Fireworks Pictures | Release Date: April 26, 2002
6.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 9 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
5
Mixed:
3
Negative:
1
WATCH NOW
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
AndyS.May 13, 2002
Almost every sequence is as carefully composed and expertly photographed as a spread in National Geographic. More often than not it avoids being overly mannered thanks to good acting, direction and editing. But the slow narrative rhythm Almost every sequence is as carefully composed and expertly photographed as a spread in National Geographic. More often than not it avoids being overly mannered thanks to good acting, direction and editing. But the slow narrative rhythm becomes mildly monotonous when it's not clumsily lurching forward, producing an impression similar to a novel that should have been a short story (or a movie that should have remained a novel). Still, it's beautiful to look at, and it has its moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
L.Y.May 28, 2002
A disturbing movie unfolding beautifully and slowly enough to appear ordinary, even banal, which as an afterthought disturbs even more. Excellent screenwriting and directing job, brilliant acting all around. A must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChadS.Jul 10, 2002
Something happens in "Rain" that could've made "Mermaids" a classic film. But when it does, you want to look away. Director Christine Jeffs pulls off the most gut-wrenching denouement in recent memory. It's fictitious. The job of Something happens in "Rain" that could've made "Mermaids" a classic film. But when it does, you want to look away. Director Christine Jeffs pulls off the most gut-wrenching denouement in recent memory. It's fictitious. The job of great art is to suspend your disbelief and accept the representative as real. The actors are uniformly good but the real star is the woman yelling, "Cut!" She's able to enthrall with material that would depress in lesser hands. "Rain" is the best film of 2002. It's a gem. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TracyRJun 6, 2005
Craftfully and carefullly done - and I very much appreciate this, but I think we've hit the point of one too many sex = death scenarios. Enough already! Let's say something other than that female sexuality is dangerous. Craftfully and carefullly done - and I very much appreciate this, but I think we've hit the point of one too many sex = death scenarios. Enough already! Let's say something other than that female sexuality is dangerous. Disappointed to see women continuing to do this to other women. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MyFriendsCallMeGilbertMulroneycakesDec 12, 2002
Oh GOD...MAKE IT STOP! Not that it's a bad film (sob) or anything, it's just (howl of despair) so damn HEAVY. (scream) Beware. But watch (sobs again) it (smacks head against wall repeatedly) anyway.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
alissaOct 31, 2004
All I'm going to say is that you'll need a bloody stiff drink after watching this. Oh, and the soundtrack is amazing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JonathasS.Feb 23, 2007
It's a amazing film about discoverings with great actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful