Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 14, 2008
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 601 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
297
Mixed:
220
Negative:
84
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
ChristianT.Nov 18, 2008
I was never a bond fan because lets just face it, the franchise was always campy & ridiculous. I heard Casino Royale was totally different, and boy were they right. What an amazing movie that was, and possibly the best step any franchise has I was never a bond fan because lets just face it, the franchise was always campy & ridiculous. I heard Casino Royale was totally different, and boy were they right. What an amazing movie that was, and possibly the best step any franchise has ever made. I rarely see movies at the theatre anymore but Brandi & I decided to have a date night and we saw Quantum of Solace opening night on Friday (that's how much I liked Casino Royale). If Casino Royale was an A movie, Quantum of Solace was a C. The vibe I get from Daniel Craig in this movie is "get the job done at all costs", but while his confidence and smoothness is very "Bond" I'm afraid it came off as to "Bond". He wasn't "real" like he was in Casino, he wasn't emotionally motivated by revenge. Like Kevin was saying he was killing people but there was no fun in it. He wasn't really volnerable in this movie, either physically by the bad guys or with women (past or present). It was very much like Bourne (in fact I thought they took to many cue's from Bourne), except every time Bourne killed someone it had an effect on him. This movie was unfortunately made up of to much superficial action where you never really believe his life is in danger. There were to many scenes that were cheesy and absolutely impossible to survive to take the whole thing seriously. The ending was also anticlimactic, unlike Casino Royale where there was a delivery that echoed throughout this entire movie. It just seemed like Q of S is plagued by being stuck somewhere in the middle of the Daniel Craig legacy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
HarryP.Nov 2, 2008
This has got to be the worse James Bond film i have ever watched.... Pierce was a better bond.. But even Casino Royale beat this... this just isnt Bond.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinFNov 22, 2008
Remember the good old days when part of the joy of a Bond movie was watching the gorgeous 'dames"...it's a sad commentary on the franchise that the highlight of this movie was again the "Dame". I found myself looking forward to her Remember the good old days when part of the joy of a Bond movie was watching the gorgeous 'dames"...it's a sad commentary on the franchise that the highlight of this movie was again the "Dame". I found myself looking forward to her scenes just because she was the only vaguely human presence in the movie. Don't get me wrong, I loved Casino Royal and thought it was a brilliant re-imagining of the franchise, and I have to say that this movie is well written (I guess that's to be expected when Paul Haggis is involved) but it had no real heart, in both senses of the word. Bond was marginally psychopathic (hard to root for a serial killer) and the set pieces were predictable. God bless Jason Bourne, I think the introduction of a more "Bourne like" texture to Bond is great but I think the director of the next Bond movie would do well to watch the Bourne movies again and figure out that all the great action in the world is hollow unless the audience cares about the outcome and the characters (gosh where have I heard that before) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DavidA.Nov 14, 2008
This was a Bond movie in name only! No gadgets, little humor and very little character development. I was actually glad the movie got over so I could leave. When you find yourself checking your watch during a Bond movie, you know it's This was a Bond movie in name only! No gadgets, little humor and very little character development. I was actually glad the movie got over so I could leave. When you find yourself checking your watch during a Bond movie, you know it's boring. Good stunts but missing all of the critical elements that makes you look forward to a new Bond movie. Disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DelspencerdeltorroNov 15, 2008
This movie will definitely be a disappointment for Bond fans. It's not even a good movie in general, let alone good enough to be a Bond movie. Although it contains many references to other Bond films, it doesn't actually seem like This movie will definitely be a disappointment for Bond fans. It's not even a good movie in general, let alone good enough to be a Bond movie. Although it contains many references to other Bond films, it doesn't actually seem like it's trying to be one. Almost the entire cast spends the whole film being angry, and the secret organization out to destroy the world is really just causing a drought in Bolivia. Many scenes left more of a "what?" than a "wow!" The classic gun-barrel scene was tacked on at the end of the movie, and it was more angry than suave. The theme song, "Another Way to Die", is pretty good musically, but the title reminds me of the McBane parody from The Simpsons, Die Again Tomorrow. Actually, the whole movie reminds me of this parody, or maybe an action-movie commercial. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnL.Nov 15, 2008
I'm giving this a 6 because the story was kind of weak....the action is intense and the mood very dark but thats not enough to warrant anything higher..action can only excite you for so long before it gets old..worth watching but I'm giving this a 6 because the story was kind of weak....the action is intense and the mood very dark but thats not enough to warrant anything higher..action can only excite you for so long before it gets old..worth watching but I'm not clamoring to own it and the last movie to do that for me was iron man. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KevinH.Nov 16, 2008
After the sensational CASINO ROYALE, this is a big disappointment. CR had thrilling stuntwork & coherent plot. Here, we're back to BOURNE-like action sequences that are cut so fast and furious that the audience feels nothing while After the sensational CASINO ROYALE, this is a big disappointment. CR had thrilling stuntwork & coherent plot. Here, we're back to BOURNE-like action sequences that are cut so fast and furious that the audience feels nothing while watching it. And I hope that Daniel Craig didn't do any of his own stunts because the way they were filmed in such fragmented short bursts of confusion, he needn't have taken the risks. Worst opening credits ever; worst Bond song ever. The plot is a mess and when Bond finally gets the villain at the end (nots not a spoiler), it all happens off-stage (suddenly the villain is saying, "Well, I've told you everything I know..."). The ending will thrill those who like explosions but if you want to know WHY anyone did what they did, you're out of luck. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
KimL.Nov 16, 2008
no plot just shootem up mindless violence. the studio put this drivel together to cash in on the success of casino royal. I am sorry I got taken in. I am so disappointed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BobK.Nov 16, 2008
High on action shots, but the action depicted is not credible human action but rather more like one of those Chinese action films. The premise of the story seems rather unengaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TDNov 16, 2008
Seriously i am not understanding the all over the place actions scenes, it's really too much for you eyes to handle. Reminds me of the second bourne movie, you just can't follow the scene. I also took a 10 min nap during the movie Seriously i am not understanding the all over the place actions scenes, it's really too much for you eyes to handle. Reminds me of the second bourne movie, you just can't follow the scene. I also took a 10 min nap during the movie which is not normal a good sign. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JeremyCNov 16, 2008
Extremely mediocre. It is clear that they were trying to hail back to the old bonds, unfortunately that is not what people want anymore, and it is completely possible to stay faithful without taking ten steps back. There was a complete lack Extremely mediocre. It is clear that they were trying to hail back to the old bonds, unfortunately that is not what people want anymore, and it is completely possible to stay faithful without taking ten steps back. There was a complete lack of continuity in the plot and the action. Casino Royale was great because it was as smooth as butter, the sequencing in Royale made sense and the action was logical. ""SPOILER"" 1. How is anything resolved just because Greene is killed. Quantum is still kicking, and they still own the land in Bolivia. 2. Why is the hotel blowing up??? The garage is directly connected to the reactor? And a car backs up into the fuel cell reactor exhaust at 20 mph and suddenly the entire structure explodes in a fireball? Are they so lazy they can't even think of a good reason for this sequence at the end? If so, I am sad that this is where Bond will be going "" SPOILER OVER "" . Quantum feels like every other spy/action movie that comes out every year, which is not what Bond should be, Bond should blow those out of the water, Quantum doesn't even come close. If Casino Royale were the Empire Strikes Back, Quantum would be Return of the Jedi. Heartlessly comical and disappointing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
HollyC.Nov 17, 2008
This film is action packed from the start and doesn't really stop the entire way through---which is why I can see many people disliking the film for how little time is given to plotting/characters/plans (they try to shoehorn stuff in, This film is action packed from the start and doesn't really stop the entire way through---which is why I can see many people disliking the film for how little time is given to plotting/characters/plans (they try to shoehorn stuff in, but it can be confusing). I really liked the action sequences though and it's tightly written in that aspect. But I do think Casino Royal was much better. Many draw a comparison with Bourne--especially as QoS doesn't have a lot of the usual Bond elegance/humor/camp and gadgets. It's striped down and a pretty single-minded revenge tale. And really, the Bourne films do that much better. So hopefully Bond will return to his style/panache humor--etc---after this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BradleeNov 17, 2008
If you wanted to see a James Bond Movie, then this isn't it. No cool toys for Bond, barely any Bond references. Could easily have been any action movie. Bottom line, no toys, no sex, barely any action.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottENov 22, 2008
Like many of the other reviewers the story line was much too thin, even for a bond movie. The bad guys were totally forgettable. Their entire diabolical scheme is never even close to coming to fruition which doesn't lead to any sense of Like many of the other reviewers the story line was much too thin, even for a bond movie. The bad guys were totally forgettable. Their entire diabolical scheme is never even close to coming to fruition which doesn't lead to any sense of urgency to stop them. The American patsy operatives were boring and added nothing. Would have been better to stay home and watch Casino Royale again on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DeVr33zAug 30, 2010
A huge disappointment after the stellar Casino Royale. Hopefully the next 007 film can try to bring back the Bond we all know and love. I don't like this brooding antihero guy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CaestusMar 11, 2013
Quantum of Solace dont live up to its expatiation, having a poor pace and bad editing. An average action film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CRLAug 4, 2011
Quantum of Solace was not a 'bad' film, but pales in the light of Casino Royale. It had huge potential with one of the best Bonds ever and what could have been an excellent plot, but in the end falls a bit short with too much action and notQuantum of Solace was not a 'bad' film, but pales in the light of Casino Royale. It had huge potential with one of the best Bonds ever and what could have been an excellent plot, but in the end falls a bit short with too much action and not enough clever story; enjoyable in itself but nowhere near the stellar mark of its predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 27, 2011
Daniel Craig still shows himself as one of the best Bonds ever, and I applaud the filmmakers for wanting to veer away from the campy days of yore, but this Bond film is so morose, in a bad way, that it comes across as a bland actionerDaniel Craig still shows himself as one of the best Bonds ever, and I applaud the filmmakers for wanting to veer away from the campy days of yore, but this Bond film is so morose, in a bad way, that it comes across as a bland actioner disguised as something more. Quantum of Solace is an average film, and that's arguably the worst thing one can be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
StevenFFeb 19, 2013
It was always going to be difficult following the raging success of 'Casino Royale', but to throw out this messy and flash bang action film with a downright boring and far too realistic plot, it just felt top heavy.
I love films that take a
It was always going to be difficult following the raging success of 'Casino Royale', but to throw out this messy and flash bang action film with a downright boring and far too realistic plot, it just felt top heavy.
I love films that take a realistic turn, Batman Begins being the best example, but with this mediocre plot of water and large deserts with hotels and perverted soldiers inside, this was not meant for James Bond, gone is the smooth and fluid dialogue and controlled action of Daniel Craig's debut, and in its a place an explosive and a cut too many action flick that was a step back, but that doesn't mean its a bad film.
Starting basically where the last film left off, we open with a pulsating chase in Bonds Aston Martin, being pursued through various close call cliffs by Alfa Romeo's, and this sets up the film for what it is, an action rampage. After a betrayal brings Bond and M back to London in an attempt to investigate the organisation known as Quantum, Bond rescues Camille (Olga Kurylenko) who was the victim of a failed assassination from her boyfriend, and main antagonist Dominic Greene (Mathieu Amalric).
M continues to be weary of Bond after the events of the first film, obersving his continuing reckless and raging behaviour, Daniel Craig expertly carries this film, and for all its failures, he is the one shining light. His ability to convey Bond's emotion through excessive violence is certainly a step away from what is expected of this British spy, but for this realistic nature of conveying human emotion, Craig must be lauded.
There are plenty of set pieces and explosions to rival the Die Hards and Bournes of this world, but this is the faltering moment of the film, because Bond simply isn't an adrenaline junkie or a flat out superhero, he is an MI6 operative doing his job, and Solace seems to forget this.
The writing is spot on, but the plot and story is messy to the point of there being very little point to many of the characters in the film, the appearance of the beautiful Gemma Arterton as MI6 agent Strawberry Fields just seems pointless.
It certainly isn't a bad film, its still miles apart from the later Brosnan days, but it is still unfortunately further a field than Casino Royale, its weak, slow, and sometimes just too much of a good thing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
pauljohnsonOct 7, 2012
It's not great, but its not terrible either. The plot feels confused at many points as to what it wants to be in terms of its themes and story goals, and as a result it feels like a string of under-developed plot points. Some characters, suchIt's not great, but its not terrible either. The plot feels confused at many points as to what it wants to be in terms of its themes and story goals, and as a result it feels like a string of under-developed plot points. Some characters, such as Fields are largely pointless, and Greene as the villain is not threatening at best, and just uninteresting at worst. Not that the actor does not do a good job with the material he had. Craig and Dench save the film with their stellar performances in their roles, and Craig especially in his role as the brooding, vengeful Bond. On the whole, it just feels confused as to what it wants to be, but its entertaining enough to hold your attention. Oh, and the song for this film is awful. Roll on Skyfall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
spadenxDec 31, 2011
It really sorted of abandoned all plot in exchange for good action sequences. I did like however that Craig was able to show a more serious side then he did in the previous film, Even though it made his character come off a bit of an emo (butIt really sorted of abandoned all plot in exchange for good action sequences. I did like however that Craig was able to show a more serious side then he did in the previous film, Even though it made his character come off a bit of an emo (but thats because of the poor script, not Craig himself). Also the film was pretty much a knock off of The Bourne Ultimatum. The action sequences reminded me a lot about that film and it made Quantum Of Solace look cheesey.

Overall the film is a huge step down from the first film, I expected better.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobJan 2, 2013
No where near as good as the previous Bond film. Pretty much lacks in every area - Acting, Plot, Villain sucks, and the action isn't as good either. A bit disapointing imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
bosnianNov 12, 2012
Loses a lot of the emotion of Casino Royale as well as character development and story. Villain is forgettable and finale underwhelming. Still, far from a bad movie especially in the sea of below average action movies out today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
beingryanjudeSep 4, 2014
Coming off the heels of the wonderful Casino Royale, Quantum is a surprising disappointment. Clearly, our director and Daniel Craig felt a tad bit too confident and lost their way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SatiricalewokNov 8, 2014
This film is a mess. There are good features, the theme song is one of the best yet, Daniel Craig is yet again very good. But really the film is needlessly hard to follow, it feels awfully disjointed and the villain is not a charismatic one.This film is a mess. There are good features, the theme song is one of the best yet, Daniel Craig is yet again very good. But really the film is needlessly hard to follow, it feels awfully disjointed and the villain is not a charismatic one. This would all be fine if it was enjoyable during the film, but it's not really, it's a bit boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
SpangleMar 12, 2016
Quantum of Solace is a bit of a mess. Its action is over the top and makes it look as though Michael Bay took over direction at some point given its affinity for hard to follow action and explosions. The story is a bit much and I did not loveQuantum of Solace is a bit of a mess. Its action is over the top and makes it look as though Michael Bay took over direction at some point given its affinity for hard to follow action and explosions. The story is a bit much and I did not love the revenge angle too much. If the story was more fleshed out, I think the film would have benefited. As it stood, the film was too short. Olga Kurylenko's character has very little to do here other than look good, aside from the minor sub-plot that feels shoehorned in. That being said, that is where the negatives just about end. The non-action direction from Marc Forster is quite stylish, and the acting from Daniel Craig and Judi Dench is fantastic. Quantum of Solace has style for days and is not afraid to use it, but it truly is style over substance here with a pretty worthless plot. Quantum of Solace is an entirely mediocre effort from director Marc Forster. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
axelkochNov 3, 2012
A big step back after Casino Royale. The action isn't really rememberable (like the parkour fight in its predecessor) and the actors are bad. You have to put feelings into it to make Daniel Craig endurable - like in Casino Royale. It's just aA big step back after Casino Royale. The action isn't really rememberable (like the parkour fight in its predecessor) and the actors are bad. You have to put feelings into it to make Daniel Craig endurable - like in Casino Royale. It's just a sequel to it, which is a short movie but is longsome. 'Quantum Of Solace' is not that bad because you can enjoy it as a moderate action movie but they could've done way better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SamblixAug 14, 2012
Bond is angry. Quantum of Solace shows Bond like never before, setting out on a mission of vengeance and a lot of explosions. Daniel Craig again portrays Bond in a new light, darker, grittier, angrier yet this movie falls short in comparisonBond is angry. Quantum of Solace shows Bond like never before, setting out on a mission of vengeance and a lot of explosions. Daniel Craig again portrays Bond in a new light, darker, grittier, angrier yet this movie falls short in comparison to it's predecessors. Where Casino Royale showed us a new Bond isn't necessary a bad thing, Quantum of Solace shows us that, too much of the same thing, is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Not even the writers themselves could keep up with the plot. There's no problem with the action sequences and Daniel Craig is spot on, but at one point, Bond is poisoned. The poison doesn't seem to affect him in the next scene. Big oops.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Iky009Jan 3, 2014
Se destaca como o mais fraco da era Craig, simplesmente foi o mais mal produzido que seu anterior e seu antecessor uma pena que nem a carisma de Craig tenha salva esse filme mediano.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews