Screen Gems | Release Date: October 10, 2008
5.9
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 132 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
65
Mixed:
29
Negative:
38
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
AaronK.Oct 13, 2008
Scary movie not the greatest movie but good enough to go with your friends and leave satisfied and freaked.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MovieGoer14Aug 17, 2013
Quarantine delivers outstanding performances that you can't caught the actors acting. The story is dark, twisted and claustrophobic in many ways. The movie is shocking and scary. Although I didn't have the chance to watch the original yet,Quarantine delivers outstanding performances that you can't caught the actors acting. The story is dark, twisted and claustrophobic in many ways. The movie is shocking and scary. Although I didn't have the chance to watch the original yet, but I am going to give it a solid 9. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LorenaDeLaRosaMar 9, 2009
Fantastic, this kind of movie always makes you wonder, and think. . ., this could be happening alredy. Can you imagine, a loony making powerful virus, and everybody knows that these loonys exists, and they are working at this moment in this Fantastic, this kind of movie always makes you wonder, and think. . ., this could be happening alredy. Can you imagine, a loony making powerful virus, and everybody knows that these loonys exists, and they are working at this moment in this poisons . . . well, thats it, and the main caracter, she was wonderful, bye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ChadDOct 12, 2008
Scary....Scary....Scary I was yelling and shaking the whole movie. I cant even put into words how scary it is....Worth Every Penny! Best Movie I have ever watched.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelFeb 20, 2009
This movie was very effective. It definitely scared me. Jennifer Carpenter was 20 times the actress than the horrible Heather Donahue (who single-handed nearly destroyed Blair Witch Project for me---plus her bad acting makes the character This movie was very effective. It definitely scared me. Jennifer Carpenter was 20 times the actress than the horrible Heather Donahue (who single-handed nearly destroyed Blair Witch Project for me---plus her bad acting makes the character even more annoying). Also, unlike Blair Witch and Cloverfield (both of which border on gimmicky due to not giving us a reason why the characters are keeping the camera rolling), the script does contain character motivation for the filming that occurred. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattT.Oct 13, 2008
one of the best horror movies I've seen in a long time.... I'm sure this movie will get bashed a lot but don't listen to those film buff nerds, this movie was awesome... very very scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DemiM.Oct 17, 2008
I gave it an 7 because the special effects were good but I didn't like the actors. Although it did scare me, it was very scary.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacobS.Oct 6, 2008
Freakin' amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
jeaOct 9, 2008
The plot is really good, I saw the original spanish version of this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CJApr 20, 2009
Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into Watched this on my own and in the dark and enjoyed it immensely. Jennifer Carpenter's acting was some of the best I've ever seen. This movie plays on atmosphere and tension, the way a good horror movie should. If you're into the boring, teen slasher-style films like Texas Chainsaw Massacre or "torture porn" masquerading as horror like Hostel, then this film is probably not geared towards your interests. If you're a fan of classic paranoia horror like the The Thing, you'll enjoy this as much as I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
meghanvOct 11, 2008
Loved it. Maybe one of the scariest movies I've ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MicahD.Oct 11, 2008
Good enough to keep you on the edge of your seat. Acting was mediocre. The filming got tiresome very quickly with every shot being very tight and closeup and enough blur to make you wonder if you took your glasses off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MattI.Oct 12, 2008
So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror So for those who want a real review read this. I have been through horror films for about 30years now, I've seen almost all you name it from the remakes to the classics to the just plain awful! Quarantine ranks up there with the horror remakes done right! Most on the people on here are most likely reviewing this movie based off trailers. If you actually saw this it was a quite shocking and suspenseful piece of cinema. It was definitely a horror gem compared to most of the awfully predictable and gore-fest garbage now a days. The acting was about average, Jennifer Carpenter gave a pretty convincing performance going through all the normal reactions that a normal human would be going through if they were in her situation. The point of view style of the camera was really well done, it wasn't overdone but it definitely was the selling point of the movie. The scares were truly genuine, not cheap scares and really made you jump or let out a scream here and there. Overall if you want a thrill ride that will put you on edge of your seat and in the end leaving nail marks in your armrest, then Quarantine is for you. Horror films like this don't come very often so go out and see it you won't be disappointed. Quarantine is the effective chiller that is enough to send you home with fear! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DaveP.Oct 13, 2008
All in all, not a bad movie. It's an action movie, and it never really goes beyond that. But it makes up for what it lacks in story and characters by doing what it does very well. The action is thrilling, and it never seems forced or All in all, not a bad movie. It's an action movie, and it never really goes beyond that. But it makes up for what it lacks in story and characters by doing what it does very well. The action is thrilling, and it never seems forced or uninteresting. It won't win awards, but that doesn't mean it's not entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
CesarM.Oct 13, 2008
Pretty creepy stuff. I don't usually get scared with horror movies. This movie is a nice alternative to all that torture horror that's out right now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewR.Oct 26, 2008
This movie has been the best Zombie-based movie I have ever watched. Why? Simple, it includes so many psychological implications that when the zombies finally appear you are already too sucked into the movie that you can feel the frustration This movie has been the best Zombie-based movie I have ever watched. Why? Simple, it includes so many psychological implications that when the zombies finally appear you are already too sucked into the movie that you can feel the frustration and fear the characters are feeling. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TonyS.Oct 26, 2008
Overall much better than expected, I dug it plenty. If your a fan of the Blair Witch mock-umentary style stuff you will too.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
mattbFeb 15, 2009
If you watch this alone, at midnight, with the lights off and a surround-sound headset with the sound cranked way up, I guarantee you will enjoy this. It had some cheap scares, but it also had a nice high-tension atmosphere. Much better than If you watch this alone, at midnight, with the lights off and a surround-sound headset with the sound cranked way up, I guarantee you will enjoy this. It had some cheap scares, but it also had a nice high-tension atmosphere. Much better than your run-of-the-mill horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NickH.Oct 15, 2008
That was one of the scariest movies I have ever seen, I love horror films and this is up at the top of the list. The way the movie is flimed makes it seem like your in the movie.. Great movie to see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
gamefriekFeb 26, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Compared to the Blair Witch Project, this movie was pretty cool. It was really well shot and the special effects were well done as well. The only problem is of course the camera; it just shakes and falls too much, which I guess makes it realistic, but it also makes the viewer angry after a while. The story wasn't the most original but it worked quite well for the setting. The characters were believable enough, which made the movie better in many ways. Also, theres actually suspense unlike the Blair Witch Project and I'm sorry to say Cloverfield. The ending was pretty decent , but could have been so much better than the main character getting dragged away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AlexOct 24, 2010
Nothing beats a bit of bludgeoning with a camera; this is a good film, very jumpy, and with a surprisingly and satisfyingly unique ending. I am a huge fan of Found Footage films, and I have to say that this is one of the best on the list soNothing beats a bit of bludgeoning with a camera; this is a good film, very jumpy, and with a surprisingly and satisfyingly unique ending. I am a huge fan of Found Footage films, and I have to say that this is one of the best on the list so far. It can get very scary in parts, and very jumpy too. However, in the more tense parts of the film, it becomes harder to follow because of the camera-all-over-the-place-ness. Otherwise, great film, worth a watch, but only slightly falls short of Blair With and Paranormal Activity.
8/10. Why? This is a well made film, the storyline is correct and realistic, and gives a nice punch of horror to boot.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheQuietGamerSep 11, 2012
Quarantine is a remake of the movie [Rec], a popular Spanish zombie movie series which as of today has just released a third instalment. I've never watched the [Rec] movie so I can't compare this to it, but from what I've read it's exactlyQuarantine is a remake of the movie [Rec], a popular Spanish zombie movie series which as of today has just released a third instalment. I've never watched the [Rec] movie so I can't compare this to it, but from what I've read it's exactly the same except for some added scenes. Quarantine is a good movie but does have some issues, the film is shot in the "found footage" style which means you see the movie in the first person through a camera lens, and while that's not really a bad thing I've just seen so many films like this I'm ready for this style to die already. Another thing that irritated me is that the main character (Angela Vidal who's played by Jennifer Carpenter) near the end starts freaking out and can't keep it together, which I understand that the character is scared but I really just wanted to knock her out and I've never really wanted to do that before save a few other movies. I appreciate this movie for being serious, scary, and downright tense which is great considering most Zombie movies nowadays are cheesy and dumb. It really is a great zombie movie, and for fans of Zombie movies this is a no brainer (pun intended), and even if your not really a Zombie fan this movie might satisfy the horror movie fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LovejoyMay 14, 2013
''this was a great film i was quite suprised its amazing whatyou can do with just a camera and thats it lol
the infected were scary the acting was great overall i was impressed.

''crafty unpredictible and visionary
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
UtopianStuffJul 3, 2013
Nowadays, zombie movies can be good or terrible. Luckily, "Quarantine" is not terrible, it does some really cool stuff! I personally love zombie movies and I personally love found footage movies, and in this movie I get the best of bothNowadays, zombie movies can be good or terrible. Luckily, "Quarantine" is not terrible, it does some really cool stuff! I personally love zombie movies and I personally love found footage movies, and in this movie I get the best of both worlds. The acting was legitimately good, the camera work wasn't as shaky as most found footage movies and its very well thought out. The movie isn't without flaw, but its very enjoyable and entertaining. Its eye candy to zombie movie goers and horror movie goers. So go check this movie out. I'll give you this warning, this movie is VERY VERY VERY scary. Every time I see it, I freak out. And don't let kids watch it, they won't sleep for months. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeOct 2, 2016
The acting was great, the visuals were good and the movie was entertaining. Sure, Rec was still better but, it's still a rather good movie and a good remake.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WJSJun 27, 2015
Claustrophobic and somewhat noisy American remake of the Spanish horror flick [Rec}, it has some effectively creepy and bloody sequences and is actually pretty scary at times. The acting is strong and the direction purposeful, It's a goodClaustrophobic and somewhat noisy American remake of the Spanish horror flick [Rec}, it has some effectively creepy and bloody sequences and is actually pretty scary at times. The acting is strong and the direction purposeful, It's a good remake that I liked better than the original that was dubbed in English, and not very well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HotelCentralDec 3, 2015
One of the better zombie flicks ever made. The first 15-20 minutes could have been trimmed, but overall this is a nicely conceived package with good execution and a creative scenario to distinguish it from 85% of the genre. I'd say itOne of the better zombie flicks ever made. The first 15-20 minutes could have been trimmed, but overall this is a nicely conceived package with good execution and a creative scenario to distinguish it from 85% of the genre. I'd say it compares well to my all-time favs: Wyrmwood, Dead Set, Shaun of the Dead, and the inevitable Night of the Living Dead. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews