Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 7, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 340 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
228
Mixed:
82
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Zack2981Jul 27, 2012
Either the majority of reviewers on here are HIGH, paid by the studio or legitimately idiots. I'm sorry but this movie sucked. And not just in a silly, formulaic, seen-it-before kinda way. This movie is bad from such a fundamental levelEither the majority of reviewers on here are HIGH, paid by the studio or legitimately idiots. I'm sorry but this movie sucked. And not just in a silly, formulaic, seen-it-before kinda way. This movie is bad from such a fundamental level that it literally pissed me off while I was watching it. Let me clarify that I was excited to see this movie. I missed it in theaters but it's always been on my list of movies to see. So when I popped it in, I had no idea that by the 10 minute mark I'd be ready to rip my eyes and ears out. The writing is atrocious. I'm talking, abysmal dialogue, vague character motivations that seem to change on a whim, and probably the most annoying kid character ever. So... an 11 year old is fluent in Japanese (because he plays video games, of course), a hip hop dancing prodigy, and the most innovative fight promoter/manager of all time. That makes total sense.

I give this movie a 2 only because the robot fight scenes are cool. They are the only reason to watch but honestly, it hardly matters when you try to get through the s*** dialogue and the worst rap/hard rock soundtrack I may have ever heard. If you value two hours of your life, I urge you not to see this movie. It's not even bad in a fun way. You will hate everyone involved with this film and you'll question Hugh Jackman's willingness to go along with this farce of a film. I don't write reviews often but Reel Steel is so awful and these reviews are completely giving everyone the wrong impression. You will not cheer, you will not clap and you will not shed a tear. Except when you realize what a waste of two hours this crapfest is.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
TastyOct 6, 2014
Just seen it, and I absolutely hated the kid... spoiled / ruined / blemished / atrociously KILLED the movie for me. Go Hugh Jackman, Atom & Noisy Boy! Robots Rule! But not in this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
1
dinkaNov 16, 2011
I don't do movie reviews, but OMG, I can't believe the professional reviews (bought by Disney?), or the 7.9 by viewers. 1/3 of the way through the movie I asked my wife what the worst movie we'd ever seen was. We agreed this was probablyI don't do movie reviews, but OMG, I can't believe the professional reviews (bought by Disney?), or the 7.9 by viewers. 1/3 of the way through the movie I asked my wife what the worst movie we'd ever seen was. We agreed this was probably it. We made it through to the end, but it is the weakest Disney effort we've ever seen! Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
SpankyFeb 7, 2012
This is one of the worst movies I've seen this year. The premise was interesting, the execution was not.
I was halfway through the movie and decided I would give it a 5; but as it went on, I decided to drop it to the lowest possible score.
This is one of the worst movies I've seen this year. The premise was interesting, the execution was not.
I was halfway through the movie and decided I would give it a 5; but as it went on, I decided to drop it to the lowest possible score. Why? The kid. Every time he was on, it detracted from what could have been a pretty interesting character study. Instead, we got a crappy TV sitcom where the 11 year olds are smarter, wiser and tougher talking than the adults. It really was truly unbelievable. Oh, did I mention that he was also mechanical genius with robots even though he had never worked with them at all. I literally wanted to gag every time that snot nosed brat showed up onscreen. Don't waste your time or money on this dog.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
SleeperOct 10, 2011
"Real Steel" might be a success with 7 to 12 year old boys, who think that action without soul is cool. Robots get into the ring and duke it out forever. Special effects are nice. Unfortunately there is nothing interesting about these robots."Real Steel" might be a success with 7 to 12 year old boys, who think that action without soul is cool. Robots get into the ring and duke it out forever. Special effects are nice. Unfortunately there is nothing interesting about these robots. They are just chess pieces inside a single square. The players are outside the ring, but turn out not to be interesting at all. The queen of Lost is lost. "Wolverine" attempts to be "Han Solo", but fails to both shoot first, and even shoot at all. There is a boy in this movie, someone kids can relate to, good with technology, able to remake a robot overnight in a trailer, add voice control and stuff like that. Normal kid. It could have worked if the story wasn't so overly sentimental. I think every major character shed a tear close to the end. I did not. What "Real Steel" needed was some reality and some steel. Some kind of chaos would have been nice. Some conflict that you could believe. Well, "Real Steel" didn't work for me, but due to impressive animation I'm willing to give the movie 3 out of 10. I saw potential in this movie. Like at a moment when a robot hugs a kid, what would have happened if the robot had by accident squeezed a bit too hard? I guess it wouldn't have been such a cute movie, but could have raised the stakes from zero to something, at least. Maybe. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
3
hoops2448Jan 6, 2012
Real Steel is a unique premise. Boxing has been stopped in favour of robot boxing and Hugh Jackman's Charlie is just trying to keep up. Along the way he is joined by the son he abandoned 9 years earlier. He is joined by him because his motherReal Steel is a unique premise. Boxing has been stopped in favour of robot boxing and Hugh Jackman's Charlie is just trying to keep up. Along the way he is joined by the son he abandoned 9 years earlier. He is joined by him because his mother has died so he takes him on the road, showing him the world of robot boxing. The problem with this unique premise is that it never really makes sense. The script sweeps under the rug some major plot points (The death of the son's mother is mentioned literally once) and is packed with clunky lines and exposition. The cast is sub par with the worst offender being either Evangeline Lilly as Charlie's love interest Bailey or Dakota Goyo as Charlie's son Max who is remarkably reminiscent of young Anakin Skywalker (yes, its that bad). Jackman coasts through the movie on charm despite the fact his character really is reprehensible at times. However the action in the film is visually flawless with some great animation and effects with the robot fights being great to watch. The main problem with the film is that the main story doesn't start for a whole hour (much like S.W.A.T) as Charlie makes mistake after mistake. I get that its trying to show what kind of a man Charlie is but its just slow and pointless and could have been done in half the time. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
3
hootisJan 10, 2012
This is the worst movie I have seen that was actually trying to be a terrible movie, every aspect of this film is a complete failure, film techniques are so basic, the music is crap, acting is garbage. Also did i mention all the terrible adThis is the worst movie I have seen that was actually trying to be a terrible movie, every aspect of this film is a complete failure, film techniques are so basic, the music is crap, acting is garbage. Also did i mention all the terrible ad placements hp or nokia. Not to mention if this were actually possible all the technology bad for the future it is trying to make sense but it just doesn't make any at all Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
Rhino3Jan 4, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just bad so so so bad. There is just so much wrong with this movie, but the kid is what really ruins it. His acting is bad, his character is annoying, and by the end I wish Hugh Jackman's character had sold him and this whole little adventure had never happened. As for the plot, if the reason robot fighting was developed was because people wanted more violence why wouldn't it be robot MMA? Another annoying thing is that it's clear that Hugh Jackman's character doesn't know how to box a small but very annoying thing. Overall just a terrible movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
geo86Mar 17, 2012
If I was ten probably I would have liked this movie. I cant really understand why Jackman done this movie. It doesn't suit him. No action no adventure nothing at all. Its like Rocky in a robot version, the weak but with heart robot defeatsIf I was ten probably I would have liked this movie. I cant really understand why Jackman done this movie. It doesn't suit him. No action no adventure nothing at all. Its like Rocky in a robot version, the weak but with heart robot defeats the ultimate undisputed one. I would not recommend this movie to anyone. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
phildogSep 9, 2015
I **** love robots. I'll watch pretty much anything with them, but good god this movie is unwatchable. All the characters are unlike-able **** the story makes no sense, the pacing is **** This could be forgiveable, but you know how all theI **** love robots. I'll watch pretty much anything with them, but good god this movie is unwatchable. All the characters are unlike-able **** the story makes no sense, the pacing is **** This could be forgiveable, but you know how all the fights are going to go, so there is no tension, and forget any real boxing moves either. There is no excuse for even one of the many shortfalls of this movie. I'd rate this movie two stars, but I'm taking it down to one because how just how much terrible movies like this bring down the movies-about-robots genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BigDamnHeroJul 4, 2014
Really stupid movie. I was cringing and squirming in my seat for 90% of the movie because it was so cheesy and melodramatic and the only pay off for this were a few robot fight scenes which were at least entertaining (unlike the human story.)Really stupid movie. I was cringing and squirming in my seat for 90% of the movie because it was so cheesy and melodramatic and the only pay off for this were a few robot fight scenes which were at least entertaining (unlike the human story.) This is probably the most annoying child actor I've ever seen (yes even worse than Anakin.) I think I nearly shot myself in the head whenever that little brat decided to dance. Hugh Jackman was good though. What can I say? The guy is a movie star. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
AgentVenom117Feb 22, 2016
Extremely disappointing I came into this film expecting robots boxing each other as Hugh Jackman acts as a manager,instead I got a infuriating kid,a uninterested Hugh Jackman and horribly done fights. Would not recommend.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews