Ratatouille

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1325 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. jahazielf
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    One of the most charming movies ever made. no company in the world knows how to approach making a character, and remy is one of their best. this movie has everything. it has a great story, wonderful charm, clever humor throughout, even a couple of action sequences. also, if you're watching it on blu-ray in 1080p, this will one of the most breathtaking visual feasts you will ever come across.
  2. JackC
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    Such a great movie!
  3. stoshw
    Nov 11, 2007
    7
    Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and I can't believe that kids would be that taken with it. As someone already mentioned , it's not a movie that would be fun to watch a second Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and I can't believe that kids would be that taken with it. As someone already mentioned , it's not a movie that would be fun to watch a second time like finding Nemo or the Toy Stories. Maybe I'm not foodie enough , but I actually think giving it a 7 is pretty generous on my part. Your tastes may vary. Expand
  4. SusanaG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    The best movie of pixar!! i love remy! ... Very fun.
  5. VinothT.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    i find it interesting because it has used new technique such as the fog and the place where the Gasteau is situated the cartoon (or more like a film ) shows why is the Pixar company a leading company in animated movie.
  6. KhoiN
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Surprisingly good!
  7. TonyC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best films of 2007.
  8. turtle360
    Nov 8, 2007
    7
    I haven't actually seen the movie, but my friends told me it was really good. The reason I'm posting is to clear something up for some retards. METACRITICS DOES NOT RATE MOVIES. So, for the people(Ratatouille & Cameron) that gave it a horrible score and blame metacritics, don't. I mean, have you people even seen a movie get a score by metacritics? No. All what they do is I haven't actually seen the movie, but my friends told me it was really good. The reason I'm posting is to clear something up for some retards. METACRITICS DOES NOT RATE MOVIES. So, for the people(Ratatouille & Cameron) that gave it a horrible score and blame metacritics, don't. I mean, have you people even seen a movie get a score by metacritics? No. All what they do is grab all the rating from other critics and give an avarage of what they're giving it. Yeah, so please stop being so retards. Thank you. Expand
  9. LulaM.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    The rapturous reviews are right on target - not only is the movie completely delightful, it makes use of every inch of the big screen. It's really worth going out of your way to see this in best theater you can find. The visuals may be state of the artist, but the story-telling is completely classic. In every other sense, this movie could have been written and made in 1939 - and I The rapturous reviews are right on target - not only is the movie completely delightful, it makes use of every inch of the big screen. It's really worth going out of your way to see this in best theater you can find. The visuals may be state of the artist, but the story-telling is completely classic. In every other sense, this movie could have been written and made in 1939 - and I mean that as the highest compliment of all. Do no miss! Expand
  10. JustinC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Like the great animated movies before it (A bugs Life, Monster Inc, Sharks Tale), this movie captures the same fun and creativity. I'm not much for kids films but a story of a rat that cooks is a brilliant idea that turned out to be a enjoyable 2 hours.
  11. EnriqueP.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    It's excellent!!!!!! one of the best animated films i have ever seen. is amazing how a rat can get into a human heart being so ugly. I expected less from it and it really capt my attention at all. I hope it wins an oscar and a lot of awards. Its a new story, something new and excelent!!
  12. ColetteC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Pure sensory delight! Ratatouille is an enthralling tale, beautifully animated -- a real masterpiece. You know it's good because it doesn't rely on the same 'ol worn out stuff: nudity, crudity and rudeness. It's sweet and delicious.
  13. BudW.
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    a foodie's delight. we're just back from paris, eating high on the hog. Wish I knew about the bistro.
  14. Odilonc.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Very creative movie. Finally a different ending in a movie.
  15. RyanT
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Pixar never disappoints.
  16. John
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of the best animated movies I have ever seen (which is saying a lot when you compare it to 'The Lion King'). Do yourself a favor and see a classic in the movie house with your family. And if you don't have a family, sneak in behind one. What can you say about a masterpiece? This movie draws your attention from the start and takes you along for a wild ride. It is easily one of the best animated movies I have ever seen (which is saying a lot when you compare it to 'The Lion King'). Do yourself a favor and see a classic in the movie house with your family. And if you don't have a family, sneak in behind one. You won't be disappointed. Expand
  17. KimD
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    This is one of best movies I've ever seen--so much to learn from it, no ridiculous violence or language, great messages, and my kids LOVED it too--I couldn't ask for more!
  18. Jasons.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Very fun to watch! this is a comlete movie. it seems animation movies are a more complete movie then most of these blockbuster films, as far as story, charecter, and detail etc.
  19. KayleeC.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    After reading the extremely positive AND the extremely negative, I wanted to comment on the movie as well. I didn't get a chance to look at Metacritic before seeing the movie earlier today, and I have a feeling that my opinion would be different if I had. A score of 95 universal acclaim is...rather high. I suppose the reason I loved this movie so much is that I had no previous After reading the extremely positive AND the extremely negative, I wanted to comment on the movie as well. I didn't get a chance to look at Metacritic before seeing the movie earlier today, and I have a feeling that my opinion would be different if I had. A score of 95 universal acclaim is...rather high. I suppose the reason I loved this movie so much is that I had no previous expectations. So yes, I loved it - I'd say that it is the most visually appealing of all Pixar films, when all of them are amazing to the eye. I would also say that the story - an major factor in the success of a film - was better than Cars, and even The Incredibles. Expand
  20. sujals.
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    This was the best Pixar movie ever, and to me that means something. I thought the story was awesome, the acting was good, and the animation was downright amazing. Go see this!
  21. JamieS
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    Will rank as one of Pixar's very best films. It's not a fast paced "action cartoon", so the youngest kids might get a little bored. I'd say it's for the 8 and up crowd, the dialog is very adult in several ways so don't expect a "kiddie film", it's not. The clever story is full of creative twists and turns, one of those rare films you forget about time and Will rank as one of Pixar's very best films. It's not a fast paced "action cartoon", so the youngest kids might get a little bored. I'd say it's for the 8 and up crowd, the dialog is very adult in several ways so don't expect a "kiddie film", it's not. The clever story is full of creative twists and turns, one of those rare films you forget about time and become deeply involved in the "story". Visually, it's the best animated film so far, but can you really call it animated when it all appears so real? In sum, go see it now on a Large Screen... while the DVD will be great, seeing this one in a theater is well worth the money. Expand
  22. TristanF.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Fantastic! The best Pixar film yet. The animation is absolutely breathtaking. A must see.
  23. MichaelA
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Dare I say, better than The Incredibles, Finding Nemo, AND Toy Story!
  24. KNS.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    There's so much in this world that is sad or horrible or disgusting or tragic, so when something comes along and gives you so much joy and beauty and hope, it's time for celebration. And celebrate is what I'm doing after seeing Ratatouille. I cannot think of another film that was so full of life and emotion presented in such a stunningly beautiful way. Whodathunk a rat in a There's so much in this world that is sad or horrible or disgusting or tragic, so when something comes along and gives you so much joy and beauty and hope, it's time for celebration. And celebrate is what I'm doing after seeing Ratatouille. I cannot think of another film that was so full of life and emotion presented in such a stunningly beautiful way. Whodathunk a rat in a kitchen could be a promising premise for a movie? But with this particular rat in this particular kitchen in the hands of this particular film maker in this particular studio it WORKS! Ratatouille teaches us about fulfilling your potential and following your dreams, and ultimately shows us the joy that comes with excellence (which could be the story of Pixar itself). Yes, I now believe a rat can indeed be a great chef! It is the stuff dreams are made of. Expand
  25. PeterJ.
    Jul 27, 2007
    10
    Ratatouille is one of the best if not the best movies I have seen in my life. The animation, voice acting, and storyline all come together to make what is now one of my favorite movies. It is a movie that children or adults can enjoy. If your looking for a fantastic movie, you must see Ratatoulie!!
  26. StevenM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    Pixar proves that anyone can make a CG movie, but only they can tell a good story and amke you forget that you're watching animation to begin with. Walking out of the moive, it struck me that DIsney is back, after years of mediocrity; they have chosen the true succesor, and that is Pixar. Dreamworks, Sony, et al. have lessons to learn. Story is more important to a kids film that cute Pixar proves that anyone can make a CG movie, but only they can tell a good story and amke you forget that you're watching animation to begin with. Walking out of the moive, it struck me that DIsney is back, after years of mediocrity; they have chosen the true succesor, and that is Pixar. Dreamworks, Sony, et al. have lessons to learn. Story is more important to a kids film that cute animations and sly jokes and innuendo aimed at the parents. A good movie is a good movie. Expand
  27. JoshC
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning in this movie. Spectacular story, characters are well done. Absolute triumph of animation of all time.
  28. DanJ.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    A unique and surprisingly sophisticated animated film.
  29. HomanM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    This is by far the best animation of all time. the graphics are so stunningly amazing that I basically forgot I was watching an animation. In addition, the sweet and sour moments of the film along with the amazing originality make it the best animation of all time.
  30. JohnC.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Everything works. The best Pixar/Disney yet. The kids loved it. People applauded - and sat through the credits - always good signs.
  31. JackL.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    I think it is a great animation movie and it deserves a 95 score. The movie has a lot to tell to us, especially to the American culture nowadays. These days, in movie (specially in kid's movies), television or on radio, we are told to believe that we can achieve anything that we desire if we try hard enough; or that we have to dream BIG and we will go far. These positive or I think it is a great animation movie and it deserves a 95 score. The movie has a lot to tell to us, especially to the American culture nowadays. These days, in movie (specially in kid's movies), television or on radio, we are told to believe that we can achieve anything that we desire if we try hard enough; or that we have to dream BIG and we will go far. These positive or optimistic messages, asides from its good effect, can create in the minds of young children a harmful illusion that they CAN make dreams come. But In Ratatouille, we can find a better ground to believe in that SOMETIMES, in life, we would never succeed in the field that is not suited our talents; and that we should do what fits our talents and passion. Look at Linguini, he was not born for cooking, and in the end, even knowing his father was a great chef, HE DOES NOT TRY TO BECOME A CHEF but rather sticking to what he does best, serving the tables. I think that a really good point that the movie makes. You do not need to choose a big career, such as a chef, a singer, an actor or actress, to have a chance to be called "great" or "talented". Besides this, the movie also make a really good point on the nature of criticism, and mankind in general. We, especially the critics, usually try to point out the mistakes, both minors and majors, that exist in others, movies or people. If someone shows us a blank, white paper with a small black dot in the middle and ask : "what do you see?", most of us will naturally respond that "I see a black dot." We always focus on the black dot that we again naturally forget to see and enjoy the whole white paper. In George H's criticism as well as some others, I see some mistakes that they point out such as why do they have microwave dinners in the 50's, DNA test, or why do most of the chefs have English-French accent in such a famous French restaurant, etc. It is good to point out these but these for me are unimportant. I think the whole staff of the movie-makers, there must be at least one notice that why in a French restaurant in the 50's do the chefs have English-French accent. But they let it go so that they can make their message loud and clear on criticism's nature. People will surely point out those mistakes and thinking that they the critics themselves are "great" for seeing and focusing on such mistakes. And George also saying that "How the rat - whatever his name was - comes to communicate and control the kid's bodily function is entirely ludacriss (correction: ludicrous) and makes no sense". It is the movie George!!! It is creativity and imagination. Why does in Cinderella, the mice can become such a beautiful horses, or why does a wolf can disguise as a grandma.? I mean it is imagination and imagination is NOT "weak" or "ludicrous". One more thing, the characters have their name!!! However, I understand that it is hard to remember the names when one's mind is so focusing on the mistakes. Anyway, GREAT MOVIE. Expand
  32. JimG
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    Delightful. Visually exciting, simple sweet story. Everything you want in an summer animation escape. A little troubling that Disney still equates villains with strong ethnic features. What is up with that? Also confusing that the "lovable" characters all speak in American dialects whereas anyone else has a heavy accent. Strange.
  33. JY
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Pure fun! The movie began, and the laughter in the theater never stopped. The kids absolutely loved it, so did all the adults. After the movie, I heard a woman's voice go "it's such a good movie".
  34. ErikH
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    I absolutely loved it! My favorite film of the year thus far!
  35. NeoJ.
    Aug 16, 2007
    10
    best hit of the year, no doubt about it. Ian Holm and Peter O'Toole had rocked me to my core!
  36. GraceC.
    Aug 17, 2007
    10
    A heartwarming movie which harks back to the glory days of disney animation. After a long string of contrived, cutesy efforts which insult the intelligence of the viewers, it is truly refreshing to see a film which matches the sheer heart and magic of treasured classics like The Little Mermaid and Beauty and The Beast. The animation, storyline and comic timing are impeccable and the charm A heartwarming movie which harks back to the glory days of disney animation. After a long string of contrived, cutesy efforts which insult the intelligence of the viewers, it is truly refreshing to see a film which matches the sheer heart and magic of treasured classics like The Little Mermaid and Beauty and The Beast. The animation, storyline and comic timing are impeccable and the charm undeniable. Definitely a cartoon that will appeal to both kids and adults. Hopefully Pixar will continue to roll out gems like this. Collapse
  37. AliM.
    Aug 17, 2007
    7
    This film was really funny and the plot was suprisingly good too. however, its rating of 96 (made up mainly of the publicity and attention craving 'critics') puts it above the majority of great classics. If you actually honestly believe that Ratatouille is better than; Schindlers List, Shawshank Redemption, Lord of the Rings etc then thats fine. Its just that, somehow, I This film was really funny and the plot was suprisingly good too. however, its rating of 96 (made up mainly of the publicity and attention craving 'critics') puts it above the majority of great classics. If you actually honestly believe that Ratatouille is better than; Schindlers List, Shawshank Redemption, Lord of the Rings etc then thats fine. Its just that, somehow, I don't think you do... Expand
  38. KarlaS.
    Aug 19, 2007
    10
    These movie is one of the best any studio has produced in the last couple of years. Not only is it technically superb but the story line, the depth and complexity of the characters, the rythm of the events, every single part of this movie makes it a true contemporary master piece. It is so enjoyable that my dad (59) and myself (32) have watched it three times already at the movie theatre. These movie is one of the best any studio has produced in the last couple of years. Not only is it technically superb but the story line, the depth and complexity of the characters, the rythm of the events, every single part of this movie makes it a true contemporary master piece. It is so enjoyable that my dad (59) and myself (32) have watched it three times already at the movie theatre. It is a beautiful work of art. Expand
  39. KyleH
    Aug 2, 2007
    10
    You know, it is said that movies aren't made like they used to be. While this is very true for Ratatouille in the sense that computer-generated 3D animation was not around back in the day, Pixar has mostly proven the saying wrong. There is just something so classy about the films they make and Ratatouille is no exception. It is cute and funny and all-around enjoyable.
  40. JoeS.
    Aug 25, 2007
    10
    This movie is one of the best ive seen, and probably THE BEST ANIMATED MOVIE EVER!!!!!
  41. RavenX301
    Aug 27, 2007
    9
    I still dont think Bard Birds films stay with me as long as John Lasster.....there missing a spiecal kid like charm with an adult mind. Still Bard bird is one of our greatest directors and thank god for Pixar.....could you image if all the animation films were from the 'new' dinesy? YUCK!
  42. BillyV.
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    A film that moves with gusto and wit, Ratatouille far exceeded my expectations. The best animated movie I've seen in a long time.
  43. sheece
    Aug 29, 2007
    10
    A must watch for dreamers and people who love great dialogues. The movie is crafted well - the best character for me though is Anton Ego - the food critic. He has the best lines.
  44. G-RadAndrew
    Sep 3, 2007
    8
    It's not like Finding Nemo or The incredibles, this one is different and a little bit of a change for Pixar. But the changes I liked.
  45. SeanP
    Sep 30, 2007
    10
    Really great. All you really have to say is Pixar and the review is written.
  46. Ginny
    Oct 17, 2008
    7
    Cute. But no matter how much a rat washed himself, I don't think I'd let it near food. Yuck.
  47. BL
    Oct 17, 2008
    10
    This movie gets better each time you watch it. Beautiful! If you "didn't get it" you probably don't have a soul.
  48. GordS
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    For shear entertainment value, the best movie my wife and I have seen in a very long time. Not only is it very funny and charming, but it is visually superb. Every scene is perfectly executed. I never buy DVDs but I am definitely considering this one.
  49. JohnB.
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    Absolutely brilliant. The level of detail on the animation, and nuance in the story line and characterizations, make this the one all future 3d-animated movies must aspire to.
  50. SpikeS.
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    This was, without a doubt, an awesome film, but why are some people who thought it sucked blaming Metacritic for the rating when all they do is average out the reviews given by other companies? They must be nuts...or lonely!
  51. TomP.
    Mar 17, 2008
    8
    I agree completely with Jim R. He nailed it. Nice, just not THAT nice, and certainly not Pixar's best movie.
  52. MelS
    Mar 6, 2008
    7
    It's long, but worth the surprise at the end.
  53. VidhiT.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    Simply awesome! It has the perfect mix of everything. A truly inspirational movie for those who seek to make a memorable film.
  54. WilliamT.
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    A charming, funny, memorable and beautifully animated film that deserves your immediate watching and re-watching. Pixar have done it again and they show no signs of getting tired.
  55. JohnS.
    Apr 3, 2008
    10
    Simply perfect
  56. TrevorM.
    May 11, 2008
    10
    One of those movies where seeing it again just makes it better. After 4 or 5 viewings, I am totally in awe of the subtlety and artistry that's captured over and over again. Some of the sequences are, as one review puts it, balletic. And Paris rarely looked so good - even if it IS generated in a computer. Anyone who tells you this is a kid's movie... is kidding themselves.
  57. AlyssaC.
    Jun 15, 2008
    10
    The story plot was unique. I loved this movie.
  58. WillB.
    Jun 19, 2008
    10
    This is easily Pixar's finest film to date. The humor was clever and the story was unique. I loved every second of it and think that Linguini is simply one of the most amusing characters in the history of film. Five stars!
  59. ChrisC.
    Aug 21, 2008
    9
    A fine movie indeed. I haven't exactly fallen in love with it (to the degree I have WALL-E), but it's charming and unique, and definitely has the power to put a satisfied smile on your face. Remy irritated me a little bit but I'll let that slide.
  60. DavidS
    Nov 30, 2009
    7
    Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a mouse learning to cook more entertaining than the Lord of the Rings Trilogy? Expand
  61. KE.
    Jan 9, 2009
    9
    I only was able to watch the first half, but despite that the movie was just simply awesome.
  62. DanT
    Aug 9, 2009
    10
    By far one of the best films of the 00s. A true work of imagination and heart. Everyone should see this film.
  63. nickj
    Sep 10, 2009
    10
    Ratatouille is the best animated film since Toy Story. It is a beautiful film that carries an extremely relevant pint in the world. However, it is also simply an enjoyable film from start to finish. I have now seen this movie around 10 times, and I love it every time. I just don't know how pixar does it. Bon Appetit!
  64. RyanM
    Sep 27, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite movies of all time. Check out the full review on Rotten Tomatoes.
  65. Anna
    Apr 12, 2010
    8
    Mildy entertaining until the end, where it proved to be truly heartwarming.
  66. DavidS.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Surprise, surprise great for adults.
  67. AlexM.
    Nov 11, 2007
    10
    Perfection!!!!
  68. AbhinavR.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    I have only felt this way about a movie of this genre (comedy) twice. Once for Little Miss Sunshine and now Ratatouille. The animation is spectacular and the story is great. This is probably the second or third best movies I have ever seen in my life.
  69. IsaacB.
    Nov 6, 2007
    7
    I don't understand critics. This movie is good, but it's far from perfect. It's just a kid movie for Christ sake, in no way does it represent the pinnacle of cinema as the metacritic score would suggest. Seriously, the critics are noticeably overpayed by lobbyists. I mean, come on, you can't possibly equate this with The Godfather or Lord of the Rings. It's not I don't understand critics. This movie is good, but it's far from perfect. It's just a kid movie for Christ sake, in no way does it represent the pinnacle of cinema as the metacritic score would suggest. Seriously, the critics are noticeably overpayed by lobbyists. I mean, come on, you can't possibly equate this with The Godfather or Lord of the Rings. It's not even on the level of the considerably good movie, The illusionist, which is underrated by metacritic and the critics in general. Expand
  70. VincentS.
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Original Story & Smart Story.
  71. DustinM.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    Ratatouille proves that Pixar can do no wrong. This is easily one of the best films I've ever seen. With its brilliant plot, amazing quality of animation, engaging soundtrack, and lovable characters, I enjoyed every second of it. A must see.
  72. Calvin
    Nov 8, 2007
    10
    You cannot possibly enjoy this movie to the fullest extent if you consider "perfection" a comparison to movies of an entirely different genre. You wouldn't call Godfather perfect because it lacks the comedic punch of the best comedy films would you? No, you wouldn't. Judge it by it's category you dolts. Anyways, onto reviewing this extravagantly superb movie. I must say, You cannot possibly enjoy this movie to the fullest extent if you consider "perfection" a comparison to movies of an entirely different genre. You wouldn't call Godfather perfect because it lacks the comedic punch of the best comedy films would you? No, you wouldn't. Judge it by it's category you dolts. Anyways, onto reviewing this extravagantly superb movie. I must say, when you pair two brilliantly well defined characters such as Remy and Linguini together a certain majestic duo is generated. Such contrastive characters, the sole survivor, Linguini and the rat belonging to a family of hundreds, Remy. The least expected genius chef controlling a huge imbecile. The way they interact alongside all of the flavorful sidelong characters is simply delightful and the result exudes a certain chemistry found so very rarely nowadays. The relationships, the resolutions, the setting, the emotions, all marry together to form one of the greatest children, no, one of the greatest movies of today. Additionally, the music is simply perfect, Le Festin is charming and the music is perfectly detailed to the very last action in the very last scene. I vividly remember several of the musical scores accompanying their graphical counterparts in a profoundly intimate fashion that put me in awe at the warmth and emotional impact. The animation speaks for itself, it's beautiful, realistic hand gestures, rat movement and behavior, food that is realistic enough, Paris scenery, wonderful visuals to say the least. Remy dreamily taking in Paris's view is something to behold. Ah, there's so much more, but I'll stop there and just say, this movie is amazing. Watch it alone, watch it with you kids, watch it with your girlfriend, watch it with your friends, watch it with whomever, wherever, just do yourself a favor and watch it. Expand
  73. WillL
    Dec 1, 2007
    7
    Probably the most overrated movie of all time, but all the same, I still liked it.
  74. LoganK.
    Dec 12, 2007
    10
    A highly enjoyable movie for anyone of any age! It's especially great for people who love to cook!
  75. DeepaG.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Good script, great animation and excellent character development. One of the most enjoyable Pixar films. The film is unique in its own way and thats what makes it special. For those who like light-hearted films, watch Ratatouille.
  76. MarcusM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    10
    Superb animation, entertaining characters and a fresh plot.. a fantastic, feel-good movie that brings joy to even the coldest hearts!
  77. ChrisB.
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    This movie is a delicate cuisine from the Disney/Pixar kitchen. Within Remy's story, we find message that go to explore the meaning of being picky and not accepting the everyday, with a monologue from Aton Ego. The review warns against being overly critical, and to never allow yourself to disregard something due to being unfamiliar and new. The story is an absolute success, and This movie is a delicate cuisine from the Disney/Pixar kitchen. Within Remy's story, we find message that go to explore the meaning of being picky and not accepting the everyday, with a monologue from Aton Ego. The review warns against being overly critical, and to never allow yourself to disregard something due to being unfamiliar and new. The story is an absolute success, and foretells the many wonders Pixar has yet to unveil. While Disney has not been up to certain standards with its works, we should do well to see if the revelation of RATATOUILLE is dumb luck or a sincere effort for change in the Disney Kitchen. Expand
  78. MauricioB.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    Its really a good movie. Fantantic and goos for kinds and heir parents. A little silly sometimes but a good result.
  79. MonicaA.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    I've been waiting for this blu ray movie for a long time. I tried to rent it many times, but it was always unavailable at the video store (blockbuster only had 2 measly copies of this movie in blu ray in the whole city. I live in Charlotte NC, I also tried renting it from Netflix and blockbuster online to no avail. All I saw in my queue for three weeks was "very long wait"); so my I've been waiting for this blu ray movie for a long time. I tried to rent it many times, but it was always unavailable at the video store (blockbuster only had 2 measly copies of this movie in blu ray in the whole city. I live in Charlotte NC, I also tried renting it from Netflix and blockbuster online to no avail. All I saw in my queue for three weeks was "very long wait"); so my husband decided to take the risk and buy it. The animation is awesome, looks better if you are watching it in true 1080p resolution. The storyline was great. This is a movie everyone should watch. The music is beautiful. I really enjoyed every minute of the movie. Expand
  80. DanielaD.
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    Excellent - haven't felt this good in a long time while viewing a movie!!!
  81. RimasM.
    Oct 29, 2007
    10
    Incredible!
  82. Juba
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    Another brilliant Pixar movie. The characters are lovable and the animation is really top notch. The camera shots put most live action movies to shame and the realism of the food and settings is a wonder to behold. Brad Bird + Pixar = Genius.
  83. BiggestgeekeverClark
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    There's a lot riding on Ratatouille. It's the first Pixar film since Disney bought them for an amount that could make Bill Gates blush, and so it'll be the showcase of whether or not the deal was worth it. I don't hold the answer to whether or not it'll be a monstrous financial success, but what I do know is that if there is one soul working at Corporate Disney in There's a lot riding on Ratatouille. It's the first Pixar film since Disney bought them for an amount that could make Bill Gates blush, and so it'll be the showcase of whether or not the deal was worth it. I don't hold the answer to whether or not it'll be a monstrous financial success, but what I do know is that if there is one soul working at Corporate Disney in which quality matters, Ratatouille delivers in spades. What separates Pixar from the rest of the mediocrity that fills the CGI-animation genre is that they will only tell a story they believe should be told. None of Pixar's films have ever been petty cash-ins, and with the subject matter of this one, there shouldn't be any debate that that philosophy remains intact here. The other fact that puts them head and shoulders above the rest is their ability to put heart into all of their characters. From a rat that wants to cook, to a poor garbage boy, to a critic who's (seemingly) sole purpose is to tear apart any and all who call themselves "chef", each character shows their own great...well...characteristics. The story begins with Remy the rat explaining his origins and how he has an unbelievable sense of smell, letting him pin-point the exact items that a food is made of and what can make any food even better. Naturally, he refuses to eat the normal garbage that his brethren feast upon, and who can blame him? When you can make foods that can bring anyone to their knees, why eat mush? Unfortunately, his tastes are not appreciated by his father, and since he's a rat, it's nigh impossible for to make up any dishes. It's not until he gets to his dream city of Paris that things get moving along. Remy manages to get himself to the restaurant of his idol, Gusteau, where, after witnessing the garbage boy Linguini butcher some soup, he is compelled (by Gusteau....sorta) to fix it. What he batches up is a soup that wins over a very prestigious food critic. However, he is caught in the act by Linguini, who, while hiding Remy, is caught by the chief chef with a ladle and is believed by him to have made the soup. So now, Remy is captured while Linguini is forced to cook up the recipe again. Before dispatching of Remy though, he realizes the rat can understand him, so they pair up and create foods that even Anton Ego (the "Grim Reaper") can't help but love. I think I've ruined enough of the plot for you guys Wink, so I'll talk about the technical aspect of the film. In a word, it is perfection. The rat Expand
  84. anonymous
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Loved it! Easily the best disney-pixar animation yet! And the portrayals of Paris were breathtaking in CGI. Brad Brad is nothing less than genius. The story line was cute yet meaningful and the movie held something for people of all ages! Definitely a film to see.
  85. JennieC.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    My favorite thing about Pixar is that they never go for the cheap laughs and yet are always funnier than any of their CGI counterparts. They are in a class of their own, and this movie is no exception. Completely perfect, though it might be a little long for very young children.
  86. TomD.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Pixar does it again. Great animation married to a great story; thrilling music score, lovable characters. Wonderful entertainment for all ages.
  87. willI
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Pixar delivers once again in a personality-filled masterpiece. Of course Pixar has contributed one of the most famous and memorable kids movies and this one definitely DOES NOT disappoint, it's filled with humorous moments along with awkward ones, which fuses with Pixar's ability to make anything come to life [reference to 2006's CARS] It's definitely a movie for all Pixar delivers once again in a personality-filled masterpiece. Of course Pixar has contributed one of the most famous and memorable kids movies and this one definitely DOES NOT disappoint, it's filled with humorous moments along with awkward ones, which fuses with Pixar's ability to make anything come to life [reference to 2006's CARS] It's definitely a movie for all ages, being a 13 year-old I can honestly say that. I've always been a Pixar fan and view the animation studio to have a perfect record, and Ratatouille does not put a black mark on it. Expand
  88. AMovieCritic
    Jul 15, 2007
    7
    It was..."cute." That's really all that I can say of it. It definitely doesn't hold a candle to some of Pixar's other films. It's a bit slow and the premise is a little too strange. But I still ended up having a good time at this one. It's definitely in need of editing (way too long for an animated movie) but Brad Bird is really a great writer/director and it It was..."cute." That's really all that I can say of it. It definitely doesn't hold a candle to some of Pixar's other films. It's a bit slow and the premise is a little too strange. But I still ended up having a good time at this one. It's definitely in need of editing (way too long for an animated movie) but Brad Bird is really a great writer/director and it shows with this movie. As was to be expected, it looks great and the voice acting is top-notch. I had fun watching it, but like I said...a little slow, a little strange, and even a bit predictable. Still a nice movie with likable characters. As a side-note, though, this is easily Pixar's least accessible film, as it's extremely dialogue-driven and I think its target audience of little kids will be extremely bored during it. It's definitely for an older audience. Expand
  89. P.O.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    A breath of fresh air. Simply a wonderful movie. Very funny, with lots of whit and character.
  90. David
    Aug 11, 2007
    8
    I shouldn't have expected anything less than brilliance from Pixar. It's a visually magnificent and warm-hearted film, and another homerun for a studio that can seem to do no wrong.
  91. RattyM.
    Aug 12, 2007
    9
    Inspiring Proustian tale, visually tremendous.
  92. JonasB.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    While delivering a solid entertainment experience, great works of art subtly reveal fundamental human truths to their audience. That is what this cartoon is about, and that is what this film does. Though understated, it is a masterpiece. My 3-year-old loved it, but I was in heaven. A lot of novels and movies have tried to portray the miracle of the artist, or the expression of passion While delivering a solid entertainment experience, great works of art subtly reveal fundamental human truths to their audience. That is what this cartoon is about, and that is what this film does. Though understated, it is a masterpiece. My 3-year-old loved it, but I was in heaven. A lot of novels and movies have tried to portray the miracle of the artist, or the expression of passion through cooking; Ratatouille ranks with the best of them. Expand
  93. HazemA.
    Aug 31, 2007
    10
    My god I was blown away. One of the best films I've seen in my life. I will be looking at rats in a different way now. I will be a cooking enthusiast. It's just simply a masterpeice. Thank you Pixar
  94. JerrodM.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Pixar hits it out of the park once again. And once again, it's something completely original. Marvel at the technical feats but it's the story, truly the story, that raises this fine animated film to fine film making.
  95. SakkarnC
    Sep 25, 2007
    9
    It's one of the best movies I've seen in years. It's a feel good movie and also a meaningful one. The crowd gave it a round of applause at the end. Highly recommended.
  96. HyperS
    Nov 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best animated films I have ever seen. While the likes of Finding Nemo & Wall-E trump Ratatouille in stunning colorful visuals and character originality this movie excels in a wonderful mix of story and charm that I hadn't seen since the original Toy Story and adds in a dash of old school physical humor as the special ingredient. Yummy! My compliments to the chef.
  97. TomEye
    Jan 22, 2008
    7
    It's a pretty good film - has a decent narrative, good character formation, animation is spot on. However, I'm not too sure how a film/animation that doesn't have a deep, thoughtful storyline be in the ten films according to this website. It's beyond perplexing.
  98. SerkanU.
    Jan 31, 2008
    10
    It is a wonder how these superb artists can make such a brilliant animation with superb characters and humor out of a story as ridiculous as "a cooking rat in Paris"
  99. StephenL.
    Apr 21, 2008
    8
    This was good clean fun and it had a charming simple story, the bit where the colours on screen describe the flavours of the food was inspired.
  100. CalvinN.
    May 31, 2008
    10
    This movie ROCKED! Great animation, storyline, acting, everything! Except for the romance with Linguini and Collette. I hate romance. But otherwise, it was great! Hilarious! Pixar does it again! buy this movie!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    The subtle colors and textures of the food alone make Ratatouille a three-star Michelin evening.
  2. 100
    In Ratatouille, the level of moment-by-moment craftsmanship is a wonder.
  3. 100
    This is clearly one of the best of the year's films. Every time an animated film is successful, you have to read all over again about how animation isn't "just for children" but "for the whole family," and "even for adults going on their own." No kidding!