Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: March 19, 1999
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 29 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
21
Mixed:
5
Negative:
3
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JordanMar 22, 2004
Superb acting by all actors, introduces the characters well. Wonderfuly shot and directed. Very gory and kept me interested all through the movie. A must see, but not for the weak stomach. ^_^
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidC.Sep 16, 2004
This is easily my favorite movie, not the best movie I've ever seen but deffinitely my favorite, and that's saying something
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HavikKNov 19, 2003
This is one of the most original and exciting movies ever made! It has seom awesome twists and the characters are all original and played by an excellent cast.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Dead_ReckonSep 24, 2011
Absolutely wonderful film. The acting is great and the story is awesome. The more I watch this film the more I love it. Now if only they would release it on Bluray already
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CoulterMar 28, 2014
The creators thought they were making dark comedy about American expansionism and ever increasing appetites. What they thought was over the top was actually right on the spot. A beautiful and harsh tale of America and it's equal partsThe creators thought they were making dark comedy about American expansionism and ever increasing appetites. What they thought was over the top was actually right on the spot. A beautiful and harsh tale of America and it's equal parts monstrous greed and nobility. Great cast and amazing score. I can't make it through the movie without wanting to eat a steak though. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
willzZeezJun 21, 2014
This is a movie you can watch over, and over, and over again. Even with run-on sentences! It captures the Sierra's so well and the acting as well as the cast are spot on.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
freedomFriesOct 27, 2014
An unappreciated masterpiece of oddball characters, patchwork music, and a story that you will absolutely never forget. Like other comments suggested the replay value is high as a kite and the quote worthiness will leave you (and thoseAn unappreciated masterpiece of oddball characters, patchwork music, and a story that you will absolutely never forget. Like other comments suggested the replay value is high as a kite and the quote worthiness will leave you (and those weirdos you watch it with) making inside comments for the rest of your lives. This director has never landed anything like it before or since making it one of those amazing one hit wonders that manages to feature an almost all star cast (though many before they would be considered "stars").

Details are important so listen closely and pay attention to every minor detail as it all has meaning and either ties into a joke or a horrific detail... if you miss it, don't sweat, you'll catch it on your second or third watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MovieManJun 7, 2005
Great movie. I cant remember what brought me to first watch it, but when I did, I was entirely surprised how much I liked it. The music is very alluring and fits extremely well. The acting was great, story was unique, I
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
warcoverNov 6, 2007
Strikingly original, gorgeous cinematography, authentic costume design, excellent performances. This is one of those movies that will become better known and appreciated as time goes by. Apparently not many people knew what to make of it in 99.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
bohJan 26, 2011
This is an underated gem of a film, with a brilliant soundtrack by Nyman and Albarn. It's original and creative approach constantly surprises, it never resorts to the cliche conventions of the horror genre, original directing and fantasticThis is an underated gem of a film, with a brilliant soundtrack by Nyman and Albarn. It's original and creative approach constantly surprises, it never resorts to the cliche conventions of the horror genre, original directing and fantastic acting by Carlisle an d Pearce. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DamienDarko777May 6, 2011
I actually found myself liking and enjoying this darkly tongue-in-cheek cannibal western. The actors had a lot to do with that; They really made the effort to sell the premise. Gory, but also wickedly amusing. Not the best movie ever, butI actually found myself liking and enjoying this darkly tongue-in-cheek cannibal western. The actors had a lot to do with that; They really made the effort to sell the premise. Gory, but also wickedly amusing. Not the best movie ever, but still under-rated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
shiftworkerAug 29, 2016
Compelling historical horror where intense characters develop the plot effectively against carefully chosen harsh backdrops. A few grisly moments, though no leap-out-your-seat surprises. It should provoke a reaction, probably interestingCompelling historical horror where intense characters develop the plot effectively against carefully chosen harsh backdrops. A few grisly moments, though no leap-out-your-seat surprises. It should provoke a reaction, probably interesting conversation, though some will respond only with disgust.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JeffLSep 6, 2004
If I only had a nickel for every movie like this -- one that starts strongly, interestingly, possesses dramatic depth and potential for character development and divulges into utter foolishness. I'd have a lot of nickels. There are some If I only had a nickel for every movie like this -- one that starts strongly, interestingly, possesses dramatic depth and potential for character development and divulges into utter foolishness. I'd have a lot of nickels. There are some bizarre things going on in this movie, the least of which is cannibalism. Honestly, people eating each other and blood squriting everywhere gets boring after about five minutes. What is with the association of cannibalism and stolen strength? This is without a doubt one of the most boring, simplistic, predictable depictions of cannibalism possible. I liked what was happening with the lead character's experiences in the war. But what was done with that? Everything interesting that could be said about mankind is avoided for some tired rehashing of the ever nefarious (and ubiquitous) "native indian myth". It's a cop out, because the idea that people CAN get used to the idea of eating each other when social boundaries are erased is much more interesting but difficult to deal with. Dumb, dumb, dumb. Not as bad as the Eye, but pretty close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful