Rachel Getting Married

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 218 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 218

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RichardM.
    Oct 10, 2008
    9
    this film brings a world to the screen that is hard to separate from once it has ended. dark and funny and real like few other films.
  2. aideenM
    Feb 10, 2009
    10
    Excellent acting. Anne Hathaway is memorable in a difficult role. Her experiences with a dysfunctional family, during her sister's wedding weekend, are heartbreaking.
  3. MichaelL.
    Mar 9, 2009
    8
    Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. As perfect as Hathaway, Winger and the rest of the cast are, the film is burdened by Demme's odd need to include us in the wedding--capturing Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. As perfect as Hathaway, Winger and the rest of the cast are, the film is burdened by Demme's odd need to include us in the wedding--capturing every mundane, ultimately irritating detail of Rachel's unique reception on-screen. Hey, had I actually known these people and been a guest, I'd have had a hoot. But I don't, and I was bored to tears. Had a brave editor cut 90% of the reception footage, "Rachel Getting Married" would have ascended to masterpiece status. Instead, it's a great, if self-indulgent, character study blessed with perfect performances and a witty, brave, and unexpected script. Expand
  4. DarylM.
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when factored against the humanity of it's character portrayals. It also speaks beautifully to how life-changing tragic events are never fully processed Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when factored against the humanity of it's character portrayals. It also speaks beautifully to how life-changing tragic events are never fully processed or "moved past" by those immediately affected or possibly causal toward same. The film tackles this subject matter relentlessly, and successfully. A masterpiece of compassion. Expand
  5. AndyS
    Apr 30, 2009
    8
    I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film which gave me some of those rare moments in movies where I felt the emotions of the characters and their problems. It gives us a realistic picture of I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film which gave me some of those rare moments in movies where I felt the emotions of the characters and their problems. It gives us a realistic picture of how a family would deal with a crisis like the one portrayed here. Despite your opinions of the characters, they are realistic nonetheless, which makes the film that much more poignant. Collapse
  6. RichardW.
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    Incredible performances -- Hathaway, Dewitt, Winger, Irwin -- in a film of great depth and real emotion.
  7. VladS.
    Oct 5, 2008
    9
    After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was watching a masterpiece. It's tempting to say it is Fellini or Altman-esque but that would diminish the accomplishment of the director, writer, After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was watching a masterpiece. It's tempting to say it is Fellini or Altman-esque but that would diminish the accomplishment of the director, writer, photographer, and performers who together created a film I can not liken in its entirety to any other... how many times can you say that? The trick to watching this is not too judge or classify Hathaway and the other characters -- which is difficult to do because they are they are so finely wrought and the camera work makes you feel like you are part of almost every scene. Just sit back, let the action unfold, and go with the flow. You may or may not want to be part of the family or wedding party but it is impossible not to be touched, moved, shocked, amused, entertained if you give this movie a chance and don't becloud your vision with personal filters while watching it. This is filmmaking at its best. Expand
  8. MaggieL.
    Oct 7, 2008
    8
    An excellent portrait of two sisters and a mother. Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger are magnific in their roles.
  9. lindad.
    Jan 31, 2009
    10
    Never have I been so frightened for a main character in a movie or so wanted to hug her and make it all okay. Great actors, great direction who would long for more!
  10. LorenzK
    Mar 13, 2009
    10
    No movie has ever moved my heart like this one. It is filled with sadness and joy and a celebration of humanity. Kym really tries to be sober and live a life, and honest. If you do that you will be loved, that#s what I learned.
  11. JeffB.
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is it like that guy who said that it was just a wedding video by rich people? Well, this is the internet. Can't expect everyone to have a coherent opinion.
  12. MarkC
    Apr 14, 2009
    9
    I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But they're not exactly meant to be likeable. I found the "interracial" "musician" element of the film a bit precious, myself (and wished they'd stop with I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But they're not exactly meant to be likeable. I found the "interracial" "musician" element of the film a bit precious, myself (and wished they'd stop with the damn music at some point). But I thought the direction had a great, fresh immediacy. The whole cast was absolutely stellar. And the story of addiction's effect on a family is told frankly, unsentimentally--but with compassion, as well (yes, morons--and it's a big reason they "argue so much"). The film is a great achievement for its writer, director and cast. Can't think of many films that do what it does. Expand
  13. David
    May 31, 2009
    10
    A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS DIARY PART 14 but this is life and the chirpy Anne we have come to love was not invited to this wedding. Bravo to everyone involved, esp. director A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS DIARY PART 14 but this is life and the chirpy Anne we have come to love was not invited to this wedding. Bravo to everyone involved, esp. director Demme. Thanks for an astounding evening....we didn't even pause the DVD for a restroom break! Expand
  14. RobS.
    Jul 22, 2009
    10
    This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt were superfluous were designed to bring you closer to the family. The viewer was meant to experience this wedding as if they were part of the family and This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt were superfluous were designed to bring you closer to the family. The viewer was meant to experience this wedding as if they were part of the family and experience Kym's pain as if it affected them personally. This was of the best films that I have seen this year. Expand
  15. ValentinaC
    Aug 7, 2009
    10
    I've just seen this film and i thought it was beautiful. Not only the plot and the acting was good, but notice the cinematography. Please do.
  16. JohnA
    Nov 10, 2008
    10
    My jaw has dropped that critics and audiences alike aren't revering this film. Oh, well, the classics sections of the movie rental places are filled with films similarly received when initially released. Especially Anne Hathaway, Bill Irwin and Debra Winger are incredible in this movie.
  17. JeffH.
    Nov 15, 2008
    8
    Wonderful-great script and acting-in the class of The Big Chill but without the good music-Hathaway deserves an Oscar nomination.
  18. MichaelK.
    Nov 16, 2008
    10
    Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total meltdown. The dishwasher scene was totally unpredictable and after seeing the film last night, I'll be going to see it again tomorrow and maybe Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total meltdown. The dishwasher scene was totally unpredictable and after seeing the film last night, I'll be going to see it again tomorrow and maybe at the end of the week. Jonathan Demme has done it again, better dust off your Best Director speech for the Oscars!!!! Expand
  19. AlexP.
    Oct 12, 2008
    7
    Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to be kinda dysfunctional. And then, when we sense Kym might just make it, you get the reception after party with the three-acts-too-many of musical Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to be kinda dysfunctional. And then, when we sense Kym might just make it, you get the reception after party with the three-acts-too-many of musical guests. Those are harsh words--but I have to be harsh because if you go to this movie thinking it's The Celebration, or an Altman-y masterpiece, you will be disappointed. What it is is a better-than average movie for adults with a lot of fine actors. Expand
  20. JordanL
    Nov 28, 2008
    10
    A note to reviewers: They are critics for a reason. And you are not for the same reason. Get an education. Maybe then you could understand that EVERYTHING that a director includes in a film is there for a reason. Don't be so quick to shove everything off. And don't call these people "yucky". Some of us have families who have gone through similar things.
  21. KevinA.
    Nov 6, 2008
    9
    If you like your films realistic, this is the one for you. It doesn't serve the lowest common denominator by explaining everyone's history and intentions. Instead it respects the viewer (or observer as the case seems to be). And the pacing and subtlety are perfect.
  22. DroogDroog
    Oct 27, 2008
    8
    A surprisingly excellent film. The actors don't act like actors and this movie doesn't even feel like a movie. It's more like an experience -- and a fully realized one at that -- and with all its awkward speeches, family hysterics, and quiet joy, there is a real humanity captured on film here. First rate stuff. Do yourself a favor and see this one.
  23. MatthewP.
    Oct 29, 2008
    10
    The most accurate movie ever made about the reality of being newly sober. Additionally, it was a realistic look at a family. Great film. Best of the year so far.
  24. KellyS.
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Simply engaging.
  25. LawrenceP.
    Jan 24, 2009
    9
    Scripts a little clunky in spots but overall RGM makes you wish there was an Oscar for ensemble work.
  26. LinL
    Jan 27, 2009
    7
    If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to bring that up) but it's an interesting, colorful place to spend a couple of hours (though the wedding scene does go on and on and on). One thing If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to bring that up) but it's an interesting, colorful place to spend a couple of hours (though the wedding scene does go on and on and on). One thing I haven't seen mentioned is that physically, Hathaway does not look as if she could be part of this family -- her face, complexion, features don't with with them at all. Careless casting, or was this on purpose for the obvious reasons?? Expand
  27. HannaS.
    Feb 10, 2009
    9
    I loved this movie- the characters, the tension, the exuberance of the wedding. Anne Hathaway and the supporting actors were magnificent.
  28. JayL.
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    Just a fantastic film, although admittedly not for everyone. Reminded me of the Danish film "Festen".
  29. jacksfilmblog.blogspot
    Feb 3, 2009
    7
    Director Jonathan Demme and his cinematographer Declan Quinn do a great job creating the atmosphere of a real wedding video. The whole film is shot in a hand-held, home-movie style, with characters often acknowledging the camera and sometimes the other cameras in the room even getting in the shot. However, this style is often at odds with the random bursts of melodrama that Jenny Lumet
  30. JayH.
    Mar 8, 2009
    8
    It's certainly well acted, especially by Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger. Terrific and convincingly made story. Not very cheery, but movies on dysfunctional families rarely are. Well photographed.
  31. KaiF
    May 12, 2009
    10
    I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this is the most overrated movie since Lost in Translation. I think this says it all. There are three types of reviewers. 1. Who totally hated it 2. Who I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this is the most overrated movie since Lost in Translation. I think this says it all. There are three types of reviewers. 1. Who totally hated it 2. Who totally hated it but at least recognized the great acting 3. Who totally loved it. I think the first two groups of people got astray in their local big commercial cinema because the title stood next to those of the standard Hollywood production...best family drama i have ever seen and i have seen it twice, because it was not a second boring. Expand
  32. LaurenN.
    Nov 15, 2008
    8
    Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to get used to the hand held camera work and dark grainy quality of the film. It doesn't take long to realize though, that that is part of what makes Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to get used to the hand held camera work and dark grainy quality of the film. It doesn't take long to realize though, that that is part of what makes the film work. This is not a film for people who want heavy plot and action. It is a character study and an extremely well done one at that. Expand
  33. DanH
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too long, and it seemed a little unrealistic how things went from complete emotional chaos for most of the movie to peace, joy and group hugs the day of I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too long, and it seemed a little unrealistic how things went from complete emotional chaos for most of the movie to peace, joy and group hugs the day of the wedding, but still a great piece of filmmaking. Anne Hathaway and Rosemarie Dewitt are locks for Oscar nominations. Expand
  34. JeffH
    Oct 22, 2008
    9
    I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Why? The level of reality Demme achieved, as if you were actually watching real people, is astounding. The lived in feel of I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Why? The level of reality Demme achieved, as if you were actually watching real people, is astounding. The lived in feel of the house and the random friends all felt very genuine. And the nuanced performances of almost everyone in the film are to be applauded. I can't say I enjoyed this movie, but I was fascinated throughout, and thrilled by seeing something truly unique. Expand
  35. michaelw.
    Dec 9, 2008
    9
    I concede that the film is a tad self-indulgent in terms of length, dramatic past events, and cloverfield-style shakiness; but, the moments that work are exquisite, heartbreaking, and real. To watch the film is to attend a wedding. This family becomes your family for 2 hours. Their heartache becomes your heartache. Their joy is yours.
  36. MattH.
    Feb 17, 2009
    7
    This film reminded me a bit of Revolutionary Road, how most of the movie is spent with the characters arguing amongst each other. It's mildly entertaining at times, while acted very well. I had a difficult time really caring about any of the characters, but enjoyed watching them on the screen. It's a swell picture with superb acting, but nothing to write home about.
  37. MichaelS.
    Feb 21, 2009
    10
    I don't understand how so many people found this movie to be boring. I felt like I was there.
  38. JoyceJ
    Mar 11, 2009
    10
    Disturbing, yes, but incisive study of family dynamics. Very original. Amazing acting, beautifully executed film.
  39. roberti
    Mar 27, 2009
    8
    The upwelling, always-surprising pain that follows our seemingly perfect world plays across the face of Anne Hathaway, a character in recovery when all surounding her appear unscathed in pristine Connecticut. If a few scenes seem self-indulgent or linger too long, the film throws us off-kilter again. One of the most painfully affirming and real movies of the past year.
  40. MichaelK.
    Jun 23, 2009
    9
    A slow start, indeed, but it grew to be rather compelling after maybe 20 minutes in. I think the reason many of those who gave it less than 5 didn't like is because the director is not telling the audience exactly how to feel. North American audiences have been lulled into being told when to laugh, cry, that we are in shock (and "bored") when we're not given such clearA slow start, indeed, but it grew to be rather compelling after maybe 20 minutes in. I think the reason many of those who gave it less than 5 didn't like is because the director is not telling the audience exactly how to feel. North American audiences have been lulled into being told when to laugh, cry, that we are in shock (and "bored") when we're not given such clear direction. I was amazed at this film. I couldn't understand why it had that power. When I watched the special features which discussed the filmaking technique, I was intrigued. Expand
  41. Shelley
    Nov 11, 2008
    9
    To the people who are insulting the camera work in the film-is it possible that this was part of the point, to look like a hand held camera so that members of the audience are drawn further into the family event at hand? Perhaps it helps to allow one to feel as if they really at this wedding. This was obviously the desired effect, and it was brilliant. This movie is painful to watch, yes, To the people who are insulting the camera work in the film-is it possible that this was part of the point, to look like a hand held camera so that members of the audience are drawn further into the family event at hand? Perhaps it helps to allow one to feel as if they really at this wedding. This was obviously the desired effect, and it was brilliant. This movie is painful to watch, yes, but it is not supposed to be a fun, poorly written blockbuster movie for a weekend out with a vapid significant other. The film was very successful at capturing the pain and joy of family, which can be similar, albeit perhaps more extreme, to our own experiences. Expand
  42. 773SleepyHollow
    Nov 16, 2008
    8
    Is it too long? Yes. Self-indulgently so? Yes. But the film's pluses (the performances, the unsettling blend of dark and light tones, the admirable decision not to neatly tie up every last narrative strand) greatly outweigh the minuses... and I wonder if some who call the film manipulative are not comfortable with the real emotional reactions the film may have produced in them.
  43. EdwardK.
    Nov 21, 2008
    8
    I was very impressed with the acting and the realism of this film. I agree with some others that the hand-held camera bit was overdone, but the performances of Anne Hathaway, Debra Winger, and Rosemarie DeWitt were outstanding.
  44. MarshallG.
    Nov 21, 2008
    10
    Incredible! one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'm really surprised by the negative comments. Must be people who need action flicks. Highly sensitive and emotionally powerful. Totally plausible. Go see it!
  45. MikeH.
    Nov 29, 2008
    9
    Obviously tdmac didn't watch the same film or he would not have said his last statement...the dishwasher scene is so weird and odd but at the same time entrancing and magical in the way the family connects. Then of course it is also tragic too. One of the best scenes I've seen in a film all year.
  46. KathyS.
    Dec 29, 2008
    9
    Excellent performances, especially from Anne Hathaway and Bill Irwin. Richly textured and surprising. Loved it.
  47. Apr 14, 2014
    9
    Loved it. Yes it has some excruciatingly awkward moments, and yes the main character played by Hathaway can be an unlikable spoiled brat. It's also completely authentic from beginning to end, with not a single performance that's bad, and even in Hathaway's snotty character, played most brilliantly of them all, there is at least some to find admirable in the end, and we can still findLoved it. Yes it has some excruciatingly awkward moments, and yes the main character played by Hathaway can be an unlikable spoiled brat. It's also completely authentic from beginning to end, with not a single performance that's bad, and even in Hathaway's snotty character, played most brilliantly of them all, there is at least some to find admirable in the end, and we can still find sympathy with her dealing dark drug addicted past even if we don't really like her that much. I also like that the interracial marriage aspect of the film is treated as no big deal, as it should in this day and age. Expand
  48. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    Amazing to read so many bad reviews for such a gripping movie. I don't know if MickaelK has a point when he writes that for some viewers used to a binary take on things, having to come to grips with psychological complexity may prove too unsettling, so they shut themselves up and would rather be bored stiff than admit to this uneasiness, which you feel at times. I guess some people do notAmazing to read so many bad reviews for such a gripping movie. I don't know if MickaelK has a point when he writes that for some viewers used to a binary take on things, having to come to grips with psychological complexity may prove too unsettling, so they shut themselves up and would rather be bored stiff than admit to this uneasiness, which you feel at times. I guess some people do not want to be made to feel and think at the same time. What I found a little overdone, but I guess it was part of the caricature, was the wasp and higly pc atmosphere throughout; other than that, a very subtle movie about how guilt gets passed on from one family member to the next, how one copes -or not- with it ; great acting, all of them, and such moving moments, there's sthg "pure" and cutting about this movie, like crystal. Expand
  49. Nov 1, 2011
    8
    Jonathan Demme is an expert in creating humanistic environments and immersing the viewer into the film. He did that in "The Silence of the Lambs" and repeats his technique here in a brilliant manner.
  50. Sep 1, 2014
    8
    Rachel Getting Married is an experience. A wedding experience like none other. One of the most dysfunctional families will bring you home no matter the relationship you have with your family. It's dark, it's emotional and it's Jonathan Demme's best work since Silence of the Lambs. Anne Hathaway receives a much-deserved Oscar nomination in one of her finest roles to date.
  51. Apr 9, 2016
    10
    This is one of my all-time favorite movies (a very short list). The story is a brilliant telling of the complex and painful impact addiction can have on a person and her family; yet it's also a moving story about familial love. The ensemble acting is over the top brilliant, especially Anne Hathaway as Kimmy. The filming brings you directly into the heart of the events. Even the (live)This is one of my all-time favorite movies (a very short list). The story is a brilliant telling of the complex and painful impact addiction can have on a person and her family; yet it's also a moving story about familial love. The ensemble acting is over the top brilliant, especially Anne Hathaway as Kimmy. The filming brings you directly into the heart of the events. Even the (live) music is top notch.

    BTW, some critics hated the movie because they thought it was a bad attempt at comedy. They need to get a new job.
    Expand
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 1 out of 36
  1. A film whose lightness of touch rides a wave of family conflict to perfectly balance smiles and tears.
  2. 50
    A minor work, but so menaced by distress that the characters take every opportunity to dance the dark away.
  3. Reviewed by: Ronnie Scheib
    90
    Brimming with energy, elan and the unpredictability of his "Something Wild," Jonathan Demme's triumphant Rachel Getting Married may just lay the wedding film to rest, being such a hard act to follow.