Metascore
47

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 172 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Bill Zwecker
    Jul 19, 2013
    88
    Red 2 not only delivers the action, laughs and thrills of the original — in many ways it surpasses it.
  2. Reviewed by:  Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 17, 2013
    67
    Like its predecessor, it’s a one-joke movie; the difference is that this time around, the joke is better.
  3. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Jul 18, 2013
    63
    The film has its charms but the end result feels like warmed-over James Bond… and not even especially good 007, at that.
  4. Reviewed by: Michael Phillips
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    My favorite thing in the movie is the way co-star and Korean action icon Byung Hun Lee uses his feet of fury to hoist a paint can and send it flying.
  5. Reviewed by: Jamie S. Rich
    Jul 18, 2013
    50
    Willis appears to have finally grown bored of his own shtick, and Malkovich spends most of the movie looking humiliated.
  6. Reviewed by: Tim Robey
    Aug 3, 2013
    40
    Dean Parisot, who made the delightful Galaxy Quest, has a funnier sensibility than the first movie’s director, Robert Schwentke, but he’s still defeated by a script that’s over-complicated and under-sophisticated.
  7. Reviewed by: Chris Cabin
    Jul 17, 2013
    25
    An awfully expensive and grossly extended Cialis commercial.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 6 out of 36
  1. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    Simply put if you are a fan of the first movie and how excellent it was done, then you will enjoy the same formula again with Red 2, its a wonder again with my attempt to understand critic reviews, I wonder how many of them purchase the same bagel, cup of coffee or meal from their favorite establishment. A movie like Red 2 needs to keep with the same formula as the first because it worked another movie that comes to mind is Taken and Taken 2, same formula used with Taken 2 and just as entertaining. Red 2 gets the job done even with a few scenes of absurdity, but coolness blended in, the movie is entertaining. Go See it. Expand
  2. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    great action and interplay with a awesome cast...fun date night movie....both my wife and I liked it. the line play between the characters got laughs from the crowd throughout the movie Expand
  3. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    I loved the first Red movie so I have to say that I was excited for this movie, and the results? Well, Red 2 is awesome. I left this movie fully satisfied with the content. It just goes to show that older people still do kick ass and the Red franchise has not suffered one bit. You like action packed movies, watch Red 2, if you like the first Red movie, watch Red 2, if you like funny movies, watch Red 2. What I loved about Red 2 is that it did what most sequels fail to do, and that is take all you love about the first movie, polish it, and make it just the slightest bit better. Red 2 is an accomplishment and I am looking forward to its release on blu-ray. Expand
  4. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    Full of action, and has a lot of comedic tones to it, mostly by John Malkovich's role as the crazed Marvin. The love triangle within this movie really adds to the fun. It's hard to imagine oscar winning people in these roles, but they continue to surprise us. Expand
  5. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    Red 2 is fairly entertaining, has some fine characters, also some funny moments. The best thing in it is of course Anthony Hopkins probably the best actor of recent time. Main plot isn't very good, action par is ok, overall it's slightly above average! Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    6
    As far a sequels go, the usually don't work so well. This one surprisingly works. Grant it it's no "The Dark Knight" but for a movie like this, it's fun and enjoyable. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" and let me know what you think. Overall it's a fun popcorn movie to watch on a Saturday night. Collapse
  7. Oct 31, 2013
    0
    Lazy, stupid, boring, and unfunny. What is going on with the state of movies these days? Have we forgotten everything about how to make a decent movie? I'm thinking this must be made for very stupid children.
    How about adding some suspense, by not mixing the emotional tone of the movie every damn 2 minutes. Funny, serious, funny, serious, funny, serious, angry, funny and so on. If you mix this with the totally unbelievable conversations, that sound sooo rehearsed, you have a freakin recipe for disaster.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Trailers