Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: June 29, 2007
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1444 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,300
Mixed:
88
Negative:
56
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ChadS.Dec 16, 2007
There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget There are moments in "Ratatouille" that works on us in a primal way, like Ego who remembers the titular dish that his mother served him as a child. The pompous critic remembers why he loves food, as this dazzling comedy(you forget you're watching an animated picture) reminds us why we love the movies. "Ratatouille" is so sophisticated, there's an extra tier of sophistication that will fly under the radar of most moviegoers. "Ratatouille", to my utter disbelief, has references to the Canadian filmmaker Atom Egoyan and his film "Felicia's Journey". Ian Holm, who voices the role of Skinner, the chef in exile, was in Egoyan's "The Sweet Hereafter". This is such tremendous fun for cineastes because we can't understand why it's there in the first place. This piece of trivia is irrelevant to enjoying "Ratatouille", but the references are there, nevertheless. In an ordinary film, it's Linguini(voiced by Lou Romano) who'd be delusional(that a rat is actually doing the cooking), but in "Ratatouille", it's the delusion(from Skinner's point-of-view(he's the first person to see the rat); Skinner, who reminds me of that single person who sees the duck in those Aflac commercials) who has delusions(Chef Gusteau is Remy's muse). "Ratatouille" also has references to Carol Emschwiller's novel "The Mount" and Gary Larson's "The Far Side". And if you remember Ralph Fiennes' wine cellar speech to Embeth Davidtz in "Schindler's List", "Ratatouille" can be interpreted as a fantastical parable that sutures the rift between Jews and Germans. "Ratatouille" is a truly extraordinary movie that makes you laugh, cry, and most importantly, think. This is Pixar's high-water mark, and that's really saying something. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
MarkC.Jun 30, 2007
A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film A fabulous movie. I took my daughter and was amazed. I love to cook and the film captured the rapture of cooking, paris and well rapture. I loved the visual and musical depictions of Flavour which reminded me of old Canadian National Film Board cartoons. It was a fantastic movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AndrewGJun 30, 2007
Ridiculously good. I liked it better than both The Incredibles and Cars.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AaronS.Jun 30, 2007
Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, Another wonderous achivement from Pixar that marks a major return to from after last year's 'Cars' came up short. A rich blend of comedy and pathos. Technically accomplished and visually stunning at times, 'Ratatouille' never forgets it's a story first and foremost. Bird and co. have lavished just as much attention to the script as they did the animation. The very reason Pixar is so far ahead of the pack. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
RobdscdsvcJul 6, 2007
Visually stunning, classic characters, 100% original, and simply amazing. This just may be the greatest movie i have EVER seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KentMar 5, 2009
This truly is Disney/Pixar's Magnum Opus. Excellent script, good graphics and nice character development. Brad Bird out-did himself here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
marktApr 2, 2010
Amazing.........PIXAR have done it again and it's one of there best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MarkJ.Oct 5, 2007
I've since become a professional chef. Thank you Ratatouille.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RethunkReviewOct 5, 2007
Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are Pixar made a movie about rats and food. Rats. Food. It is without a doubt the most entertaining movie about either subject. The hero is a gray rat with a gift for cooking. The villain of the piece is a food critic whose pen and sarcasm are his only weapons. This bears repeating: the ultimate conflict in this movie concerns a rat that cooks and a snooty gourmand, AND IT WORKS. What production companies can pull this off? Perhaps only Pixar. That said, this movie may not be for everyone. If you like predictability and mediocre pop tunes in your animation films, and if you don't mind variability in the quality of production, then by all means rent The Lion King instead. If you want to see a remarkable production from storytellers who elevate simplicity to elegance, than Ratatouille may be the movie for you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BenNOct 8, 2007
One word WOW!!! and i only say that to very little movies but if you have not seen it yet SEE IT!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JudyR.Jun 29, 2007
Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has Saw this at a sneak preview a couple of weeks back; my love for this movie hasn't diminished one bit since then. Sure, everyone's mentioned the look and animation, of the food particularly; but no review I've seen has mentioned to spot-on animation of the rats. Believe me, I know my rats, and the Pixar crew did a beautiful job of making them completely convincing. The swim like rats, they use their 'hands' like rats, everything. A well crafted triumph; maybe the best Pixar movie to date. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HH.Jun 30, 2007
It's refreshing to see a movie that doesn't rely on violence and swearing to tell an incredible story as enjoyable for adults as well as children.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewL.Jun 30, 2007
Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative Not just the best Pixar film ever--the best CG animated feature ever. It's coupling of universal appeal and superior quality is both rare and very welcome. It's excellence transcends any flaws it may have, and makes negative criticism seem downright petty. Its been a long time since a film--or any work of art--has so inspired and fulfilled me. I can't wait to see it again. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoshE.Jul 1, 2007
A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film A magical and technically astounding film, Brad Bird's Ratatouille definitively shows that all other non-Pixar CGI films nothing more than gimmick and contains more humanity than most traditional films. Some of the images in this film are so powerful, they take your breath away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SamJul 10, 2007
Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and Pixar's best? Absolutely. The year's best? It's a draw between 1408, but it doesn't change the fact that this movie is simply astounding. It could have been a run-of-the mill and cliched "believe in yourself" story, and while it is a "believe in yourself" movie, it's done in a never-before seen way. It's simply stunning, as well. I loved, loved, loved Peter O'toole's character (it basically screams 'Tim Burton' at times) as well as Brad Garret's character. They're like opposites and they're part of the reason this movie is so entertaining. But it wouldn't be the same with Remy, Linguini, or Skinner. Their characters are so key and preposterously lovable (yes, I thought Skinner was a lovable character, sue me). They're so full of life that they keep this bloat floating. Touche, once again, Pixar. Touche. (P.S. Anybody else pumped about Wall-E?) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MattC.Jul 12, 2007
Simply perfect in every way... Best animated film yet? You bet.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DarynP.Jul 2, 2007
I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and I can think of one word that sums up Ratatouille - DELIGHTFUL. Pixar has once again blended their unique and flawless animation style with a charming and simple story that will satisfy any audience. They've brought toys, bugs, fish, and cars to life in the past. And best of all, they've made them endearing. Kudos to them for adding rats to that list. Next year, it will be robots. I can't wait. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewJul 2, 2007
Original, original, original, original...the whole genre has been re-engineered.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MylesM.Jul 5, 2007
The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it The fact that a 3-year-old, a 6-year-old, and three adults can sit for two hours and be mesmerized by this wonderful movie says it all. Each Pixar movie gets better. This one is the best. Nothing was trite, nothing was too hip to keep it from being timeless, and nothing was formulaic other than the mild relationship to "Ben and Me". Just when you thought it was over, you say, "Wait; what about Ego the food critique?". And so it goes. Animation was magical and spectacular, and the character development was first-rate. I have already reserved a copy for me and for my grandkids from Amazon when its out for distribution. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
FranciscoC.Sep 18, 2007
Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. Ratatouille was without a second thought the best animated movie that I have seen in almost every aspect from the mini animation at the beginning until the interesting ending. Everyone from the family can enjoy and only Adults is fine too. It dint have a single dull moment, the best timing (important factor to consider with comedy) and the most lovable characters. Pixar is in the track to make us all adults believe (at last!) that animation can be for adults with great ease. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JHJan 1, 2008
My favorite Pixar film since The Incredibles.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KyleB.Jan 6, 2009
I loved the movie, its the only movie that my family and I can all agree to watching, and even if there is a rat cooking it still makes us want to eat afterwards. Two thumbs up.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AnweshPFeb 23, 2010
Ratatouille incredibly convinces. It is great entertainment. Brad Bird rules!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamesL.Oct 2, 2007
A truly beautiful movie. Kids will like it, but adults will love it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
[Anonymous]Oct 28, 2007
This movie is amazing! I just loved it! It had a lot of meaning, the idea was original, and very creative.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SidneyT.Jun 30, 2007
On par with the Incredibles and Finding Nemo....even better!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SabrinaM.Jun 30, 2007
It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille It's been a while since I can just enjoy a movie, believe in the make-believe fantasies, and indulge myself in being touched without having to dip into any dialectical discussions of a film's philosophy and aesthetics...Ratatouille is beautifully animated and surprisingly touching. Surely, there are the make-believe messages that may have seemed far-fetched in reality but totally in line with the objectives of Disney pictures, such as how the whole clan of rats (starring Remy's brother and father, who lack taste in food, or trust in humans--initially) creates a beautiful meal towards the end, or the worn out ideals of pursuing one's dreams as long as one invests passion (Gusteau says, "Everyone can cook"), or even just how Linguini can communicate with Remy; or, consider the ludicrous images of American cross-culturalism in a French context (the kitchen staff is all mixed with people of different backgrounds or ethnicities), and of all the French English accent. Yet, this film works because it opens one's eyes to the beauty of creativity and, to me personally, because it succeeds in bringing forward inspiring thoughts on the issue of criticism. In many ways, Anton Ego, the critic with a big ego, mirrors myself. A long, emanciated face and a menacing voice, his critique is sharp and pungent, making his opinion effective to the extent that it filters out the nonsense; his acute taste, while working to the advantage of offering judgments, hinders him in being open and positive about that which he is evaluating. When asked by Linguini why a critic who likes food looks so skinny, he says dogmatically, "I don't like food, I love food. If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it". The question is, what kind of a love for food is this? What does he love? How much is he appreciating food for food itself, or aware of the value of that which he chooses to spit out and grimace about? What is key is that there is an implicit downside in the nature of criticism if its focus is primarily on digging out the negative sides of the subject matter. After savoring the beautifully crafted ratatouille sensation that Remy and his clan put together, served by Linguini the cook/ waiter on wheels, he reevaluates his criteria for critique; after the unfortunate termination of the restaurant's business due to its unhygienic conditions (N.B. the rats), his credibility is damaged, but he is seen in Linguini's new bistro, enjoying the famed ratatouille, his occupation as a critic something of the past and the mean look of criticism gone from his face. Just as how his face lit up in childhood reminiscence of his mother's ratatouille when he first tastes Remy's creation, now he is rid of the need to be faultfinding, is broadening his love for food and, in that way, is closer to it. The phenomenal human touch at the end of this film touches me to open up myself, and reminds me that the critical taste of an individual comes not only with the act of opting for what is good, but also with embracing what may have seemed bad. To reject something when it does not seem good enough ("If it's food that I don't love, I don't swallow it") ruins the prospects of discovering something better to come, because that negative energy fails to give due credit to anything and alienates one from that which one professes to love. Note: Ratatouille is a vegetable dish from southen France, made out of eggplants, onions, garlic, green peppers, tomatoes, zucchini, with a variety of spices, simmered in olive oil. Have got to try this dish, and this film has got to be seen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
E.B.Jun 30, 2007
Pixar had a lot to live up to with the release of their new film. They succeeded! It is so great to see a "Family Film" do so well in the theater, instead of all the trash that is out there. Long live Pixar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BibliotechaSanchezJul 1, 2007
Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was Yeah, it was a great movie. The kids will love it. Anyone can cook. I never go to animation movies but this was good and I highly recommend it. It Does seem like 1940s Disney, back when Disney was at an imaginative peak and The Disney was runnin the show. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MatthewG.Jul 10, 2007
This is surely one of the films from the 21st century that will be remembered, studied, and watched in 2107. Everything about this movie is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful