Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    Oct 6, 2011
    If the movie ends too abruptly, it still gives plenty of screen time to its nicely screwed-up central character. And it's still a solid, assured feature debut from the latest brothers to watch.
  2. Reviewed by: Roger Ebert
    Oct 5, 2011
    It's unfair to complain that Weiss seems over the top. The portrayal seems to be accurate.
  3. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Sep 24, 2011
    Out from behind his Captain America shield, Chris Evans proves a quirky and compelling actor as Mike Weiss, a personal-injury lawyer who spends most of his time doing drugs.
  4. Reviewed by: Andrea Gronvall
    Oct 6, 2011
    This lacks the heft of "The Insider" (1999) or the snap of "Erin Brockovich" (2000), but it's a thoughtful entry in the growing subgenre of whistle-blower dramas.
  5. Reviewed by: Robert Abele
    Sep 22, 2011
    The picture benefits from its performances, notably Evans' roguish appeal as a guy simultaneously driven and destructive.
  6. Reviewed by: Kirk Honeycutt
    Sep 17, 2011
    The film is chock-a-block with extraordinary performances and no one will fault the filmmaking either. This is a well-made movie, make no mistake. It just suffers from a dysfunctional hero.
  7. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Sep 23, 2011
    While the Kassen brothers do an impressive job for newcomers -- the film looks great and performances are uniformly solid -- there's some overly blunt dialogue and dead-end subplots that would have been pruned by more experienced filmmakers.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 23, 2011
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This story is about honor and how we pay for corporate greed. In this case, what kind of needles hospitals purchase when safer needles are available so that diseases aren't transmitted so easily. Chris Evans was able to make his flawed character, Mike Weiss, very sympathetic to me. While he did shot up drugs and sought out prostitutes for his loneliness, he used his high intelligence and law degree for what was right. He took a case no small law firm could win. So even when messing up, I felt for Weiss. I could see, his worst enemy was himself. In his short life, he tried to help a large group of people (people who use needles: patients, drug addicts like him, people in Africa, etc.) with his law degree despite the odds of losing and cost to himself that was ruining his law firm and life. Weiss had honor and conviction over common sense in business matters, and his addictions ruled the rest of what he was about. His partner friend knows they need to drop the case because it's breaking their small law firm, but he can't control Weiss. I loved seeing the partner friend pick up the case after Weiss dies, when before he was going to drop the case. Then the bigger lawyer assists the little lawyer. Now they can fight corporate greed and win. I'm sure it's Hollywood ending mixed with the truth. But knowing most of the story is real, written by the real little lawyer, gives me hope that one can fight the "system," sometimes. We just have to keep trying. Good story and a great performance by Chris Evans and other actors in a very small movie that is not getting a wide distribution. Full Review »