Ray

Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 29, 2004
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 133 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
118
Mixed:
12
Negative:
3
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SpangleMar 12, 2016
A fantastically moving biopic of Ray Charles, Ray is a powerhouse of a film. Jamie Foxx is magnetic as the musical legend and turns in a career-defining performance. Sharon Warren, Kerry Washington, Regina King, and CJ Sanders, are allA fantastically moving biopic of Ray Charles, Ray is a powerhouse of a film. Jamie Foxx is magnetic as the musical legend and turns in a career-defining performance. Sharon Warren, Kerry Washington, Regina King, and CJ Sanders, are all fantastic as well here, turning in fantastic and authentic performances. Ray is a film packed to the brim with passion and it truly overflows. The music in the film is infectious and fantastically worked into the film and subtle direction from Taylor Hackford really pays off as he allows the music and the actors to really take center stage in this one. Ray also expertly handles balancing Charles' youth, rise to fame, stardom, and struggles, with each carrying the required weight and none of the scenes coming as being filler. Rather, they all presented their own set of positives and really combine to be an entirely moving film. In particular, scenes involving Charles as a boy interacting with his mother got to me the most and were some of the best emotional scenes I have seen in a film in a bit. Overall, Ray is a fantastic biopic that manages to avoid feeling like a generic music biopic by being completely authentic and unwilling to compromise our inside look at Charles' life. Thanks to good direction, phenomenal acting, and strong writing, Ray is a winner. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ryancarroll88Aug 26, 2010
"Ray" is definitely worth the watch for Jamie Foxx's performance alone, but it's a far shot from becoming a classic simply because it doesn't take any unexpected strides to make itself memorable. As far as biopics go, it's miles behind "I'm"Ray" is definitely worth the watch for Jamie Foxx's performance alone, but it's a far shot from becoming a classic simply because it doesn't take any unexpected strides to make itself memorable. As far as biopics go, it's miles behind "I'm Not There" and "American Splendor" (and it might be unfair to bring up "Lawrence of Arabia" or "Raging Bull") Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
avatar16Mar 21, 2012
Ray est l'exemple type du biopic classique. A savoir, on choisit une célébrité (ici, Ray Charles) et on en fait un film sur sa vie, sans réaliser la moindre prouesse question mise enRay est l'exemple type du biopic classique. A savoir, on choisit une célébrité (ici, Ray Charles) et on en fait un film sur sa vie, sans réaliser la moindre prouesse question mise en scène, le tout reposant sur les épaules de l'acteur principal (Jamie Foxx) et également sur la bo (c'est quand même Ray Charles!). Sans compter dans le lot un montage rapide et brouillon. Mais fort heureusement, Ray est un film qui se laisse suivre sans déplaisir, et ce grâce à une certaine énergie, dûe justement à la rapidité du montage (en l'occurence avantage et défaut à la fois), la distribution et les chansons de l'artiste. Un biopic animé et qui nous dévoile (tout de même) quelques vices de ce personnage (drogue, adultère...). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PaxsterOct 16, 2010
One of the few films that has made me cry (and I have no pain in admitting that). Jamie Foxx is brilliant,the music is still brilliant and the directing is superb.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
YoursTrulyNov 9, 2012
The life story of Ray Charles is a solid one. And here it is portrayed well. But, overall, this travels on the shoulders of Mr. Foxx.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JuanoloApr 2, 2012
First off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really. Especially Jamie foxx. He was outstanding. Well deserved for his Oscar. Score is good. Story is really good showing the life of ray charles. Overall, this is a great movie. All ofFirst off, this would be a 9.5 out of 10. Acting is really. Especially Jamie foxx. He was outstanding. Well deserved for his Oscar. Score is good. Story is really good showing the life of ray charles. Overall, this is a great movie. All of the good music, great performances, it just really good. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
juliankleissJan 7, 2011
The movie claims it is not the blindness that cripples one, but the drug abuse. Explains how to get along without one's eyes. A lot of music, but little insight into his music making. At times boring if you are not a Ray Charles fan.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
egovirusMar 18, 2013
Putting aside Charles' incredible body of music, and his impact on American (if not global) culture, I'm reviewing the movie, which is not a great one. I'm still pretty amazed, nearly a decade after this movie came out, how few people seemPutting aside Charles' incredible body of music, and his impact on American (if not global) culture, I'm reviewing the movie, which is not a great one. I'm still pretty amazed, nearly a decade after this movie came out, how few people seem unperturbed by the degree of bad or over acting in this movie. Literally every single scene in this film has an example of it, and given the talent on call, the blame, as far as I am concerned, falls squarely on the shoulders of writer/director Taylor Hackford. Another issue I have is the editing/pace of dramatic scenes, which I found to be rushed, and therefore ineffectual. Perhaps laughably so. It's just hard to take this movie seriously at all, which is a big problem since it's so long. In it's rush to get to the end, the viewer is hustled along through Mr. Robinson's life like pilgrims through a museum with definite profit targets. Anything worth notice gets rushed, while everything that can be crammed in is. And then, at the end, we get crummy reading scenes that describe the rest of the movie. That's our reward for enduring this mess. More mess. In sum, "Ray" is overwrought, over-acted, corny, and too long. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
OscarOrNotDec 27, 2011
Jamie Foxx's performance in "Ray" is one of the best since Marlon Brando was "The Godfather". Up there with Colin Firth's The King's Speech and Phillip Seymour Hoffman's Capote as the best historical movies. Exploring the life of Ray Charles,Jamie Foxx's performance in "Ray" is one of the best since Marlon Brando was "The Godfather". Up there with Colin Firth's The King's Speech and Phillip Seymour Hoffman's Capote as the best historical movies. Exploring the life of Ray Charles, Ray shows his depressing life, which is hidden behind his great music. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
NickHNov 20, 2005
Jamie Foxx may give a wonderful performance as Ray, but the movie on a whole isn't all that good. Outside of the character Ray, most of the dialouge is akwardly written. Regina King is the only one in the supporting cast who takes the Jamie Foxx may give a wonderful performance as Ray, but the movie on a whole isn't all that good. Outside of the character Ray, most of the dialouge is akwardly written. Regina King is the only one in the supporting cast who takes the script by the horns and really shines. Hackford, while a decent director, didn't seem ready to go out and make this movie - the whole film has a sort of "made for TV" look about it. Sometimes I wonder that if Ray Charles hadn't died, would this movie have been so "amazing" to so many people? I doubt it, but Foxx and King would have still gotten the credit they deserved. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful
10
caseyk.Dec 10, 2005
It was the best movie ever! i loved it because i cried and smiled! ray charles is a strong man!
0 of 3 users found this helpful