User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 280 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 280

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    1
    I don't do movie reviews, but OMG, I can't believe the professional reviews (bought by Disney?), or the 7.9 by viewers. 1/3 of the way through the movie I asked my wife what the worst movie we'd ever seen was. We agreed this was probably it. We made it through to the end, but it is the weakest Disney effort we've ever seen!
  2. Oct 9, 2011
    4
    This movie was below average. At some point it even felt like a parody, because the dialogue was so bad. I have to say I liked the idea of the movie - robots as boxers - but that was the extent of it. As for Hugh Jackman, I was amazed that he would be involved with this kind of movie with such a weak storyline. The robot fighting scenes where interesting and also CGI was great.
  3. Oct 10, 2011
    3
    "Real Steel" might be a success with 7 to 12 year old boys, who think that action without soul is cool. Robots get into the ring and duke it out forever. Special effects are nice. Unfortunately there is nothing interesting about these robots. They are just chess pieces inside a single square. The players are outside the ring, but turn out not to be interesting at all. The queen of Lost is lost. "Wolverine" attempts to be "Han Solo", but fails to both shoot first, and even shoot at all. There is a boy in this movie, someone kids can relate to, good with technology, able to remake a robot overnight in a trailer, add voice control and stuff like that. Normal kid. It could have worked if the story wasn't so overly sentimental. I think every major character shed a tear close to the end. I did not. What "Real Steel" needed was some reality and some steel. Some kind of chaos would have been nice. Some conflict that you could believe. Well, "Real Steel" didn't work for me, but due to impressive animation I'm willing to give the movie 3 out of 10. I saw potential in this movie. Like at a moment when a robot hugs a kid, what would have happened if the robot had by accident squeezed a bit too hard? I guess it wouldn't have been such a cute movie, but could have raised the stakes from zero to something, at least. Maybe. Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2012
    2
    Either the majority of reviewers on here are HIGH, paid by the studio or legitimately idiots. I'm sorry but this movie sucked. And not just in a silly, formulaic, seen-it-before kinda way. This movie is bad from such a fundamental level that it literally pissed me off while I was watching it. Let me clarify that I was excited to see this movie. I missed it in theaters but it's always been on my list of movies to see. So when I popped it in, I had no idea that by the 10 minute mark I'd be ready to rip my eyes and ears out. The writing is atrocious. I'm talking, abysmal dialogue, vague character motivations that seem to change on a whim, and probably the most annoying kid character ever. So... an 11 year old is fluent in Japanese (because he plays video games, of course), a hip hop dancing prodigy, and the most innovative fight promoter/manager of all time. That makes total sense.

    I give this movie a 2 only because the robot fight scenes are cool. They are the only reason to watch but honestly, it hardly matters when you try to get through the s*** dialogue and the worst rap/hard rock soundtrack I may have ever heard. If you value two hours of your life, I urge you not to see this movie. It's not even bad in a fun way. You will hate everyone involved with this film and you'll question Hugh Jackman's willingness to go along with this farce of a film. I don't write reviews often but Reel Steel is so awful and these reviews are completely giving everyone the wrong impression. You will not cheer, you will not clap and you will not shed a tear. Except when you realize what a waste of two hours this crapfest is.
    Expand
  5. Nov 1, 2011
    4
    Don't let my mixed reaction fool you, Real Steel was a real pleasure. It surpassed my expectations, and I must say, my expectations were quite low. This is one of the few movies which turned out better than its 'sobby' premise suggests, though slightly so. It was a 'people-person' film. It had a decent story line, that unfortunately fell prey to predictability, but still managed to pay off a bit. It also had a charismatic cast who you couldn't help but root for. The robot sound designs were fantastic adding weight and, most importantly, character to all these different types of boxing machines. On the negative side, it was a film that's only really good for the moment; it doesn't stand out much in any way. It fell victim to many cliches (as mentioned before) thanks to its by-the-book approach in telling the story. And most of all it wasn't very ambitious; in other words, it didn't strive to go beyond what it was meant to be; which was a mildly entertaining action flick. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2012
    3
    Real Steel is a unique premise. Boxing has been stopped in favour of robot boxing and Hugh Jackman's Charlie is just trying to keep up. Along the way he is joined by the son he abandoned 9 years earlier. He is joined by him because his mother has died so he takes him on the road, showing him the world of robot boxing. The problem with this unique premise is that it never really makes sense. The script sweeps under the rug some major plot points (The death of the son's mother is mentioned literally once) and is packed with clunky lines and exposition. The cast is sub par with the worst offender being either Evangeline Lilly as Charlie's love interest Bailey or Dakota Goyo as Charlie's son Max who is remarkably reminiscent of young Anakin Skywalker (yes, its that bad). Jackman coasts through the movie on charm despite the fact his character really is reprehensible at times. However the action in the film is visually flawless with some great animation and effects with the robot fights being great to watch. The main problem with the film is that the main story doesn't start for a whole hour (much like S.W.A.T) as Charlie makes mistake after mistake. I get that its trying to show what kind of a man Charlie is but its just slow and pointless and could have been done in half the time. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    4
    I only need one line to describe this film:

    "Rocky" + "Transformers" + "Over the Top" = One of the stupidest, predictable, badly written and acted movies ever! EVER!!!!!!!!

    Plus, I really think that the owners to the rights for Stallone's 1987 "Over the Top" should sue for plagiarism because Shawn Levy and the gang aren't even trying to hide it, they're just banking on the fact that not
    too many people remember that film these days.

    http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/over_the_top/
    Expand
  8. Jan 10, 2012
    3
    This is the worst movie I have seen that was actually trying to be a terrible movie, every aspect of this film is a complete failure, film techniques are so basic, the music is crap, acting is garbage. Also did i mention all the terrible ad placements hp or nokia. Not to mention if this were actually possible all the technology bad for the future it is trying to make sense but it just doesn't make any at all Expand
  9. Jan 4, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just bad so so so bad. There is just so much wrong with this movie, but the kid is what really ruins it. His acting is bad, his character is annoying, and by the end I wish Hugh Jackman's character had sold him and this whole little adventure had never happened. As for the plot, if the reason robot fighting was developed was because people wanted more violence why wouldn't it be robot MMA? Another annoying thing is that it's clear that Hugh Jackman's character doesn't know how to box a small but very annoying thing. Overall just a terrible movie. Expand
  10. Feb 7, 2012
    0
    This is one of the worst movies I've seen this year. The premise was interesting, the execution was not.
    I was halfway through the movie and decided I would give it a 5; but as it went on, I decided to drop it to the lowest possible score. Why? The kid. Every time he was on, it detracted from what could have been a pretty interesting character study. Instead, we got a crappy TV
    sitcom where the 11 year olds are smarter, wiser and tougher talking than the adults. It really was truly unbelievable. Oh, did I mention that he was also mechanical genius with robots even though he had never worked with them at all. I literally wanted to gag every time that snot nosed brat showed up onscreen. Don't waste your time or money on this dog. Expand
  11. Mar 17, 2012
    3
    If I was ten probably I would have liked this movie. I cant really understand why Jackman done this movie. It doesn't suit him. No action no adventure nothing at all. Its like Rocky in a robot version, the weak but with heart robot defeats the ultimate undisputed one. I would not recommend this movie to anyone.
  12. May 8, 2012
    4
    Story line malfunction and childish dialogue. The trailer presents Real Steel as hardcore action, not an under ten year old adventure, and don't even expect the "fight for me" ending to be any better, just nonexistent. (message me for my full evaluation)
  13. Jul 4, 2014
    1
    Really stupid movie. I was cringing and squirming in my seat for 90% of the movie because it was so cheesy and melodramatic and the only pay off for this were a few robot fight scenes which were at least entertaining (unlike the human story.) This is probably the most annoying child actor I've ever seen (yes even worse than Anakin.) I think I nearly shot myself in the head whenever that little brat decided to dance. Hugh Jackman was good though. What can I say? The guy is a movie star. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Reviewed by: James White
    Oct 10, 2011
    60
    Rocky with robots? It's not quite in Balboa's weight class, but Real Steel at least has some heft. There's barely a story beat among the beat-downs that you won't expect, and sometimes the saccharine gets in the way of the spectacle, but on the whole this is enjoyable family entertainment.
  2. Reviewed by: Mary Pols
    Oct 10, 2011
    50
    The story remains sadly mired in botdom, which leads to some boredom. It's hard to look away from the ever-dazzling Jackman, but the sight of him hunched over the controls of something akin to a live action video game is not, in the end, much more exciting than the sight of your average teenager hunched over the controls of a Game Boy.
  3. Reviewed by: Mike Scott
    Oct 7, 2011
    50
    When making a film for 10-year-old boys, it doesn't have to be good, necessarily -- just good enough. And that's exactly what Real Steel is: good enough.