Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1341 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,210
Mixed:
79
Negative:
52
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
7
davenbettridgeNov 7, 2011
Its very very difficult to get food appetizing in a cartoon and the animators did a great job in this movie. I enjoyed the culture of the film but the overall story was a little too predictable and standard, perhaps the movie needed moreIts very very difficult to get food appetizing in a cartoon and the animators did a great job in this movie. I enjoyed the culture of the film but the overall story was a little too predictable and standard, perhaps the movie needed more laughs. It's not Pixars best but Ratatouille was a fun and worth while animated movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
hoops2448Oct 9, 2011
Out of all 12 Pixar films, Ratatouille has to be the finest if only because it is one of the most visually stunning movies ever made. While other films try to show off the majestic look of Paris (Midnight in Paris, Taken and Monte Carlo) theyOut of all 12 Pixar films, Ratatouille has to be the finest if only because it is one of the most visually stunning movies ever made. While other films try to show off the majestic look of Paris (Midnight in Paris, Taken and Monte Carlo) they never really succeed and its odd that the film that finally pulls it off isn't even live action. If anything Ratatouille is the most grown up of the Pixar fold (even Up) with the story being remarkably layered and engrossing. Sure the beginning is a bit slow but the slow build works because when Remy finally crawls out upon the magnificent vista that is Paris the film takes flight. It is a fast paced story of a rat named Remy (Voiced by Patton Oswald) who has always wanted to be a chef despite his obvious limitations He finally gets that chance thanks to an inept yet lovable human named Linguini (Lou Romano). There are some truly stunning parts of Ratatouille but you I won't ruin them because they really are fantastic. Of course it is a film for both child and adult as every other Pixar film but the thing that holds it up above all the others is the fact that the film builds as it goes. Unlike Up which has a brilliant opening sequence but doesn't live up to it, Ratatouille gets better as it goes with one moment near the end with Peter O'Toole's Ego being a brilliant piece of film despite the fact there are absolutely no words spoken. It is a classic film that gave me lots to think about after I watched it and even more after I watched it again. A real masterpiece. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
RaulM.Sep 23, 2009
In my opinion, THE greatest animated film of all time, and one of the greatest all-around films of all time. It's perfect.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
JessicaG.Dec 7, 2007
It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been giving it? Are you all just trying to be different because everyone seems to like the movie and you have some kind of problem with an animated pixar film? Suffice it to say, whomever have scored this movie in the yellow or red are officially morons. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ZilcellNov 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is one of Pixar's best movies yet. Remy the rat wants to become a chef and his dream comes true when he accidentally ends up in Paris and and discovers a 5-star restaurant. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Apr 9, 2013
Ratatouille has more life, meaning and intelligence then almost every film out there. Pixar has always done a fantastic job of reaching out to children, while drawing adults in and Ratatouille is no exception.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ViolettAug 23, 2015
Simple and genius in one pot. Good example of flawless quality of Pixar movies. Good for any ages, almost 2 hours of good laugh and relaxing watching guaranteed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Tomle1202Sep 15, 2015
Ratatouille has art in it, has the melody of creativity flows through it, and the film itself, can easily be called one of the most magnificent masterpieces.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Jollyjoe1000Nov 25, 2015
This one of the reasons pixar is great.They can make anyone or anything lovable. Evan if it is a rat. Remmy is a good black sheep,and every time I watch this movie it makes me hungry.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ValerieWJul 19, 2007
This is a Pixar film that really appeals to both children and adults. The beautiful animation, the humor, the look inside a French restaurant kitchen are for the grown-ups. And there's also plenty of silliness and excitement for the This is a Pixar film that really appeals to both children and adults. The beautiful animation, the humor, the look inside a French restaurant kitchen are for the grown-ups. And there's also plenty of silliness and excitement for the kids. And this animated Paris is breathtaking - I wanted to jump right on a plane. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful
10
JawsPapi87Aug 12, 2011
This movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film,This movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film, wether it's the animation itself, the French sets or the whole animated city of Paris, this movie seems like one of the most delicately executed and thought out films of 2007 Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
heyitsmegrif4Jan 16, 2012
Ratatouille is funny, original, heartfelt, well voice acted and beautifully animated. As Pixar makes more and more movies they make just fantastic films like Ratatouille. I give this film 96%.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
gm101Apr 7, 2011
Let me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As alwaysLet me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As always Pixar, great job! Expand
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
10
DiegoFAug 17, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Best Pixar film? Maybe, Best 2007 film? definitely!! Ratatouille is a masterpiece that everyone will love. The characters, the humor, the memorable moments and basically everything in this movie is exellent. A delicious buffet.

Note: Sorry for my english, im from Costa Rica.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AaronS.Jun 30, 2007
Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, 'Ratatouille' never forgets it's a story first and foremost. Bird and co. have lavished just as much attention to the script as they did the animation. The very reason Pixar is so far ahead of the pack. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
MylesM.Jul 5, 2007
The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it from being timeless, and nothing was formulaic other than the mild relationship to "Ben and Me". Just when you thought it was over, you say, "Wait; what about Ego the food critique?". And so it goes. Animation was magical and spectacular, and the character development was first-rate. I have already reserved a copy for me and for my grandkids from Amazon when its out for distribution. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
KatherineS.Jul 2, 2007
This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art of it was unbelievable--scratches on the copper pots, bubbles in the soup, realistic details everywhere. And in Paris, I enjoyed the "special" details cleverly tucked into the background--the "no smoking" poster in French, the traffic, the Bateaux Mouches, the Notre Dame rose window. I have loved movies my entire life, and this one is clearly in My Favorite Top 10! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
Nadie....Jul 8, 2007
Not an animated film, a great movie. Well written, funny, well directed. This is what movies are all about.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
AsepD.Nov 15, 2007
While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy surface antics and clever dialogue will keep people in stitches while Bird and company tell a story about art, passion, and what drives people to create in the face of adversity. It's about following dreams, heeding the heart, and how perseverance can lead to triumph. Told and presented in a flawless technical skill, through characters and situations only PIXAR could deliver. This is a form of perfection, and do not deny yourself the experience. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ARGHARGHAug 24, 2009
One of the best Pixar films ever made. Beautiful to behold; it's a masterpiece.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
DougN.Nov 12, 2007
Very good, but a little too sweet for my liking.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
8
grandpajoe6191Sep 29, 2011
"Ratatouille" is a movie created for only the Westerners and ends up appealing to both western and eastern people.
6 of 15 users found this helpful69
All this user's reviews
10
aaronpaul121Jan 16, 2012
This movie is really outstanding! The graphics were excellent, the theme is great, the plot is mesmerizing, the characters were amazing. Everything in this film were fantastic. This is a true masterpiece...
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ChadS.Dec 16, 2007
There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget you're watching an animated picture) reminds us why we love the movies. "Ratatouille" is so sophisticated, there's an extra tier of sophistication that will fly under the radar of most moviegoers. "Ratatouille", to my utter disbelief, has references to the Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan and his film "Felicia's Journey". Ian Holm, who voices the role of Skinner, the chef in exile, was in Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter". This is such tremendous fun for cineastes because we can't understand why it's there in the first place. This piece of trivia is irrelevant to enjoying "Ratatouille", but the references are there, nevertheless. In an ordinary film, it's Linguini(voiced by Lou Romano) who'd be delusional(that a rat is actually doing the cooking), but in "Ratatouille", it's the delusion(from Skinner's point-of-view(he's the first person to see the rat); Skinner, who reminds me of that single person who sees the duck in those Aflac commercials) who has delusions(Chef Gusteau is Remy's muse). "Ratatouille" also has references to Carol Emschwiller's novel "The Mount" and Gary Larson's "The Far Side". And if you remember Ralph Fiennes' wine cellar speech to Embeth Davidtz in "Schindler's List", "Ratatouille" can be interpreted as a fantastical parable that sutures the rift between Jews and Germans. "Ratatouille" is a truly extraordinary movie that makes you laugh, cry, and most importantly, think. This is Pixar's high-water mark, and that's really saying something. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkC.Jun 30, 2007
A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film Board cartoons. It was a fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJun 30, 2007
Ridiculously good. I liked it better than both The Incredibles and Cars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DavidSMar 18, 2010
Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a mouse learning to cook more entertaining than the Lord of the Rings Trilogy? Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GagaForGhibliJun 3, 2012
Simply One Of The Best Movies Of 2007!
One Word For This Movie: Amazing
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
OptixalNov 1, 2012
Another great computer-animated film for Walt Disney! A different, and more unusual plot compared to typical happy-ending movies. The movie also presented and gave viewers a sense of how dynamic the kitchen in a restaurant is. A littleAnother great computer-animated film for Walt Disney! A different, and more unusual plot compared to typical happy-ending movies. The movie also presented and gave viewers a sense of how dynamic the kitchen in a restaurant is. A little unrealistic, but overall a well done. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989May 7, 2013
This is certainly up there with some of Pixar's finest work, and its only the second time I've seen it but I enjoyed it much more second time around. Its such a creative concept and whoever thought of a rat cooking was pretty creative :P TheThis is certainly up there with some of Pixar's finest work, and its only the second time I've seen it but I enjoyed it much more second time around. Its such a creative concept and whoever thought of a rat cooking was pretty creative :P The characters are very likable and the clever storyline flows well throughout. There is also enough for both adults and kids to enjoy here and there is a nice medium for the both. Overall a very enjoyable film I would certainly recommend Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Annoymous1Jul 10, 2013
Watching it gets me hungry, and it has its fun moments and great appeal. If you don't like it, thats just shocking then. Because this is the best Pixar film by far
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JustMy2May 7, 2016
This is one of Pixar's best movies, and arguably the one with the biggest heart. I find it to be thoroughly enjoyable and near flawless in execution. The only reason I give it a 9, is because there are two other Pixar movies I love even more!This is one of Pixar's best movies, and arguably the one with the biggest heart. I find it to be thoroughly enjoyable and near flawless in execution. The only reason I give it a 9, is because there are two other Pixar movies I love even more! Gotta leave some headroom in my reviewing scores for them! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
RobdscdsvcJul 6, 2007
Visually stunning, classic characters, 100% original, and simply amazing. This just may be the greatest movie i have EVER seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentMar 5, 2009
This truly is Disney/Pixar's Magnum Opus. Excellent script, good graphics and nice character development. Brad Bird out-did himself here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marktApr 2, 2010
Amazing.........PIXAR have done it again and it's one of there best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 5, 2007
I've since become a professional chef. Thank you Ratatouille.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are his only weapons. This bears repeating: the ultimate conflict in this movie concerns a rat that cooks and a snooty gourmand, AND IT WORKS. What production companies can pull this off? Perhaps only Pixar. That said, this movie may not be for everyone. If you like predictability and mediocre pop tunes in your animation films, and if you don't mind variability in the quality of production, then by all means rent The Lion King instead. If you want to see a remarkable production from storytellers who elevate simplicity to elegance, than Ratatouille may be the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenNOct 8, 2007
One word WOW!!! and i only say that to very little movies but if you have not seen it yet SEE IT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyR.Jun 29, 2007
Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has mentioned to spot-on animation of the rats. Believe me, I know my rats, and the Pixar crew did a beautiful job of making them completely convincing. The swim like rats, they use their 'hands' like rats, everything. A well crafted triumph; maybe the best Pixar movie to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HH.Jun 30, 2007
It's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't rely on violence and swearing to tell an incredible story as enjoyable for adults as well as children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewL.Jun 30, 2007
Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative criticism seem downright petty. Its been a long time since a film--or any work of art--has so inspired and fulfilled me. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jul 1, 2007
A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film are so powerful, they take your breath away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJul 10, 2007
Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and while it is a "believe in yourself" movie, it's done in a never-before seen way. It's simply stunning, as well. I loved, loved, loved Peter O'toole's character (it basically screams 'Tim Burton' at times) as well as Brad Garret's character. They're like opposites and they're part of the reason this movie is so entertaining. But it wouldn't be the same with Remy, Linguini, or Skinner. Their characters are so key and preposterously lovable (yes, I thought Skinner was a lovable character, sue me). They're so full of life that they keep this bloat floating. Touche, once again, Pixar. Touche. (P.S. Anybody else pumped about Wall-E?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Jul 12, 2007
Simply perfect in every way... Best animated film yet? You bet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarynP.Jul 2, 2007
I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and cars to life in the past. And best of all, they've made them endearing. Kudos to them for adding rats to that list. Next year, it will be robots. I can't wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJul 2, 2007
Original, original, original, original...the whole genre has been re-engineered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoseY.Jul 2, 2007
Inspiring, a pretty much Disney movie for the whole family but specially for the small ones.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulF.Jul 3, 2007
The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the lead seamed quite heady, even for a rat that could cook and manipulate people simply by pulling on their hair strings. As for the laughs there were only a couple of really good ones. Most of the time I sat with a slight grin. And there was one laugh concerning Ego the critic I will not soon forget. Is this a master piece no. But it is definitely worthy of a view. Whether you think it is theater or DVD worthy, well, that's up to you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleC.Aug 26, 2007
Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. The voice casting was spot-on, all out inspired. The uinstory was clearly loved by children, and appreciated by the many adults many in the audience without kids in tow. Pixar has created a winner! Run, don't walk to see this film. You'll be glad you did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoC.Sep 18, 2007
Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. It dint have a single dull moment, the best timing (important factor to consider with comedy) and the most lovable characters. Pixar is in the track to make us all adults believe (at last!) that animation can be for adults with great ease. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 1, 2008
My favorite Pixar film since The Incredibles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CaptainYesJan 3, 2008
WOW! What a great movie. Stunning visuals, great story, and a main character who's faced with real decisions. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
AndyM.Jun 30, 2008
It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything wrong with it, really. I can find things wrong in the other memorable Pixar films, but... those films had an air of charm and awe to them, which this unfortunately lacked. It may be the best reviewed of the Pixar movies, but not the most memorable in the slightest. And since I gave Wall-E a 9 and it was better than this, I have to give this one an 8. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jan 6, 2009
I loved the movie, its the only movie that my family and I can all agree to watching, and even if there is a rat cooking it still makes us want to eat afterwards. Two thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnweshPFeb 23, 2010
Ratatouille incredibly convinces. It is great entertainment. Brad Bird rules!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Oct 2, 2007
A truly beautiful movie. Kids will like it, but adults will love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 28, 2007
This movie is amazing! I just loved it! It had a lot of meaning, the idea was original, and very creative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidDOct 8, 2007
Hey Cameron, it is not metacritic that rates these movies. They just accumulate the ratings of all the other critics. But i guess if you would try and stay awake and pay attention, you would know that. The movie was not the greatest but it Hey Cameron, it is not metacritic that rates these movies. They just accumulate the ratings of all the other critics. But i guess if you would try and stay awake and pay attention, you would know that. The movie was not the greatest but it was a very good all around movie for adults and kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PaulK.Jun 29, 2007
This is on the low end of a 9...I wasn't blown away, as I was hoping after seeing the 95 metascore, but nevertheless, the animation was superior and the story was good and endearing in parts. A little on the long side...this might be a This is on the low end of a 9...I wasn't blown away, as I was hoping after seeing the 95 metascore, but nevertheless, the animation was superior and the story was good and endearing in parts. A little on the long side...this might be a better pick for video, if you have restless wee ones. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SeriousMovieGoerJun 29, 2007
Ratatouille is special in it's CGI potrayals of Paris, although it lacks something from previous Pixar movies. You can't say that the people don't look amazingly real, but not one character delivers something so funny that Ratatouille is special in it's CGI potrayals of Paris, although it lacks something from previous Pixar movies. You can't say that the people don't look amazingly real, but not one character delivers something so funny that you'll choke on your popcorn. Ratatouille is a good movie for the kids, but I can't guarantee that you won't snore. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidneyT.Jun 30, 2007
On par with the Incredibles and Finding Nemo....even better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SabrinaM.Jun 30, 2007
It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille is beautifully animated and surprisingly touching. Surely, there are the make-believe messages that may have seemed far-fetched in reality but totally in line with the objectives of Disney pictures, such as how the whole clan of rats (starring Remy's brother and father, who lack taste in food, or trust in humans--initially) creates a beautiful meal towards the end, or the worn out ideals of pursuing one's dreams as long as one invests passion (Gusteau says, "Everyone can cook"), or even just how Linguini can communicate with Remy; or, consider the ludicrous images of American cross-culturalism in a French context (the kitchen staff is all mixed with people of different backgrounds or ethnicities), and of all the French English accent. Yet, this film works because it opens one's eyes to the beauty of creativity and, to me personally, because it succeeds in bringing forward inspiring thoughts on the issue of criticism. In many ways, Anton Ego, the critic with a big ego, mirrors myself. A long, emanciated face and a menacing voice, his critique is sharp and pungent, making his opinion effective to the extent that it filters out the nonsense; his acute taste, while working to the advantage of offering judgments, hinders him in being open and positive about that which he is evaluating. When asked by Linguini why a critic who likes food looks so skinny, he says dogmatically, "I don't like food, I love food. If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it". The question is, what kind of a love for food is this? What does he love? How much is he appreciating food for food itself, or aware of the value of that which he chooses to spit out and grimace about? What is key is that there is an implicit downside in the nature of criticism if its focus is primarily on digging out the negative sides of the subject matter. After savoring the beautifully crafted ratatouille sensation that Remy and his clan put together, served by Linguini the cook/ waiter on wheels, he reevaluates his criteria for critique; after the unfortunate termination of the restaurant's business due to its unhygienic conditions (N.B. the rats), his credibility is damaged, but he is seen in Linguini's new bistro, enjoying the famed ratatouille, his occupation as a critic something of the past and the mean look of criticism gone from his face. Just as how his face lit up in childhood reminiscence of his mother's ratatouille when he first tastes Remy's creation, now he is rid of the need to be faultfinding, is broadening his love for food and, in that way, is closer to it. The phenomenal human touch at the end of this film touches me to open up myself, and reminds me that the critical taste of an individual comes not only with the act of opting for what is good, but also with embracing what may have seemed bad. To reject something when it does not seem good enough ("If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it") ruins the prospects of discovering something better to come, because that negative energy fails to give due credit to anything and alienates one from that which one professes to love. Note: Ratatouille is a vegetable dish from southen France, made out of eggplants, onions, garlic, green peppers, tomatoes, zucchini, with a variety of spices, simmered in olive oil. Have got to try this dish, and this film has got to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
E.B.Jun 30, 2007
Pixar had a lot to live up to with the release of their new film. They succeeded! It is so great to see a "Family Film" do so well in the theater, instead of all the trash that is out there. Long live Pixar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaSanchezJul 1, 2007
Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was runnin the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewG.Jul 10, 2007
This is surely one of the films from the 21st century that will be remembered, studied, and watched in 2107. Everything about this movie is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusanFJul 1, 2007
Genius! Just a brilliant, heartwarming, eloquent film from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MikeD.Jul 13, 2007
A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, Monsters Inc. or Toy Story. What I mean by that is that Pixar's movies tend to really be two movies in parallel: one for kids made of colorful, funny, interesting characters following relatively simple plot lines; and one which only comes out through the dialogue, for parents who brought the kids (or kidless adults). Ratatouille had plenty of the former, little of the latter. Still, a good movie and worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
stevetJul 20, 2007
One of the best movies -- not animated movies, not rated-G movies -- I have seen. It is entirely captivating and after it was done, I knew I loved it but couldn't say exactly why. It wasn't just the voices or the artistry or the One of the best movies -- not animated movies, not rated-G movies -- I have seen. It is entirely captivating and after it was done, I knew I loved it but couldn't say exactly why. It wasn't just the voices or the artistry or the story. In the end, it was the movie! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
scottJul 2, 2007
Oh hell yeah. Another home run for Pixar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlisaHJul 22, 2007
When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you know, movies that aren't really made anymore. It had an engaging storyline with enough humor to make sure the mood doesn't get too dark, but it didn't keep everything light moodwise and that impressed me even more because sometimes you don't see that much at all. Honestly, I can't wait to see this again and am satisfied with it beyond measure, show it to your kids, heck show it to your entire family, it's worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JadeBJul 26, 2007
This is a nice movie. It isn't brilliant. Its cute, it isn't hilarious. Its mildly touching, it isn't transcendent. This movie seems to have gotten such rave reviews just because it isn't another convoluted summer mess. This is a nice movie. It isn't brilliant. Its cute, it isn't hilarious. Its mildly touching, it isn't transcendent. This movie seems to have gotten such rave reviews just because it isn't another convoluted summer mess. Director Brad Birds other movies, The Iron Giant & The Incredibles are easily superior. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
C.H.H.Jul 2, 2007
An excellent film; not just an excellent kids film or an excellent animation film, an excellent film period. Wonderful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DF.Jul 31, 2007
A fine film, full of witty lines and memorable characters. Although, not a classic like Toy Story or Finding Nemo, it sure to delight people of all ages
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JuanP.Jul 3, 2007
Fantastic movie, once again Pixar did it, and better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LineaJul 3, 2007
Oh man, it was definitely my favorite movie ever. There actually is a very good plot, and Linguini's character was done very well. The short before is hilarious!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AnL.Jul 3, 2007
great movie!!! Beautifully crafted. Visually satisfying. And a lot of fun too!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ZeeMJul 30, 2007
One Of My Favorite Original Animation Movie I have ever seen...Great Animation, wonderful and a touching story line.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DeonduP.Jul 3, 2007
The best animated movie I have ever seen. My kids and wife loved it too. Fantastic animation, and fantastic story.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DanielC.Jul 4, 2007
George, it's a kids movie, not the godfather. Sure it doesn't make complete sense but it is a joy to watch. Kids will lap this one up. 4 stars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ScooterLJul 5, 2007
More intelligent and sophisticated than 95% of adult films. And it's a blast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkK.Jul 6, 2007
A well-spent 2 hours! Our kids liked it; I liked it; my wife liked it. Its only downside is that it could be trimmed to the more kid friendly 90 minutes. Still, 'Ratatouliie' is great fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnneRJul 6, 2007
What an amazing film. I forgot it was animated and was as involved int he plot as I would have been with real actors. this is truly a gem.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LukeT.Jul 7, 2007
In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life (1985-). The animation was flawless, the vocal performances (especially Oswalt's and O'Toole's) were excellent, and the food looked good enough to eat! Though I've seen a number of good films in the past 7 years, the only ones to leave me feeling this uplifted were the Lord of the Rings and Batman begins (excellent company for any film to me). I can also say that Pixar has officially become what Disney's traditional animation used to be (up to 1994). As a side note, the Wall-E teaser was absolutely adorable and i look forward to it being the next Pixar masterpiece. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClayTJul 8, 2007
A great movie. I was surprised by the amount of adult humor in the film. Kudos on making a movie that everyone can enjoy. I just hope Pixar doesn't lose it's focus and start putting out watered down versions of itself. Dreamworks A great movie. I was surprised by the amount of adult humor in the film. Kudos on making a movie that everyone can enjoy. I just hope Pixar doesn't lose it's focus and start putting out watered down versions of itself. Dreamworks replaced the wittiness of Shrek with poop and burp in Shrek the Third. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WynnJ.Aug 18, 2007
It reminded me so much of Babette's Feast, that great Danish film from the 80s. It's an ars poetica, in that it illustrates how art (food) is created and how it nourishes even the harshest of souls. The best film I've seen It reminded me so much of Babette's Feast, that great Danish film from the 80s. It's an ars poetica, in that it illustrates how art (food) is created and how it nourishes even the harshest of souls. The best film I've seen since last year's Pan's Labyrinth, and the best animated film since The Incredibles. Bravo Pixar! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichelleNAug 21, 2007
This movie was great! Very heartwarming and inspiring! Definitely lived up to my expectations and made me view rats in a whole new light!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JackB.Aug 23, 2007
A good movie with great visuals and a good story, but younger kids wouldn't really get it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WeepstahW.Aug 27, 2007
Brad Bird is the best director working in Hollywood today. As good as The Incredibles, which is saying alot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ThePlatypopeAug 9, 2007
I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into their movies making them the one of most competent film studio around. The plot, silly? Yes. Genius? Yes. Sure the animation was good and all, but that was to be expected. The message of the film is that "change is good." Highlighted in the trip to the pest control window, the rat and his father take. If only all change could amount to a brilliant film such as this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnG.Sep 13, 2007
Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of my favorite companies. Each year, they get better and better.....and this year, they topped the cake. Ratatouille must be one of my favorite movies this year so far... From the very beginning, it captured my attention, and kept it from beginning to end. It's a film for everyone, and a must see. I highly recommend this movie. Bon Apetit! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BroderickG.Sep 18, 2007
I've already seen it multiple times, but this movie just won't leave me. There is no one in the industry like Pixar, and after Ratatouille, I doubt anyone will ever get close.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EleanorSep 25, 2007
Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it seriously. Ratatouille conveys humor through many subtle channels that you don't see very often in both "adult" or "children" films these days. The facial expressions and hand gestures say as much as the actual dialogue and is another demonstration of Pixar's high animation quality. Ratatouille leaves you feeling warm and happy. Not to mention a craving for the actual dish. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MihailsB.Sep 3, 2007
Top professional and good movie. Just super.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattA.Jan 12, 2008
This film is so beautiful it honestly brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkRJan 14, 2008
Brad Bird is the man. This an the Incredibles truly are masterpieces of character driven animation. How is it that Pixar are SO FAR ahead of anyone else? Outstanding and long may they continue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
FrederikP.Mar 1, 2008
The most beautiful movie i have ever seen. I love the message of Ratatouille.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DannyM.Mar 7, 2008
At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The animation was great, and the conflict was something that I had NEVER seen before. It was a total breath of fresh air. Watch this movie as soon as you get the chance. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ChrisSMay 4, 2009
This is a very good movie and visually stunning but lets not get carried away on it being a masterpiece or anything of that nature
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KyleRJan 25, 2010
I liked this movie its a work of art pixar is does it again, good stuff... now for everyone wondering why this is rated top movie of all time status.. SPOILER.. a character in this movie has strong ties and relates to critics.. may be why I liked this movie its a work of art pixar is does it again, good stuff... now for everyone wondering why this is rated top movie of all time status.. SPOILER.. a character in this movie has strong ties and relates to critics.. may be why critics love this.. if i ever make a movie ill be sure to give a critic a main role lol but i could be wrong this is a good movie its just not 10 worthy Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AudrianaJan 4, 2010
I give this a 10!! I captivated me from the start of the movie to the credit role!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful