Metascore
44

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: A young couple battle their way through a religious apocalypse on a mission to defeat the Antichrist.
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 9
  2. Negative: 3 out of 9
  1. Reviewed by: Chuck Wilson
    Jun 4, 2013
    70
    Always amusing, if never screamingly funny.
  2. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 6, 2013
    70
    Chris Matheson's script focuses its energy on small, wickedly funny gags, half of which Robinson seems to have sputtered out as improv.
  3. Reviewed by: Neil Genzlinger
    Jun 6, 2013
    50
    Rapture-Palooza has a promising setup and a cast with a good track record of bringing the funny, yet it never does live up to its potential.
  4. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    Jun 9, 2013
    50
    More irrelevant than irreverent, the unworthy script from “Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure’s” Chris Matheson might play to apocalyptically stoned college kids, but offers nothing in the way of broader social satire, suggesting the waste of a perfectly good Reckoning — not to mention the talents of a cast far funnier than the doom-and-gloom results suggest.
  5. Reviewed by: John DeFore
    Jun 6, 2013
    40
    An amusing premise yields few yuks.
  6. Reviewed by: Drew Hunt
    Jun 6, 2013
    38
    Its views on organized religion are so halfhearted and perfunctory as to make Kevin Smith's Dogma seem like a veritable master's class in theistic studies.
  7. Reviewed by: Nathan Rabin
    Aug 20, 2013
    30
    The film overflows with inspired comic ideas that fizzle and die in execution like a marathon fireworks display of nothing but duds.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    9
    Pot smoking demons, "fowl-mouth" birds, and Ben of Seattle join together with Ben's girl, Lindsey, in battling the Anti-Christ, CraigPot smoking demons, "fowl-mouth" birds, and Ben of Seattle join together with Ben's girl, Lindsey, in battling the Anti-Christ, Craig Robinson, also known as "Earl". If the movie just stopped there, it would already be a comic hit, but the jokes come dangerously non-stop with the evil Earl at the helm of the Rapture's aftermath. It is true that a few quips are sophomoric and there are lots of 4-letter words, but that works in the context of a plot where wickedness envelopes the planet and those left behind adjust to the new norm with a bizarrely hilarious complacence. Beware of this evil misadventure since you might very well laugh yourself to death! (I nearly did.) While this flick goes well with beer and buddies, it is not recommended for those who are convinced that the earth has corners and has only been around for 6,000 years. Collapse
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I laughed a lot at this movie. Start to finish. Seeing Craig Fergeson
    on the front cover seemed like a no brainer for me but after a quick
    internet search I had second thoughts, which turned out to be wrong.
    currently I believe IMDb scores this movie higher than sites like
    criticker and flixster, I am not sure why as I felt it was much better
    than the majority of comedies out there. Craig plays the anti-Christ
    which gives him the opportunity to flood us with crude, inappropriate
    one-liners every time he is on screen. There are also lots of other
    recognizable actors who mostly play what the movie refers to as
    "reapers", pot smoking half zombies with sarcastic humour. Good stuff.
    The two leads are straight enough characters that keep the movie
    grounded yet their reactions to some of the hilarious plagues early on
    in the movie made for some good laughs. Overall I laughed constantly
    and that is the point of a comedy so good job to this underrated gem.
    Expand
  3. Apr 9, 2015
    7
    An amusing film, if not terribly entertaining. Let's face it; this is a film for a very niche audience -- former evangelicals who have leftAn amusing film, if not terribly entertaining. Let's face it; this is a film for a very niche audience -- former evangelicals who have left faith altogether. First of all, you have to have been an end-times obsessed evangelical to understand all of the apocalyptic references. Second, this film would be way too offensive to any current evangelical because of the language, alone.

    Ultimately, you have to keep reminding yourself of the absurdity of it all. Did I really believe all this **** was going to happen when I was an evangelical? Did I really believe that all of the "unsaved" would just go about their daily lives for seven years, waiting for the world to end?

    What works best about this film is that it is a satire of Christian apocalyticism that works by playing it straight. If, during your Christian life you watched films like "A Thief in the Night" and "Left Behind," then this is a good film to help you put all of that nonsense into perspective.
    Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2013
    6
    I liked the cast in this film but the movie is just not as funny as it could be. It has its moments but most of them are shown in theI liked the cast in this film but the movie is just not as funny as it could be. It has its moments but most of them are shown in the trailer. It felt like the film had some promise and potential but due to a weak script that a whole cast of proven funny-makers can't make shine, the film doesn't live up to the the promise it had. Expand
  5. May 27, 2014
    6
    The rapture finally happen but Anna Kendrick, her boyfriend and her family didnt get sent to heaven. Talking locusts,walking Wraith makingThe rapture finally happen but Anna Kendrick, her boyfriend and her family didnt get sent to heaven. Talking locusts,walking Wraith making them like pothead zombies and the occasional meteor shower are the few that plague Earth but its livable. The Beast A.K.A the Antichrist played by Craig Robinson wants to marry and basically sleep with Anna Kendrick. He gave her a choice to marry him or kill everyone she knows so she and her boyfriend came up with a plan.

    A decent satire about the rapture with sarcastic humor by Anna Kendrick and Craig Robinson raunchy humor. A good cast and cameos, it could of been better but the movie did have moments especially with Craig Robinson and Anna Kendrick together. Rapture-Palooza comedic approach towards the rapture and religion work with some success.
    Expand
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    4
    Rapture Palooza is a movie with a sold cast but Robinson does not show us Bill and Ted's excellent adventure. Indeed, the script is stupid andRapture Palooza is a movie with a sold cast but Robinson does not show us Bill and Ted's excellent adventure. Indeed, the script is stupid and does not live up to potential merits but I did laugh. Expand
  7. Sep 4, 2013
    1
    Given the seeming lack of commitment by the actors to give the story more life, it becomes a stupid attempt at satire! What's with the cursingGiven the seeming lack of commitment by the actors to give the story more life, it becomes a stupid attempt at satire! What's with the cursing crows? Chris Matheson could have at least researched more on the apocalypse, but then again where would the satire lie eh? Ignorance IS satire! This would have been a more acceptable fail if Paul Middleditch worked with some unknown actors. I mean, where's the fun in watching Craig Robinson ad-libbing the dialogue of a senseless man-child beast? And an emotional Ana Gasteyer from the time you see her until you stop seeing her why is her character even there? And Anna Kendrick! That role should have been given to some struggling actress wanting to hit the big screen! Seriously! She is a great actor, and seeing her deliver this role with no sense of urgency is really unforgivable! The plot is going nowhere and the only performance I enjoyed was from John Francis Daley. At least his character is trying to make it through the apocalypse, and trying to save the one he loves. At least that makes sense. Oh and by the way, the whole movie is so passionately offensive in it's delivery of Christian theology. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers