Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 3, 2008
5.6
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 225 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
121
Mixed:
25
Negative:
79
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
SkipYoungJan 26, 2009
It tries to be Cinema Verite, but I never believed it. So many of the emotional reactions struck me as implausible and melodramatic: Rachel
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
txrangersfan72Sep 19, 2010
This might be the oddest reaction I've had to a movie in a long time. Overall, the movie was a complete bore. I think it was poorly directed by Jonathan Demme. The length was tantamount to watching paint dry. Granted, it was primarilyThis might be the oddest reaction I've had to a movie in a long time. Overall, the movie was a complete bore. I think it was poorly directed by Jonathan Demme. The length was tantamount to watching paint dry. Granted, it was primarily centered around women, so drama is a given, but the extent and unending drama in this movie is unnecessary and quite stupid.

Yet...

Anne Hathaway, as nails-on-chalkboard irritating as she is in this movie, obviously pulls off a stunning performance since I completely removed Anne Hathaway from the role. She WAS Kym. And, thus, as bad as the movie was, Anne Hathaway moved up a level in my book. A fantastic performance definitely worthy of the Oscar nod.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
MovieMan12Jun 13, 2013
Anne Hatth a whatever her name is awful, just like this movie. It was painfully horrible to sit through. A pile of rubbish. It did not warrant my time. I hated everything about it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
JWApr 4, 2009
Average at best. Attempts to be subtle by bitch slapping us with the obvious.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
GManMay 10, 2009
Worst piece of garbage I've ever had the misfortune to be sat in front of. A God-aweful train train wreck of a movie, and a tragic waste of a few precious minutes of the remaining days of my life. Gah!!!
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
BenKApr 21, 2009
A confusing mismash of brief scenes, music and awkwardness. A painful movie only to be watched with painkillers.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RichardM.Oct 10, 2008
this film brings a world to the screen that is hard to separate from once it has ended. dark and funny and real like few other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
aideenMFeb 10, 2009
Excellent acting. Anne Hathaway is memorable in a difficult role. Her experiences with a dysfunctional family, during her sister's wedding weekend, are heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelL.Mar 9, 2009
Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. As perfect as Hathaway, Winger and the rest of the cast are, the film is burdened by Demme's odd need to include us in the wedding--capturing every mundane, ultimately irritating detail of Rachel's unique reception on-screen. Hey, had I actually known these people and been a guest, I'd have had a hoot. But I don't, and I was bored to tears. Had a brave editor cut 90% of the reception footage, "Rachel Getting Married" would have ascended to masterpiece status. Instead, it's a great, if self-indulgent, character study blessed with perfect performances and a witty, brave, and unexpected script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarylM.Oct 10, 2008
Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when factored against the humanity of it's character portrayals. It also speaks beautifully to how life-changing tragic events are never fully processed or "moved past" by those immediately affected or possibly causal toward same. The film tackles this subject matter relentlessly, and successfully. A masterpiece of compassion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
MickiC.Nov 8, 2008
Had I not been sitting in the middle of a row, I would have walked out. This movie had NO redeeming qualities. Poor cinematography, unattractive characters whose personalities were underdeveloped anyway, simplistic plot line, poor costumes. Had I not been sitting in the middle of a row, I would have walked out. This movie had NO redeeming qualities. Poor cinematography, unattractive characters whose personalities were underdeveloped anyway, simplistic plot line, poor costumes. The best thing about it was the dog, Olive! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatrickD.Dec 1, 2008
my opinion of it was that it was too long and i am unsure what it was trying to accomplish. i would have been a bigger fan of an ending like her crashing of the same bridge that had killed her little brother and while only one of them is my opinion of it was that it was too long and i am unsure what it was trying to accomplish. i would have been a bigger fan of an ending like her crashing of the same bridge that had killed her little brother and while only one of them is outlooking they dont find out and continue with the wedding. Then just before the kiss the police show up and inform them that kym is dead. I would have applauded an ending like that. The movie however probably wouldnt be realistic, but who cares about realism. The movies are escapism; the trend of realism sucks. If kym had died she really would have been shiva the destroyer and the movie which is never really about rachel getting married would be all the funnier and sadder because the only way that she can get the attention she hates and wants would be to kill herself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TonyB.Apr 24, 2009
Have you ever watched a good home movie that was in desperate need of editing because many unnecessary and/or too long scenes were allowed to go on forever. If you have, you will be reminded of that experience when you see Rachel Getting Married.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndySApr 30, 2009
I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film which gave me some of those rare moments in movies where I felt the emotions of the characters and their problems. It gives us a realistic picture of how a family would deal with a crisis like the one portrayed here. Despite your opinions of the characters, they are realistic nonetheless, which makes the film that much more poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZenonNov 1, 2008
One of the most boring movies I have ever seen. The characters were all unlikable. Too much talk and not enough action. Awful!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GaryNov 10, 2008
I'm convinced the professional critics are plain nuts. If I had made this movie with a hand held camcorder these same critics would not even watch it. It is simply depressing and awful. You care nothing for the characters and even less I'm convinced the professional critics are plain nuts. If I had made this movie with a hand held camcorder these same critics would not even watch it. It is simply depressing and awful. You care nothing for the characters and even less for the screenplay, that is, if you want to call it one. I walked out in the middle as did most of the audience. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardW.Oct 11, 2008
Incredible performances -- Hathaway, Dewitt, Winger, Irwin -- in a film of great depth and real emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LauraSNov 22, 2008
The good: Anne Hathaway's acting. The fact that my companion and I kept wanting to talk about different scenes when the movie was over. The bad: Let's face it, the movie was a bit dull. I found myself squirming in my seat. The The good: Anne Hathaway's acting. The fact that my companion and I kept wanting to talk about different scenes when the movie was over. The bad: Let's face it, the movie was a bit dull. I found myself squirming in my seat. The ugly: Nothing. Anne Hathaway is still beautiful even when they try to make her look bedraggled, even when she has a bloody lip and a black eye. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
SamSDec 1, 2008
Mainstream reviewers have gone from hating indie movies to loving them over the past few years. That's great, but in the quest to get away from cliches, they've gone too far. It's great to recognize over-processed, commercial Mainstream reviewers have gone from hating indie movies to loving them over the past few years. That's great, but in the quest to get away from cliches, they've gone too far. It's great to recognize over-processed, commercial pieces of shit, but not at the cost of blindly embracing un-processed shit. This movie is a crazily cliched romantic comedy with an "offbeat" hipster girl and pretentious names. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JonRDec 2, 2008
This movie is too realistic. The troubled sister is convincing as a self-centered selfish addict far, far from recovery, although I've known addicts as needy who maintained some wit and warmth. The bride a the dad and the mom were as This movie is too realistic. The troubled sister is convincing as a self-centered selfish addict far, far from recovery, although I've known addicts as needy who maintained some wit and warmth. The bride a the dad and the mom were as screwed up in their different self-concerned ways, just as you'd expect in a dysfunctional family. They had no good lines. No one did. We heard a joke or two at the wedding dinner, but we'd already heard them in the trailer, where they were funny. The groom and his family seemed quite human, but they were kept out of sight. The Time critic has it about right. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AndrewLOct 23, 2008
A pretentious movie for pretentious people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
LanceA.Dec 4, 2008
Sam S., you are a tard. this isnt an indie movie. So your entire point was void. It was made by the same person that made silence of the lambs! i dont like the movie much either, but if you base your entire post on one things thats not true, Sam S., you are a tard. this isnt an indie movie. So your entire point was void. It was made by the same person that made silence of the lambs! i dont like the movie much either, but if you base your entire post on one things thats not true, it can be a problem. I do however agree with what you said about this movie trying to act "like" an indie movie, which i dont understand because i think Indie movies are becoming more contrived and cliched than anything else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladS.Oct 5, 2008
After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was watching a masterpiece. It's tempting to say it is Fellini or Altman-esque but that would diminish the accomplishment of the director, writer, photographer, and performers who together created a film I can not liken in its entirety to any other... how many times can you say that? The trick to watching this is not too judge or classify Hathaway and the other characters -- which is difficult to do because they are they are so finely wrought and the camera work makes you feel like you are part of almost every scene. Just sit back, let the action unfold, and go with the flow. You may or may not want to be part of the family or wedding party but it is impossible not to be touched, moved, shocked, amused, entertained if you give this movie a chance and don't becloud your vision with personal filters while watching it. This is filmmaking at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaggieL.Oct 7, 2008
An excellent portrait of two sisters and a mother. Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger are magnific in their roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lindad.Jan 31, 2009
Never have I been so frightened for a main character in a movie or so wanted to hug her and make it all okay. Great actors, great direction who would long for more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
NickFeb 9, 2009
Just horrible!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
TimCMar 12, 2009
I love movies usually in any movie even ones i don't like, and espicially one like this rated so high, I can find something to like but this movie is awful and boring. The acting may be good but so what and who carest!! I watch movies I love movies usually in any movie even ones i don't like, and espicially one like this rated so high, I can find something to like but this movie is awful and boring. The acting may be good but so what and who carest!! I watch movies for story not just acting. Total waste of time! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorenzKMar 13, 2009
No movie has ever moved my heart like this one. It is filled with sadness and joy and a celebration of humanity. Kym really tries to be sober and live a life, and honest. If you do that you will be loved, that#s what I learned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
JM.Mar 16, 2009
Horrible. I thought this movie would never end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffB.Mar 16, 2009
I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is it like that guy who said that it was just a wedding video by rich people? Well, this is the internet. Can't expect everyone to have a coherent opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful