Puss in Boots

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 269

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Nov 13, 2011
    6
    Your first question should be "What do I expect from this Movie?" That makes a difference. I think the humor was just enough to entertain, and the storyline was just enough to entertain. This movie brought a little more than I expected...a biography, of sorts, of Puss in Boots. The 3D effect wasn't mind-blowing, at all. For me, the movie was entertaining and delivered enough to haveYour first question should be "What do I expect from this Movie?" That makes a difference. I think the humor was just enough to entertain, and the storyline was just enough to entertain. This movie brought a little more than I expected...a biography, of sorts, of Puss in Boots. The 3D effect wasn't mind-blowing, at all. For me, the movie was entertaining and delivered enough to have me feel at the end that my $9.50 for the experience was worth it. Once. Collapse
  2. Oct 31, 2011
    4
    I enjoyed the first 20 minutes or so, but once the quest for the eggs begins it starts to really drag. I was pleasantly surprised that there were no Shrek tie-ins or references and the Sergio Leone and Quentin Tarantino homages were well done. All in all, not horrible, but certainly not the best animated film of the year.
  3. Dec 3, 2011
    5
    Si je devais garder en tête un personnage de Shrek (à part l'Ã
  4. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    The addition of the Humpty Dumpty character is a mistake and leaves Puss to carry the entire film. Puss in Boots, though entertaining, is a missed opportunity indeed.
  5. Apr 20, 2013
    6
    For a film that did not need to exist Puss and Boots turned out ok. It took a different take on the Shrek world and gave us a decent action/adventure flick. While it times it can be fun and charming some slow parts and the lack of much for an older audience hold it back from being spectacular. However, the films action and adventure feel and somewhat unpredictable story, at least for me,For a film that did not need to exist Puss and Boots turned out ok. It took a different take on the Shrek world and gave us a decent action/adventure flick. While it times it can be fun and charming some slow parts and the lack of much for an older audience hold it back from being spectacular. However, the films action and adventure feel and somewhat unpredictable story, at least for me, make it a bit better than Shrek 4. If you are looking for something to show the kids that is fun and family friendly, excluding some subtle adult humor, Puss in Boots not a bad rent just do not expect to go gag a over it the way your kids will. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2012
    6
    As a cat lover I felt I couldn
  7. Dec 28, 2011
    6
    Puss in Boots is funny, eye-catching animation but somewhat missing. "Adult entertainment." It's for the kids, really work, but don't bring a date. It lacks of emotion.
  8. Mar 2, 2012
    6
    Puss in Boots feels like Shrek 4. Both movies had great visuals and good action, but their stories felt somewhat empty. Puss in Boots however, does have a slightly better ending than Shrek 4.
  9. Nov 18, 2011
    4
    I've been expecting much more than what I've seen. If you have watched the trailer, then you can notice that all the jokes were in it (that is to say ... 3 jokes !), so it's a serious failure for what is to be a comedy movie. Apart from that, the storyline didn't blow my mind, yet it was rather good entertainment. Oh and I was about to forget : I don't think Puss in Boots is cute, but thisI've been expecting much more than what I've seen. If you have watched the trailer, then you can notice that all the jokes were in it (that is to say ... 3 jokes !), so it's a serious failure for what is to be a comedy movie. Apart from that, the storyline didn't blow my mind, yet it was rather good entertainment. Oh and I was about to forget : I don't think Puss in Boots is cute, but this is just my personal point of view ! When the movie is released in France, I won't bother spending around 8â Expand
  10. Aug 28, 2013
    5
    I understand that it's meant to be a kids movie but every scene in this movie is silly, why couldn't the movie be like Shrek where it's silly enough for kids to enjoy but serious enough for adults to enjoy too. When one character dies (I'm not saying who) I didn't care because throughout the whole film he had been annoying. Puss In Boots is enjoyable if your under 12 but if your anI understand that it's meant to be a kids movie but every scene in this movie is silly, why couldn't the movie be like Shrek where it's silly enough for kids to enjoy but serious enough for adults to enjoy too. When one character dies (I'm not saying who) I didn't care because throughout the whole film he had been annoying. Puss In Boots is enjoyable if your under 12 but if your an adult.......get a babysitter to take them instead. Expand
  11. Aug 5, 2016
    6
    A surprisingly fun film which doesn't rely on the success of Shrek to gain its plaudits. Despite spawning from Shrek, Puss in Boots manages to breed it's own world with it's very own characters. They are very familiar characters but the take on the fairy tales is original and a lot of fun. The script is tightly woven and links together well giving an emotional backstory that is worthy ofA surprisingly fun film which doesn't rely on the success of Shrek to gain its plaudits. Despite spawning from Shrek, Puss in Boots manages to breed it's own world with it's very own characters. They are very familiar characters but the take on the fairy tales is original and a lot of fun. The script is tightly woven and links together well giving an emotional backstory that is worthy of the required character arcs. The animation is as solid as you expect from Dreamworks as is the A-list voice cast. It is potentially Humpty Alexander Dumpty that steals the show here who is well voiced by Zach Galifianakis. There are stumbles, especially after the halfway mark where it all threatens to fall to pieces but the final act does bring it back on track despite not hitting the initial laugh count. There are laughs, action, fairy tale and darkness and all comes together to make a thoroughly enjoyable film. Shrek it isn't quite but it certainly beats some of the poorer animation efforts. Expand
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Reviewed by: Olly Richards
    Dec 5, 2011
    60
    Like most kittens, it's not always perfectly behaved, but at least this new Puss adventure doesn't have you reaching for the cinematic spray bottle. And thank goodness the spin-off does nothing to neuter the charismatic cat's appeal.
  2. 75
    Puss in Boots is essentially non-stop dazzling action scenes loosely connected by a thin, predictable story of greed versus good.
  3. Reviewed by: Lou Lumenick
    Oct 28, 2011
    38
    Relentlessly mediocre cartoon.