User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 118
  2. Negative: 32 out of 118
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 30, 2011
    4
    They might as well change the title "Quarantine" into "[REC] 2.5".
  2. JohnnyM.
    Oct 10, 2008
    2
    This movie was good, but not for the reason I went there. I went there to get scared, what I got was a hilarious comedy. The audience was literally ROARING with laughter and applauding at parts that were supposed to be scary. Also, crappy advertising, they gave away the ending of "no survivors" and showed the last scene of the entire movie all the in the trailer! We knew exactly how it This movie was good, but not for the reason I went there. I went there to get scared, what I got was a hilarious comedy. The audience was literally ROARING with laughter and applauding at parts that were supposed to be scary. Also, crappy advertising, they gave away the ending of "no survivors" and showed the last scene of the entire movie all the in the trailer! We knew exactly how it would end, so much for suspense. If you're in the mood to watch a really bad horror movie for the laughs, go, my stomach was hurting I was laughing so hard, and we all had a great time. Expand
  3. KelseyP
    Oct 12, 2008
    0
    I was going to give the Movie a 1 however the creators of the movie must of given out free homes to the people that freely handed the movie a 10 and I feel I have to balance the score so that no one will wander into this horrible movie unsuspectingly. Given that the movie had a pretty good idea for a plot the rest went to s***. I would like to say I saw the whole movie and that I could I was going to give the Movie a 1 however the creators of the movie must of given out free homes to the people that freely handed the movie a 10 and I feel I have to balance the score so that no one will wander into this horrible movie unsuspectingly. Given that the movie had a pretty good idea for a plot the rest went to s***. I would like to say I saw the whole movie and that I could give you a full review of every scene but I spent nearly 20 minutes of the tragedy puking out the contents of my stomach. The "cloverfeild/blairwitch" camera work took my equilibrium on a hell of a rollercoaster and by the end of the movie my anger and rage at wasting money on such a movie was quelled by the need to overmedicate and sleep the rest of the day away. I wish that critics would stop praising this use of camera. It's terrible and looks as if pulled off by a highschool filming club. If I wanted to spend my day throwing up I'd eat gresy foods and ride spinning rides at the carnival. At least carnies are scarrier than this movie. I was proud of the movie for letting us know what was happening and where the disease came from (screw you Cloverfield) however I was urked by the character portrayal of the firemen and the cops. An average citizen may not know it but officers in a unit aren't just going to cut off all communications to the rest of the guys in the building. It's absurd that they would try to run a CDC operation without some sort of open communications with the officers in the building! There are so many other things wrong with this movie but my head and stomach STILL hurts from the awful camera shaking. All in all just save your gas money and don't go see it. It seriously isn't worth your time. Expand
  4. VaL.
    Oct 13, 2008
    2
    Most annoying lead actress EVER !
  5. FrankM.
    Oct 11, 2008
    1
    Occasional "shocking" images that roused my attention kept this film from receiving a '0'. The acting was mediocre; and the performance by the female lead was horrendous. Her performance was so absurd as to be unbelievable; she was an annoying distraction. The film itself consists of a movie crew running through a haunted house. Ugh. Do not see this film.
  6. DanyH.
    Oct 11, 2008
    4
    Scared me at very few certain points, but the overall characters and decisions made by ALL was truly just bad film making. No explanations, no good ideas from anyone, just bad choices all over the place. They could have gone somewhere good with this one, but they still blew it. Next time, don't put the final scene of the movie in the trailer.
  7. DardoS
    Oct 11, 2008
    3
    There is a HUUUUUUGE problem with this movie. Actually, the problem is not the movie. The problem is that "Quarantine" is a REMAKE. It is not an update of who-knows-what-film and definitely the only thing in common with The Blair Witch Project is the camera in hand thing. This is a REMAKE!, and as usually happens, it's crap. It's years light from the original one, the Spanish There is a HUUUUUUGE problem with this movie. Actually, the problem is not the movie. The problem is that "Quarantine" is a REMAKE. It is not an update of who-knows-what-film and definitely the only thing in common with The Blair Witch Project is the camera in hand thing. This is a REMAKE!, and as usually happens, it's crap. It's years light from the original one, the Spanish REC. If you want a comparison, this is Hollowood screwing it up again, like they did with Vanila Sky. Expand
  8. MichelleW.
    Oct 19, 2008
    4
    I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything important out, then when she found the room with all the weird info and newspapers in it, it just skimmed over, but I never understood cause I I saw the movie expecting a great horror film, but it was very much like 28 days later with extremely bad camera work, I got sick watching it, and it made me so mad because the camera was waving around and you couldn't make anything important out, then when she found the room with all the weird info and newspapers in it, it just skimmed over, but I never understood cause I COULDN'T see it clearly for the damn camera work..It also made me mad at the end you kinda remeber the set up her on the floor from the trailor, so you know what is about to happen, in my opinion, it had no ending whatsoever! everyone dies, if everyone dies, atleast show the aftermath or what the gov says or something! it just ends..it had a good foundation but didnt take it anywhere. Expand
  9. JoseB.
    Oct 25, 2008
    0
    Horrile i saw it bootleg but still good enough too tell this is the worst movie ever better off watching beverly hills chihuahua.
  10. KeeganqB
    Jan 28, 2009
    0
    I am really glad I didn't watch this in theaters... Seriously though if you watch the trailers you practically watched the entire movie in under a minute the rest is just filled in with screaming. I think it's pretty pathetic when the last 30 second of the movie are actually in the trailer. I really hope who ever came up with the ending gets hit by a bus, twice.
  11. EggsleyBagelface
    Feb 20, 2009
    3
    It wasn't a very good movie. Freaky, but not scary. I didn't like the camera shots, and everything was very predictable. Jennifer Carpenter was great, I just loved how she behaved when they had to put night-vision on. The disease was unexplained, other that it was a jacked-up sort of super-Rabies. It allowed for a little five-year-old girl to take down a full grown man. No It wasn't a very good movie. Freaky, but not scary. I didn't like the camera shots, and everything was very predictable. Jennifer Carpenter was great, I just loved how she behaved when they had to put night-vision on. The disease was unexplained, other that it was a jacked-up sort of super-Rabies. It allowed for a little five-year-old girl to take down a full grown man. No reasoning as to how. All-in-all, sucko movie. Expand
  12. DeceticonPom
    Mar 31, 2009
    0
    So bad, I plugged in my headphones and watched episodes of Arrested Development on my iPhone in the cinema whilst my partner carried on watching...before declaring "I wish you'd had a second headphone jack!"
  13. [Anonymous]
    Apr 25, 2009
    3
    these characters never shut up. there is constant banter and bickering. there is a shaky camera (yes, i get the "style" and "reason") and towards the end the light constantly flickers on and off, in which it took some aspirin to cure my aching head. without the foaming of the mouth and slower infection time these are DANNY BOYLE zombies. what a rip off. if you gotta see zombies, see 28 these characters never shut up. there is constant banter and bickering. there is a shaky camera (yes, i get the "style" and "reason") and towards the end the light constantly flickers on and off, in which it took some aspirin to cure my aching head. without the foaming of the mouth and slower infection time these are DANNY BOYLE zombies. what a rip off. if you gotta see zombies, see 28 days later. Expand
  14. RobertH.
    Oct 11, 2008
    3
    WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WHERE DOES IT END? This movie was so fake and the script was horrible I don't even know where to start with how many things made no sense with this movie. Its so predictable. I loved the acting thats the only reason this gets a 3 at all. They did very well with the acting and the directing of the movie but the plot was written by the 5 year old girl that was infected in the movie...... I guess its what u expect from a movie that was written by Mexicans please stick to mowing my lawn, I'm so pissed at this movie right now. Expand
  15. RobertH.
    Oct 11, 2008
    2
    WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WOW I cannot explain how disappointed I was with this movie. It's a combination of Diary Of The Dead And 28 Days Later. The plot... im sorry.. there wasn't one... as well as no explanation from beginning to end. Infection started where? How? Cult? They wouldn't use that? Number 2 they wouldn't be able to engineer that in an apartment building or be able to test it. WHERE DOES IT END? This movie was so fake and the script was horrible I don't even know where to start with how many things made no sense with this movie. Its so predictable. I loved the acting thats the only reason this gets a 3 at all. They did very well with the acting and the directing of the movie but the plot was written by the 5 year old girl that was infected in the movie...... I guess its what u expect from a movie that was written by Mexicans please stick to mowing my lawn, I'm so pissed at this movie right now. Expand
  16. DodiT.
    Oct 12, 2008
    1
    The entire theatre was LAUGHING during the parts that were supposed to be scary. The Plot line was typical and easy to get ahead of.. They were just trying to get out a movie fast without thought or reason.
  17. RS.
    Oct 13, 2008
    1
    The only reason i give this a 1 is because the scene where the cameraman beat one of the zombies, er rabies victims, to death with the camera was hilarious. Other than that, skip this, the female reporter wasn't too bad till near the end where I guess the director told her to "drop the credible but scared reporter doing her job, and do nothing but stagger around in abject terror at The only reason i give this a 1 is because the scene where the cameraman beat one of the zombies, er rabies victims, to death with the camera was hilarious. Other than that, skip this, the female reporter wasn't too bad till near the end where I guess the director told her to "drop the credible but scared reporter doing her job, and do nothing but stagger around in abject terror at every sound" Really really bad, and yeah they basically killed everyone off so who is playing the camera tape is really unclear. At least in Cloverfield we are told it was recovered by the Government. Considering that in this movie everyone dies, who played the tape we are watching? Expand
  18. JuniorC.
    Oct 18, 2008
    0
    This movie was bad i thought from the commericals that it was good but when i went to go see it and there was no end, like what happened to the building and did she die? The tv reporter in the whole movie she moaned and screamed because there was no light.Funniest part was when the camera man beat the zombie with the camera!
  19. BrendaS.
    Oct 18, 2008
    0
    Lamest movie of all motha' fuckin' time!!!!!!!!!!!!!! worst movie ive ever seen in my life. it was freakin' retarded! DONT SPEND UR MONEY ON THIS LAME MOVIE! was not scary at all. was funny only because it was that retarded. totally ruined my excitment for this movie.
  20. JoshuaD.
    Oct 26, 2008
    1
    REC. Thats all I have to say. If you didn't like the ending well the Original VASTLY superior Spanish version won't be of any help. The movie was waaaay too bright to be scary. All I have to say is that the original is much much better, and had a reporter who wasn't as annoying as the one in Quarantine.
  21. Mar 4, 2012
    2
    Is there seriously a market for this kind of "video camera horror" nonsense nowadays? Or have unimaginative copycat directors not figured out that we don't care about the crap they're peddling anymore?
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Oh, "Blair Witch," what hath thou wrought? It has taken less than a decade, but the concept of horror films filmed documentary-style has officially become a tiresome cliche.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    A modestly inventive, sporadically exciting thriller that nonetheless proves too faithful to its central conceit for its own good.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    83
    Quarantine director John Erick Dowdle and co-writing brother Drew wisely stick close to the told-from-the-cameraman's point-of-view template of the terrific original, though they add a few fine flourishes.