User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 531 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 45 out of 531
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Who is the movie buff: the filmmaker or the protagonist? Is "Rango" the culmination of all the films that the hammy chameleon may have glimpsed perchance from behind his terrarium glass over the course of time in a home with a nearby television. In other words, is Rango's misadventures in the hallucinatory town of Dirt a moving picture, a post-modernist one to boot, that unreels psychically through his tiny reptilian head? It sure looks that way. From time to time, the domesticated(and cultured) animal constructs an invisible box in the air with his finger, which would seem to indicate a screen, as if he was setting up the next shot. It's a little bit of self-awareness on the film's part suggesting that it's the chameleon calling the shots, like a John Ford with scaly green skin, filling the mis-en-scene with costumed critters in a tribute to the old west that's more cracked than Alejandro Jodorowski's cult-classic "El Topo". "Rango" could be entitled "El Dopo". It's almost a stoner movie. If Rango is indeed the true author of the film-within-the-film, the next question we should be asking is if he's even alive? After all, terrariums don't come equipped with either seatbelts or airbags. When the chameleon is jettisoned from the back of his owner's crashing vehicle, does the impact of the road leave him unconscious, paving the way for his dreaming self to conjure up a glass shard, the remnant of a blown-out back-window which allows him to skid safely along the highway? If the armadillo(Alfred Molina) with the missing midsection offers any indication, Rango probably never did survive that vehicular accident, because only roadkill can hear other roadkill speak. Arguably, death is the best thing that ever happened to the chameleon with directorial aspirations. (This decidedly avant-garde offering actually has a lot in common with Brad Bird's "Ratatouille".) In life, Rango suffers from writer's block, somebody who is long on theory but short on story; somebody who can't even decide on a genre, mulling over as he does on a multitude of genre-specific roles, among them, a sea captain, a rogue anthropologist, and a Casanova type. Limited by the inanimate objects that make up his sorry compliment of ensemble players, the chameleon also seems to be disenchanted by his apparent medium, the play, as suggested by the demarcations of the imprisoning glass which confines the lonely varmint to a single setting, thereby converting his terrarium into a stage. Throughout his opening soliloquy, steeped in metafiction and existentialism, Rango interacts with "actors" who can't act back; he yearns for the collaborative experience that mere props simply can't offer, and a change of scenery from the fixed mountain range and sky which comprises the backdrop of his controlled environment; his laboratory for artistic development. Stuck in a sort of Brechtian hell, Rango indicates his desire to escape from the terrarium(which is, for all intents and purposes, a metaphor for experimental theater), and then to enter the filmic world, a diegesis, when he draws that first rectangular screen, a sort of portal which leads to the place where dreams come true. No more aimless soul-searching: this chameleon wants to break free and live. Construed as a death metaphor, the allusion to the "other side" that the sage-like armadillo imparts to his new scaly friend, can also be taken as a showbiz one, meaning the transition from stage to screen. Later in the film, Rango successfully crosses the highway, and on this other side, he meets the High Plains Drifter himself, which to the chameleon, is the perfect being, a god who looks over the weird array of cowfolks that populate his movie. In reality, Rango may be near-death on the highway, or on the side of the highway, so what we're actually seeing is an imagined life filtered through the cinema as it flashes before his(and our) eyes, which encompasses a span of diverse films(especially Roman Polanski's "Chinatown") that met the chameleon's approval. When one of the minor characters uses the term "man" in a speech(rather than "critter" or varmint"), the fourth wall is broken, because in this self-contained world, there are no humans to speak of. It's Rango who is providing the lines; it's Rango who is doing all the talking. His reptilian consciousness forgets to convert "man" into animal terms. Being domesticated, maybe the chameleon forgets that he's an animal, as well. Look at his god. It's Clint Eastwood, not some animal version of the venerable actor/director. Rango flatters himself. He may think that he was made in god's own image. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    Rango is far less charming than Disney or Pixar -- and more profane than any other "family oriented" animated feature I've seen. But it's cleverly written and beautifully animated, thus winning older audiences.
  3. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    I mostly enjoyed this movie. There was lots of humor, found myself laughing out loud. For the most part my 7 year old had a smile on his face. But by the end he was bored and found it weird. But it's quite common for a movie to not hold his attention the whole way. But then after it's over he usually says he loved it. But this one he still affirmed, the ending was weird. I wouldn't sayI mostly enjoyed this movie. There was lots of humor, found myself laughing out loud. For the most part my 7 year old had a smile on his face. But by the end he was bored and found it weird. But it's quite common for a movie to not hold his attention the whole way. But then after it's over he usually says he loved it. But this one he still affirmed, the ending was weird. I wouldn't say that, but I just didn't walk away saying I loved it. Depp was wonderful, as usual. The visuals were amazing. I'd say it's worth seeing, but don't go out of your way. Expand
  4. Mar 8, 2011
    7
    If you throw in a lizard, Beetle Juice, Salvador Dali, and a small Western town into a blender you get Rango. I must admit, the plot could have been more original, and the dialogue funnier - but the magnificently nightmarish characters keep you mesmerized. Nadim Basna
  5. Mar 16, 2011
    8
    Rango isn't a kids film, and it knows it. Riddled with adult humor, violence, and some pretty ugly characters, it's the perfect playground for a western lover such as myself. It pays little bits of homage to various westerns and is absolutely gorgeous to watch. Great animation, great humor, great story, and most important of all: A great western.
  6. May 14, 2011
    10
    Hands down the best movie ive seen this year so far. I enjoyed every second of this awesome animated picture. It is Gore Verbinski's best film and i hope that they make sequels because this was well worth $10.50
  7. Feb 4, 2012
    7
    Rango is a film with lots of symbolism and witty humour. The film is very well acted by Johnny depp and is also masterfully animated, making visuals that are incredible to watch. However the film has a problem. I felt very distant from the story and it's characters I have no reason to think that but it's a reasonable feeling I had while watching this film. This feeling is enough to ruinRango is a film with lots of symbolism and witty humour. The film is very well acted by Johnny depp and is also masterfully animated, making visuals that are incredible to watch. However the film has a problem. I felt very distant from the story and it's characters I have no reason to think that but it's a reasonable feeling I had while watching this film. This feeling is enough to ruin the climax but still recognise the skill of writing and acting was put into the film. Expand
  8. Mar 8, 2011
    8
    All in all the movie itself was quite entertaining. The graphics were absolutely stunning, and the acting was appropriate. Each character had their own personality, and I personally find that a rare commodity in movies nowadays. I'm giving the movie an 8/10 because as entertaining as it is, I did find that it doesn't really hook you right away.
  9. Mar 8, 2011
    8
    I liked it quite a bit, its not really a movie for kids in my opinion. There were some boring parts, started kinda slow, but overall i was happy with my purchase of a child's ticket to see the movie
  10. Mar 9, 2011
    6
    ILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by an assortment of scuzzy fauna. There's an unexplained water shortage and the movie in a quest for the truth. This isn't a kids movie: there's too muchILM's first foray into animation features some dazzling visual effects, but they got the rest pretty wrong. A city chameleon (voiced by Johnny Depp) ends up in the desert, where he becomes the de facto sheriff of a dusty town in habited by an assortment of scuzzy fauna. There's an unexplained water shortage and the movie in a quest for the truth. This isn't a kids movie: there's too much taking and not enough cute characters or zany fun. This isn't an adults' film: it's not smart enough. There is some action and humor, but not enough to compensate for the lack of creative storytelling. Expand
  11. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    Why did I love this movie? Well, you got a director who directed one of the best trilogies ever, you got Johnny Depp, and you got George Lucas's ILM, the guys behind some of the best special effects seen in movies, animating the movie. Not to mention a great homage to the Western genre. 10/10!
  12. Mar 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely fantastic. Funny and quirky and incredibly enjoyable. Perfect for Johnny Depp and Depp was perfect as always. Also easily the best looking animated film I've seen. A bit more adult in language than expected but and amazing film none the less.


    I bet that Geico Lizard is super pissed he wasn't cast as Rango
  13. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    This movie was entreating as an adult movie but certainly goes way beyond what I think is appropriate for children. Several scenes including the beginning showed a female naked torso of a mannequin, the phrase 'go to hell' was used and among other things, the word lesbian was used in such a way that an adult would understand and choose to like or dislike the connotation, but not a child.This movie was entreating as an adult movie but certainly goes way beyond what I think is appropriate for children. Several scenes including the beginning showed a female naked torso of a mannequin, the phrase 'go to hell' was used and among other things, the word lesbian was used in such a way that an adult would understand and choose to like or dislike the connotation, but not a child. My 9 year old granddaughter stated in the car on the way home " I liked the movie but there were some inappropriate words". I couldn't help but agree with her. Great animation but also somewhat violent with lots of gunfire and in my opinion a reference to low self esteem that might lead to suicide. Unacceptable for children. Expand
  14. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    I very much enjoyed watching Rangoo, I thought it put a great spin on the old Clint Eastwood Westerns. What stuck out the most to was creative the townspeople were. It had a simple but wonderful storyline and it didn't try to get to complicated but just stuck with the basics.
  15. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    Rango will almost certainly win the Oscar for Best Animated Picture next year, unless something absolutely brilliant comes out in the near future. Even if Pixar was putting out something this year that was among their best, it might still have trouble competing. Rango is just that good. It's a fantastic tribute to old spaghetti westerns, with a gorgeous animation style, great voice acting,Rango will almost certainly win the Oscar for Best Animated Picture next year, unless something absolutely brilliant comes out in the near future. Even if Pixar was putting out something this year that was among their best, it might still have trouble competing. Rango is just that good. It's a fantastic tribute to old spaghetti westerns, with a gorgeous animation style, great voice acting, a strong story, and great characters. And the thing is it doesn't even feel like a kids movie. There are the talking animals, and that's about it. While this might be a concern for some, the category this film should be labeled under is "animation" not "children's". What it is instead is a western. And a good western at that. And it's dry as hell. But that's one of the movies *best* traits. Instead of going for the usual humour that we're so used to in animated movies, Rango has a kind of wit about it that a lot of other movies in the genre are lacking. It's also worth pointing out that the movie has some quite impressive action sequences, that manage to look amazing even without the aid of 3D. Really, the only complaint that I have about this movie is that I wanted it to be longer. The ending seemed kind of sudden, and I would have liked a few more scenes to wrap things up. But in conclusion, if you enjoy westerns or animated movies even just a little bit you'll want to check this out. You're in for a hell of a treat. Expand
  16. 007
    Mar 20, 2011
    7
    Wow, this move was spectacular. Its visuals were stunning, its characters were incredibly believable, and it's humor was like some I have never seen before. Just one tip, if you are planning to see this movie, just remember to get a ice cold drink, because by the end of the movie, you will feel as dry as hardened glue.
  17. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    A great children's movie tainted by the director and screenwriter into a decent adult movie. Gore Verbinski directed the Ring and the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movie. He was fired as director of the BioShock movie because he wouldn't direct a PG-13 version (he insisted on an R rating, not that I'm complaining). The screenwriter, John Logan, co-wrote Gladiator, wrote Sweeny Todd,A great children's movie tainted by the director and screenwriter into a decent adult movie. Gore Verbinski directed the Ring and the first three Pirates of the Caribbean movie. He was fired as director of the BioShock movie because he wouldn't direct a PG-13 version (he insisted on an R rating, not that I'm complaining). The screenwriter, John Logan, co-wrote Gladiator, wrote Sweeny Todd, Time Machine, Star Trek Nemesis, and The Last Samurai. So neither are known for light-hearted child entertainment. It's clear this movie wasn't intended for children under 14, but it was certainly advertised as such, to the film's discredit. That being said, changes were obviously shoe-horned in to make the story more accessible to the Expand
  18. Mar 21, 2011
    8
    I remember seeing the snake in the commercials but I never saw it's tail. when I finally went to the movie I learned the snake, instead of a rattle on the end of it's tail, had a MINI-GUN! A FREAKING GATLING GUN. That was awesome!
  19. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Poissbly the best animated film this year will grab all awards from animation giant pixar, absolutely enjoyed it and loved how it page homage to the great westerns, amazing animated film :)
  20. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Overall I would say one of the better 3D animated movies in a long time (IMHO). Visually unique and a funny movie for kids (and sophisticated enough for older viewers). I'm very happy we're starting to get movies like this and not just repeats of Pixar-clones.
  21. Mar 26, 2011
    9
    Rango is indeed a quirky film; certainly not for kids, but still very satisfying. Not only a great comedy, animation, and adventure film, but also a great western. Rango is probably the first good film of 2011 and most people would agree with me. Plenty of great action and dialogue push this film along and it keeps on pushing until the end. The movie's theme is much more deep than IRango is indeed a quirky film; certainly not for kids, but still very satisfying. Not only a great comedy, animation, and adventure film, but also a great western. Rango is probably the first good film of 2011 and most people would agree with me. Plenty of great action and dialogue push this film along and it keeps on pushing until the end. The movie's theme is much more deep than I expected and the writing is excellent; something you would expect from a Pixar film. In short, I was happily surprised with Rango. Expand
  22. Mar 27, 2011
    6
    Rango is the best looking film I have ever seen. This movie puts ILM at the top in terms of graphical detail, modeling, special effects and animation. BUT where it falls down is in the story department. There is absolutely no originality, with the plot being entirely predictable after the opening 20 minutes. Overall i would still recommend seeing this movie, just wait till it comes out onRango is the best looking film I have ever seen. This movie puts ILM at the top in terms of graphical detail, modeling, special effects and animation. BUT where it falls down is in the story department. There is absolutely no originality, with the plot being entirely predictable after the opening 20 minutes. Overall i would still recommend seeing this movie, just wait till it comes out on Blu-ray and watch it in HD to get a taste of the visual spectacle that is Rango. Expand
  23. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    Rango is one of those kids movies that you wouldn't take a young child with you to see, but more of a movie that you would want to see for yourself. There honestly aren't that many jokes scattered around the movie and many of the characters swear or threaten to kill each other. So if you are looking for more a family oriented movie, you may want to look elsewhere. Rango is similar to TheRango is one of those kids movies that you wouldn't take a young child with you to see, but more of a movie that you would want to see for yourself. There honestly aren't that many jokes scattered around the movie and many of the characters swear or threaten to kill each other. So if you are looking for more a family oriented movie, you may want to look elsewhere. Rango is similar to The Nightmare Before Christmas in ways. While it markets itself as a kid's movie, you don't watch it to get a good laugh or a happy little story, you watch the movie because of it's atmosphere and because of it's story. Rango is amazing in terms of it's visuals and character design. Everything is so detailed it's hard to take all the scenery in at once. Rango is probably the best looking animated movie that I have seen in a long time. Rango isn't too strong story wise though. It has a predictable plot that's been done many times before in different forms, but the dialogue between characters just flows so nicely that it's fun to listen to. Rango is definitely not a good movie for everyone, but if you are a fan of animated movies, then you must see this movie. Expand
  24. Mar 28, 2011
    8
    "Rango'' is the most bad-ass, well done animated film I had ever saw. The graphics are unbeatable, it definitely deserves a nomination for best animated film. If you love western movies, you will love ''Rango", because it has those classic moments from old western movies (such as bad guys, gun fights, the girl, etc). It wasn't just an ordinary animated movie. The actors really had to"Rango'' is the most bad-ass, well done animated film I had ever saw. The graphics are unbeatable, it definitely deserves a nomination for best animated film. If you love western movies, you will love ''Rango", because it has those classic moments from old western movies (such as bad guys, gun fights, the girl, etc). It wasn't just an ordinary animated movie. The actors really had to ''play'' the scene in a studio (with all the technological materiel) in order to really incarnate there voices. I must say, it really showed that incarnation in the voices of the actors. Everybody did a good job, especially Johnny Depp (as Rango). It's a fun movie for all ages ! Expand
  25. Mar 31, 2011
    8
    This movie is NOT a kids movie. Sure there's an anthropomorphic lizard, and there's a wild west setting, but many of the jokes and even the art direction are not directed at kids. I did enjoy the film though. It was fun, and seemed very well made. Don't watch this movie and expect a pixar production though.
  26. Apr 10, 2011
    8
    This is a very good movie that should appeal to both adults and older children. It may not have enough silliness for toddlers and there are a couple of places that might be a little scary for very young kids. The animation was very well done. The plots is fairly predictable but it has a few twists. The plot delves into topics such as: what it takes to be a hero, greed, andThis is a very good movie that should appeal to both adults and older children. It may not have enough silliness for toddlers and there are a couple of places that might be a little scary for very young kids. The animation was very well done. The plots is fairly predictable but it has a few twists. The plot delves into topics such as: what it takes to be a hero, greed, and cooperation, so Rango has some good positive messages for kids see. There are a lot of computer animation films released each year, and the bulk of them are terrible. This is an exception. Expand
  27. Apr 15, 2011
    10
    This movie was wonderful and fun it is really a good start in 2011 for Disney, I have heard that some people hate it, I mean how can they say this the person that says this movie is terrible is really bitter and doesnt enjoy life, im tired of reading this reviews with people keep saying that most movies are terrible, come on people we must learn to love everything not matter what, execeptThis movie was wonderful and fun it is really a good start in 2011 for Disney, I have heard that some people hate it, I mean how can they say this the person that says this movie is terrible is really bitter and doesnt enjoy life, im tired of reading this reviews with people keep saying that most movies are terrible, come on people we must learn to love everything not matter what, execept violence! i recommend YOU to watch this. Expand
  28. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    I just noticed that one of the few people who gave Rango a "0" also gave Sucker Punch a "10." Make of that what you will. Rango isn't as good as it could've been but it was entertaining and I wasn't sorry I'd spent the $12 on a theater ticket afterward. Great animation and it's intelligent in that it doesn't rely on bodily functions or T&A to get audience interest.
  29. Apr 23, 2011
    6
    I am partial to Pixar, but this was nice and cute. Did Johnny Depp help? I guess getting people to see it, but anyone could of voiced Rango. Pixar is just better at this medium.
  30. Apr 25, 2011
    8
    Alright all you cinema lovers youâ
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Mar 7, 2011
    88
    Rango is the poster child for those who are anti-3-D, and a great reminder that genuine creativity doesn't need a gimmicky crutch to appeal to audiences.
  2. Reviewed by: Kim Newman
    Mar 5, 2011
    60
    A certain percentage of the audience will instantly sieze on this as their favorite movie of all time, and a small, but not insignificant demographic will have nightmares. Verbinski and Depp probably like it that way.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Mar 4, 2011
    91
    The best of Rango is a lot like the best of the first "Pirates" movie – crazily funny and rambunctious.