Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: October 7, 2011
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
233
Mixed:
86
Negative:
30
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
VisiOnOct 8, 2011
One of my favorite movies, the movie is an instant classic in every way. Great to take the family to, with the gf, go with friends... all around a great movie. It has tons of action.... who in their right mind doesn't wanna see fightingOne of my favorite movies, the movie is an instant classic in every way. Great to take the family to, with the gf, go with friends... all around a great movie. It has tons of action.... who in their right mind doesn't wanna see fighting robots? It has some lovey dovey scenes, it makes you feel as if you are a part of Atoms journey to greatness and it really brings you into the lives of the main characters. The critics are being REALLY harsh, there's no reason to give this movie any less then a 9. If the movie interests you at all, it's defiantly worth seeing on the big screen. I found myself cheering Atom on the whole movie and really felt as if I could connect with all the main characters. Can't wait for Real Steel 2. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
IronmongerOct 8, 2011
I am in a robotics team, so i might be a little biased towards robots, but i think this was the best fighting movie of the year!!!!!!! I was looking forward to this movie soo much, and it STILL beat my expectations!!!! It is a classic movieI am in a robotics team, so i might be a little biased towards robots, but i think this was the best fighting movie of the year!!!!!!! I was looking forward to this movie soo much, and it STILL beat my expectations!!!! It is a classic movie of a father getting to know his son better after leaving him alone with his mother and they are seeing each other for the first time because the mom died. However, the fact that the dad is a pro boxer and that he fights extremely high tech robots is a very good plot line. He is kind of a bum that is trying to earn money to pay off many debts, but he ends up getting a really cool son instead. If you like Rocky Balboa and transformers (mainly the robot part, not so much the transforming part), then you will think this movie is epic!!! Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
sYsJan 12, 2012
The movie was amazing. At first i wasn't impressed at all but when the plot developed - it really got me going and wanting more. Even a tear from my eyes. This movie deserves all 10 from me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mgummeltOct 9, 2011
My son at 10 minutes in: "I LOVE this movie!" :) Really well done - great fx, really good actors, good, personal story. Like a "Rocky" for kids. A good father-son bonding movie. :)
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
cpalmerOct 12, 2011
this film stinks the plot has so many holes it. the acting is dire and wooden. why do they persist on giving kids adult dialogue? the kid says things that no kid would say. they said that humans get tired of watching other humans fight yetthis film stinks the plot has so many holes it. the acting is dire and wooden. why do they persist on giving kids adult dialogue? the kid says things that no kid would say. they said that humans get tired of watching other humans fight yet you got robots pummeling each other and squashing heads with crowds cheering. the kid an father have not seen each other for years yet they get on straight away no animosity and no withdrawn actions from the child. the movie is cliched and devoid of character development also the language used by the kid only goes to show what type of world we are living in now when directors are only encouraging children to be rude to adults but also swear Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VeronicasamuelOct 13, 2011
A very good and entertaining movie. My husband liked it (he's a very critical person) and my 9-year old daughter loved it. Yes its unrealistic to us in 2011 but who knows what will happen in 2027. It's not a movie to take seriously but itsA very good and entertaining movie. My husband liked it (he's a very critical person) and my 9-year old daughter loved it. Yes its unrealistic to us in 2011 but who knows what will happen in 2027. It's not a movie to take seriously but its what i call a "fun" movie. Watch out parents there's cursing throughout the whole movie including the little boy. That's something hollywood really needs to get rid of when it comes to cursing kids. My child would be disciplined if she curses like that. Besides that the movie is two thumbs up. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
sunshinestntOct 27, 2011
Loved the movie. Futuristic version of the original Rocky. Nice tale of a father learning to be one. I would recommend highly. PG-13...there is some violence, but not brutal as in the Rocky Saga.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
EPIXMAN15Dec 6, 2011
It was relatively ok, it could have had more action and a better plot and story line, acting was good and special affects were also great but I had a good time watching, its something older people and kids can enjoy together,
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SinggihsatchJan 9, 2012
just one word to describe this MOVIE when im seeing

and the word are " AMAZING "

really2 amazing..
im wonder whats the director use to make this movie..
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rockstar283Jan 25, 2012
I dont care about what the critic's say..for me, what matters is whether I enjoyed the movie or not..and trust me..you will enjoy each and every moment of REAL STEEL..right from the careless Hugh Jackman..the Japanese Noisy Boy..Dakota'sI dont care about what the critic's say..for me, what matters is whether I enjoyed the movie or not..and trust me..you will enjoy each and every moment of REAL STEEL..right from the careless Hugh Jackman..the Japanese Noisy Boy..Dakota's innocence..Evangeline's beauty to the ultimate inspirational friend ATOM..everything is cool about this movie..I really wanted somebody to replace Transformers..and this movie has done it.. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Aurora96Jul 27, 2012
This movie is legendary. It is everything you want in a family film and more. It has robots and intense fighting scenes but this film also weaves in a real sense of heart, humanity. It makes you laugh, cry, shout, snicker and say awww. NotThis movie is legendary. It is everything you want in a family film and more. It has robots and intense fighting scenes but this film also weaves in a real sense of heart, humanity. It makes you laugh, cry, shout, snicker and say awww. Not only a movie that is filled with adrenaline, but also a movie with a great deal of heart. It is in line with great classics like Rocky, definitely a movie that you will want to watch over and over. I do not know what is wrong with the people who give it a low remark, i think they are insane or just plain dumb. The kids 10 years old, give him a break!! And bad acting, bad music, bad storyline?! What the **** is wrong with all of you?! The reader of my review, PLEASE trust me when I say that they are outta they're mind, it is an amazing movie and you'd be filled with regret if you didn't watch it. It is amazing and I applaud the ones who created it, thank you. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Alanbrito2000Aug 13, 2012
56? Are you serious? Real Steel is one of my favourite movies. I know that it isn´t perfect, but it is a very good movie. There are a lot of better movies, but Real Steel is almost perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
McFranzOct 29, 2013
Good film for young audiences. The action-packed fighting scenes is incredible, the story/plot is good (and like what I said before, the plot is (kinda) for young audiences.

Other than that, good movie, great battle scenes and very cool acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mcTwexOct 10, 2011
I think that the majority of the reviews for 'Real Steel' are not only harsh but smack of reviewer ignorance to the point where I even wonder if they watched the film. Yes it is a bit sappy, sometimes a little too much but it is a familyI think that the majority of the reviews for 'Real Steel' are not only harsh but smack of reviewer ignorance to the point where I even wonder if they watched the film. Yes it is a bit sappy, sometimes a little too much but it is a family movie for goodness sake. Take care when reading reviews from ragazines like the NY times (where the reviewer makes so many factually inaccurate statements about the film that it is obvious he did not watch the whole film) and pay attention to Metacritic. Spot on. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
ghotterOct 7, 2011
I went to this movie with apprehension and at first wondered if I had come into the wrong show until I saw Hugh Jackman at the wheel of his truck. I was expecting it to be far into the future but soon found it was in a time similar to ours,I went to this movie with apprehension and at first wondered if I had come into the wrong show until I saw Hugh Jackman at the wheel of his truck. I was expecting it to be far into the future but soon found it was in a time similar to ours, the not to distant future. It's a relatable world with characters not much different to us. Real Steel was a pleasant surprise and had a Disney flavour, it's really worth seeing. It has a great story line, interesting characters and great robot fighting scenes. They were well-done and the Robots look so real and you would hardly tell that it was all done by computer simulation. This movie is a heart felt father son story between and ex boxer Hugh Jackman and his son Dakota Goyo. I wouldn't be surprised is there is a sequel and I'd definetly go alone and see it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
UbermetalhedOct 16, 2011
This is highly likely the film of the year. It's a daft concept, Rocky with robots, but it works and it works brilliantly. The film maybe cliched in it's plot but you should already expect that the estranged father and son will make amendsThis is highly likely the film of the year. It's a daft concept, Rocky with robots, but it works and it works brilliantly. The film maybe cliched in it's plot but you should already expect that the estranged father and son will make amends and win the competition etc. These are acceptable cliches they are the cliches that you will enjoy seeing and thankfully the ones that you don't like to see are avoided. There were many points where I expected a certain cliche to happen and then nope it was avoided, it shows their was care and consideration put into the making of this film. The film gives you what you want and is a totally great feel good film. The robots look fantastic and the boxing is edge of the seat stuff, you will really give a damn about Atom winning his fights. Jackman is great as always and the little kid in this reviewers opinion was excellent although kids can be make or break for alot of people so you'll have to decide for yourself. Fantastic film, you'll love every second. Only problems are gangsta COD player soundtrack and lots of product placement. Easy 9/10, go see it!

Final thought: How come a director with credits such as Night at the museum can make a movie with better robot fight scenes than Michael Bay? **** you Michael Bay...
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
NunditoOct 8, 2011
Here is an over-the-top idea to bring in a rock 'em sock 'em robot movie with Wolverine rather than Optimus Prime that many are overlooking from the trailers. Guess what, the movie was great and a lot of fun! I took the family and if the wifeHere is an over-the-top idea to bring in a rock 'em sock 'em robot movie with Wolverine rather than Optimus Prime that many are overlooking from the trailers. Guess what, the movie was great and a lot of fun! I took the family and if the wife enjoyed it, then you know it wasn't that bad. The fights did remind me of Rocky and even a few of them seemed to mirror Balboa's fights, I was hooked into them no different rooting for Atom. My boy was loving every second of it. So if you want to be entertained, blow off the negative critics and go see it. That's what movies are about right, just enjoying it and not wanting everything to be grounded in realism? Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
BadgerbradOct 8, 2011
Here is what you get when you see this movie: You get to be with moviegoers that will cheer and clap out loud (when is the last time that happened). You get great fight scenes. Real life Rock'em Sock'em Robots. You get the desire to standHere is what you get when you see this movie: You get to be with moviegoers that will cheer and clap out loud (when is the last time that happened). You get great fight scenes. Real life Rock'em Sock'em Robots. You get the desire to stand up and throw a punch yourself. You may get a tear in your eye. If you go with your son, you get to watch him go through every emotion in two hours then talk about every minute of it for the next two hours. You get to watch a very good movie and you get your monies worth. Again, when is the last time that happened? No academy awards with this one, but you'll have some priceless snapshot moments with your family. Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
chilangoOct 17, 2011
Rocky with Robots! It was packed with excitement and amazing visuals. Cast was awesome and funny. This is movie is definitely for all ages. Though it doesn't make you think that much, it is pure entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Bruce722Nov 29, 2012
This movie was way better than I expected going in. The acting is outstanding, the story is interesting and pulls you in, the action and fighting scenes are phenomenal, etc. Honestly, it's essentially Rocky with robots. The only negative IThis movie was way better than I expected going in. The acting is outstanding, the story is interesting and pulls you in, the action and fighting scenes are phenomenal, etc. Honestly, it's essentially Rocky with robots. The only negative I have about the movie is that the premise is a bit silly but if you can look past that, this really is a fantastic film. The idiotic critics didn't find it to be a good movie but then again, they're rarely correct with any of their assessments. They tend to think unique, even if terrible, is better than great but a little cliche. I can't disagree more. This movie, outside of the robot element, has been told a 100 times before but it is still a strong movie in its own right and worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
TruAlbinoFeb 17, 2012
A man, who is lost in life connects with his son over the course of a summer whilst fixing and fighting robots. Together they learn, love and find what they have been missing. Itâ
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Horsemad7009Mar 5, 2012
Real Steel is a fantastic film, with great visual effects and amazing actors and I will highly recommened it to everyone.

However there are two problems with the film One, The begining, its VERY slow and makes the watcher feel that the
Real Steel is a fantastic film, with great visual effects and amazing actors and I will highly recommened it to everyone.

However there are two problems with the film

One, The begining, its VERY slow and makes the watcher feel that the film is going to be rubbish, though as the film goes on the plot gets better.

Secondly, Charlie (Hugh Jackman) is a very unlikeable character, though it didn't ruin the film for me as he got more likable as the film went on, but he can make the viewer want to get up and strangle him.

Max(Dakota Goyo) has also been recieving pretty harsh reviews, and to me you either love him or hate him. Luckily I really liked his character, who I found you could easily symphasie with I would highly reccomend this film
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticJun 26, 2013
Did not expect to be giving this film a 9, but it's fun, exciting, and very easy to get emotionally invested. Director Shawn Levy has a very spotty record, but this is his best work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
audreythomas25Feb 22, 2016
What a very inspiring movie about a father and son relationship. It also offers a lot of great lessons. I truly enjoyed watching this film, plus the fact that Jackman is always hot.

Watch this movie here for free
What a very inspiring movie about a father and son relationship. It also offers a lot of great lessons. I truly enjoyed watching this film, plus the fact that Jackman is always hot.

Watch this movie here for free http://www.watchfree.to/watch-75c13-Real-Steel-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
HatersWannaHateOct 3, 2016
This movie is predictable but awesome. Evangeline Lilly gives such a great performance. No matter what you think of Lost, this movie established her as a real actress. Dakota was good too. They both carry the rest of the cast.

Rocky
This movie is predictable but awesome. Evangeline Lilly gives such a great performance. No matter what you think of Lost, this movie established her as a real actress. Dakota was good too. They both carry the rest of the cast.

Rocky plus Karate Kid plus robots: why wasn't this movie a blockbuster? Terrible title and poor marketing.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DarkCriticOct 10, 2011
Real Steel has cool parts were the robots are fighting each other in the ring and neatest part is that they have one of those dramatic moments that makes it real to begin with. Although it does make this movie turns into Rocky and Rock EmReal Steel has cool parts were the robots are fighting each other in the ring and neatest part is that they have one of those dramatic moments that makes it real to begin with. Although it does make this movie turns into Rocky and Rock Em Soc-kem, but it's good movie that brings the action of best visual effects and good acting. And there's nothing compare Transformers or Michael Bay has nothing to do with it, but Real Steal is cool! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SchroederRockJun 27, 2013
Real Steel is a knock out win. With the heart of a champion and the humanity required to make a robot come to life, this movie is without a doubt one of greatest heaps of fun I didn't see coming. I can't say that everyone is going to loveReal Steel is a knock out win. With the heart of a champion and the humanity required to make a robot come to life, this movie is without a doubt one of greatest heaps of fun I didn't see coming. I can't say that everyone is going to love it as much as I did, but Real Steel's ability to capture the imagination is hard to turn away from. On top of that, the inevitable David vs Goliath moment is one that js hard to forget. I can't remember an underdog movie that I enjoyed as much as this. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
scrieciuOct 17, 2011
So Wolverine trains a Transformer, so that he could box like Rocky Balboa, in a rock ' em sock 'em league ? Some viewers may say that the story is ridiculous and it looks like it's gonna be a sh*tty movie, but there death wrong. " Real SteelSo Wolverine trains a Transformer, so that he could box like Rocky Balboa, in a rock ' em sock 'em league ? Some viewers may say that the story is ridiculous and it looks like it's gonna be a sh*tty movie, but there death wrong. " Real Steel '' is the perfect movie to go see with some friends and family on any occasion. It's a heart warming, great, awesome movie about robot boxing. Even if it's predicable, the film is still entertaining and enjoyable. You know when you see a recognisable actor, you have seen him before, but you don't know his name. Yeah, I'm talking about Kevin Durand (as Ricky) , that guy, which he plays a complete d*ck, like most of his movies. For some reason I wanted to specify that, because I finally know his name. Anyway, Hugh Jackman showed once again his good acting skills. I notice that there were a lot of mean, snobby, arrogant characters, but very few likable ones. Also, the robots battles were so anticipating and intense, that I really wanted Atom to win. The connection between Max Kenton (played by Dakota Goyo) and the robot (Atom) reminded me of the movie '' The Iron Giant '' (1999). You know what I'm talking about, that special chemistry (just not as intense). The special effects were amazing. It's an enjoyable movie, definitely worth to watch. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
NicholasandrewJan 5, 2012
Real Steel to me than a great movie, a movie that has the vibe and emotion from beginning to end .... It shows the friendship of a child and separated by a year, shows the difficulty in cohabitation, after the death of his mother ... Finally,Real Steel to me than a great movie, a movie that has the vibe and emotion from beginning to end .... It shows the friendship of a child and separated by a year, shows the difficulty in cohabitation, after the death of his mother ... Finally, animation, notes: 10. It was great fantastic, actors acting was great ... A film that keeps you in boredom ... However, I think I missed a bit of history, the film is attached to only two things, the child is with his father after years ... And the struggles of robots ... Otherwise the movie is very good ... and amazing! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
JonnyFendiNov 28, 2011
How to make boxing can be accepted by young children? In thiz case, the answer is REAL STEEL. The Director Shawn Levy cleverly turns the rough boxing matches into fun, passionate and enjoyable family adventure by presenting attractive andHow to make boxing can be accepted by young children? In thiz case, the answer is REAL STEEL. The Director Shawn Levy cleverly turns the rough boxing matches into fun, passionate and enjoyable family adventure by presenting attractive and super-cool Robot figures. Levy is well-known for CHEAPER BY THE DOZEN (2003) and NIGHT AT THE MUSEUM (2006). For me, he seems to know how to roll the dice of excitement. Besides being effective in constructing believable and powerful Robot-fights, thiz movie has heart-warming story of father and son relationship. Charlie Kenton (Hugh Jackman) is a former professional boxer who turns out to be Robot-fight promoter, just met his 11-year-old son he never knew before, Max (Dakota Goyo). Instead of Charlie teaches life lessons to his son, Max. On the contrary Max has been inspiring his father how to win World Robot Boxing, but more than that is about how to win life. There are some encouraging and gratifying scenes. One of them is when Max and his Robot, Atom show their dance moves. On the other side, I can almost say thiz is probably the most humane character that ever played by Hugh WOLVERINE Jackman. While the father character looks troubled and typical anti-hero, but it is relatively effective to gain sympathy. Spoiler Alert! The final scene reminds us of first ROCKY (1976) where the hero did not have to win the match, but he certainly won the heart of audience. Max shows his big heart by saying -It sounds pretty good to me. The Robot with the heart? Awesome!

Visit My Blog on JONNYâ
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews