Quartet

Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jan 10, 2013
    60
    Music lovers will appreciate both the score and the nostalgic end credits, which revisit the early years of the aged supporting cast (many of whom were actual musicians).
  2. Reviewed by: Anna Smith
    Dec 31, 2012
    60
    A frothy and often charming directorial effort from Hoffman, his first in a Hollywood career that's spanned five decades, that will keep Downton fans happy.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Smith
    Dec 11, 2012
    60
    As cozy as a mug of Horlicks inside an electric blanket, Hoffman's film couldn't offend if it tried. Age, however, has yet to wither its veterans' undimmed star appeal.
  4. Reviewed by:  Catherine Shoard
    Dec 4, 2012
    60
    Hoffman has delivered a love letter to the elderly thesps of his adoptive country. We can forgive him its falsehoods.
  5. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Jan 10, 2013
    50
    A sincere but sloppy piece of work. Mr. Hoffman dotes on his cast of first-rate British actors of a certain age - and invites us to savor their energy and professionalism. This is not difficult, though the efforts of these fine actors might have yielded greater delight if they had been given more to do.
  6. Reviewed by: Scott Tobias
    Jan 9, 2013
    50
    Quartet falls into the common actor-turned-director trap of valuing the performances of fellow actors over all other aesthetic concerns.
  7. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Dec 31, 2012
    50
    Quartet is a hard film to dislike entirely, thanks principally to the charms of its cast.
  8. Reviewed by: Melissa Anderson
    Dec 11, 2012
    50
    Sentimental and pandering.
  9. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Feb 1, 2013
    40
    More seriously -- and substantively -- "A Late Quartet" was a quiet but thoughtful meditation on the power, and the necessary pain, of human connections. By comparison, Quartet is a flimsy bit of cinematic puffery that takes every obvious path on its way to its even more obvious "seize-the-day" message.
  10. Reviewed by: Keith Uhlich
    Jan 9, 2013
    40
    The curtain can't come down fast enough.
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    What a brilliant film very funny Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay ,Michael Gambon, Pauline Collins are great but for me Billy Connolly steals theWhat a brilliant film very funny Maggie Smith, Tom Courtenay ,Michael Gambon, Pauline Collins are great but for me Billy Connolly steals the show he is so funny some great music and amazing singing by some really talented stars well worth a watch. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2014
    1
    If I could find a word of 150 characters (the minimum required of a review) that meant "Appalling" I'd use it. Oh god, and i still need 50 oddIf I could find a word of 150 characters (the minimum required of a review) that meant "Appalling" I'd use it. Oh god, and i still need 50 odd more cha...bye! Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    4
    Dustin Hoffman's directorial debut Quartet is beautifully shot and the acting is on the good side, but the story is tedious, the movie isDustin Hoffman's directorial debut Quartet is beautifully shot and the acting is on the good side, but the story is tedious, the movie is painfully slow, and the ending is a cop out. Full Review »