User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 1096 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RaulM.
    Sep 23, 2009
    10
    In my opinion, THE greatest animated film of all time, and one of the greatest all-around films of all time. It's perfect.
  2. JessicaG.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been giving it? Are you all just trying to be different because everyone seems to like the movie and you have some kind of problem with an animated pixar It seems so sad that some of the the fan written reviews written on this site are below the score of a 10. This movie is so appealing to the eye and has such a wonderful story that I do not understand the horrible reviews the fans have been giving it? Are you all just trying to be different because everyone seems to like the movie and you have some kind of problem with an animated pixar film? Suffice it to say, whomever have scored this movie in the yellow or red are officially morons. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2011
    7
    Its very very difficult to get food appetizing in a cartoon and the animators did a great job in this movie. I enjoyed the culture of the film but the overall story was a little too predictable and standard, perhaps the movie needed more laughs. It's not Pixars best but Ratatouille was a fun and worth while animated movie.
  4. Apr 9, 2013
    9
    Ratatouille has more life, meaning and intelligence then almost every film out there. Pixar has always done a fantastic job of reaching out to children, while drawing adults in and Ratatouille is no exception.
  5. ValerieW
    Jul 19, 2007
    9
    This is a Pixar film that really appeals to both children and adults. The beautiful animation, the humor, the look inside a French restaurant kitchen are for the grown-ups. And there's also plenty of silliness and excitement for the kids. And this animated Paris is breathtaking - I wanted to jump right on a plane.
  6. Aug 12, 2011
    10
    This movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film, wether it's the animation itself, the French sets or the whole animated city of Paris, this movie seems like one of the most delicately executed andThis movie is the start of a flawless four film streak by Pixar from 2007's Ratatouille to 2010's Toy Story 3. This one is one the especially strong Pixar efforts in terms of Comedy. There's also a pure artistic appeal to the whole film, wether it's the animation itself, the French sets or the whole animated city of Paris, this movie seems like one of the most delicately executed and thought out films of 2007 Expand
  7. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Ratatouille is funny, original, heartfelt, well voice acted and beautifully animated. As Pixar makes more and more movies they make just fantastic films like Ratatouille. I give this film 96%.
  8. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    Let me just say that I hate and have no respect for Patton Oswalt whatsoever for reasons I'd rather not discuss. But watching this movie, I could easily forget he's the voice of Remy, becuase I loved everything about this movie. As always Pixar, great job!
  9. AaronS.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, 'Ratatouille' never forgets it's a story first and foremost. Bird and co. have lavished just as much attention to the script as they did the animation. The Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, 'Ratatouille' never forgets it's a story first and foremost. Bird and co. have lavished just as much attention to the script as they did the animation. The very reason Pixar is so far ahead of the pack. Expand
  10. MylesM.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it from being timeless, and nothing was formulaic other than the mild relationship to "Ben and Me". Just when you thought it was over, you say, "Wait; what The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it from being timeless, and nothing was formulaic other than the mild relationship to "Ben and Me". Just when you thought it was over, you say, "Wait; what about Ego the food critique?". And so it goes. Animation was magical and spectacular, and the character development was first-rate. I have already reserved a copy for me and for my grandkids from Amazon when its out for distribution. Expand
  11. KatherineS.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art of it was unbelievable--scratches on the copper pots, bubbles in the soup, realistic details everywhere. And in Paris, I enjoyed the "special" details This movie was a total delight, from start to finish. Unlike most "children's" movies, there was no annoying sidekick character playing the buffoon; the humor was wonderful--both kids and adults were hooting all around me; and the art of it was unbelievable--scratches on the copper pots, bubbles in the soup, realistic details everywhere. And in Paris, I enjoyed the "special" details cleverly tucked into the background--the "no smoking" poster in French, the traffic, the Bateaux Mouches, the Notre Dame rose window. I have loved movies my entire life, and this one is clearly in My Favorite Top 10! Expand
  12. Nadie....
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    Not an animated film, a great movie. Well written, funny, well directed. This is what movies are all about.
  13. AsepD.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy surface antics and clever dialogue will keep people in stitches while Bird and company tell a story about art, passion, and what drives people to create in While children will doubtless find this entertaining, there are much deeper issues permeating the latest PIXAR masterpiece. This is a film speaking directly to the adults in the audience while keeping the children occupied. The clumsy surface antics and clever dialogue will keep people in stitches while Bird and company tell a story about art, passion, and what drives people to create in the face of adversity. It's about following dreams, heeding the heart, and how perseverance can lead to triumph. Told and presented in a flawless technical skill, through characters and situations only PIXAR could deliver. This is a form of perfection, and do not deny yourself the experience. Expand
  14. ARGHARGH
    Aug 24, 2009
    10
    One of the best Pixar films ever made. Beautiful to behold; it's a masterpiece.
  15. DougN.
    Nov 12, 2007
    8
    Very good, but a little too sweet for my liking.
  16. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    "Ratatouille" is a movie created for only the Westerners and ends up appealing to both western and eastern people.
  17. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers. Best Pixar film? Maybe, Best 2007 film? definitely!! Ratatouille is a masterpiece that everyone will love. The characters, the humor, the memorable moments and basically everything in this movie is exellent. A delicious buffet.

    Note: Sorry for my english, im from Costa Rica.
    Collapse
  18. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    This movie is really outstanding! The graphics were excellent, the theme is great, the plot is mesmerizing, the characters were amazing. Everything in this film were fantastic. This is a true masterpiece...
  19. ChadS.
    Dec 16, 2007
    10
    There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget you're watching an animated picture) reminds us why we love the movies. "Ratatouille" is so sophisticated, there's an extra tier of sophistication There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget you're watching an animated picture) reminds us why we love the movies. "Ratatouille" is so sophisticated, there's an extra tier of sophistication that will fly under the radar of most moviegoers. "Ratatouille", to my utter disbelief, has references to the Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan and his film "Felicia's Journey". Ian Holm, who voices the role of Skinner, the chef in exile, was in Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter". This is such tremendous fun for cineastes because we can't understand why it's there in the first place. This piece of trivia is irrelevant to enjoying "Ratatouille", but the references are there, nevertheless. In an ordinary film, it's Linguini(voiced by Lou Romano) who'd be delusional(that a rat is actually doing the cooking), but in "Ratatouille", it's the delusion(from Skinner's point-of-view(he's the first person to see the rat); Skinner, who reminds me of that single person who sees the duck in those Aflac commercials) who has delusions(Chef Gusteau is Remy's muse). "Ratatouille" also has references to Carol Emschwiller's novel "The Mount" and Gary Larson's "The Far Side". And if you remember Ralph Fiennes' wine cellar speech to Embeth Davidtz in "Schindler's List", "Ratatouille" can be interpreted as a fantastical parable that sutures the rift between Jews and Germans. "Ratatouille" is a truly extraordinary movie that makes you laugh, cry, and most importantly, think. This is Pixar's high-water mark, and that's really saying something. Expand
  20. MarkC.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film Board cartoons. It was a fantastic movie.
  21. AndrewG
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Ridiculously good. I liked it better than both The Incredibles and Cars.
  22. DavidS
    Mar 18, 2010
    10
    Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a Quite honestly, I'm amazed and disappointed that this film is rated as highly as it is. Nearly every part of Rattatouille has been recycled from past Pixar films. Sure, the animation looks great... in fact visually, Rattatouille is beautiful. But shouldn't we be interested in telling a story, not showing a tech demo? Or is our society so bland and unintelligent that we find a mouse learning to cook more entertaining than the Lord of the Rings Trilogy? Expand
  23. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    Simply One Of The Best Movies Of 2007!
    One Word For This Movie: Amazing
  24. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Another great computer-animated film for Walt Disney! A different, and more unusual plot compared to typical happy-ending movies. The movie also presented and gave viewers a sense of how dynamic the kitchen in a restaurant is. A little unrealistic, but overall a well done.
  25. Jul 10, 2013
    9
    Watching it gets me hungry, and it has its fun moments and great appeal. If you don't like it, thats just shocking then. Because this is the best Pixar film by far
  26. Robdscdsvc
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Visually stunning, classic characters, 100% original, and simply amazing. This just may be the greatest movie i have EVER seen.
  27. Kent
    Mar 5, 2009
    10
    This truly is Disney/Pixar's Magnum Opus. Excellent script, good graphics and nice character development. Brad Bird out-did himself here.
  28. markt
    Apr 2, 2010
    10
    Amazing.........PIXAR have done it again and it's one of there best.
  29. MarkJ.
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    I've since become a professional chef. Thank you Ratatouille.
  30. RethunkReview
    Oct 5, 2007
    10
    Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are his only weapons. This bears repeating: the ultimate conflict in this movie concerns a rat that cooks and a snooty gourmand, AND IT WORKS. What Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are his only weapons. This bears repeating: the ultimate conflict in this movie concerns a rat that cooks and a snooty gourmand, AND IT WORKS. What production companies can pull this off? Perhaps only Pixar. That said, this movie may not be for everyone. If you like predictability and mediocre pop tunes in your animation films, and if you don't mind variability in the quality of production, then by all means rent The Lion King instead. If you want to see a remarkable production from storytellers who elevate simplicity to elegance, than Ratatouille may be the movie for you. Expand
  31. BenN
    Oct 8, 2007
    10
    One word WOW!!! and i only say that to very little movies but if you have not seen it yet SEE IT!!!
  32. JudyR.
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has mentioned to spot-on animation of the rats. Believe me, I know my rats, and the Pixar crew did a beautiful job of making them completely convincing. The swim Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has mentioned to spot-on animation of the rats. Believe me, I know my rats, and the Pixar crew did a beautiful job of making them completely convincing. The swim like rats, they use their 'hands' like rats, everything. A well crafted triumph; maybe the best Pixar movie to date. Expand
  33. HH.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    It's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't rely on violence and swearing to tell an incredible story as enjoyable for adults as well as children.
  34. MatthewL.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative criticism seem downright petty. Its been a long time since a film--or any work of art--has so inspired and fulfilled me. I can't wait to see it again.
  35. JoshE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film are so powerful, they take your breath away.
  36. Sam
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and while it is a "believe in yourself" movie, it's done in a never-before seen way. It's simply stunning, as well. I loved, loved, loved Peter Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and while it is a "believe in yourself" movie, it's done in a never-before seen way. It's simply stunning, as well. I loved, loved, loved Peter O'toole's character (it basically screams 'Tim Burton' at times) as well as Brad Garret's character. They're like opposites and they're part of the reason this movie is so entertaining. But it wouldn't be the same with Remy, Linguini, or Skinner. Their characters are so key and preposterously lovable (yes, I thought Skinner was a lovable character, sue me). They're so full of life that they keep this bloat floating. Touche, once again, Pixar. Touche. (P.S. Anybody else pumped about Wall-E?) Expand
  37. MattC.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Simply perfect in every way... Best animated film yet? You bet.
  38. DarynP.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and cars to life in the past. And best of all, they've made them endearing. Kudos to them for adding rats to that list. Next year, it will be I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and cars to life in the past. And best of all, they've made them endearing. Kudos to them for adding rats to that list. Next year, it will be robots. I can't wait. Expand
  39. Andrew
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Original, original, original, original...the whole genre has been re-engineered.
  40. JoseY.
    Jul 2, 2007
    8
    Inspiring, a pretty much Disney movie for the whole family but specially for the small ones.
  41. PaulF.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the lead seamed quite heady, even for a rat that could cook and manipulate people simply by pulling on their hair strings. As for the laughs there were The animation was great, acting more than decent, and the story cohesive. Over all I'd say it was a pretty good movie. Definitely kid friendly though I thought some of the dialog too complex for a youngster. I did not mind a bit but the lead seamed quite heady, even for a rat that could cook and manipulate people simply by pulling on their hair strings. As for the laughs there were only a couple of really good ones. Most of the time I sat with a slight grin. And there was one laugh concerning Ego the critic I will not soon forget. Is this a master piece no. But it is definitely worthy of a view. Whether you think it is theater or DVD worthy, well, that's up to you. Expand
  42. KyleC.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. The voice casting was spot-on, all out inspired. The uinstory was clearly loved by children, and appreciated by the many adults many in the audience Ratatouille lives up to its near universal acclaim. A full two months after the release date, two cynical New York City adults had trouble getting seats in a packed house on a Saturday afternoon. Rightly so. The film is visually stunning. The voice casting was spot-on, all out inspired. The uinstory was clearly loved by children, and appreciated by the many adults many in the audience without kids in tow. Pixar has created a winner! Run, don't walk to see this film. You'll be glad you did. Expand
  43. FranciscoC.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. It dint have a single dull moment, the best timing (important factor to consider with comedy) and the most lovable characters. Pixar is in the track to Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. It dint have a single dull moment, the best timing (important factor to consider with comedy) and the most lovable characters. Pixar is in the track to make us all adults believe (at last!) that animation can be for adults with great ease. Expand
  44. JH
    Jan 1, 2008
    10
    My favorite Pixar film since The Incredibles.
  45. CaptainYes
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    WOW! What a great movie. Stunning visuals, great story, and a main character who's faced with real decisions. I would highly recommend this to anyone!
  46. AndyM.
    Jun 30, 2008
    8
    It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything wrong with it, really. I can find things wrong in the other memorable Pixar films, but... those films had an air of charm and awe to them, which this It's a good movie, a really good movie, in fact. But was it as good as Finding Nemo? As good as Wall-E and the other Pixar classics? Perhaps, but not nearly as memorable. This movie just felt like... another. I can't find anything wrong with it, really. I can find things wrong in the other memorable Pixar films, but... those films had an air of charm and awe to them, which this unfortunately lacked. It may be the best reviewed of the Pixar movies, but not the most memorable in the slightest. And since I gave Wall-E a 9 and it was better than this, I have to give this one an 8. Expand
  47. KyleB.
    Jan 6, 2009
    10
    I loved the movie, its the only movie that my family and I can all agree to watching, and even if there is a rat cooking it still makes us want to eat afterwards. Two thumbs up.
  48. AnweshP
    Feb 23, 2010
    10
    Ratatouille incredibly convinces. It is great entertainment. Brad Bird rules!!
  49. JamesL.
    Oct 2, 2007
    10
    A truly beautiful movie. Kids will like it, but adults will love it.
  50. [Anonymous]
    Oct 28, 2007
    10
    This movie is amazing! I just loved it! It had a lot of meaning, the idea was original, and very creative.
  51. DavidD
    Oct 8, 2007
    8
    Hey Cameron, it is not metacritic that rates these movies. They just accumulate the ratings of all the other critics. But i guess if you would try and stay awake and pay attention, you would know that. The movie was not the greatest but it was a very good all around movie for adults and kids.
  52. PaulK.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    This is on the low end of a 9...I wasn't blown away, as I was hoping after seeing the 95 metascore, but nevertheless, the animation was superior and the story was good and endearing in parts. A little on the long side...this might be a better pick for video, if you have restless wee ones.
  53. SeriousMovieGoer
    Jun 29, 2007
    7
    Ratatouille is special in it's CGI potrayals of Paris, although it lacks something from previous Pixar movies. You can't say that the people don't look amazingly real, but not one character delivers something so funny that you'll choke on your popcorn. Ratatouille is a good movie for the kids, but I can't guarantee that you won't snore.
  54. SidneyT.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    On par with the Incredibles and Finding Nemo....even better!
  55. SabrinaM.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille is beautifully animated and surprisingly touching. Surely, there are the make-believe messages that may have seemed far-fetched in reality but It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille is beautifully animated and surprisingly touching. Surely, there are the make-believe messages that may have seemed far-fetched in reality but totally in line with the objectives of Disney pictures, such as how the whole clan of rats (starring Remy's brother and father, who lack taste in food, or trust in humans--initially) creates a beautiful meal towards the end, or the worn out ideals of pursuing one's dreams as long as one invests passion (Gusteau says, "Everyone can cook"), or even just how Linguini can communicate with Remy; or, consider the ludicrous images of American cross-culturalism in a French context (the kitchen staff is all mixed with people of different backgrounds or ethnicities), and of all the French English accent. Yet, this film works because it opens one's eyes to the beauty of creativity and, to me personally, because it succeeds in bringing forward inspiring thoughts on the issue of criticism. In many ways, Anton Ego, the critic with a big ego, mirrors myself. A long, emanciated face and a menacing voice, his critique is sharp and pungent, making his opinion effective to the extent that it filters out the nonsense; his acute taste, while working to the advantage of offering judgments, hinders him in being open and positive about that which he is evaluating. When asked by Linguini why a critic who likes food looks so skinny, he says dogmatically, "I don't like food, I love food. If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it". The question is, what kind of a love for food is this? What does he love? How much is he appreciating food for food itself, or aware of the value of that which he chooses to spit out and grimace about? What is key is that there is an implicit downside in the nature of criticism if its focus is primarily on digging out the negative sides of the subject matter. After savoring the beautifully crafted ratatouille sensation that Remy and his clan put together, served by Linguini the cook/ waiter on wheels, he reevaluates his criteria for critique; after the unfortunate termination of the restaurant's business due to its unhygienic conditions (N.B. the rats), his credibility is damaged, but he is seen in Linguini's new bistro, enjoying the famed ratatouille, his occupation as a critic something of the past and the mean look of criticism gone from his face. Just as how his face lit up in childhood reminiscence of his mother's ratatouille when he first tastes Remy's creation, now he is rid of the need to be faultfinding, is broadening his love for food and, in that way, is closer to it. The phenomenal human touch at the end of this film touches me to open up myself, and reminds me that the critical taste of an individual comes not only with the act of opting for what is good, but also with embracing what may have seemed bad. To reject something when it does not seem good enough ("If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it") ruins the prospects of discovering something better to come, because that negative energy fails to give due credit to anything and alienates one from that which one professes to love. Note: Ratatouille is a vegetable dish from southen France, made out of eggplants, onions, garlic, green peppers, tomatoes, zucchini, with a variety of spices, simmered in olive oil. Have got to try this dish, and this film has got to be seen. Expand
  56. E.B.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Pixar had a lot to live up to with the release of their new film. They succeeded! It is so great to see a "Family Film" do so well in the theater, instead of all the trash that is out there. Long live Pixar!
  57. BibliotechaSanchez
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was runnin the show.
  58. MatthewG.
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    This is surely one of the films from the 21st century that will be remembered, studied, and watched in 2107. Everything about this movie is perfect.
  59. SusanF
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Genius! Just a brilliant, heartwarming, eloquent film from start to finish.
  60. MikeD.
    Jul 13, 2007
    7
    A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, Monsters Inc. or Toy Story. What I mean by that is that Pixar's movies tend to really be two movies in parallel: one for kids made of colorful, funny, A good movie, but not among Pixar's best, in my opinion. There were no real surprises in the plot (the trailers give you pretty much all the clues you need about the major themes), and not nearly as much subtle humor as in, say, Monsters Inc. or Toy Story. What I mean by that is that Pixar's movies tend to really be two movies in parallel: one for kids made of colorful, funny, interesting characters following relatively simple plot lines; and one which only comes out through the dialogue, for parents who brought the kids (or kidless adults). Ratatouille had plenty of the former, little of the latter. Still, a good movie and worth seeing. Expand
  61. stevet
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    One of the best movies -- not animated movies, not rated-G movies -- I have seen. It is entirely captivating and after it was done, I knew I loved it but couldn't say exactly why. It wasn't just the voices or the artistry or the story. In the end, it was the movie!
  62. scott
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Oh hell yeah. Another home run for Pixar.
  63. AlisaH
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you know, movies that aren't really made anymore. It had an engaging storyline with enough humor to make sure the mood doesn't get too dark, but When this movie was first advertised, I said, "Wonderful ANOTHER shallow toddler movie!". I was mistaken. This movie has earned its rank of Universal Acclaim, it reminded me of classics like the Lion King, Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, you know, movies that aren't really made anymore. It had an engaging storyline with enough humor to make sure the mood doesn't get too dark, but it didn't keep everything light moodwise and that impressed me even more because sometimes you don't see that much at all. Honestly, I can't wait to see this again and am satisfied with it beyond measure, show it to your kids, heck show it to your entire family, it's worth watching. Expand
  64. JadeB
    Jul 26, 2007
    7
    This is a nice movie. It isn't brilliant. Its cute, it isn't hilarious. Its mildly touching, it isn't transcendent. This movie seems to have gotten such rave reviews just because it isn't another convoluted summer mess. Director Brad Birds other movies, The Iron Giant & The Incredibles are easily superior.
  65. C.H.H.
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    An excellent film; not just an excellent kids film or an excellent animation film, an excellent film period. Wonderful.
  66. DF.
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    A fine film, full of witty lines and memorable characters. Although, not a classic like Toy Story or Finding Nemo, it sure to delight people of all ages
  67. JuanP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic movie, once again Pixar did it, and better.
  68. Linea
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Oh man, it was definitely my favorite movie ever. There actually is a very good plot, and Linguini's character was done very well. The short before is hilarious!!!
  69. AnL.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    great movie!!! Beautifully crafted. Visually satisfying. And a lot of fun too!!!!
  70. ZeeM
    Jul 30, 2007
    9
    One Of My Favorite Original Animation Movie I have ever seen...Great Animation, wonderful and a touching story line.
  71. DeonduP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    The best animated movie I have ever seen. My kids and wife loved it too. Fantastic animation, and fantastic story.
  72. DanielC.
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    George, it's a kids movie, not the godfather. Sure it doesn't make complete sense but it is a joy to watch. Kids will lap this one up. 4 stars.
  73. ScooterL
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    More intelligent and sophisticated than 95% of adult films. And it's a blast.
  74. MarkK.
    Jul 6, 2007
    9
    A well-spent 2 hours! Our kids liked it; I liked it; my wife liked it. Its only downside is that it could be trimmed to the more kid friendly 90 minutes. Still, 'Ratatouliie' is great fun.
  75. AnneR
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    What an amazing film. I forgot it was animated and was as involved int he plot as I would have been with real actors. this is truly a gem.
  76. LukeT.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life (1985-). The animation was flawless, the vocal performances (especially Oswalt's and O'Toole's) were excellent, and the food looked good In the interest of full disclosure, I have to admit I have not seen an animated film since 1999's Toy Story 2. Nevertheless, I can say with great certainty that this is one of the best movies I've seen in theaters in my life (1985-). The animation was flawless, the vocal performances (especially Oswalt's and O'Toole's) were excellent, and the food looked good enough to eat! Though I've seen a number of good films in the past 7 years, the only ones to leave me feeling this uplifted were the Lord of the Rings and Batman begins (excellent company for any film to me). I can also say that Pixar has officially become what Disney's traditional animation used to be (up to 1994). As a side note, the Wall-E teaser was absolutely adorable and i look forward to it being the next Pixar masterpiece. Expand
  77. ClayT
    Jul 8, 2007
    10
    A great movie. I was surprised by the amount of adult humor in the film. Kudos on making a movie that everyone can enjoy. I just hope Pixar doesn't lose it's focus and start putting out watered down versions of itself. Dreamworks replaced the wittiness of Shrek with poop and burp in Shrek the Third.
  78. WynnJ.
    Aug 18, 2007
    10
    It reminded me so much of Babette's Feast, that great Danish film from the 80s. It's an ars poetica, in that it illustrates how art (food) is created and how it nourishes even the harshest of souls. The best film I've seen since last year's Pan's Labyrinth, and the best animated film since The Incredibles. Bravo Pixar!
  79. MichelleN
    Aug 21, 2007
    9
    This movie was great! Very heartwarming and inspiring! Definitely lived up to my expectations and made me view rats in a whole new light!
  80. JackB.
    Aug 23, 2007
    8
    A good movie with great visuals and a good story, but younger kids wouldn't really get it.
  81. WeepstahW.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    Brad Bird is the best director working in Hollywood today. As good as The Incredibles, which is saying alot.
  82. ThePlatypope
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into their movies making them the one of most competent film studio around. The plot, silly? Yes. Genius? Yes. Sure the animation was good and all, but that I love movies. I am bold enough to say that, at certain times in my 16 years of being on this planet, I have lived for movies. Now, this is the best movie of the year thus far, by far. It's simply amazing the effort Pixar puts into their movies making them the one of most competent film studio around. The plot, silly? Yes. Genius? Yes. Sure the animation was good and all, but that was to be expected. The message of the film is that "change is good." Highlighted in the trip to the pest control window, the rat and his father take. If only all change could amount to a brilliant film such as this one. Expand
  83. JohnG.
    Sep 13, 2007
    10
    Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of my favorite companies. Each year, they get better and better.....and this year, they topped the cake. Ratatouille must be one of my favorite movies Being an adult, I'm usually pessimistic about watching animated cartoons.... but ever since Pixar first came out, they have captivated me. A combination of great voice acting, a delightful plot, and computer animation makes Pixar one of my favorite companies. Each year, they get better and better.....and this year, they topped the cake. Ratatouille must be one of my favorite movies this year so far... From the very beginning, it captured my attention, and kept it from beginning to end. It's a film for everyone, and a must see. I highly recommend this movie. Bon Apetit! Expand
  84. BroderickG.
    Sep 18, 2007
    10
    I've already seen it multiple times, but this movie just won't leave me. There is no one in the industry like Pixar, and after Ratatouille, I doubt anyone will ever get close.
  85. Eleanor
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it seriously. Ratatouille conveys humor through many subtle channels that you don't see very often in both "adult" or "children" films these days. The Cameron A. who gave Ratatouille a rating of 0 obviously cannot appreciate sophisticated humor. Considering that review demonstrates an inability to spell and use correct grammar, I'm sure you'll forgive me for not taking it seriously. Ratatouille conveys humor through many subtle channels that you don't see very often in both "adult" or "children" films these days. The facial expressions and hand gestures say as much as the actual dialogue and is another demonstration of Pixar's high animation quality. Ratatouille leaves you feeling warm and happy. Not to mention a craving for the actual dish. Expand
  86. MihailsB.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Top professional and good movie. Just super.
  87. MattA.
    Jan 12, 2008
    10
    This film is so beautiful it honestly brings tears to my eyes just thinking about it.
  88. MarkR
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    Brad Bird is the man. This an the Incredibles truly are masterpieces of character driven animation. How is it that Pixar are SO FAR ahead of anyone else? Outstanding and long may they continue.
  89. FrederikP.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    The most beautiful movie i have ever seen. I love the message of Ratatouille.
  90. DannyM.
    Mar 7, 2008
    10
    At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The animation was great, and the conflict was something that I had NEVER seen before. It was a total breath of fresh air. Watch this movie as soon as you At first when I saw the ad on TV for this film, I really had a strong doubt that I would have enjoyed it as much as Toy Story, or Bugs Life, and I will I didn't. But the movie still deserved a flat out 10. Pixar had not let us down. The animation was great, and the conflict was something that I had NEVER seen before. It was a total breath of fresh air. Watch this movie as soon as you get the chance. Expand
  91. ChrisS
    May 4, 2009
    8
    This is a very good movie and visually stunning but lets not get carried away on it being a masterpiece or anything of that nature
  92. KyleR
    Jan 25, 2010
    7
    I liked this movie its a work of art pixar is does it again, good stuff... now for everyone wondering why this is rated top movie of all time status.. SPOILER.. a character in this movie has strong ties and relates to critics.. may be why critics love this.. if i ever make a movie ill be sure to give a critic a main role lol but i could be wrong this is a good movie its just not 10 worthy
  93. Audriana
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    I give this a 10!! I captivated me from the start of the movie to the credit role!!!
  94. jahazielf
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    One of the most charming movies ever made. no company in the world knows how to approach making a character, and remy is one of their best. this movie has everything. it has a great story, wonderful charm, clever humor throughout, even a couple of action sequences. also, if you're watching it on blu-ray in 1080p, this will one of the most breathtaking visual feasts you will ever come across.
  95. JackC
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    Such a great movie!
  96. stoshw
    Nov 11, 2007
    7
    Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and I can't believe that kids would be that taken with it. As someone already mentioned , it's not a movie that would be fun to watch a second Maybe this was a case of expectations having been raised far too high before I saw this movie , but it was just OK. Technically brilliant , but it felt slow and draggie to me and I was just never caught up in it. I was glad when it ended and I can't believe that kids would be that taken with it. As someone already mentioned , it's not a movie that would be fun to watch a second time like finding Nemo or the Toy Stories. Maybe I'm not foodie enough , but I actually think giving it a 7 is pretty generous on my part. Your tastes may vary. Expand
  97. SusanaG.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    The best movie of pixar!! i love remy! ... Very fun.
  98. VinothT.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    i find it interesting because it has used new technique such as the fog and the place where the Gasteau is situated the cartoon (or more like a film ) shows why is the Pixar company a leading company in animated movie.
  99. KhoiN
    Nov 6, 2007
    10
    Surprisingly good!
  100. TonyC.
    Nov 7, 2007
    10
    One of the best films of 2007.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    The subtle colors and textures of the food alone make Ratatouille a three-star Michelin evening.
  2. 100
    In Ratatouille, the level of moment-by-moment craftsmanship is a wonder.
  3. 100
    This is clearly one of the best of the year's films. Every time an animated film is successful, you have to read all over again about how animation isn't "just for children" but "for the whole family," and "even for adults going on their own." No kidding!