Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 12, 1981
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 622 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
587
Mixed:
23
Negative:
12
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
SteveC.May 29, 2008
ATTENTION - INDY 4 [***SPOLIER***] The ark ends up in a box in a warehouse at AREA 51 which turns out to be a place for hiding the American Governments secrets
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
WalterC.Aug 12, 2008
Who could possibly enjoy this? It was sick! Full of unnessecary killing and just like Saving Private Ryan, it makes the Germans look stupid! The Ark of the Covenant? Horrible plot device! And the theme? Barely hummable!
1 of 5 users found this helpful
10
paull.Aug 20, 2008
Geez, that "Chicago reader" critic DAve Kehr is not in a mood for this film and probably because he drinks too much alcohol and pills which turn him into crazy maniac! This is the best of all Indiana Jones series!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
adityamJul 27, 2009
Are you people really serious with this movie? I cannot believe myself as I watched the movie that this has been directed by Steven Spielberg let alone acclaiming this as one of best movies. You got to be kidding, whoever had praised it so Are you people really serious with this movie? I cannot believe myself as I watched the movie that this has been directed by Steven Spielberg let alone acclaiming this as one of best movies. You got to be kidding, whoever had praised it so much. Steven Spielberg is a master director, but this is not a movie that has to be taken by him. This must be joke . Really a joke that people are considering it so high. The Novelette The Thirty nine steps was reminded to me when I watched this movie. Even that was hyped but isn't worth it. Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful
10
HanselH.Feb 25, 2006
One of the best movies ever made. From the "Paramount" opening title, to every action sequence, to the rousing John Willims score, and the memorable characters and villians, etc. etc. Danger! Romance! Comedy! Action! Adventure! This is what One of the best movies ever made. From the "Paramount" opening title, to every action sequence, to the rousing John Willims score, and the memorable characters and villians, etc. etc. Danger! Romance! Comedy! Action! Adventure! This is what movies is all about. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PrintninjaMar 28, 2006
This movie touches the adventurer in you (even if there isn't one), and makes you feel that somehow, perhaps in a past life, you also trotted the globe fighting the forces of evil in search of mythical archeological relics. Anyone who This movie touches the adventurer in you (even if there isn't one), and makes you feel that somehow, perhaps in a past life, you also trotted the globe fighting the forces of evil in search of mythical archeological relics. Anyone who can't "let go" and allow themselves to be taken in by this masterpiece was deprived of a childhood, and if that happens to be the case, I can't imagine any better therapy then seeing this movie once a year for the rest of your life. Kudos to all involved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeM.Jun 30, 2006
Why is the "Chicago Reader's" reviewer included in the tabulation for Raiders? The lowest score after it is 90. The reviewer probably masturbates to Blue Velvet and is the guy at the party going on and on about Dr. Stranglove. Ok, we Why is the "Chicago Reader's" reviewer included in the tabulation for Raiders? The lowest score after it is 90. The reviewer probably masturbates to Blue Velvet and is the guy at the party going on and on about Dr. Stranglove. Ok, we get it, you are a Critic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkS.Jul 5, 2006
One of the greatest ever. I hope that Chicago Reader guy was instantly fired. HELLO! Does one need any more proof of ineptitude?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinF.Dec 15, 2007
One of the greats in action/adventure. A timeless classic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
samtam90Apr 19, 2007
The best adventure movie ever conceived. Plain and simple.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DevonC.May 29, 2008
It's unmissable. The action is outstanding, the romance between Indiana Jones and Marion Ravenwood was spellbinding, and the whole thing all together is just great. Despite it's flaws, it's definitely in my top 10 favourites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoeyZ.Sep 13, 2008
Best Indiana Jones Movie ! This movie had great special effects ,a great story , and great acting. Probably the best movie I've ever seen!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BobbyB.Oct 25, 2007
This was one of the best movies ever. The theme song is really great and still gets stuck in my head. Steven Speilberg looks like my science teacher! Greatest movie ever!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewP.Oct 14, 2008
The greatest adventure movie ever made! Forget the 30/100 review, that is bull!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JakeNov 21, 2005
How thel hell did Dave kehr give this a 30? One of my favorite movies ever.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
GordanC.Nov 25, 2007
I have been told that this has been a masterpiece of action/adventure films. But I think my source told me wrong because during the film, I was quite bored, the quality kind of sucked. It was cheesy and the last quarter was very dull, I I have been told that this has been a masterpiece of action/adventure films. But I think my source told me wrong because during the film, I was quite bored, the quality kind of sucked. It was cheesy and the last quarter was very dull, I wasn't even engaged, there was no action, but a linear design of perspective. The writing and characters are okay, but overall the movie sucks. I'm not going to watch this again. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful
9
muzzikloverMay 5, 2011
This film is "The" Adventure film and an example of how to make a good blockbuster flick. Entertaining as hell with memorable action scenes, solid acting and a well told story. Absolute joyride from beginning to end.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
gm101Mar 28, 2011
Awesome movie that introduced Harrison Ford's most iconic role (sorry Han Solo fans). Only complaint I had was because of the way the Ark of the Covenant was portrayed, but everything else was great!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MovieLonely94Nov 1, 2010
It doesn't have the same depth as Star Wars, but Harrison Ford's performance is the only saving grace in this entertaining adventure film.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
asylumspadezNov 20, 2011
I really liked it. Thought it was a good adventure film that established Harrison Ford as the go to guy for any action film. This is a must watch for anyone.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
NazguleroJul 25, 2011
I saw the movie first when I was 15. Back then, I thought it was spectacular. Now, when I watch it, I think it is extremely cheesy, with really bad dialogue, and with almost every scene looking so staged that it is unreal. You can almost seeI saw the movie first when I was 15. Back then, I thought it was spectacular. Now, when I watch it, I think it is extremely cheesy, with really bad dialogue, and with almost every scene looking so staged that it is unreal. You can almost see somebody yelling 'Action' and then the awful action sequence starts. Not an ounce of excitement, it looks just really ridiculous. The Germans are made look so dumb and stereotyped, it is just embarrassing. BAD FILMMAKING ! I guess it was a learning experience for Spielberg... Expand
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
9
pgmarkDec 16, 2010
10yrs old watching this in the movie theater.... nothing better. Just watched it again the other night and I still like it very much... still a 9 for me 30 some yrs later :)
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TokyochuchuMay 26, 2016
Raiders of the Lost Ark is a classic adventure movie. It stands up well today because of it's canny use of practical effects and breakneck pace. It still has some shock value too... That face melting sequence still seems crazy gory to this day!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MichaelDJan 13, 2012
I FINALLY got round to watching this movie. It was great but I didn't really have as much fun as when I did while watching the Temple Of Doom. It's still a great movie and I'm glad I watched it.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MoviebuffreviewApr 6, 2011
Thanks to its unforgettable characters, excellent story, breathtaking action, great cinematography, and a perfect score from John Williams, Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark is one of the all time classic action movies!
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
CritiqueGirlMar 4, 2011
Very good story and lots of great action. All the acting was done very well. This was the best of the series.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
ShahmeerApr 26, 2011
Let me start by saying that this was one of the most excellent films of the 80s. Exciting, fast-paced, and a masterpiece itself. The debt that Harrison Ford brings to his character is outstanding, and nothing made his carreer lift off as wellLet me start by saying that this was one of the most excellent films of the 80s. Exciting, fast-paced, and a masterpiece itself. The debt that Harrison Ford brings to his character is outstanding, and nothing made his carreer lift off as well as this. This film is perfect in many ways, besides the dialogue. but for right now, I'll start with the story. The idea of finding the Lost Ark is not very original, for it was attempted many times in real life. But the fact that an archeoligist, inside a Nazi camp, with plenty of back-stabbers, and the sexiest, most beatiful women he'll ever meet AND trying to find the lost ark. Now thats original. Then the acting in this film is pure goodness. Sadly, Harrison Ford wasw robbed of a nomination-yes, not an award, but a NOMINATION- and thats just sad for the Academy. The acting by lead actress Karen Allen isnt as good as I hoped, but still a passing grade. Which is just one of the reasons why I gave this film an 8, not an expected 10, like most people. So, acting is good. Then comes the cinematagrophy. Wow. Next is the sound and soundtrack. This main theme might have been one of the best ever. Its one of the most recognizable, and it is such a pity that it didn't win the Academy Award. John Williams seemed to have put in a ton of effort into building this soundtrack, and it paid off. Never has a main theme been more enjoyable to listen to, other than Star War's and Pirates of the Carribean's. It will live on not in just movie history, but musical history, as well. Then I move on to the special effects. The special effects in this film were very gratifying, especially in the 80s. When I saw this film, I could've sworn it wasn't a movie from the 20th century. But, as usual, the wonders if film tricked me again. What great effects and what genuine editing. It's all simply marvelous. But then I move on to what mainly gave this movie an 8. The dialogue. Some of the dialogue in this film was to much to handle, and I really couldn't. When the dialogue was good, it was alright, but when it was bad, it was horrible. And most of the time it was bad. "You can't do this to me, I'm an AMERICAN," was one of the most memorable quotes. Yes, most memorable. But I wont complain anymore, because all in all, this film is as adventure films get. In the end, I give it a deserving 8/10. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
bmadsenJun 6, 2012
'Raiders of the Lost Ark' is THE shining example of a brilliant action/adventure blockbuster movie. It's by far my all-time favorite Spielberg film, and worthy of all praise it gets. I've seen all the Indy movies, and this one is definitely'Raiders of the Lost Ark' is THE shining example of a brilliant action/adventure blockbuster movie. It's by far my all-time favorite Spielberg film, and worthy of all praise it gets. I've seen all the Indy movies, and this one is definitely the best! I'd rank it among the best Steven Spielberg movies ever (and I'm not the only one): http://www.ranker.com/list/the-best-steven-spielberg-movies/lons Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
CRLAug 9, 2011
Dated though it's special effects may be, Raiders is still a very entertaining thriller with one of the most recognizable characters in film history along with one of the most spontaneously funny fight scenes ever (if you don't know what I'mDated though it's special effects may be, Raiders is still a very entertaining thriller with one of the most recognizable characters in film history along with one of the most spontaneously funny fight scenes ever (if you don't know what I'm talking about, it involves a gun and a knife). Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
grandpajoe6191Sep 24, 2011
"Raiders of the Lost Ark" is a adventurous movie that plays out like a TV series, but one with a powerful script, cast, and story. Its like watching the best moments of TV in one cool movie.
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews