Sony Pictures Classics | Release Date: October 3, 2008
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 222 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
120
Mixed:
25
Negative:
77
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
aideenMFeb 10, 2009
Excellent acting. Anne Hathaway is memorable in a difficult role. Her experiences with a dysfunctional family, during her sister's wedding weekend, are heartbreaking.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarylM.Oct 10, 2008
Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when Any cynic worth his (lack of salt) cannot deny the uniqueness of this film. Some may perhaps criticize or denigrate certain idealistic aspects when speaking to the mix of characters at this wedding, but this type of criticism pales when factored against the humanity of it's character portrayals. It also speaks beautifully to how life-changing tragic events are never fully processed or "moved past" by those immediately affected or possibly causal toward same. The film tackles this subject matter relentlessly, and successfully. A masterpiece of compassion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
lindad.Jan 31, 2009
Never have I been so frightened for a main character in a movie or so wanted to hug her and make it all okay. Great actors, great direction who would long for more!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LorenzKMar 13, 2009
No movie has ever moved my heart like this one. It is filled with sadness and joy and a celebration of humanity. Kym really tries to be sober and live a life, and honest. If you do that you will be loved, that#s what I learned.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JeffB.Mar 16, 2009
I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is I thought this was an incredible examination of family and of pain that we have long internalized, but never forgotten. And to Tim C, I love movies within movies, but there are also things called character driven movies. How is it awful? Is it like that guy who said that it was just a wedding video by rich people? Well, this is the internet. Can't expect everyone to have a coherent opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidMay 31, 2009
A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS A masterpiece. Anyone who has had a family tragedy or tensions will see the immense value of this film. Hathaway is a revelation here and I'm sure most of the negative comments come from folks who expected a typical Hathaway PRINCESS DIARY PART 14 but this is life and the chirpy Anne we have come to love was not invited to this wedding. Bravo to everyone involved, esp. director Demme. Thanks for an astounding evening....we didn't even pause the DVD for a restroom break! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RobS.Jul 22, 2009
This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt This was a difficult movie to watch... and it was amazing. If you gave it a 0 or 1 then I guarantee that you've never known an addict. Hathaway's performance was phenomenal. I feel that all of the scenes that many reviewers felt were superfluous were designed to bring you closer to the family. The viewer was meant to experience this wedding as if they were part of the family and experience Kym's pain as if it affected them personally. This was of the best films that I have seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ValentinaCAug 7, 2009
I've just seen this film and i thought it was beautiful. Not only the plot and the acting was good, but notice the cinematography. Please do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnANov 10, 2008
My jaw has dropped that critics and audiences alike aren't revering this film. Oh, well, the classics sections of the movie rental places are filled with films similarly received when initially released. Especially Anne Hathaway, Bill My jaw has dropped that critics and audiences alike aren't revering this film. Oh, well, the classics sections of the movie rental places are filled with films similarly received when initially released. Especially Anne Hathaway, Bill Irwin and Debra Winger are incredible in this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelK.Nov 16, 2008
Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total Thanks to the style of filming, it was almost like I was there. Hathaway proves she is not just a pretty face but also a talented actress. The rehearsal dinner scene, I was uncomfortable & nervous, on the edge of my seat, waiting for a total meltdown. The dishwasher scene was totally unpredictable and after seeing the film last night, I'll be going to see it again tomorrow and maybe at the end of the week. Jonathan Demme has done it again, better dust off your Best Director speech for the Oscars!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanLNov 28, 2008
A note to reviewers: They are critics for a reason. And you are not for the same reason. Get an education. Maybe then you could understand that EVERYTHING that a director includes in a film is there for a reason. Don't be so quick to A note to reviewers: They are critics for a reason. And you are not for the same reason. Get an education. Maybe then you could understand that EVERYTHING that a director includes in a film is there for a reason. Don't be so quick to shove everything off. And don't call these people "yucky". Some of us have families who have gone through similar things. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewP.Oct 29, 2008
The most accurate movie ever made about the reality of being newly sober. Additionally, it was a realistic look at a family. Great film. Best of the year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyS.Jan 12, 2009
Simply engaging.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JayL.Feb 24, 2009
Just a fantastic film, although admittedly not for everyone. Reminded me of the Danish film "Festen".
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KaiFMay 12, 2009
I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this I wanted to give it a 9, but after reading all the comments i finally gave it a 10. It's kind of uplifting that this movie got so many mixed responses, but still i could't really understand why. Then i read a comment about how this is the most overrated movie since Lost in Translation. I think this says it all. There are three types of reviewers. 1. Who totally hated it 2. Who totally hated it but at least recognized the great acting 3. Who totally loved it. I think the first two groups of people got astray in their local big commercial cinema because the title stood next to those of the standard Hollywood production...best family drama i have ever seen and i have seen it twice, because it was not a second boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelS.Feb 21, 2009
I don't understand how so many people found this movie to be boring. I felt like I was there.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoyceJMar 11, 2009
Disturbing, yes, but incisive study of family dynamics. Very original. Amazing acting, beautifully executed film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarshallG.Nov 21, 2008
Incredible! one of the best movies I've ever seen. I'm really surprised by the negative comments. Must be people who need action flicks. Highly sensitive and emotionally powerful. Totally plausible. Go see it!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlienvisitorNov 11, 2010
Amazing to read so many bad reviews for such a gripping movie. I don't know if MickaelK has a point when he writes that for some viewers used to a binary take on things, having to come to grips with psychological complexity may prove tooAmazing to read so many bad reviews for such a gripping movie. I don't know if MickaelK has a point when he writes that for some viewers used to a binary take on things, having to come to grips with psychological complexity may prove too unsettling, so they shut themselves up and would rather be bored stiff than admit to this uneasiness, which you feel at times. I guess some people do not want to be made to feel and think at the same time. What I found a little overdone, but I guess it was part of the caricature, was the wasp and higly pc atmosphere throughout; other than that, a very subtle movie about how guilt gets passed on from one family member to the next, how one copes -or not- with it ; great acting, all of them, and such moving moments, there's sthg "pure" and cutting about this movie, like crystal. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
dante_bothermeApr 9, 2016
This is one of my all-time favorite movies (a very short list). The story is a brilliant telling of the complex and painful impact addiction can have on a person and her family; yet it's also a moving story about familial love. The ensembleThis is one of my all-time favorite movies (a very short list). The story is a brilliant telling of the complex and painful impact addiction can have on a person and her family; yet it's also a moving story about familial love. The ensemble acting is over the top brilliant, especially Anne Hathaway as Kimmy. The filming brings you directly into the heart of the events. Even the (live) music is top notch.

BTW, some critics hated the movie because they thought it was a bad attempt at comedy. They need to get a new job.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RichardM.Oct 10, 2008
this film brings a world to the screen that is hard to separate from once it has ended. dark and funny and real like few other films.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardW.Oct 11, 2008
Incredible performances -- Hathaway, Dewitt, Winger, Irwin -- in a film of great depth and real emotion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
VladS.Oct 5, 2008
After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was After seeing the preview a couple of weeks ago I went into this prepared not to like this movie very much being, instead, more curious about the very favorable critical reaction. About a third of the way through, however, I realized I was watching a masterpiece. It's tempting to say it is Fellini or Altman-esque but that would diminish the accomplishment of the director, writer, photographer, and performers who together created a film I can not liken in its entirety to any other... how many times can you say that? The trick to watching this is not too judge or classify Hathaway and the other characters -- which is difficult to do because they are they are so finely wrought and the camera work makes you feel like you are part of almost every scene. Just sit back, let the action unfold, and go with the flow. You may or may not want to be part of the family or wedding party but it is impossible not to be touched, moved, shocked, amused, entertained if you give this movie a chance and don't becloud your vision with personal filters while watching it. This is filmmaking at its best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkCApr 14, 2009
I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But I wonder if all the low ratings here come from people who actually appreciate unique films, or who expected to see something slicker, or another movie altogether? I can see not caring too much, personally, for the characters. But they're not exactly meant to be likeable. I found the "interracial" "musician" element of the film a bit precious, myself (and wished they'd stop with the damn music at some point). But I thought the direction had a great, fresh immediacy. The whole cast was absolutely stellar. And the story of addiction's effect on a family is told frankly, unsentimentally--but with compassion, as well (yes, morons--and it's a big reason they "argue so much"). The film is a great achievement for its writer, director and cast. Can't think of many films that do what it does. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KevinA.Nov 6, 2008
If you like your films realistic, this is the one for you. It doesn't serve the lowest common denominator by explaining everyone's history and intentions. Instead it respects the viewer (or observer as the case seems to be). And If you like your films realistic, this is the one for you. It doesn't serve the lowest common denominator by explaining everyone's history and intentions. Instead it respects the viewer (or observer as the case seems to be). And the pacing and subtlety are perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LawrenceP.Jan 24, 2009
Scripts a little clunky in spots but overall RGM makes you wish there was an Oscar for ensemble work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
HannaS.Feb 10, 2009
I loved this movie- the characters, the tension, the exuberance of the wedding. Anne Hathaway and the supporting actors were magnificent.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanHNov 25, 2008
I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too I was reminded of the horror classic that had the tagline "Keep telling yourself it's only a movie..." Rarely has a drama made me this uncomfortable. Perhaps THE consummate dysfunctional family drama. Yes, the wedding itself drug on too long, and it seemed a little unrealistic how things went from complete emotional chaos for most of the movie to peace, joy and group hugs the day of the wedding, but still a great piece of filmmaking. Anne Hathaway and Rosemarie Dewitt are locks for Oscar nominations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JeffHOct 22, 2008
I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best I am sympathetic to those who give this film a bad review, and who walked out feeling terrible. We all have stress and dysfunction in our families, why pay to see this stuff? And yet, I have to say on reflection, this is one of the best movies I've ever seen. Why? The level of reality Demme achieved, as if you were actually watching real people, is astounding. The lived in feel of the house and the random friends all felt very genuine. And the nuanced performances of almost everyone in the film are to be applauded. I can't say I enjoyed this movie, but I was fascinated throughout, and thrilled by seeing something truly unique. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
michaelw.Dec 9, 2008
I concede that the film is a tad self-indulgent in terms of length, dramatic past events, and cloverfield-style shakiness; but, the moments that work are exquisite, heartbreaking, and real. To watch the film is to attend a wedding. This I concede that the film is a tad self-indulgent in terms of length, dramatic past events, and cloverfield-style shakiness; but, the moments that work are exquisite, heartbreaking, and real. To watch the film is to attend a wedding. This family becomes your family for 2 hours. Their heartache becomes your heartache. Their joy is yours. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelK.Jun 23, 2009
A slow start, indeed, but it grew to be rather compelling after maybe 20 minutes in. I think the reason many of those who gave it less than 5 didn't like is because the director is not telling the audience exactly how to feel. NorthA slow start, indeed, but it grew to be rather compelling after maybe 20 minutes in. I think the reason many of those who gave it less than 5 didn't like is because the director is not telling the audience exactly how to feel. North American audiences have been lulled into being told when to laugh, cry, that we are in shock (and "bored") when we're not given such clear direction. I was amazed at this film. I couldn't understand why it had that power. When I watched the special features which discussed the filmaking technique, I was intrigued. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShelleyNov 11, 2008
To the people who are insulting the camera work in the film-is it possible that this was part of the point, to look like a hand held camera so that members of the audience are drawn further into the family event at hand? Perhaps it helps to To the people who are insulting the camera work in the film-is it possible that this was part of the point, to look like a hand held camera so that members of the audience are drawn further into the family event at hand? Perhaps it helps to allow one to feel as if they really at this wedding. This was obviously the desired effect, and it was brilliant. This movie is painful to watch, yes, but it is not supposed to be a fun, poorly written blockbuster movie for a weekend out with a vapid significant other. The film was very successful at capturing the pain and joy of family, which can be similar, albeit perhaps more extreme, to our own experiences. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MikeH.Nov 29, 2008
Obviously tdmac didn't watch the same film or he would not have said his last statement...the dishwasher scene is so weird and odd but at the same time entrancing and magical in the way the family connects. Then of course it is also Obviously tdmac didn't watch the same film or he would not have said his last statement...the dishwasher scene is so weird and odd but at the same time entrancing and magical in the way the family connects. Then of course it is also tragic too. One of the best scenes I've seen in a film all year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KathyS.Dec 29, 2008
Excellent performances, especially from Anne Hathaway and Bill Irwin. Richly textured and surprising. Loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
Christopher_G2Apr 14, 2014
Loved it. Yes it has some excruciatingly awkward moments, and yes the main character played by Hathaway can be an unlikable spoiled brat. It's also completely authentic from beginning to end, with not a single performance that's bad, and evenLoved it. Yes it has some excruciatingly awkward moments, and yes the main character played by Hathaway can be an unlikable spoiled brat. It's also completely authentic from beginning to end, with not a single performance that's bad, and even in Hathaway's snotty character, played most brilliantly of them all, there is at least some to find admirable in the end, and we can still find sympathy with her dealing dark drug addicted past even if we don't really like her that much. I also like that the interracial marriage aspect of the film is treated as no big deal, as it should in this day and age. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpangleFeb 21, 2017
Utter brilliance. Born straight out of cinema verite and Dogme 95, Jonathan Demme's Rachel Getting Married opens with a scene reminiscent of Jean-Luc Godard's Breathless in which Kym (Anne Hathaway) is picked up from rehab by her father PaulUtter brilliance. Born straight out of cinema verite and Dogme 95, Jonathan Demme's Rachel Getting Married opens with a scene reminiscent of Jean-Luc Godard's Breathless in which Kym (Anne Hathaway) is picked up from rehab by her father Paul (Bill Irwin). Putting the camera in the car and immediately making the audience an intimate part of this story and this family, this sequence uses a few jump cuts akin to that Godard film and the plot that plays out feels like a spiritual successor to Thomas Vinterberg's The Celebration. Putting Kym in the throws of her sister Rachel (Rosemarie Dewitt) getting married, the resultant film is powerful, engrossing, and a truly brilliant experience. The decision to use cinema verite - documentary-style filmmaking - as the main source of camerawork in Rachel Getting Married is an absolutely brilliant choice by Demme. Instead of just a film about a recovering drug addict arriving home and causing chaos wherever she goes, Rachel Getting Married is an intimate experience. The pain of the characters becomes our pain. Awkward moments are felt. We cry, we laugh, we smile, and we get angry with the characters. All out of love. By the end of the film, this family has become our own. Spending two hours with them feels like a lifetime, as the audience is given such an intimate look at their struggles, past pain, and joy. These characters on display in Rachel Getting Married are beautifully written and achingly real. The situations they find themselves are equally so. By using the documentary-style filmmaking, we are the one's holding the camera. Floating by without fear of using extreme close-ups - which have the added benefit of making us feel even closer to the action - the camera is a tool of intimacy in the film and one that creates a world so authentic, so within reach, it is as if we are not just a fly on the wall. The audience has become a silent family member, sitting by and watching the action unfold without feeling the need to speak out. This manifests itself in making the film feel personal and the characters are our family. I want to reach out to Kym, see how she is doing. Call Rachel and ask how the marriage is and what she is up to nowadays. How is the baby? I want to call Paul, just chat about music or whatever. Rachel Getting Married turns itself into the Buchman family's own home video and one that fills the audience with odd feelings of nostalgia and familiarity.

What truly helps to sell the authenticity and broken reality of the film is the acting. As the broken Kym, Hathaway is a revelation. Raw and immature, her Kym is self-centered, self-loathing, and eternally depressed. Responsible for the death of her younger brother because of her drug addiction, she will never forgive herself, further feeding into her spiral into drugs and alcohol. She is a beautiful soul, but one that will never blossom to her potential because of her past sins. Hathaway plays a recovering drug addict that, in spite of how many times she missteps during the film, makes you root for her. The audience can see her good heart and her desire to forgive herself, but she can simply not get over that mountain and continuously acts out to try and cry out for help. Hathaway is brilliant is portraying this complex and deeply moving character.

Yet, her family is also at the top of their game. As her father Paul, Bill Irwin is tremendous. Emotional and constantly trying to parent Kym, knowing how fragile she is, Paul is a good man but has trouble forgiving his daughter for being under the influence, leading to the death of his young son. Outwardly, he forgives her, but you can see just how much Ethan's death hurts him and merely seeing his name causes him to breakdown mentally and emotionally. Along the same lines, Kym's sister Rachel is terrifically brought to life by Rosemarie Dewitt. Elated over her marriage and completely loving towards her sisters, she is constantly driven to the edge by her sister's antics. As Kym self-destructs and draws attention to herself, Rachel is driven away, but never leaves. She always comes back, culminating in a beautiful hug shared between them at the end. Chills. No matter what they go through, they will always be sisters and the both of them will go to the end of the world for one another. Of all the film's accomplishments, this portrayal of sisterhoods may be one of its most defiant triumphs. Authentic and showing how one can go between loving and hating their troublesome siblings in an instant, it is never exploitative and never feels scripted. These are real people and scenarios that are merely being reenacted for this film.

What reveals the brilliance of Rachel Getting Married, however, is the final shot. Parking the camera on the porch as Rachel looks out at the remaining wedding guests the day after as they gather around a man playing a guitar, it is a scene that makes you want to walk out there with Rachel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelL.Mar 9, 2009
Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. Hathaway is beyond brilliant--the perfect portrayal of an addict through unsympathetic--as opposed to warm and fuzzy--means. Self-absorbed, unwilling to accept responsibility, her Kym is spot-on. Yet, we still root for her for some reason. As perfect as Hathaway, Winger and the rest of the cast are, the film is burdened by Demme's odd need to include us in the wedding--capturing every mundane, ultimately irritating detail of Rachel's unique reception on-screen. Hey, had I actually known these people and been a guest, I'd have had a hoot. But I don't, and I was bored to tears. Had a brave editor cut 90% of the reception footage, "Rachel Getting Married" would have ascended to masterpiece status. Instead, it's a great, if self-indulgent, character study blessed with perfect performances and a witty, brave, and unexpected script. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndySApr 30, 2009
I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film I felt the need to rate and review this film for it's low score according to users. As of now, it is sitting at a 5.5 which is entirely too low considering most the crap that gets rated up here. Rachel Getting Married was a great film which gave me some of those rare moments in movies where I felt the emotions of the characters and their problems. It gives us a realistic picture of how a family would deal with a crisis like the one portrayed here. Despite your opinions of the characters, they are realistic nonetheless, which makes the film that much more poignant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MaggieL.Oct 7, 2008
An excellent portrait of two sisters and a mother. Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger are magnific in their roles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JeffH.Nov 15, 2008
Wonderful-great script and acting-in the class of The Big Chill but without the good music-Hathaway deserves an Oscar nomination.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DroogDroogOct 27, 2008
A surprisingly excellent film. The actors don't act like actors and this movie doesn't even feel like a movie. It's more like an experience -- and a fully realized one at that -- and with all its awkward speeches, family A surprisingly excellent film. The actors don't act like actors and this movie doesn't even feel like a movie. It's more like an experience -- and a fully realized one at that -- and with all its awkward speeches, family hysterics, and quiet joy, there is a real humanity captured on film here. First rate stuff. Do yourself a favor and see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JayH.Mar 8, 2009
It's certainly well acted, especially by Anne Hathaway and Debra Winger. Terrific and convincingly made story. Not very cheery, but movies on dysfunctional families rarely are. Well photographed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LaurenN.Nov 15, 2008
Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to Raw. Organic. Dark. Voyeristic. Hathaway's performance is nuanced and brilliant. The rest of the cast are also very natural. Filmed in a documentary style, the viewer feels as if s/he is the cameraman. Admittedly, it takes a while to get used to the hand held camera work and dark grainy quality of the film. It doesn't take long to realize though, that that is part of what makes the film work. This is not a film for people who want heavy plot and action. It is a character study and an extremely well done one at that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
robertiMar 27, 2009
The upwelling, always-surprising pain that follows our seemingly perfect world plays across the face of Anne Hathaway, a character in recovery when all surounding her appear unscathed in pristine Connecticut. If a few scenes seem The upwelling, always-surprising pain that follows our seemingly perfect world plays across the face of Anne Hathaway, a character in recovery when all surounding her appear unscathed in pristine Connecticut. If a few scenes seem self-indulgent or linger too long, the film throws us off-kilter again. One of the most painfully affirming and real movies of the past year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
773SleepyHollowNov 16, 2008
Is it too long? Yes. Self-indulgently so? Yes. But the film's pluses (the performances, the unsettling blend of dark and light tones, the admirable decision not to neatly tie up every last narrative strand) greatly outweigh the Is it too long? Yes. Self-indulgently so? Yes. But the film's pluses (the performances, the unsettling blend of dark and light tones, the admirable decision not to neatly tie up every last narrative strand) greatly outweigh the minuses... and I wonder if some who call the film manipulative are not comfortable with the real emotional reactions the film may have produced in them. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EdwardK.Nov 21, 2008
I was very impressed with the acting and the realism of this film. I agree with some others that the hand-held camera bit was overdone, but the performances of Anne Hathaway, Debra Winger, and Rosemarie DeWitt were outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
Potter17Nov 1, 2011
Jonathan Demme is an expert in creating humanistic environments and immersing the viewer into the film. He did that in "The Silence of the Lambs" and repeats his technique here in a brilliant manner.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Rachel Getting Married is an experience. A wedding experience like none other. One of the most dysfunctional families will bring you home no matter the relationship you have with your family. It's dark, it's emotional and it's JonathanRachel Getting Married is an experience. A wedding experience like none other. One of the most dysfunctional families will bring you home no matter the relationship you have with your family. It's dark, it's emotional and it's Jonathan Demme's best work since Silence of the Lambs. Anne Hathaway receives a much-deserved Oscar nomination in one of her finest roles to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AlexP.Oct 12, 2008
Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to Ordinary People becomes Dave Chapelle's Block Party. Starts as a high wasp melodrama where a brother's drowning death is the source of the main character's fucked-uppedness. And the repressed Connecticut family shows itself to be kinda dysfunctional. And then, when we sense Kym might just make it, you get the reception after party with the three-acts-too-many of musical guests. Those are harsh words--but I have to be harsh because if you go to this movie thinking it's The Celebration, or an Altman-y masterpiece, you will be disappointed. What it is is a better-than average movie for adults with a lot of fine actors. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
LinLJan 27, 2009
If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to If you see this movie for Anne Hathaway's performance -- and understand that she's taking a break from being the winsome princess -- you won't be too disappointed. "Ordinary People" it's not (very perceptive of someone to bring that up) but it's an interesting, colorful place to spend a couple of hours (though the wedding scene does go on and on and on). One thing I haven't seen mentioned is that physically, Hathaway does not look as if she could be part of this family -- her face, complexion, features don't with with them at all. Careless casting, or was this on purpose for the obvious reasons?? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
jacksfilmblog.blogspotFeb 3, 2009
Director Jonathan Demme and his cinematographer Declan Quinn do a great job creating the atmosphere of a real wedding video. The whole film is shot in a hand-held, home-movie style, with characters often acknowledging the camera and Director Jonathan Demme and his cinematographer Declan Quinn do a great job creating the atmosphere of a real wedding video. The whole film is shot in a hand-held, home-movie style, with characters often acknowledging the camera and sometimes the other cameras in the room even getting in the shot. However, this style is often at odds with the random bursts of melodrama that Jenny Lumet Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MattH.Feb 17, 2009
This film reminded me a bit of Revolutionary Road, how most of the movie is spent with the characters arguing amongst each other. It's mildly entertaining at times, while acted very well. I had a difficult time really caring about any This film reminded me a bit of Revolutionary Road, how most of the movie is spent with the characters arguing amongst each other. It's mildly entertaining at times, while acted very well. I had a difficult time really caring about any of the characters, but enjoyed watching them on the screen. It's a swell picture with superb acting, but nothing to write home about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful