Ratatouille

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 1292 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. CameronA.
    Sep 23, 2007
    0
    I can't believe this movie got 96 when i feel a sleep because i was so bored. This movie was supposed to be better then all the pirates, transformers, and lord of the rings. NO WAY! 6th best movie ever. Metacritic is unreliable and has low movie ratings for all teen movies and good ratings for all adult movies and boring kids movies!
  2. JayB
    Jul 20, 2007
    3
    Beautifully animated, poorly written. Some of the most uncomfortable, cliched, awkward script moments ever. The movie seemed to try to go in two different directions and failed to give the audience a sense of completeness. Was it about Linguini's romantic struggle? Or was it about a rat who could cook? I had to dull out my brain in order to bear some of the inconsistencies in the Beautifully animated, poorly written. Some of the most uncomfortable, cliched, awkward script moments ever. The movie seemed to try to go in two different directions and failed to give the audience a sense of completeness. Was it about Linguini's romantic struggle? Or was it about a rat who could cook? I had to dull out my brain in order to bear some of the inconsistencies in the movie. I am not surprised this movie got high ratings however. These days people will take anything shiny and distracting. Expand
  3. DianaM.
    Jul 27, 2007
    3
    the best part of this movie is its soundtrack--and it's not even a musical. the score is the only element with range (ooooh and every transition is seamless!), while the characters are underdeveloped and (...wait for it...wait for it...) flavorless--ha!, and the colors are as dazzling as the arc de triomphe in fog. hell, even janeane garofalo manages total insipidity! her covert the best part of this movie is its soundtrack--and it's not even a musical. the score is the only element with range (ooooh and every transition is seamless!), while the characters are underdeveloped and (...wait for it...wait for it...) flavorless--ha!, and the colors are as dazzling as the arc de triomphe in fog. hell, even janeane garofalo manages total insipidity! her covert vocals are wondrous to be sure, but only magnify that Colette (a fair-weather feminist) does nothing to jazz up her wet noodle, Linguini (yukyuk), who in turn gives the evil Ego less than zilch to bounce off of. now, please don't think me hard-hearted. i am a vegan who's been madly in love with three people, angus, matty and pouter--a scotch terrier and two cats. nothing makes me happier than to see animated creatures with personalities, facial tics and accents just as disparate and human as their real-life inspirations. oooooh, inspiration...where's that on the menu? Expand
  4. TracyB.
    Jul 1, 2007
    3
    We did not like this movie- visually impressive but should have been a 5-10 minute cartoon.
  5. JustinL.
    Aug 17, 2007
    1
    It was miserable, How could it get a 96, it was terrible.
  6. WayneH
    Jun 16, 2008
    3
    This movie just aint that good. It kinda bored me!
  7. Ratatouilleisc***
    Oct 17, 2007
    1
    How can u be so stupid (or, poopid) , Metacritic? ra-ta-too-ee should have got like 15% instead of being da 6th best film EVER! I agree with Cameron A. HOW CAN EVERYONE BE SO STUPID?!?!? I'm starting to feel that metacritic is slightly dumb. IDIOT!!!
  8. GeorgeH
    Jun 30, 2007
    2
    Beautiful to look at but such a big jumbled mess!A huge, unfocused and bloated script with plot twists and devices that a five year old could have written. I am amaed this movie has gotten such high ratings. Biggest gripes? Here goes! 1) I hate it when a movie establishes it's time period and then throws in anachronisms that make your mind go, "Huh?" For example, t's set in the Beautiful to look at but such a big jumbled mess!A huge, unfocused and bloated script with plot twists and devices that a five year old could have written. I am amaed this movie has gotten such high ratings. Biggest gripes? Here goes! 1) I hate it when a movie establishes it's time period and then throws in anachronisms that make your mind go, "Huh?" For example, t's set in the '50's so how could Gusteau's be selling microwave dinners? And a major plot point is solved with DNA profiling? 2) The kid - whatever his name was - looks to be all of 10 years old and then we're supposed to a romantic subplot with him and the severe French chick? Kinda felt gross to me. 3) One too many villians. It's as if Pixar was trying to stuff as many evil plot twists into this script as possible and there was no focus. 4) How the rat - whatever his name was - comes to communicate and control the kid's bodily function is entirely ludacriss and makes no sense. I can suspend my disbelief with no problem but this "human steamshovel" idea was way too weak. 5) When it comes down to it, no matter how cute you try to make them look seeing hundreds of rats scamper on stage and especially watching them take over the kitchen and cook is more sickening than cute. The audience I saw the movie with was creeped out, the kids were restless for 3/4 of it and many kids were yelling, "I wanna go home". Some families left but I like a fool just sat there and said, "This is the WORST CGI/annimated film in many years! A 95 rating? Folks, look closer and don't be carried away by the phsical beauty of the film. It's very, VERY poorly written! Expand
  9. LuisA.
    Aug 4, 2007
    3
    Sorry but the movie is poor. Certainly I would not recommend this film for kids. Although the scrip is original the movie is predictable and the end is poor
  10. PrinsM.
    Mar 6, 2008
    3
    I could barely watch the whole thing. Boring, repetitive, completely devoid of humor. Not exactly atrocious in any way, just dull and unfunny.
  11. GregM.
    Jul 7, 2007
    2
    This movie proves that Disney/Pixar can't take an original idea, keep it simple, and let it shine. The film that could have been a charming story and a visual treat sinks under the weight of fairy-tale plotting, an unnecessary morality tale about the strength of family, and worst of all, Disney's archaic racial sterotyping and general xenophobia. For a company that is so This movie proves that Disney/Pixar can't take an original idea, keep it simple, and let it shine. The film that could have been a charming story and a visual treat sinks under the weight of fairy-tale plotting, an unnecessary morality tale about the strength of family, and worst of all, Disney's archaic racial sterotyping and general xenophobia. For a company that is so constantly hearlded for it's originality, Pixar still hasn't made a film that is free from all of the qualities that make most family entertainment unbearably dull. Expand
  12. AlexL.
    Apr 5, 2008
    0
    I hate this movie.
  13. BarelR.
    Nov 7, 2007
    1
    BORING movie.
  14. ET
    Jun 13, 2008
    2
    I get it now.. most reviewers here seem to be voting on the Trailer, not the Movie. The Trailer gets a 10.. the concept sounds good and the animation is top notch. The Movie gets a 2.. it is tiresome to watch.
  15. StaciaM.
    Dec 22, 2007
    2
    I have no idea what people see in this movie. I didn't think it was funny or even heartfelt. The animation is probably the best I've seen, but the story is boring, unfunny, and predictable.
  16. Jan 10, 2011
    2
    By far one of the weakest recent animation films. The story is predictable and the script is banal without a hint of cleverness. Great for 10 year olds and Disney sycophants.
  17. Jul 22, 2013
    1
    This film is a visual masterpiece, no question about it, but the tremendous work put into it is completely wasted because of the boring and mindless plot. It's about a rat who reads French cookbooks (I assume he can read in countless other languages too). The ghost of a deceased chef haunts our cute creature. (How did he stumble upon a rat in the first place?) Remy learns a lot from theThis film is a visual masterpiece, no question about it, but the tremendous work put into it is completely wasted because of the boring and mindless plot. It's about a rat who reads French cookbooks (I assume he can read in countless other languages too). The ghost of a deceased chef haunts our cute creature. (How did he stumble upon a rat in the first place?) Remy learns a lot from the chef's recipes, and shares his immense knowledge with a nerd with no talent whatsoever, using him as a puppet, and this bizarre double act self-evidently outdo any well trained cook in Paris. Moreover, the food critic whose devastating review made the former chef of the restaurant (our strange ghost) commit suicide, is enchanted with the dish based on the recipe of aforementioned chef, but prepared by our nerd who is guided bye the highly literate rat. This goofy mess of a story could still be partly compensated by a decent amount of jokes, but there is hardly any trace of them. All we left with is the stunning animation. Expand
  18. May 1, 2015
    0
    I hsdbxuvjxbsfcvhjv gxcghvn xhjvxjhbv xjhb nukjb j ufuunkl nkvhuivhzixgvucvgxukcb jbnjbbh bg b khvbxgjygvsdxcbhfsvdxcbhvcjhcxbhksbjkfkbjvbjdvbjfzbxcfxvxv
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    100
    The subtle colors and textures of the food alone make Ratatouille a three-star Michelin evening.
  2. 100
    In Ratatouille, the level of moment-by-moment craftsmanship is a wonder.
  3. 100
    This is clearly one of the best of the year's films. Every time an animated film is successful, you have to read all over again about how animation isn't "just for children" but "for the whole family," and "even for adults going on their own." No kidding!