Paramount Pictures | Release Date: October 28, 2011
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 275 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
201
Mixed:
59
Negative:
15
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
KrissTolliday14Aug 5, 2016
A surprisingly fun film which doesn't rely on the success of Shrek to gain its plaudits. Despite spawning from Shrek, Puss in Boots manages to breed it's own world with it's very own characters. They are very familiar characters but the takeA surprisingly fun film which doesn't rely on the success of Shrek to gain its plaudits. Despite spawning from Shrek, Puss in Boots manages to breed it's own world with it's very own characters. They are very familiar characters but the take on the fairy tales is original and a lot of fun. The script is tightly woven and links together well giving an emotional backstory that is worthy of the required character arcs. The animation is as solid as you expect from Dreamworks as is the A-list voice cast. It is potentially Humpty Alexander Dumpty that steals the show here who is well voiced by Zach Galifianakis. There are stumbles, especially after the halfway mark where it all threatens to fall to pieces but the final act does bring it back on track despite not hitting the initial laugh count. There are laughs, action, fairy tale and darkness and all comes together to make a thoroughly enjoyable film. Shrek it isn't quite but it certainly beats some of the poorer animation efforts. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
python2000Aug 28, 2013
I understand that it's meant to be a kids movie but every scene in this movie is silly, why couldn't the movie be like Shrek where it's silly enough for kids to enjoy but serious enough for adults to enjoy too. When one character dies (I'mI understand that it's meant to be a kids movie but every scene in this movie is silly, why couldn't the movie be like Shrek where it's silly enough for kids to enjoy but serious enough for adults to enjoy too. When one character dies (I'm not saying who) I didn't care because throughout the whole film he had been annoying. Puss In Boots is enjoyable if your under 12 but if your an adult.......get a babysitter to take them instead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JacobApr 20, 2013
For a film that did not need to exist Puss and Boots turned out ok. It took a different take on the Shrek world and gave us a decent action/adventure flick. While it times it can be fun and charming some slow parts and the lack of much for anFor a film that did not need to exist Puss and Boots turned out ok. It took a different take on the Shrek world and gave us a decent action/adventure flick. While it times it can be fun and charming some slow parts and the lack of much for an older audience hold it back from being spectacular. However, the films action and adventure feel and somewhat unpredictable story, at least for me, make it a bit better than Shrek 4. If you are looking for something to show the kids that is fun and family friendly, excluding some subtle adult humor, Puss in Boots not a bad rent just do not expect to go gag a over it the way your kids will. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
The addition of the Humpty Dumpty character is a mistake and leaves Puss to carry the entire film. Puss in Boots, though entertaining, is a missed opportunity indeed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Andys_ReviewsAug 17, 2012
As a cat lover I felt I couldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
Puss in Boots feels like Shrek 4. Both movies had great visuals and good action, but their stories felt somewhat empty. Puss in Boots however, does have a slightly better ending than Shrek 4.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
asthobaskoroDec 28, 2011
Puss in Boots is funny, eye-catching animation but somewhat missing. "Adult entertainment." It's for the kids, really work, but don't bring a date. It lacks of emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
avatar16Dec 3, 2011
Si je devais garder en tête un personnage de Shrek (à part l'Ã
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
unijaloNov 18, 2011
I've been expecting much more than what I've seen. If you have watched the trailer, then you can notice that all the jokes were in it (that is to say ... 3 jokes !), so it's a serious failure for what is to be a comedy movie. Apart from that,I've been expecting much more than what I've seen. If you have watched the trailer, then you can notice that all the jokes were in it (that is to say ... 3 jokes !), so it's a serious failure for what is to be a comedy movie. Apart from that, the storyline didn't blow my mind, yet it was rather good entertainment. Oh and I was about to forget : I don't think Puss in Boots is cute, but this is just my personal point of view ! When the movie is released in France, I won't bother spending around 8â Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemongerNov 13, 2011
Your first question should be "What do I expect from this Movie?" That makes a difference. I think the humor was just enough to entertain, and the storyline was just enough to entertain. This movie brought a little more than I expected...aYour first question should be "What do I expect from this Movie?" That makes a difference. I think the humor was just enough to entertain, and the storyline was just enough to entertain. This movie brought a little more than I expected...a biography, of sorts, of Puss in Boots. The 3D effect wasn't mind-blowing, at all. For me, the movie was entertaining and delivered enough to have me feel at the end that my $9.50 for the experience was worth it. Once. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
acarmattOct 31, 2011
I enjoyed the first 20 minutes or so, but once the quest for the eggs begins it starts to really drag. I was pleasantly surprised that there were no Shrek tie-ins or references and the Sergio Leone and Quentin Tarantino homages were wellI enjoyed the first 20 minutes or so, but once the quest for the eggs begins it starts to really drag. I was pleasantly surprised that there were no Shrek tie-ins or references and the Sergio Leone and Quentin Tarantino homages were well done. All in all, not horrible, but certainly not the best animated film of the year. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews