User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 72 out of 118
  2. Negative: 32 out of 118
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    9
    Quarantine delivers outstanding performances that you can't caught the actors acting. The story is dark, twisted and claustrophobic in many ways. The movie is shocking and scary. Although I didn't have the chance to watch the original yet, but I am going to give it a solid 9.
  2. LorenaDeLaRosa
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    Fantastic, this kind of movie always makes you wonder, and think. . ., this could be happening alredy. Can you imagine, a loony making powerful virus, and everybody knows that these loonys exists, and they are working at this moment in this poisons . . . well, thats it, and the main caracter, she was wonderful, bye.
  3. ChadD
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    Scary....Scary....Scary I was yelling and shaking the whole movie. I cant even put into words how scary it is....Worth Every Penny! Best Movie I have ever watched.
  4. MattT.
    Oct 13, 2008
    10
    one of the best horror movies I've seen in a long time.... I'm sure this movie will get bashed a lot but don't listen to those film buff nerds, this movie was awesome... very very scary.
  5. JacobS.
    Oct 6, 2008
    10
    Freakin' amazing!
  6. jea
    Oct 9, 2008
    10
    The plot is really good, I saw the original spanish version of this movie.
  7. CJ
    Apr 20, 2009
    9
    Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into the boring, teen slasher-style films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or "torture porn" masquerading as horror like Hostel, then this film is probably not Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into the boring, teen slasher-style films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or "torture porn" masquerading as horror like Hostel, then this film is probably not geared towards your interests. If you're a fan of classic paranoia horror like the The Thing, you'll enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
  8. meghanv
    Oct 11, 2008
    10
    Loved it. Maybe one of the scariest movies I've ever seen.
  9. MattI.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror remakes done right! Most on the people on here are most likely reviewing this movie based off trailers. If you actually saw this it was a quite So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror remakes done right! Most on the people on here are most likely reviewing this movie based off trailers. If you actually saw this it was a quite shocking and suspenseful piece of cinema. It was definitely a horror gem compared to most of the awfully predictable and gore-fest garbage now a days. The acting was about average, Jennifer Carpenter gave a pretty convincing performance going through all the normal reactions that a normal human would be going through if they were in her situation. The point of view style of the camera was really well done, it wasn't overdone but it definitely was the selling point of the movie. The scares were truly genuine, not cheap scares and really made you jump or let out a scream here and there. Overall if you want a thrill ride that will put you on edge of your seat and in the end leaving nail marks in your armrest, then Quarantine is for you. Horror films like this don't come very often so go out and see it you won't be disappointed. Quarantine is the effective chiller that is enough to send you home with fear! Expand
  10. AndrewR.
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This movie has been the best Zombie-based movie I have ever watched. Why? Simple, it includes so many psychological implications that when the zombies finally appear you are already too sucked into the movie that you can feel the frustration and fear the characters are feeling.
  11. mattb
    Feb 15, 2009
    9
    If you watch this alone, at midnight, with the lights off and a surround-sound headset with the sound cranked way up, I guarantee you will enjoy this. It had some cheap scares, but it also had a nice high-tension atmosphere. Much better than your run-of-the-mill horror movie.
  12. NickH.
    Oct 15, 2008
    10
    That was one of the scariest movies I have ever seen, I love horror films and this is up at the top of the list. The way the movie is flimed makes it seem like your in the movie.. Great movie to see.
  13. May 14, 2013
    10
    ''this was a great film i was quite suprised its amazing whatyou can do with just a camera and thats it lol
    the infected were scary the acting was great overall i was impressed.

    ''crafty unpredictible and visionary
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Oh, "Blair Witch," what hath thou wrought? It has taken less than a decade, but the concept of horror films filmed documentary-style has officially become a tiresome cliche.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Leydon
    50
    A modestly inventive, sporadically exciting thriller that nonetheless proves too faithful to its central conceit for its own good.
  3. Reviewed by: Clark Collis
    83
    Quarantine director John Erick Dowdle and co-writing brother Drew wisely stick close to the told-from-the-cameraman's point-of-view template of the terrific original, though they add a few fine flourishes.