78. CharlieM.
    Nov 9, 2002
    10
    This is a great movie. Adam Sandler gave a brillant performance and Emily Watson gave a pretty good performance. It is an off beat movie. The plot line is really twisted and the directing is amazing. All and all it is a great movie.
  79. RayW.
    Nov 26, 2002
    10
    One of the best movies in a long time. PT Anderson has more guts and glory than any recent director that I know of. His love of the medium is powerful and very sincere. For all you who didn't get this movie...all I can say is that I'm not surprised. A movie this daring is bound to be misunderstood as pretentious by those who seek the usual predigested experience. To explain what One of the best movies in a long time. PT Anderson has more guts and glory than any recent director that I know of. His love of the medium is powerful and very sincere. For all you who didn't get this movie...all I can say is that I'm not surprised. A movie this daring is bound to be misunderstood as pretentious by those who seek the usual predigested experience. To explain what you are missing would take me years. My best advice is to give up your expectations. BUT you probably don't even know what your expectations are if you haven't already done this. You've been too conditioned by years of same-old cinematic narrative that you can't see the forest for the trees. You probably don't even know what I'm talking about... Expand
  80. MaxL.
    Nov 1, 2002
    7
    Very good movie about love and what it does to one even as 'freakish' as Adam Sandler character. Not the usual Sandler movie. Very entertaining. Kooky at times but worth the ride. Emily Watson is still great even if this role doesn't push her much.
  81. KelR.
    Jul 1, 2003
    10
    This movie really moved me, I'm sorry to those who feel differently. The movie tapped into elements of action, romance, and humor much better than anything before (that I know of) yet, best of all it works on emotions, to those who rated the movie low probably have a hard time relating to the character, Barry, but those who rated high felt empathetic towards him. The movie shows how This movie really moved me, I'm sorry to those who feel differently. The movie tapped into elements of action, romance, and humor much better than anything before (that I know of) yet, best of all it works on emotions, to those who rated the movie low probably have a hard time relating to the character, Barry, but those who rated high felt empathetic towards him. The movie shows how love can take even the most "pathetic" individual and change their life completely. It's pure genius! Expand
  82. JeremyS.
    Oct 14, 2002
    9
    A strange and wonderful movie that continues to resonate with me days after seeing it. Anderson keeps the viewer guessing whether the story is based in fantasy or reality, constantly juxtaposing the mundane and the bizarre, in a style that frequently reminded me of the Cohen brothers. But this is fundamentally the sort of movie that only Anderson could make, thanks to his compulsive, A strange and wonderful movie that continues to resonate with me days after seeing it. Anderson keeps the viewer guessing whether the story is based in fantasy or reality, constantly juxtaposing the mundane and the bizarre, in a style that frequently reminded me of the Cohen brothers. But this is fundamentally the sort of movie that only Anderson could make, thanks to his compulsive, perfectionist urge to abscribe some kind of cosmic significance to nearly every scene he films. Anderson's familiar themes appear here: personal choices that first seem inexplicable but take on an inescapable logic; the undeniable strength of love; the power of family, whether constructive or destructive; the fact that our lives are always subject to transformation due to the unforeseeable and unexpected. What is most amazing about Punch-Drunk Love is that it, along with the excellent and overlooked Hard Eight, constitute Anderson's "small" movies when compared to the sprawling Boogie Nights and Magnolia. Most directors and writers today could never dream of making a movie like this, which is a shame. Expand
  83. EricS.
    Nov 19, 2002
    10
    Lately, I've been getting kinda annoyed with myself for the slew of "10" ratings I'm giving films when posting at metacritic.com. Looking back on some of my comments, I wish I'd known how good "Punch-Drunk Love" was before I hastily dished out so many tens. This year has been better than most as far as movie quality (I loved "Signs," "Road to Perdition," "Moonlight Mile," Lately, I've been getting kinda annoyed with myself for the slew of "10" ratings I'm giving films when posting at metacritic.com. Looking back on some of my comments, I wish I'd known how good "Punch-Drunk Love" was before I hastily dished out so many tens. This year has been better than most as far as movie quality (I loved "Signs," "Road to Perdition," "Moonlight Mile," "Minority Report" and "Bowling For Columbine.") But Anderson's film here is better than anything I've seen not only this year, but, ironically, since his last feature, "Magnolia." Adam Sandler's pain and heartbreak are a perfect picture of depression and complete misery. Even Philip Seymour Hoffman is brilliant as the personification of torment and oppression. Though filmed on a very low budget and absent of special effects, the acting and orchestration are so good that the film achieves a kind of out-of-body experience. I cannot name an out-of-place scene. A complete success--if you think you've seen a better movie this year, tell me. I'll promptly explain why you're lying. Expand
  84. PhilT.
    Jan 7, 2003
    9
    I feel as if people aren't giving this film the credit it deserves. It was a unique film that displayed the layers of sorrow and torment that can be found manifested inside someone and then how love is the intoxicating panecea (PTA uses the loopy colors and dream-like music portraying the intoxication love brings to wonderful effect). Adam Sandler is actually acting! Emily Watson is I feel as if people aren't giving this film the credit it deserves. It was a unique film that displayed the layers of sorrow and torment that can be found manifested inside someone and then how love is the intoxicating panecea (PTA uses the loopy colors and dream-like music portraying the intoxication love brings to wonderful effect). Adam Sandler is actually acting! Emily Watson is again underused, yet charming (if only she could star in another Breaking the Waves). While many of you are giving this film a zero (which surpasses inanity), you fail to give us all a cogent argument as to why you feel such bitter animosity. If one gave this film the proper attention and observed the wonderful vision of PTA, i think the scores might be a bit higher. Thank you Paul Thomas Anderson for indroducing a hollywood audience to a romantic comedy with intelligence (even if they weren't very receptive). Oh and did i mention how unbearably funny Philip Seymour Hoffman is. He just strikes offbeat comedic gold. Expand
  85. KarenS.
    Aug 9, 2003
    10
    Brilliant.
  86. BitBurn
    Jul 3, 2003
    9
    I really enjoyed that movie. Sandler is simply amazing! No Mr.Deeds crap here! The storyline is simple and entertaining. Very original. Powerful. Colorful. Dark & Mysterious!!! A beautiful love story. Punch, Drunk is great.
  87. MaxInLA
    Oct 11, 2002
    9
    Outstanding! A nuanced, touching, challenging film.
  88. JoeW.
    Aug 21, 2003
    9
    Look at the ratings, either 10s or 0s. The 0s like movies such as Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore - movies that are dumb and unintelligent and frankly not funny. Go figure, just like the viewers.
  89. Bear
    Jun 24, 2003
    10
    Some people liked it. some people didn't. if you haven't seen it, watch it. if you don't like it, that's ok, too. i love it. it's one of the best movies i've ever seen in my life, and i wouldn't change a thing about it. everyone responsible for this movie should be given treasure chests of gold. lots of love went into punch-drunk love...it showed. :)
  90. DaveS.
    Aug 7, 2003
    9
    Notice how most people that rated this movie a zero are big fans of Adam Sandler's previous films. Could it be that these people are too intellectually vacant to appreciate his only good role to date?
  91. Jane
    Dec 2, 2002
    10
    Oh, this movie was wonderful! In the most bizarre of ways it worked wonderfully and kept me laughing and sighing and smiling the whole way through. A reviewer below commented "what a disaster" and ended with a question mark, as if he wasn't sure. True, it's definitely not for all tastes, but it is definitely for PT Anderson fans. The same people that hated Magnolia will likely Oh, this movie was wonderful! In the most bizarre of ways it worked wonderfully and kept me laughing and sighing and smiling the whole way through. A reviewer below commented "what a disaster" and ended with a question mark, as if he wasn't sure. True, it's definitely not for all tastes, but it is definitely for PT Anderson fans. The same people that hated Magnolia will likely hate this. But for those of us who like to savor the unexpected and indulge in the hilariously bizarre, Punch-Drunk Love is the movie of the year for you. Expand
  92. AaronL.
    Nov 12, 2002
    8
    This is an excellent film, but not for everyone. The audience I saw it with in my small town was having a hard time. Moans and groans and audible "huh?" 's were heard throughout the film. And when I went to see it a second time in a much larger city, there was a sign at the box office saying "There are no refunds for Punch-Drunk Love if you do not like the film." Wow! Is it that This is an excellent film, but not for everyone. The audience I saw it with in my small town was having a hard time. Moans and groans and audible "huh?" 's were heard throughout the film. And when I went to see it a second time in a much larger city, there was a sign at the box office saying "There are no refunds for Punch-Drunk Love if you do not like the film." Wow! Is it that offbeat and cerebral? I don't think so. It it a totally fascinating character study with excellent acting, writing, and direction. I just think that marketing it as a romantic comedy was wrong. People were expecting a Julia Robert's-type comedy and this is not even close. But regardless of the average movie goer reaction, it's a strong, wonderful film and another winner for Paul Thomas Anderson. Expand
  93. BertR.
    Jun 30, 2003
    9
    Excellent screenplay and directing. Unpredictable and interesting plot and characters.
  94. JosiahQ.R.
    Oct 28, 2002
    10
    Understanding, or "getting" this movie is quite simple. Sandler is the everyday insecure dork that, if we were honest (And some are more than others), we all are. The heroic rush of finally finding love in spite of what feels like overwhelming internal and external odds is what this movie is all about. And what (including its clever filming) this movie is all about.
  95. DanF.
    Feb 23, 2003
    10
    In setting his sights on a smaller scale picture, Anderson has come up with his most complete film to date. A performance of real calibre from Sandler is augmented by that of Guzman and Seymour Hoffman and the superb score. But most of all, this is a triumph of cinematography as story telling. From start to finish, dull urban settings are made beautiful, poignant and hilarious, as In setting his sights on a smaller scale picture, Anderson has come up with his most complete film to date. A performance of real calibre from Sandler is augmented by that of Guzman and Seymour Hoffman and the superb score. But most of all, this is a triumph of cinematography as story telling. From start to finish, dull urban settings are made beautiful, poignant and hilarious, as Anderson's camera sensitively slides the viewer into the mind of Barry Egan. Expand
  96. JimJ.
    Oct 19, 2002
    10
    Another PT Anderson masterpiece. The man takes more chances with every project, and for my money, they pay off. Of course, lots of props to Adam Sandler and Emily Watson for what you would call nuanced performances. The trio managed to play with my feelings in unexpected ways. Exquisite film-making.
  97. RyanM.
    Oct 25, 2002
    8
    Though the direction and cinematography add to the intoxicating toxin, it's really all on Mr. Sandler who shows us that not only that he can really act, but that he deserves some major consideration for an Oscar in March.
  98. KyleJ.
    Nov 23, 2002
    10
    Oh, c'mon, all you ignorant moviegoers who always look for action over characterization, sound over poignant silence, and sense over brilliance. To all you people giving this 1's and 0's, I say what I sometimes want to say to you all: "It's a great movie. Duh."
  99. BethC.
    Nov 14, 2003
    10
    I thought this movie was brilliant, and I'm even an Adam Sandler fan. I loved seeing him in a role that wasn't the norm for him. He pulled it off beautifully.
  100. KevenB.
    Oct 28, 2003
    10
    Brilliant... But before you see this movie, ask yourself.. Have you ever seen a Paul Thomas Anderson movie before (Boogie Nights, Magnolia) and if so, did you like it... Cuz here is not an Adam Sandler's movie. Movies are rarely about actors. Here, we have an excellent P.T. Anderson movie, deep, funny & luvy yes, but most of all, strange. You'll feel weird cuz story is weird, Brilliant... But before you see this movie, ask yourself.. Have you ever seen a Paul Thomas Anderson movie before (Boogie Nights, Magnolia) and if so, did you like it... Cuz here is not an Adam Sandler's movie. Movies are rarely about actors. Here, we have an excellent P.T. Anderson movie, deep, funny & luvy yes, but most of all, strange. You'll feel weird cuz story is weird, cuz the way it is directed is weird... Some long shot at the beginning, you don't quite understand what the doolidoo is happening... but it is still very intelligible, characters are just more complex than nearly every other regular movie around.... deeper... definitely when we compare to Sandler's previous films. It is simply different... Think of it like a movie from the dude who made American Beauty, it's more comparable. You'll love it more than thinking about the simple fun Sandler's films normally gives ya... Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. 75
    Quirky and stylish, but not in a manner that comes across as overly artsy or pretentious.
  2. Reviewed by: Ken Fox
    70
    The strangest thing about writer-director Paul Thomas Anderson's unusual romantic comedy is how much of it is based on a true story.
  3. Whether Adam Sandler can actually act is not actually answered in Paul Thomas Anderson's Punch-Drunk Love. But he's great in it.